Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

What do you do with your factory OS on your new X61(s)

X60/X61 series specific matters only.
Post Reply

What do you do with your factory OS on your new X61(s)

Immediately create factory image and reinstall vista w/o bloatware (explain!)
4
31%
uninstall bloatware and remove unnecessary startup processes, and say that's sufficient
7
54%
last option except, vow to reinstall everything later because it is a pain to do now
2
15%
 
Total votes: 13

Message
Author
apbudha
Freshman Member
Posts: 116
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 8:51 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY

What do you do with your factory OS on your new X61(s)

#1 Post by apbudha » Wed Nov 07, 2007 4:52 pm

What do you do with your factory OS on your new X61(s)?

ryengineer
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 4393
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 9:29 pm
Location: L.A. (home town) CA, Toronto ON.

#2 Post by ryengineer » Wed Nov 07, 2007 6:25 pm

I perform "Custom Factory Restore" (a newly integrated feature in Thinkvantage Rescue and Recovery, perhaps it's 8-10 months old now) using the blue button and use everything except Symantec's Norton Antivirus and Client Security Solution. YMMV on your requirement.
"I've come a long, long way," she said, "and I will go as far,
With the man who takes me from my horse, and leads me to a bar."
The man who took her off her steed, and stood her to a beer,
Were a bleary-eyed Surveyor and a DRUNKEN ENGINEER.

tselling
**SENIOR** Member
**SENIOR** Member
Posts: 572
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 10:18 am
Location: Derry, NH

#3 Post by tselling » Wed Nov 07, 2007 8:06 pm

Since my X61s came with 32-bit vista basic, I got the $5 any-time upgrade DVD from CompUSA and did a clean install of 64-bit vista basic to take advantage of 4gb ram.
T61P 2.2ghz 4GB 7K200GB 15.4" WSXGA+ Vista 64
HP 2530p L7400 1.86Ghz 3GB 160GB Windows 7 Pro 64
(Hubby) HP 2510p U7500 1.06Ghz 2GB 5K120GB 12" LED WXGA XP Pro
(4 year old son) Toughbook CF-29 1.3Ghz 1.2GB 5K250GB 13.3" XGA XP Pro

RedGreen
Freshman Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 2:46 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

#4 Post by RedGreen » Wed Nov 07, 2007 8:42 pm

When I got my X61s it had Vista Home Basic installed. I made backup discs and wiped the Vista partition and installed Ubuntu Linux and Windows XP (although I don't really ever use XP).
"Quando Omni Flunkus Moritati"
-RedGreen
X61s – 7668-CTO, L7500 LV 1.6 GHz, 160GB 5400, 2GB RAM, Bluetooth, Intel AGN wifi, Cingular WWAN, 8 cell battery, Ubuntu 7.10

rhema83
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 338
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2004 11:32 pm
Location: Singapore
Contact:

#5 Post by rhema83 » Wed Nov 07, 2007 9:15 pm

My X61 comes with Vista Home Basic on a 80GB 5400rpm HDD. First thing I'd do is to make a set of recovery discs. Then I'd replace the HDD with a 7K200, and install Vista Business (which I have an academic license for).

Still debating between x86 and x64 while waiting for the X61 and the 7K200 in the mail.
X61 7675-CTO Merom 2.0GHz 4GB RAM, 7K200 HDD

apbudha
Freshman Member
Posts: 116
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 8:51 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY

#6 Post by apbudha » Thu Nov 08, 2007 5:10 pm

RedGreen wrote:When I got my X61s it had Vista Home Basic installed. I made backup discs and wiped the Vista partition and installed Ubuntu Linux and Windows XP (although I don't really ever use XP).
I'm looking to do this over the summer (dual boot with Ubuntu and Vista). I heard that are certain tweaks that should be made for the Ubuntu to work compeletly. Did you run into any problems with suspend?

immaculate
Freshman Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2004 7:50 pm
Location: Newport Beach, CA

#7 Post by immaculate » Thu Nov 08, 2007 11:52 pm

i've done all of my thinkpads the same way: request restore discs, blow away hidden partition, wipe factory load and re-image. my latest x61s came with vista home basic which i immediately wiped and replaced with vista ultimate.

aaron
X40 2371-GEU - 1.4ghz, 1.5gb, 64gb SSD
X41 2525-3CU - 1.5ghz, 1.5gb, 64gb SSD
T60 2007-03U - 2.0ghz, 3gb
X61 7674-HE2
X61s 7668-CTO - 1.8ghz, 8gb
X61s 7667-34U - 1.8ghz, 8gb
X200s 7470-ET5 - 1.86ghz, 8gb, WXGA+
X201s 5397-CTO
X220 4291-CB5
X301 4057-D56 - 1.4ghz, 8gb
X1 CT 3448-B66

bergje
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 5:11 am
Location: Delft, The Netherlands

#8 Post by bergje » Fri Nov 09, 2007 4:24 am

My X61s came with Vista Business.

I created backup media and removed Vista along with the recovery partition and created a XP-professional / Ubuntu gutsy dual boot system :-). Although I also never use windows XP, just for the occasional software that isn't available for Ubuntu and sometimes a game. Initially I had to put more trouble in XP to install it and get everything working than I had with Ubuntu Gutsy where most things worked out of the box.
Ronald - X61s, L7300, 2*2048Mb 5300, 120 Gb SSD, Bluetooth, Intel a/b/g. Windows 8.

roblim
Freshman Member
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun May 09, 2004 10:58 pm
Location: Glendale, CA

#9 Post by roblim » Fri Nov 09, 2007 2:37 pm

I remove the factory hard drive, and replace it with a 7200 rpm drive. Put the factory drive in a bag and put it in a safe place until I need it when I resell this laptop.

RedGreen
Freshman Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 2:46 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

#10 Post by RedGreen » Fri Nov 09, 2007 8:38 pm

apbudha wrote:
RedGreen wrote:When I got my X61s it had Vista Home Basic installed. I made backup discs and wiped the Vista partition and installed Ubuntu Linux and Windows XP (although I don't really ever use XP).
I'm looking to do this over the summer (dual boot with Ubuntu and Vista). I heard that are certain tweaks that should be made for the Ubuntu to work compeletly. Did you run into any problems with suspend?
I posted a little guide for getting things working in the Linux specific part of these forums that worked for me on my X61s (the thread is titled "Ubuntu 7.10"), go ahead and take a look, go ahead and post in that thread with any questions you have. And remember to backup everything before you make any changes.

I have been able to get hibernation to work but have not yet added it to the list of instructions. Have not yet worked on suspend.

Ubuntu worked out of box very well, wifi, sound, the card reader, even a lot of the fn+ key combos all worked great.
"Quando Omni Flunkus Moritati"
-RedGreen
X61s – 7668-CTO, L7500 LV 1.6 GHz, 160GB 5400, 2GB RAM, Bluetooth, Intel AGN wifi, Cingular WWAN, 8 cell battery, Ubuntu 7.10

sbell22
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 8:21 pm
Location: Los Gatos, CA

#11 Post by sbell22 » Sat Nov 10, 2007 1:12 am

Wow - ThinkPad blackbelt city!! :)

Has anyone posted instructions of how to wipe the restore partition and re-image without it?

thanks
Last edited by sbell22 on Wed Nov 28, 2007 11:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
steve bell / tablet pc enthusiast
bell consulting group

Dell/Toshiba/Asus/HP/Sony 'XP' laptops; Mac Powerbook (sold), -> ThinkPad x61 tablet!
HP200/620LX, Windows CE/PPC/Palm/Treo/Blackberry devices, HTC 6800; happily back to BB 8700:)

apbudha
Freshman Member
Posts: 116
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 8:51 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY

#12 Post by apbudha » Sun Nov 11, 2007 8:08 pm

ryengineer wrote:I perform "Custom Factory Restore" (a newly integrated feature in Thinkvantage Rescue and Recovery, perhaps it's 8-10 months old now) using the blue button and use everything except Symantec's Norton Antivirus and Client Security Solution. YMMV on your requirement.
Anyone: Are we all assuming all Thinkvantage related software is non-bloatware? Is there you consider unnecessary, that you disable after restoring?

apbudha
Freshman Member
Posts: 116
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 8:51 pm
Location: Buffalo, NY

#13 Post by apbudha » Sun Nov 11, 2007 8:13 pm

rhema83 wrote:My X61 comes with Vista Home Basic on a 80GB 5400rpm HDD. First thing I'd do is to make a set of recovery discs. Then I'd replace the HDD with a 7K200, and install Vista Business (which I have an academic license for).

Still debating between x86 and x64 while waiting for the X61 and the 7K200 in the mail.
anyone: when you say create backup discs/media, are you doing this per Vista's mechanisms using howto's sprinkled on the web, or is there a way to do this with thinkvantage utilities?

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Thinkpad X6x Series incl. X6x Tablet”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests