Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

X60 Low Vista Graphics Score....why?

X60/X61 series specific matters only.
Post Reply
Message
Author
christopherjpreston
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 5:00 am

X60 Low Vista Graphics Score....why?

#1 Post by christopherjpreston » Sat Mar 24, 2007 7:59 am

I have an x60 t7200, 80g Sata, 1gb Ram.

I receive the following vista scores

Processor 4.9
Memory 4.5
Graphics Desktop performance for Aero 2.2
Graphics 3d business and gaming performance 3.0
Hard Disk 4.4

I have seen a lot of X60"s on this forum with even worse specs than mine but with higher scores for the graphics.

Does anyone have any suggestions why my score is so low?

Thanks
Chris

tyanlion
Sophomore Member
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 12:30 pm
Location: Singapore

#2 Post by tyanlion » Sat Mar 24, 2007 10:36 am

lol us x60 fellas all have dedicated onboard intel cards which will never be as powerful as the nvida or ati cards. I mean did u realise this when you bought your x60?? If you wanted some graphic performance with a small lappie you could have bought an asus or a fujitsu i think theirs come with nvidia or ati cards. Don't worry 2.0 is not so bad you will still be able to run aero a ok. I tried vista with my x60s it runs fine with aero............except IT CONSUMES so much battery!!!!

christopherjpreston
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 5:00 am

#3 Post by christopherjpreston » Sat Mar 24, 2007 1:54 pm

I'm not complaining about the specs of my computer.

I think you misread my question.

My question is why does my X60 produce a vista graphics score of 2.2 when other X60 computers which have the same specs as mine or lower produce a vista graphics score of 3 or higher as has been shown in this forum

One would expect a similar computer with the same OS and same specs to produce similar results.

miri
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 7:30 pm
Location: Tirana, ALBANIA

#4 Post by miri » Sat Mar 24, 2007 4:37 pm

Hi,

Probably you're having a problem with the Intel Display driver. I have an X60s (see specs) and I get

Desktop Performance for Windows Aero: 3.3
3D business and gaming graphics performance: 3.1


So in general my system has a 3.1 rating.

Run Windows Update and yesterday a new driver was available. Try that and post the results.

Hope it helps

Regards,
Miri
Thinkpad X60s :: 1704-5UG :: 2GB RAM :: 100 GB HDD

christopherjpreston
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 5:00 am

#5 Post by christopherjpreston » Sat Mar 24, 2007 6:29 pm

thanks Miri. I updated as you suggested and refreshed the vista scoring. Now I have a low score of 2.3 because of the graphics and gaming is 3.0

Any further ideas. I have already factory reset my pc twice to start afresh but get the same result.

Chris

tyanlion
Sophomore Member
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 12:30 pm
Location: Singapore

#6 Post by tyanlion » Sun Mar 25, 2007 4:42 am

opps misread q

Esben
Sophomore Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Sat May 14, 2005 7:50 am
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

#7 Post by Esben » Sun Mar 25, 2007 2:37 pm

Maybe it could be because you're only using one of the two slots, making the memory run single channel.
Lenovo Thinkpad X230,
i5-3320M | 8 GB DDR3-1600 | 256 GB Crucial M4 | 12.5" IPS | Windows 8 Pro

Xavier
Freshman Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 9:26 am
Location: Paris, France

#8 Post by Xavier » Mon Mar 26, 2007 2:12 am

I think I had pretty much the same rating you're getting until I upgraded to 2 GB RAM.
T43 2668-92G (upgraded to 1GB RAM) (don't have it anymore)
X60 1709-H6U (upgraded to 2GB RAM)
T60 1951-A47

christopherjpreston
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2006 5:00 am

#9 Post by christopherjpreston » Mon Mar 26, 2007 4:11 am

Thanks for the reply. I tend to agree that it sounds like a RAM shortage issue. I will upgrade to 2gb and see

MrSpike
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 4:45 pm
Location: Seattle, Washington

#10 Post by MrSpike » Mon Mar 26, 2007 11:41 pm

It is a ram issue. My scores where the EXACT same until I upgraded the ram, now they are in the 3's. I reccomend the g.skill 1GB stick off of newegg, runs about $60 and I know for a fact it works in at least two different X60s laptops so it should work in yours.

xene
Freshman Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:55 pm
Location: Sugar Land, TX

#11 Post by xene » Tue Apr 03, 2007 1:40 pm

Yup. Totally agree about the RAM. I was running with 1.5GB and received an overall score of 2.7. Upgraded to 2GB (using matching modules) and was bumped up to 3.1.

thibouille27
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 311
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 11:51 am
Location: Brussels, Belgium

#12 Post by thibouille27 » Tue Apr 03, 2007 4:05 pm

Expensive for only 512MB more ram, no?
Do you really feel a big difference in performance ?
TP X23 +UBX2 +cdrw
TP X60 +UBX6 +dvdrw slim + floppy + 8cells battery

thibouille27
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 311
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 11:51 am
Location: Brussels, Belgium

#13 Post by thibouille27 » Tue Apr 03, 2007 4:27 pm

Expensive for only 512MB more ram, no?
Do you really feel a big difference in performance ?
TP X23 +UBX2 +cdrw
TP X60 +UBX6 +dvdrw slim + floppy + 8cells battery

xene
Freshman Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:55 pm
Location: Sugar Land, TX

#14 Post by xene » Tue Apr 03, 2007 4:32 pm

I really didn't do it to raise my "Vista Experience" score. What can I say? I'm a sucker for RAM and I want to see how "dual channel memory" checks out. Plus, I did got the extra module for about $50. As to increase in performance, I really haven't done anything today expect to work on a couple of spreadsheets, but I'll
know as soon as I fire up Photoshop.

I don't know if this is related to adding the RAM, but the right palm rest where the wireless sits seems much cooler than before.

thibouille27
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 311
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 11:51 am
Location: Brussels, Belgium

#15 Post by thibouille27 » Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:40 am

xene wrote: I don't know if this is related to adding the RAM, but the right palm rest where the wireless sits seems much cooler than before.
Strange to say the least ...
TP X23 +UBX2 +cdrw
TP X60 +UBX6 +dvdrw slim + floppy + 8cells battery

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Thinkpad X60/X61 Series incl. Tablets”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests