Page 1 of 1

X60 Low Vista Graphics Score....why?

Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 7:59 am
by christopherjpreston
I have an x60 t7200, 80g Sata, 1gb Ram.

I receive the following vista scores

Processor 4.9
Memory 4.5
Graphics Desktop performance for Aero 2.2
Graphics 3d business and gaming performance 3.0
Hard Disk 4.4

I have seen a lot of X60"s on this forum with even worse specs than mine but with higher scores for the graphics.

Does anyone have any suggestions why my score is so low?

Thanks
Chris

Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 10:36 am
by tyanlion
lol us x60 fellas all have dedicated onboard intel cards which will never be as powerful as the nvida or ati cards. I mean did u realise this when you bought your x60?? If you wanted some graphic performance with a small lappie you could have bought an asus or a fujitsu i think theirs come with nvidia or ati cards. Don't worry 2.0 is not so bad you will still be able to run aero a ok. I tried vista with my x60s it runs fine with aero............except IT CONSUMES so much battery!!!!

Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 1:54 pm
by christopherjpreston
I'm not complaining about the specs of my computer.

I think you misread my question.

My question is why does my X60 produce a vista graphics score of 2.2 when other X60 computers which have the same specs as mine or lower produce a vista graphics score of 3 or higher as has been shown in this forum

One would expect a similar computer with the same OS and same specs to produce similar results.

Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 4:37 pm
by miri
Hi,

Probably you're having a problem with the Intel Display driver. I have an X60s (see specs) and I get

Desktop Performance for Windows Aero: 3.3
3D business and gaming graphics performance: 3.1


So in general my system has a 3.1 rating.

Run Windows Update and yesterday a new driver was available. Try that and post the results.

Hope it helps

Regards,
Miri

Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 6:29 pm
by christopherjpreston
thanks Miri. I updated as you suggested and refreshed the vista scoring. Now I have a low score of 2.3 because of the graphics and gaming is 3.0

Any further ideas. I have already factory reset my pc twice to start afresh but get the same result.

Chris

Posted: Sun Mar 25, 2007 4:42 am
by tyanlion
opps misread q

Posted: Sun Mar 25, 2007 2:37 pm
by Esben
Maybe it could be because you're only using one of the two slots, making the memory run single channel.

Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 2:12 am
by Xavier
I think I had pretty much the same rating you're getting until I upgraded to 2 GB RAM.

Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 4:11 am
by christopherjpreston
Thanks for the reply. I tend to agree that it sounds like a RAM shortage issue. I will upgrade to 2gb and see

Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 11:41 pm
by MrSpike
It is a ram issue. My scores where the EXACT same until I upgraded the ram, now they are in the 3's. I reccomend the g.skill 1GB stick off of newegg, runs about $60 and I know for a fact it works in at least two different X60s laptops so it should work in yours.

Posted: Tue Apr 03, 2007 1:40 pm
by xene
Yup. Totally agree about the RAM. I was running with 1.5GB and received an overall score of 2.7. Upgraded to 2GB (using matching modules) and was bumped up to 3.1.

Posted: Tue Apr 03, 2007 4:05 pm
by thibouille27
Expensive for only 512MB more ram, no?
Do you really feel a big difference in performance ?

Posted: Tue Apr 03, 2007 4:27 pm
by thibouille27
Expensive for only 512MB more ram, no?
Do you really feel a big difference in performance ?

Posted: Tue Apr 03, 2007 4:32 pm
by xene
I really didn't do it to raise my "Vista Experience" score. What can I say? I'm a sucker for RAM and I want to see how "dual channel memory" checks out. Plus, I did got the extra module for about $50. As to increase in performance, I really haven't done anything today expect to work on a couple of spreadsheets, but I'll
know as soon as I fire up Photoshop.

I don't know if this is related to adding the RAM, but the right palm rest where the wireless sits seems much cooler than before.

Posted: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:40 am
by thibouille27
xene wrote: I don't know if this is related to adding the RAM, but the right palm rest where the wireless sits seems much cooler than before.
Strange to say the least ...