WWAN on X61

X60/X61 series specific matters only.
Post Reply
Message
Author
karotlopj
Sophomore Member
Posts: 155
Joined: Wed May 18, 2016 7:14 am
Location: Yorkshire, England

WWAN on X61

#1 Post by karotlopj » Fri Jul 14, 2017 10:09 am

Whilst taking apart my X61 I noticed a slot for a SIM card.

How do I go about trying to use it?

Thinkpad4by3
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 995
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: WWAN on X61

#2 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Fri Jul 14, 2017 10:44 am

karotlopj wrote:Whilst taking apart my X61 I noticed a slot for a SIM card.

How do I go about trying to use it?
Chech Device Manager first and see if you have a WWAN card and check its compatible carrier. Insert a SIM Card with that specific carrier. Personally, I wouldnt use it.
With great power comes great responsibility!

A lesson Lenovo has not cared to learn yet.

karotlopj
Sophomore Member
Posts: 155
Joined: Wed May 18, 2016 7:14 am
Location: Yorkshire, England

Re: WWAN on X61

#3 Post by karotlopj » Fri Aug 11, 2017 2:58 am

It has a Sierra Wireless MC8775 HSDPA modem. Now what program should I use to connect to my ISP?

ajkula66
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge
Posts: 15939
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: WWAN on X61

#4 Post by ajkula66 » Sat Aug 12, 2017 1:17 am

karotlopj wrote:
Fri Aug 11, 2017 2:58 am
It has a Sierra Wireless MC8775 HSDPA modem. Now what program should I use to connect to my ISP?
I'm fairly certain that these were locked to Vodafone in your country, so you need to give them a call, see if the card is still supported by their network and purchase a plan.
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

AARP club members:A31p, T43pSF

Abused daily: T61p

PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.

karotlopj
Sophomore Member
Posts: 155
Joined: Wed May 18, 2016 7:14 am
Location: Yorkshire, England

Re: WWAN on X61

#5 Post by karotlopj » Sat Aug 12, 2017 3:44 am

ajkula66 wrote:
Sat Aug 12, 2017 1:17 am
karotlopj wrote:
Fri Aug 11, 2017 2:58 am
It has a Sierra Wireless MC8775 HSDPA modem. Now what program should I use to connect to my ISP?
I'm fairly certain that these were locked to Vodafone in your country, so you need to give them a call, see if the card is still supported by their network and purchase a plan.
I came across a communications program from Lenovo - Access Connections (Fn+F5) which showed a number of comms interfaces one of which was Mobile Broadband, This told me that no SIM card was present Insert SIM card and try again. Then I reinserted it the other way round as their is no indication as to which way round it should be inserted. Of course it made no difference, the same error msg came up. I would have thought that if it was locked then some other msg would have been displayed BICBW.
I later came across something called 'Lenovo Broadband Activation for Windows':-

http://pcsupport.lenovo.com/gb/en/downloads/ds001273

I downloaded that only to find that the X61 is not supported.

So here I am wondering if this ever worked at all.

whitelabel
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 3:32 am
Location: Moscow, RU

Re: WWAN on X61

#6 Post by whitelabel » Sun Aug 13, 2017 1:28 am

Hi

my answer here would be a bit inappropriate, but I still want to give you an advise.
Get some modern WWAN card and get rid of that outdated card.
Not only you will get a better speeds and connectivity, but also you will face a lot less problems with the installation.
X61 does support a wide range of Sierra's cards and there's just no point in using such old card.
I would personally recommend either MC7710 or MC7455 card. Both are LTE-capable modems.

As for your card I can say this:
I remember time when I was using a GOBI3000 card. And I had to use an utility called GobiAllPowerSwitcher.
I had to change something in that card with this utility. After this I was able to see a Carrier network in the
Windows Wireless Menu. Maybe this utility will help you with your card (I guess it's GOBI2000).

HTH

karotlopj
Sophomore Member
Posts: 155
Joined: Wed May 18, 2016 7:14 am
Location: Yorkshire, England

Re: WWAN on X61

#7 Post by karotlopj » Sun Aug 13, 2017 8:09 am

Thanks for your advice. I would like to have 4G capability and will probably get an MC7710 card, but the immediate problem is being able to access a provider. At the moment I get error msgs saying there is no SIM card, and I don't know if this is because of a misconfiguration or hardware problem. If I can't get this sorted I can't imagine replacing the card would provide any benefit.

ajkula66
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge
Posts: 15939
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: WWAN on X61

#8 Post by ajkula66 » Sun Aug 13, 2017 10:45 am

karotlopj wrote:
Sun Aug 13, 2017 8:09 am
Thanks for your advice. I would like to have 4G capability and will probably get an MC7710 card, but the immediate problem is being able to access a provider. At the moment I get error msgs saying there is no SIM card, and I don't know if this is because of a misconfiguration or hardware problem. If I can't get this sorted I can't imagine replacing the card would provide any benefit.
Two things here:

1) The machine likely shipped with a "dummy" SIM card. You need a *real* Vodafone SIM in order to activate and use its WWAN capability. I'll repeat myself for the last time regarding this particular issue: give Vodafone a call.

2) You will also need a modded BIOS installed in order for the system not to "bark" at the newer card and prevent the machine from booting altogether.
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

AARP club members:A31p, T43pSF

Abused daily: T61p

PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.

karotlopj
Sophomore Member
Posts: 155
Joined: Wed May 18, 2016 7:14 am
Location: Yorkshire, England

Re: WWAN on X61

#9 Post by karotlopj » Sun Aug 13, 2017 11:02 am

What would happen if I inserted a Vodafone SIM or changed the WWAN card?

ajkula66
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge
Posts: 15939
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: WWAN on X61

#10 Post by ajkula66 » Sun Aug 13, 2017 11:46 am

karotlopj wrote:
Sun Aug 13, 2017 11:02 am
What would happen if I inserted a Vodafone SIM
You'd likely be able to use the machine's WWAN capabilities, *presuming* that the card is still supported by their network AND that it belongs to an active account.
or changed the WWAN card?
Please read what I wrote in my previous post...pretty please... :roll:
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

AARP club members:A31p, T43pSF

Abused daily: T61p

PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.

wileE
Sophomore Member
Posts: 195
Joined: Sun May 26, 2013 5:20 am
Location: Seligenstadt, Germany

Re: WWAN on X61

#11 Post by wileE » Tue Aug 15, 2017 7:33 am

You should have this driver installed: Wireless WAN (Vodafone and Cingular - HSDPA) driver
from here: https://thinkpads.com/support/Thinkpad- ... m/X61.html

Then use the Sierra 3G Watcher for the connection. Link at the bottom of this page: http://thinkwiki.de/Sierra_MC8775_Upgrade_auf_7,2_MBit
All you have to do is configure the apn.

karotlopj
Sophomore Member
Posts: 155
Joined: Wed May 18, 2016 7:14 am
Location: Yorkshire, England

Re: WWAN on X61

#12 Post by karotlopj » Fri Aug 25, 2017 5:41 am

For anyone who has an X61 with WWAN capability via a Sierra Wireless MC8775 card, I'd suggest upgrading the firmware which will enable it to work at 7.2 Mb/s which is twice as fast as it is originally. Also it will no longer be locked so you can use any SIM, and it will work on Linux and FreeBSD as well as Windows.

karotlopj
Sophomore Member
Posts: 155
Joined: Wed May 18, 2016 7:14 am
Location: Yorkshire, England

Re: WWAN on X61

#13 Post by karotlopj » Fri Aug 25, 2017 5:46 am

ajkula66 wrote:
Sun Aug 13, 2017 10:45 am
karotlopj wrote:
Sun Aug 13, 2017 8:09 am
Thanks for your advice. I would like to have 4G capability and will probably get an MC7710 card, but the immediate problem is being able to access a provider. At the moment I get error msgs saying there is no SIM card, and I don't know if this is because of a misconfiguration or hardware problem. If I can't get this sorted I can't imagine replacing the card would provide any benefit.
Two things here:

1) The machine likely shipped with a "dummy" SIM card. You need a *real* Vodafone SIM in order to activate and use its WWAN capability. I'll repeat myself for the last time regarding this particular issue: give Vodafone a call.
No need to call Vodafone - just upgrade firmware then use any SIM card you like.

xsixt
Freshman Member
Posts: 100
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 4:21 am
Location: Australia

Re: WWAN on X61

#14 Post by xsixt » Sun Aug 27, 2017 2:59 am

ajkula66 wrote:
Sun Aug 13, 2017 10:45 am
Two things here:

1) The machine likely shipped with a "dummy" SIM card. You need a *real* Vodafone SIM in order to activate and use its WWAN capability.
True, I believe my T61p has a dummy red sim card (fools me into thinking it's a Vodafone card)... Either that or card is expired. Echoing George's advice + why don't you just go to a Vodafone store and buy a $2 sim to see if receives reception.

The other user suggested a new WWAN card, but 4G cards are quite expensive, so better to see if your existing card works first. A new card might entail a BIOS flash as well.
W510 FHD 720QM |T61p 15.4" WUXGA T9500 | T60p 15" UXGA |
Former: X61 T8300 | T420s [Poor LCD] | X201 | X60T [Slow]

karotlopj
Sophomore Member
Posts: 155
Joined: Wed May 18, 2016 7:14 am
Location: Yorkshire, England

Re: WWAN on X61

#15 Post by karotlopj » Thu Oct 12, 2017 7:58 am

xsixt wrote:
Sun Aug 27, 2017 2:59 am
ajkula66 wrote:
Sun Aug 13, 2017 10:45 am
Two things here:

1) The machine likely shipped with a "dummy" SIM card. You need a *real* Vodafone SIM in order to activate and use its WWAN capability.
True, I believe my T61p has a dummy red sim card (fools me into thinking it's a Vodafone card)... Either that or card is expired. Echoing George's advice + why don't you just go to a Vodafone store and buy a $2 sim to see if receives reception.

I did buy a Vodafone SIM and it did work, but after upgrading the firmware I have doubled the speed and am no longer locked to Vodafone.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Thinkpad X6x Series incl. X6x Tablet”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests