Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

x61 refuses to boot 64bit win

X60/X61 series specific matters only.
Post Reply
Message
Author
ColonelConrad
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2020 2:52 pm
Location: London, England

x61 refuses to boot 64bit win

#1 Post by ColonelConrad » Sat Feb 22, 2020 3:11 pm

Despite originally coming with a windows 7 64 bit hardrive when i bought it, i have been using a 32bit one for a while.
I upgraded the Ram to 8GB and flashed the BIOS with middleton 64bit CD but it simply will not launch windows 64bit of any type (7, 8 or 10) but will still launch my 32bit.. all it says is there was a error or hardwhare change and gives the boot option to run or diagnose, both just lead to a black scree :x

Been looking all over but i can not find any help with this so i would appreciate any ideas!!

Jake.Werecat
Freshman Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu May 09, 2019 6:46 pm
Location: EU

Re: x61 refuses to boot 64bit win

#2 Post by Jake.Werecat » Sat Feb 22, 2020 4:03 pm

1)Are you sure it's X61 not some frankenpad with X60 mobo inside?
2)What CPU does it have?
3)Are you trying to INSTALL a 64bit OS on X61s or use a spare HDD with OS already installed?
4)Have you flashed the correct middelton BIOS? What's the BIOS version number shown in menu? Was the problem present before flashing, or you have not tested it before?
X61f, 2x X230, 2x T430

ColonelConrad
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2020 2:52 pm
Location: London, England

Re: x61 refuses to boot 64bit win

#3 Post by ColonelConrad » Sat Feb 22, 2020 6:55 pm

Jake.Werecat wrote:
Sat Feb 22, 2020 4:03 pm
1)Are you sure it's X61 not some frankenpad with X60 mobo inside?
2)What CPU does it have?
3)Are you trying to INSTALL a 64bit OS on X61s or use a spare HDD with OS already installed?
4)Have you flashed the correct middelton BIOS? What's the BIOS version number shown in menu? Was the problem present before flashing, or you have not tested it before?
Its defo a x61s it says below the screen and the CPU is a 2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo T7300
yes i am trying to use a spare SSD with win 7 64bit on but im trying the old win 7 HDD too both do not work so anything with 64 bit does not seem to work
the BIOS is 2.22 (7NETC2WW) i think it installed correctly i followed the steps and the middlton control fn swap works (the fn button is now the cntrl button)
Before and after flashing yes so i dont know if i have installed some drivers for 32 bit but i dont think it would affect a new ssd....

Any tips or help would be welcome !!! :)

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 21016
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: x61 refuses to boot 64bit win

#4 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sun Feb 23, 2020 3:49 am

The Middleton BIOS can only be installed under 32-bit Windows.
Does BIOS show 8GB RAM?
Have you run Memtest?
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

"Computers don't lie, but liars can compute." (Terry Hayes's I Am Pilgrim)

ColonelConrad
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2020 2:52 pm
Location: London, England

Re: x61 refuses to boot 64bit win

#5 Post by ColonelConrad » Sun Feb 23, 2020 8:07 am

RealBlackStuff wrote:
Sun Feb 23, 2020 3:49 am
The Middleton BIOS can only be installed under 32-bit Windows.
Does BIOS show 8GB RAM?
Have you run Memtest?
I believe the .exe middleton can be installed for 32 but the 64 is a .ISO disc boot than i did..
either way before and after did not run 64 Bit Win of any type :(
The Boot menu does show 8GB ram though but obviously 32 Bit Windows says only 4 GB (3.99 or whatever) is usable

Any insight or help would be great!

Jake.Werecat
Freshman Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu May 09, 2019 6:46 pm
Location: EU

Re: x61 refuses to boot 64bit win

#6 Post by Jake.Werecat » Sun Feb 23, 2020 8:10 am

Mayby a silly guess - did you check IDE/AHCI switch in BIOS? It can sometime be forgotten and prevent the system from booting. Besides - do try to run a linux from liveCD/liveUSB or to install windows from the beginnng rather then swapping the HDD with already installed OS. That might exclude some reasons.
If the hardware were incompatible with x64 OS, THIS is what would be shown when trying to install it:
Image
X61f, 2x X230, 2x T430

ColonelConrad
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2020 2:52 pm
Location: London, England

Re: x61 refuses to boot 64bit win

#7 Post by ColonelConrad » Sun Feb 23, 2020 1:38 pm

IDE / AHCI swtich? Is that the Config > Serial ATA (SATA) option? it has 2 options Compatibility and AHCI

Other wise i can try installing it onto the hard drive like you said

dr_st
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8365
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am
Location: Israel

Re: x61 refuses to boot 64bit win

#8 Post by dr_st » Sun Feb 23, 2020 1:52 pm

Yes. Compatibility mode is also called IDE mode sometimes.
Thinkpad 25 (20K7), X1 Carbon (20HQ), Yoga 14 (20FY), T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X220 4291-4BG
X61 7673-V2V, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X32 (IPS Screen), A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad, A21m 2628-GXU

ColonelConrad
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2020 2:52 pm
Location: London, England

Re: x61 refuses to boot 64bit win

#9 Post by ColonelConrad » Tue Feb 25, 2020 4:15 pm

dr_st wrote:
Sun Feb 23, 2020 1:52 pm
Yes. Compatibility mode is also called IDE mode sometimes.
Both Compact and normal modes have the same effect by the look of it :(

Jake.Werecat
Freshman Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu May 09, 2019 6:46 pm
Location: EU

Re: x61 refuses to boot 64bit win

#10 Post by Jake.Werecat » Fri Feb 28, 2020 1:35 am

Set that switch to AHCI and do try to install a fresh OS from the beginning.
X61f, 2x X230, 2x T430

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Thinkpad X6x Series incl. X6x Tablet”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests