Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Memory configuration queston for x61s

X60/X61 series specific matters only.
Post Reply
Message
Author
bergje
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 5:11 am
Location: Delft, The Netherlands

Memory configuration queston for x61s

#1 Post by bergje » Wed Apr 23, 2008 4:32 pm

Heyall,

I was browsing to upgrade my x61s (7669) memory. I'm somewhat confused by the conflicting things I read about the memory though.

The lenovo site : http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site. ... 644.html#x

states I can use : PC2-5300 CL5 DDR2 SDRAM 200-pin non-parity SoDIMM

So I looked around and found some nice Kingston Valueram 2*2Gb
particularly partno. KVR667D2S5/2G at a nice 33 euro's per strip.
It satisfies all the conditions stated above and comes with a warranty of 2 years.

When i was at the kingston site to check the details of the memory, i also found a memory configurator tool that could identify the memory based on your system. Here's the link showing the modules that are compatible according to the configurator :
http://www.ec.kingston.com/ecom/configu ... it1=Search
When i checked the stores for these modules, partno KTL-TP667/2G
these cost a hefty 55 euro's a strip.
Here's the kingston link for the strips : http://www.ec.kingston.com/ecom/configu ... L-TP667/2G

So now i'm wondering... Which strips to take...? Did you guys go for the basic valueram or opt for the system specific ram? Can anyone tell me the difference between these different parts???

Just hoping to clarify this before i spend 66 euro's on 4 Gb that won't work in my system ;-)

Thanx - Ronald
Ronald - X61s, L7300, 2*2048Mb 5300, 120 Gb SSD, Bluetooth, Intel a/b/g. Windows 8.

iamdmc
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 599
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 11:37 pm
Location: Downtown Toronto, Canada

#2 Post by iamdmc » Wed Apr 23, 2008 6:59 pm

As long as it's PC2-5300 DDR2 SODIMM RAM, it should work in your system. I've never heard of any chips being rejected from an X61/X61s

Kingston works well. OCZ works well too.
ThinkPad T480s
i7-8550u | 16+8GB RAM | 500GB Samsung 970 | FHD-to-QHD upgrade (ask me how)
T480s 2280 M.2 M-key (PCIe x4) & 2242 M.2 B-key (PCIe x2) @WWAN slot
The X61 is dead... long live the X61


Past IBM ThinkPads: T450s, X250, X230, X220, X300, T410, X61s, T60p, T41, X31, T23, A21m

bergje
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 5:11 am
Location: Delft, The Netherlands

#3 Post by bergje » Thu Apr 24, 2008 3:42 am

Kay that sounds hopefull... because i'm somewhat reluctant to pay more then needed as I'm a student... I've seen loads of people here with specs of more then the basic 2*512Mb memory... What did you guys use to upgrade???

Please don't be shy and post a reply! ;-)

Ciao
Ronald - X61s, L7300, 2*2048Mb 5300, 120 Gb SSD, Bluetooth, Intel a/b/g. Windows 8.

Harryc
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 13228
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Location: Upstate New York

#4 Post by Harryc » Thu Apr 24, 2008 5:40 am

Frys has 2GB OCZ PC2-6400 for $29.99 after rebate. They do ship international, but the rebate does not apply outside of the US. Have a friend here procure them for you.

PC2-5300 RAM at Frys
Last edited by Harryc on Thu Apr 24, 2008 5:47 am, edited 1 time in total.

bergje
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 5:11 am
Location: Delft, The Netherlands

#5 Post by bergje » Thu Apr 24, 2008 5:47 am

Thanx for the tip but in this particular case the link you send is for DIMM and not SODIMM... 240 pins instead of 200... But i really only need the answer if taking any other kind of memory which adheres to the set technical specifics will work...

Ciao
Ronald - X61s, L7300, 2*2048Mb 5300, 120 Gb SSD, Bluetooth, Intel a/b/g. Windows 8.

Harryc
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 13228
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Location: Upstate New York

#6 Post by Harryc » Thu Apr 24, 2008 5:49 am

I would recommend against Kingston value RAM. It has been know to have compatibility problems with Thinkpads.

gjdrink
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 12:26 pm
Location: Storrs, CT

#7 Post by gjdrink » Thu Apr 24, 2008 10:20 am

I just upgraded my X61 (7675 CTO) with 2*2 GB OCZ pc2 5300 mems, but since my OS is 32b vista Home edition, which can only support 3 GB mem...so I'm using a 1 GB Lenovo's original memory and a 2 GB OCZ memory.

By the way, buy.com sometimes will have big deal, my 2 GB memories are only $20 after rebate. But only one rebate per address.

tinue
Freshman Member
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 4:24 am
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

#8 Post by tinue » Thu Apr 24, 2008 1:08 pm

Hello

I am using "Corsair ValueSelect 2GB SO-DIMM, DDR2-667", 2 strips of them. With Vista 64, I can even use all of the 4GB.
They cost about 50$ (correction: per piece) here in Switzerland.

Regards, Martin

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Thinkpad X6x Series incl. X6x Tablet”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests