Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

MC8775 Firmware update to support 7.2MB - does it exist ?

X60/X61 and X60t/X61t Series
Message
Author
gbernard
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 7:55 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

MC8775 Firmware update to support 7.2MB - does it exist ?

#1 Post by gbernard » Mon May 05, 2008 5:29 am

Hi I have read about a firmware update to update the embedded MC8775 Sierra Wireless HSDPA adapter to allow it to support 7.2 MB, has anyone seen it or can they point me to it ?

davekung
Freshman Member
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 10:05 pm
Location: NEW YORK, NY

#2 Post by davekung » Mon May 05, 2008 8:58 am

Check Telstra site. Telstra posted the 7.2mb firmware for Aircard 875 awhile back. SO they may have a firmware for the embedded card as well.

gbernard
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 7:55 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

#3 Post by gbernard » Mon May 12, 2008 1:14 am

Hi Dave, I looked but couldn't find it, anyone have any other ideas or details regarding this ?

bill bolton
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 3848
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 10:09 am
Location: Sydney, Australia - Best Address on Earth!

#4 Post by bill bolton » Mon May 12, 2008 6:17 am

gbernard wrote:I looked but couldn't find it..
Telstra Turbo Card (AC875) latest release software

Cheers,

Bill B.

adrianaitken
Sophomore Member
Posts: 179
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 5:38 pm
Location: Jersey,UK

#5 Post by adrianaitken » Mon May 12, 2008 7:07 am

Bill, I take it that the AC875 is also the 8775, just a different name ?
X60 - upgraded to a X61 2.5Ghz motherboard and 8GB RAM (Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit) 64GB SSD
X61 - 2Ghz and 4GB RAM (Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit) 32GB SSD
USB DVD-RW DL/Blu-Ray reader

gbernard
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 7:55 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

#6 Post by gbernard » Mon May 12, 2008 2:54 pm

thanks bill, I found it, and tried it, but just get an error saying device not found

has anyone actually been able to upgrade theirs to 7.2 mb, I am beginning to think it is an urban myth.

adrianaitken
Sophomore Member
Posts: 179
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 5:38 pm
Location: Jersey,UK

#7 Post by adrianaitken » Mon May 12, 2008 6:14 pm

Same here and looking at the firmware date it says 05/09/07 and regardless of how you read dates (m/d/y d/m/y etc) that is OLD.
I think we'll have to get Mythbusters onto this one but only because they'll end up blowing something up :lol:
X60 - upgraded to a X61 2.5Ghz motherboard and 8GB RAM (Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit) 64GB SSD
X61 - 2Ghz and 4GB RAM (Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit) 32GB SSD
USB DVD-RW DL/Blu-Ray reader

bill bolton
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 3848
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 10:09 am
Location: Sydney, Australia - Best Address on Earth!

#8 Post by bill bolton » Tue May 13, 2008 1:21 am

adrianaitken wrote:Bill, I take it that the AC875 is also the 8775, just a different name ?
Probably.

Telstra does not sell any Mini-PCI-E versions of the Sierra cards, just the external card-slot and USB versions, so they only provide those drivers on their web site. The USB versions now a days are just the Mini-PCI-E card wrapped up in an external package with a battery and some USB interface electronics, so hopefully the same driver applies to both the Mini-PCI-E version and the USB version.... but I have no way of knowing for sure.

I do know that my Telstra Turbo 7 (AC880U) USB device works wonderfully on their nextG network under XP Pro, Vista x86 and Vista x64 across several ThinkPads... which is what I personally need more than having a Mini-PCI-E card built into just one ThinkPad.

Cheers,

Bill B.

adrianaitken
Sophomore Member
Posts: 179
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 5:38 pm
Location: Jersey,UK

#9 Post by adrianaitken » Wed May 14, 2008 5:53 pm

Found out today that my mobile provider is still at 3.6 and is having issues with the backhaul anyway. So, I'm now not that bothered since I can't use it anyway.
Another thing I was told is that if the signal strength isn't 90% or more, although Windows might say "Connected at 3.6 Meg" you're not going to get anything like that in real world throughput.
X60 - upgraded to a X61 2.5Ghz motherboard and 8GB RAM (Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit) 64GB SSD
X61 - 2Ghz and 4GB RAM (Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit) 32GB SSD
USB DVD-RW DL/Blu-Ray reader

WookieOZ
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 7:29 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

#10 Post by WookieOZ » Mon Jul 28, 2008 8:08 am

Well, I spent an interesting evening trolling the internet in search of new firmware for my 8775 as I have been having issues with it locking up after being idle for a while (which is only resolved by powering the X300 off and on again). I initially thought it was Vista x64, but it does the same thing with XP.

It turns out that Cisco use these very same modules in some of their 3G equipment, and most importantly they have updated firmware!

The latest FW seems to be H1_1_9_3MCAP (file dates are 10th April 2008).

I have upgraded my card to this firmware and it seems to have increased sensitivity (used to be 1-2 bars, is now 4!). I don't don't know (yet) if this fixes my 'freeze' issues, but time will tell.

If you have a CCO logon (I work for a Cisco Gold Partner) do the following:

- Go to: http://tools.cisco.com/support/download ... =278875243
- Go to: Wireless Integrated Switches and Routers
- Go to: Cisco 3G Wireless WAN (GPRS/EDGE/UMTS/HSDPA) High-Speed Wan Interface Card
- Choose latest code (was H1.1_9_3 as at 28/7/2008) and download file
- Unpack the .tar file and double click on both .cwe files to upgrade firmware (MC8775QCOMH1.1.9.0.cwe is bootloader, MC8775H1.1.9.3.cwe is firmware).

As usual the risk is all yours if you fry the modem, and you have to be on speaking terms with Cisco (ie pay them lots of money for Smartnet), but newer firmware is certainly out there.

adrianaitken
Sophomore Member
Posts: 179
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 5:38 pm
Location: Jersey,UK

#11 Post by adrianaitken » Tue Jul 29, 2008 6:10 am

Well, I tried (got a CCO since I work for a service provider). Clicked the .tar and it said to log in !!!! Top of the screen showed I was logged in. Since we are also a Silver Partner I might try and get one of the engineering staff to pull it down (they have different rights).
Big question - can it do 7.2 ?
X60 - upgraded to a X61 2.5Ghz motherboard and 8GB RAM (Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit) 64GB SSD
X61 - 2Ghz and 4GB RAM (Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit) 32GB SSD
USB DVD-RW DL/Blu-Ray reader

dtscaps
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 5:31 am
Location: bergen, Norway

#12 Post by dtscaps » Tue Jul 29, 2008 6:55 am

I have read somewhere that you need "receive diversity" to be able to acheive 7.2 mbit. Receive diversity requires two antennas which the 8775 does not have.

EOMtp
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1585
Joined: Fri May 19, 2006 12:51 pm

#13 Post by EOMtp » Tue Jul 29, 2008 7:25 pm

Note: The firmware being shipped by Lenovo with the current crop of MC8775 cards (AT&T and Vodafone) is indeed the MC8775QCOMH1.1.9.0 bootloader and MC8775H1.1.9.3 firmware (the same as the files on the Cisco site referenced in the postings above).

Rambler76
Freshman Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 6:08 pm
Location: Australia

#14 Post by Rambler76 » Mon Aug 25, 2008 6:11 pm

Hi,

Could someone post a direct link to the Cisco firmware or upload it to rapidshare as Im unable to get a CCO logon.

EOMtp
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1585
Joined: Fri May 19, 2006 12:51 pm

#15 Post by EOMtp » Mon Aug 25, 2008 6:22 pm

Rambler76: Check your PM (Private Message).

Rambler76
Freshman Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 6:08 pm
Location: Australia

#16 Post by Rambler76 » Mon Aug 25, 2008 6:36 pm

Many thanks to EOMtp.

Rambler76
Freshman Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 6:08 pm
Location: Australia

#17 Post by Rambler76 » Mon Aug 25, 2008 9:49 pm

dtscaps wrote:I have read somewhere that you need "receive diversity" to be able to acheive 7.2 mbit. Receive diversity requires two antennas which the 8775 does not have.
Ive heard this as well. Although the Lenovo WWAN/WLAN antenna kit comes with two WWAN antennas (red and blue) the MC8775 only utilises one of the antennas (red).

I'll update the firmware on my MC8775 and test it tonight.

The Telstra NextG provider here in Australia has upgraded their UMTS 850Mhz network to support 14.4Mbit/s.

I'll see how fast I can go running some speed tests with them.

bill bolton
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 3848
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 10:09 am
Location: Sydney, Australia - Best Address on Earth!

#18 Post by bill bolton » Tue Aug 26, 2008 6:43 am

Rambler76 wrote:The Telstra NextG provider here in Australia has upgraded their UMTS 850Mhz network to support 14.4Mbit/s.
Next G supports 14.4 Mbps channels but there are no 14.4 Mbps devices available, so the best you can get 7.2 Mbps and that will mostly be in burst mode operation (when in a high signal strength area), not on continuous transfers.

Cheers,

Bill B.

Rambler76
Freshman Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 6:08 pm
Location: Australia

#19 Post by Rambler76 » Tue Aug 26, 2008 6:26 pm

Well I updated my MC8775 firmware last night from:

H1_1_8_3MCAP
03/08/07
H1_1_8_0MCBT

to:

H1_1_9_3MCAP
12/12/07
H1_1_9_0MCBT

and data transfers are definitely faster and more consistent in transfer speeds.

In full signal I'm getting about 1,050kb/s download and about 54kb/s upload using speedtest.

For those in Australia, one thing Ive noticed is that I cant log onto Telstra's NetxG 850Mhz network.

The MC8775 is set to either auto or 3G all and the only network it can find is 3's 2,100Mhz network that comes up as 3Tesltra due to their network sharing agreement.

Anyone else have this?

Rambler76
Freshman Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 6:08 pm
Location: Australia

#20 Post by Rambler76 » Wed Aug 27, 2008 6:31 pm

Just a word of caution with this firmware.

I think it has stripped UMTS 850Mhz support, as the card cant find the Telstra's NextG network in Australia when using a manual network selection with the wireless watcher software.

yunye
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 10:14 am
Location: Shanghai&China

#21 Post by yunye » Wed Aug 27, 2008 10:21 pm

WookieOZ wrote:Well, I spent an interesting evening trolling the internet in search of new firmware for my 8775 as I have been having issues with it locking up after being idle for a while (which is only resolved by powering the X300 off and on again). I initially thought it was Vista x64, but it does the same thing with XP.

It turns out that Cisco use these very same modules in some of their 3G equipment, and most importantly they have updated firmware!

The latest FW seems to be H1_1_9_3MCAP (file dates are 10th April 2008).

I have upgraded my card to this firmware and it seems to have increased sensitivity (used to be 1-2 bars, is now 4!). I don't don't know (yet) if this fixes my 'freeze' issues, but time will tell.

If you have a CCO logon (I work for a Cisco Gold Partner) do the following:

- Go to: http://tools.cisco.com/support/download ... =278875243
- Go to: Wireless Integrated Switches and Routers
- Go to: Cisco 3G Wireless WAN (GPRS/EDGE/UMTS/HSDPA) High-Speed Wan Interface Card
- Choose latest code (was H1.1_9_3 as at 28/7/2008) and download file
- Unpack the .tar file and double click on both .cwe files to upgrade firmware (MC8775QCOMH1.1.9.0.cwe is bootloader, MC8775H1.1.9.3.cwe is firmware).

As usual the risk is all yours if you fry the modem, and you have to be on speaking terms with Cisco (ie pay them lots of money for Smartnet), but newer firmware is certainly out there.



Now the latest FW is H1_1_9_22, and the page is

Cisco.com login page

Could anyone who has a CCO logon post the direct link to me as I don't have it.....Thanks a lot!

Admin edit: Shortened URL to prevent horizontal scrolling

Rambler76
Freshman Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 6:08 pm
Location: Australia

#22 Post by Rambler76 » Thu Aug 28, 2008 12:52 am

hi,

a few people have pm'd me about the whole 850Mhz issue.

based on the current v1.1.9.3 firmware out there it seems to remove 850Mhz UMTS support.

the only way I can be certain about this is to revert back to my original v1.1.8.3 firmware and to do a manual network scan for Telstra's 850Mhz network.

Cisco's page http://www.cisco.com/en/US/prod/routers ... ia-pacific lists the 1.1.8.3 firmware as being compatible with Telstra.

could anyone help me with the login to v1.1.8.3 firmware from this Cisco page

Cisco.com login page

thanks

Admin edit: Shortened URL to prevent horizontal scrolling

EOMtp
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1585
Joined: Fri May 19, 2006 12:51 pm

#23 Post by EOMtp » Thu Aug 28, 2008 4:05 pm

Rambler76 wrote:...the only way I can be certain about this is to revert back ...
There is an easier way:
Version 1.1.9.3 did not eliminate 850MHz. However, the card may be set so it does not look for that band. One can check the card for its current state and the options available using AT-commands from HyperTerminal:
Image

yunye
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 10:14 am
Location: Shanghai&China

#24 Post by yunye » Thu Aug 28, 2008 9:30 pm

EOMtp, could you help me to give me the direct link of FW H1_1_9_22? Thank you!

Rambler76
Freshman Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 6:08 pm
Location: Australia

#25 Post by Rambler76 » Fri Aug 29, 2008 5:37 am

EOMtp wrote:
Rambler76 wrote:...the only way I can be certain about this is to revert back ...
There is an easier way:
Version 1.1.9.3 did not eliminate 850MHz. However, the card may be set so it does not look for that band. One can check the card for its current state and the options available using AT-commands from HyperTerminal:
Image
Ive hyperterminalled into the modem and queried the bands and its set to all WCDMA by default. there doesnt seem to be an option for WCDMA bands other than 2100. there also doesnt seem to be an option for 850 and 1900 GSM.

Image

I still couldnt get the 850Mhz UMTS network so I bandset it to all bands 00.
Image

Im still not getting the UMTS 850Mhz network here in Australia called 'Telstra'. I can only get the '3Telstra' UMTS 2100Mhz network

Image

Looking at my first pic it looks like the firmware only provides UMTS 2100 and GSM 900 and 1800.

Any links to the earlier 1.1.8.3 firmware would be appreciated so I can do further testing on the available UMTS and GSM bands.

EOMtp
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1585
Joined: Fri May 19, 2006 12:51 pm

#26 Post by EOMtp » Fri Aug 29, 2008 5:37 pm

Rambler76 wrote:Looking at my first pic it looks like the firmware only provides UMTS 2100 and GSM 900 and 1800.
Any links to the earlier 1.1.8.3 firmware would be appreciated so I can do further testing on the available UMTS and GSM bands.
Deleted.
Last edited by EOMtp on Thu Oct 23, 2008 4:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Rambler76
Freshman Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 6:08 pm
Location: Australia

#27 Post by Rambler76 » Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:29 pm

I understand what your saying, but before the firmware update I was able to see and connect to the UMTS 850Mhz network.

This is why Ive requested assistance on obtaining the earlier v1.1.8.3 firmware to see if the new firmware does lock out these bands.

yunye
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 10:14 am
Location: Shanghai&China

#28 Post by yunye » Sat Aug 30, 2008 1:37 am

:cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:

Could anyone send the 1.1.9.3 or 1.1.9.22 to me?

Many many many many many many many many many thanks!

My Email is yunyefenglin@yahoo.com.cn

EOMtp
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1585
Joined: Fri May 19, 2006 12:51 pm

#29 Post by EOMtp » Sat Aug 30, 2008 2:08 am

yunye: Check your PM (Private Message).

yunye
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 10:14 am
Location: Shanghai&China

#30 Post by yunye » Sat Aug 30, 2008 4:04 am

EOMtp wrote:yunye: Check your PM (Private Message).
Success! Thank you!!!

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Thinkpad X60/X61 Series incl. Tablets”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests