Page 1 of 1

x60s Dual Channel Memory

Posted: Thu Mar 29, 2007 10:22 am
by xene
I am currently running my x60s (1704-94u) with 1.5GB RAM using the dreaded Windows Vista. I just saw the identical 1GB module that I currently have on sale for less than $60.

My question is, would I notice any blazing differences in speed using the 2 matched chips or should I be cheap and keep my mis-matched set?

Posted: Thu Mar 29, 2007 11:04 am
by tian
hi there,

i dont think x60 takes advantage of matching pairs at all, see:
http://www.crucial.com/uk/store/listpar ... l+Types%29

especially: "Does my computer support dual channel memory" bit

however you will probably see an improvement just by installing 2gbs of ram. certainly my x60 is *real* zippy - couldnt work out if it's to do with the cpu, ram or disk. (i hate to say this, but i'm finding that i miss my old dell x300 less and less :D)

hope this helps,
tian

Posted: Thu Mar 29, 2007 11:17 am
by xene
Just to be double-sure, I just called Lenovo and they said that the system does support dual-channel memory. So now I'm even more tempted!

Posted: Thu Mar 29, 2007 11:28 am
by tian
i'd advise you to upgrade to 2gb either way even if doesnt support dual channel - you cant ever have too much ram right? :wink:

it's funny, i've spent the past two years watching the memory bar on intellij and dreading that "your system is running low on memory" message. last night when i was installing intellij it sure felt strange to be putting the -Xmin size to 128 and -Xmax to 512 :D heck, i might even go full out tonight as upgrade my VMs to 1gb! :shock:

back to point:
i dont think that it makes too much difference to use matching pairs or not. it might give you an extra fps or two in games, something that wont be making much difference to me (intellij, vs2005, visio and photoshop).

Posted: Thu Mar 29, 2007 10:26 pm
by ibear
i checked all bios options and nowhere "dual channel memory" is mentioned.

Posted: Thu Mar 29, 2007 10:39 pm
by smvp6459
ibear wrote:i checked all bios options and nowhere "dual channel memory" is mentioned.
It happens automatically when you have two sticks of memory that are the same size in the system.

Re: x60s Dual Channel Memory

Posted: Thu Mar 29, 2007 11:24 pm
by NJ_IT
I recommend you to use dual channel mode operation with same size and same type memory,and dual channel improves graphic score in Vista in X60/s/T
I verified it and check this http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?t=39779

Posted: Fri Mar 30, 2007 1:37 pm
by xene
Thanks so much for everybody's feedback!

Posted: Fri Mar 30, 2007 9:39 pm
by tyanlion
Btw what is the use of dual channel? is there any physical evidence that the vga score was because of it? or was it just happen stance

I looked at the old anandtech benchies but it really wasn't much of a performance increase if i remember