Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

How to say if Middleton flash was successful

X60/X61 series specific matters only.
Post Reply
Message
Author
thott
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 1:25 pm
Location: Elsdorf, Germany

How to say if Middleton flash was successful

#1 Post by thott » Thu Apr 12, 2018 7:01 am

Hi, I flashed the middleton bios onto my X61t and the flasher said everything went fine, however I cannot tell if it was successful as the bios looks the same. Can someone tell me what's the best way to tell if the flash was successful?

jaspen-meyer
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 829
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 11:21 pm
Location: Pardubice, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: How to say if Middleton flash was successful

#2 Post by jaspen-meyer » Thu Apr 12, 2018 9:40 am

Put in an ssd and measure disk speed. Sata I max is about 135 MB/s. Sata II is about 270 MB/s.
T420 i7 3612QM seabios; T420 i7 3630QM; T400 Q9100 seabios; T61 P9600; T60 libreboot; x62; x60s libreboot, led; x24 xiphmont led

axur-delmeria
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1979
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: How to say if Middleton flash was successful

#3 Post by axur-delmeria » Thu Apr 12, 2018 9:57 am

Put in a wifi card from a non-Thinkpad laptop. With the stock BIOS, you'll be greeted with the 1802 error and system halt. With Middleton BIOS successfully flashed, the laptop will continue booting.
Daily driver: X220 4291-C91 i7-2620M

Backup: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M
Toy: X60F Core Solo U1300
In pieces: two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E; X61 7676-A24; and a BOE-Hydis HV121P01-100 in failed SXGA+ mod
:cry:

thott
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 1:25 pm
Location: Elsdorf, Germany

Re: How to say if Middleton flash was successful

#4 Post by thott » Fri Apr 13, 2018 2:08 pm

So it sounds like, it's normal that version numbers and the like in the bios screen do not change?

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 19441
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: How to say if Middleton flash was successful

#5 Post by RealBlackStuff » Fri Apr 13, 2018 2:21 pm

Correct.
Wifi-whitelist removal, SATA-II speed for the main HD/SSD-drive and added Slic2.1 for Vista/W7 are the main 'background' improvements.
No visible changes anywhere.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

Annecy
Sophomore Member
Posts: 242
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2017 1:57 pm
Location: California, USA

Re: How to say if Middleton flash was successful

#6 Post by Annecy » Tue May 22, 2018 11:35 pm

Today I was (amongst other "things") ...
looking @ HWiNFO32 results on my "Middleton BIOS'ed" T61 ThinkPads ...
I noticed that HWiNFO32 ...
~reports the main HDDs @ Serial ATA 6gb/s @ 3gb/s ...
Image
~reports the UltraBay HDDs @ Serial ATA 6gb/s @ 1.5gb/s ...
Image

So ...
I'm wondering if ... maybe some/one "out there"
with (for sure) non-Middleton BIOS T61s
could see if HWiNFO32 (or 64) reports the main HDD @ 3gb/s or @ 1.5gb/s :?: :??:


I realize the above "difference" might just/only be the native HW/system difference ...

FryPpy
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 501
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 3:29 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: How to say if Middleton flash was successful

#7 Post by FryPpy » Thu May 24, 2018 1:37 pm

Annecy wrote:
Tue May 22, 2018 11:35 pm
I'm wondering if ... maybe some/one "out there"
with (for sure) non-Middleton BIOS T61s
could see if HWiNFO32 (or 64) reports the main HDD @ 3gb/s or @ 1.5gb/s :?: :??:
I have no unmodified T61's. But if i need to check BIOS for modification (without hardware tests) i use SLIC toolkit utility. Unmodded bios have slic v 2.0 (or no slick at all).
Modded BIOS have slic v 2.1. Or more presisely LENOVOTP-7U.

Annecy
Sophomore Member
Posts: 242
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2017 1:57 pm
Location: California, USA

Re: How to say if Middleton flash was successful

#8 Post by Annecy » Thu May 24, 2018 1:59 pm

My post above ... about HWiNFO(32/64) ...
is addition to another (recent) post of mine:

Annecy wrote:
Tue May 22, 2018 10:45 pm
mariol90 wrote:
Wed May 30, 2012 12:39 am
"you can check for SLIC 2.1 with a program like AIDA64.
if it says SLIC 2.0, then it's still on the lenovo BIOS.
"
"I recently used: [/color] slic ToolKit v3.2 ...
as part of my T61p "acquisition/customization project" ~
which is "portable freeware"
(~when one downloads the "sans"-installer version)
as opposed to AIDA64 ~ which is (seemingly) $hareWare ...

Anyway ...
slicToolKit can (also/seemingly) be used to confirm the SLIC version# ...
"
mariol90 wrote:
Wed May 30, 2012 12:39 am
"also if you have an SSD, run a benchmark (HD tune would work) and
the speeds should be over 130 MB/s, assuming the SSD can read that quickly.
"
"I've (also) read that ...
(for various reasons) one might want to forego ...
running (some/certain) BenchMarks on SSDs :SH!:
"
I'm still "curious" ... to know about
how HWiNFO(32/64) reports pre-Middleton T61 DriveControllers :eek:

Annecy
Sophomore Member
Posts: 242
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2017 1:57 pm
Location: California, USA

Re: How to say if Middleton flash was successful

#9 Post by Annecy » Tue Jul 31, 2018 6:17 pm

Annecy wrote:
Thu May 24, 2018 1:59 pm
"I'm still "curious" ... to know about
how HWiNFO(32/64) reports pre-Middleton T61 DriveControllers :eek:
"
In addition to the above (FreeWare) utility (HWiNFO) ...
Speccy is a(nother) (FreeWare) utility that ...
maybe ... someone "out there" ... sometime"
might "test" ... on a Pre-Middelton & then Post-Middleton T61 ...
to see if the (reported) "specs" ... for the T61 Main HDD-bay ...
change ... before&after a "Middleton BIOS Flashing"
:idea: ; e.g.,
maybe before doing a Middleton BIOS Flash,
the Main HDD-bay would say/show 1.5gb/s (SATAI) USED transfer rate ...
as opposed to 3gb/s (SATAII) USED transfer rate :??:


Below are Speccy ScreenShots ...
of my 14.1"ws T61's HDD-bays ...

I took out from the T61's main HDD-bay
the 1tb 7200rpm SATAIII (from the preceding/above) HWiNFO post ...
and replaced that with a 320gb 7200rpm SATAII HDD ~
which now shows as 3gb/s ... for both MAX & USED transfer rates ...
Image

atm ... that 1tb 7200rpm SATAIII is in the T61's UltraBay ~
which now shows as 6gb/s & 1.5gb/s ...
Image
for MAX & USED transfer rates, respectively ...


imo ...
having the 1tb 7200rpm SATAIII is in the T61's UltraBay "is a waste" :BAAAD!: ...
'cuz ...
a 1tb 5400rpm (or 7200 :roll:) SATAII HDD would
(based on CrystalDiskMark results ... that I have generated/seen ...)
perform about as well/quickly
in the 1.5gb/s SATAI UltraBay
as the 1tb 7200rpm SATAIII HDD :thumbs-UP: :jhem:

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Thinkpad X6x Series incl. X6x Tablet”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests