Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

x61s Ram memory

X60/X61 series specific matters only.
Post Reply
Message
Author
neogeo
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 6:37 am
Location: Trelleborg, SWEDEN

x61s Ram memory

#1 Post by neogeo » Fri Oct 19, 2007 9:46 am

how many ram memory slots does x61s have ?
if it ships with 1GB ram .. could i assume that they have 512 x 2 in there ?

ryengineer
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 4393
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 9:29 pm
Location: L.A. (home town) CA, Toronto ON.

#2 Post by ryengineer » Fri Oct 19, 2007 9:57 am

2 slots, can take up to 2x2 GB of memory sticks.

Most newer thinkpads don't get shipped with 2x512 MB of modules unless customized it to be, not sure whether it's true for European region or not.
"I've come a long, long way," she said, "and I will go as far,
With the man who takes me from my horse, and leads me to a bar."
The man who took her off her steed, and stood her to a beer,
Were a bleary-eyed Surveyor and a DRUNKEN ENGINEER.

neogeo
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 6:37 am
Location: Trelleborg, SWEDEN

#3 Post by neogeo » Fri Oct 19, 2007 11:10 am

what a shame ..
i want 2GB .. means that I would have to get 2 brand new ones ..
and just take that one out :(

732
Freshman Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 2:46 pm
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Contact:

#4 Post by 732 » Fri Oct 19, 2007 1:11 pm

He said it's probably 1x1GB inside it, so just add another stick.

Mikis
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 7:56 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

From my experience - always one

#5 Post by Mikis » Fri Oct 19, 2007 4:46 pm

I've had four X6* machines to date, and they all came with only one slot occupied, be they 512 or 1024MB boxes. None of that use-cheap-small-SIMs-to-use-all-slots-available apple philosophy. Apple'd pro'lly solder them in too and take out all slots, if they had their way.

And yes, ye cheape ebay-obtained DDR2-667 sticks work just fine, making the most economic vista solution a 512MB laptop + 1GB in the second slot IMHO.

mrgetalife
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2007 2:30 pm
Location: New York,NY

#6 Post by mrgetalife » Fri Oct 19, 2007 5:18 pm

Unless you specify on Lenovo's site. It'll come with 1 module.

Get a 2GB module yourself and get it over with.

awolfe63
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1155
Joined: Sat May 22, 2004 9:41 pm
Location: Los Gatos, CA

#7 Post by awolfe63 » Fri Oct 19, 2007 8:04 pm

1) 1GB machines come with 1 DIMM. 2GB machines are available either way.

2) X61s supports dual channel. You always want 2DIMMS if possible.
Andrew Wolfe

neogeo
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 6:37 am
Location: Trelleborg, SWEDEN

#8 Post by neogeo » Fri Oct 19, 2007 10:00 pm

I dont get to chose any options
it's a model with a student discount

ryengineer
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 4393
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 9:29 pm
Location: L.A. (home town) CA, Toronto ON.

#9 Post by ryengineer » Sat Oct 20, 2007 5:22 pm

You can refer to tabook if it has your 7 character product number (machine type and model) or if you've been provided with a serial number in advance you can do Parts Lookup.
"I've come a long, long way," she said, "and I will go as far,
With the man who takes me from my horse, and leads me to a bar."
The man who took her off her steed, and stood her to a beer,
Were a bleary-eyed Surveyor and a DRUNKEN ENGINEER.

bergje
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 5:11 am
Location: Delft, The Netherlands

#10 Post by bergje » Sun Oct 21, 2007 2:20 am

Unfortunately in most of Europe you can't order custum build thinkpads. Any x61s that i have seen thusfar in the Netherlands unfortunately comes with 2x512Mb. In fact I called one of the certified Lenovo Service Stores and they even refused to let me just pay for the price differense of RAM configuration. Claiming that the 512Mb sticks had to be removed and were not being sold enough to just let customers pay the price difference. :-(

I hence have the exact same problem. I also want a 2x1Gb X61s configuration but will have to replace both sticks for new ones adding to the price.

Regards
Ronald - X61s, L7300, 2*2048Mb 5300, 120 Gb SSD, Bluetooth, Intel a/b/g. Windows 8.

bergje
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 5:11 am
Location: Delft, The Netherlands

#11 Post by bergje » Tue Oct 23, 2007 5:48 am

I'm somewhat confused with the whole memory thing. My newly ordered X61s will come with 2 strips of 512 Mb PC5300 memory :-(. So iI was looking at replacement options to get at least 2 Gb of memory.

According to wikipedia the 965 chipset supports up to PC5300 (DDR2 667 Mhz) memory... But the front-side bus is 800 Mhz... So shouldn't it be compatible with PC6400 (800 Mhz) memory? Anyone who can shed some light on this?

Regards
Ronald - X61s, L7300, 2*2048Mb 5300, 120 Gb SSD, Bluetooth, Intel a/b/g. Windows 8.

qviri
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1275
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany

#12 Post by qviri » Tue Oct 23, 2007 8:06 am

bergje wrote:According to wikipedia the 965 chipset supports up to PC5300 (DDR2 667 Mhz) memory... But the front-side bus is 800 Mhz... So shouldn't it be compatible with PC6400 (800 Mhz) memory?
It is compatible inasmuch as it will work. However, the RAM will downclock itself to 667 MHz and you will see no benefit. (Other than possibly better timings at 667 MHz if you are into that and the BIOS will let you.)

Santa Rosa's 800 MHz FSB does not extend to RAM...
X220/IPS, T60p/IPS
Nothing endures but change

wolfman
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 837
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 8:40 pm
Location: Pine Grove, PA

#13 Post by wolfman » Tue Oct 23, 2007 10:59 am

I'm in the same boat as these folks - the closeout X61 that I purchased came with 2x512 sticks of RAM installed and I'd like to upgrade to at least 2 gig. www.newegg.com has 1 gig Crucial sticks for $25.99 and 2 gig Crucial sticks for $85. So it's ~$30 cheaper (net with shipping) to get the 2x1 gig sticks.

Based on the comment above regarding dual channel and matching sticks - if I were to opt for the 2 gig stick and installed it along with one of the existing 512mb sticks what kind of performance hit am I looking at? A few percent? Would I be crazy to not jest get the 2x1gb sticks? Thanks
Steve
Thinkpad T420 | Core i-5 2520M | 16gb RAM | 120gb Intel 520 SSD + 750gb 7200 RPM | 6300 N | Ubuntu 12.04 x64
Desktop: AMD FX-8350 (8 cores) | 32gb ECC RAM | 240gb Intel 530 SSD + 1tb 7200 RPM | Ubuntu 14.04 x64 | HP ZR24w
Previous Thinkpads: A21m, R40, X61, T410

awolfe63
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1155
Joined: Sat May 22, 2004 9:41 pm
Location: Los Gatos, CA

#14 Post by awolfe63 » Tue Oct 23, 2007 11:44 am

The performance from .5G+2G would be pretty close. The system is smart enough to use the dual-channel portion first. It would be faster than a 2GB stick alone and probably a tiny bit slower than 2x1GB.

I wouldn't do it though.

Here's how I figure it. Don't worry about throwing away the two 1GB sticks if you decide to upgrade later. You are going to save $33 now by going with the 1GB sticks. If you decide to go to 4GB in a year - you will be able to buy a 2GB stick to replace the ones you pull out for $30-$40 - maybe even the $26 that a 1GB stick costs now and you will be able to get $20 for the old ones. If you don't, then you still come out ahead.
Andrew Wolfe

wolfman
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 837
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 8:40 pm
Location: Pine Grove, PA

#15 Post by wolfman » Tue Oct 23, 2007 12:13 pm

That makes sense, thanks Andrew. I'm going to order the 2x1gb sticks (Crucial) and call it good.
Thanks!
Thinkpad T420 | Core i-5 2520M | 16gb RAM | 120gb Intel 520 SSD + 750gb 7200 RPM | 6300 N | Ubuntu 12.04 x64
Desktop: AMD FX-8350 (8 cores) | 32gb ECC RAM | 240gb Intel 530 SSD + 1tb 7200 RPM | Ubuntu 14.04 x64 | HP ZR24w
Previous Thinkpads: A21m, R40, X61, T410

neogeo
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 6:37 am
Location: Trelleborg, SWEDEN

#16 Post by neogeo » Tue Oct 23, 2007 2:00 pm

well the one I wanna get here in sweden comes with One Single 1 Gb ram

rokahn
Freshman Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 9:39 pm

Does x61s support dual channel memory?

#17 Post by rokahn » Tue Nov 13, 2007 3:36 am

I haven't found any documentation specifying the x61s supports dual channel and crucial.com says it doesn't. Any links to confirm?

Also, any links to benchmarks indicating what performance improvement can be expected?

awolfe63
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1155
Joined: Sat May 22, 2004 9:41 pm
Location: Los Gatos, CA

#18 Post by awolfe63 » Tue Nov 13, 2007 10:29 am

The TABOOK says dual-channel.
Andrew Wolfe

erik
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3596
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2004 12:52 pm
Location: United States

Re: Does x61s support dual channel memory?

#19 Post by erik » Tue Nov 13, 2007 11:01 am

rokahn wrote:Also, any links to benchmarks indicating what performance improvement can be expected?
another forum member, RonS, tested this on his T60 and found the difference to be 8% for memory-intensive tasks.   however, most users will not notice this difference under normal circumstances.
ThinkStation P700 | ThinkPad X1C7

awolfe63
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1155
Joined: Sat May 22, 2004 9:41 pm
Location: Los Gatos, CA

#20 Post by awolfe63 » Tue Nov 13, 2007 1:05 pm

The difference will be more with integrated graphics than with discrete. I can't tell which RonS tested from his posts. My best guess is that 8% is with integrated graphics.
Andrew Wolfe

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Thinkpad X6x Series incl. X6x Tablet”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests