Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

SXGA+ on a X60s (non tablet)

X60/X61 series specific matters only.
Post Reply
Message
Author
nexx
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 7:44 pm
Location: Sao Paulo, Brazil

SXGA+ on a X60s (non tablet)

#1 Post by nexx » Mon Jun 30, 2008 9:48 pm

Is it possible to install a X60T SXGA 1400x1050 screen on a X60s (non tablet).

I want 1400x1050!

Did anybody tried the mod?

Regards,
nexx

erik
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3596
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2004 12:52 pm
Location: United States

#2 Post by erik » Mon Jun 30, 2008 10:18 pm

edit: it's been done.   scroll down. ;)
Last edited by erik on Thu Oct 16, 2008 9:10 am, edited 2 times in total.
ThinkStation P700 | ThinkPad X1C7

pianowizard
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 8531
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 5:07 am
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Contact:

#3 Post by pianowizard » Tue Jul 01, 2008 9:33 pm

erik, I only tried fitting an X61 tablet SXGA+ panel into an X40, which didn't work because their LCD cables have different plugs and the X40's LCD assembly is way too thin. The X6* probably uses the same kind of cable as the X6* tablet so the chance of success would be higher. But I couldn't afford an X6* for this experiment.
HP Pavilion x2 12-b096ms (1920x1280, Core M3-6Y30, 3.14 lb); Microsoft Surface 3 (1920x1280, Atom x7-Z8700, 2.00 lb)
Dell OptiPlex 5040 SFF (Core i5-6600); Acer ET322QK, T272HUL; Crossover 404K; QNIX QHD2410R; Seiki Pro SM40UNP

erik
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3596
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2004 12:52 pm
Location: United States

#4 Post by erik » Tue Jul 01, 2008 9:48 pm

ahh, didn't know that you tried it in an X40.   isn't the tablet panel still too wide and thick to work though?   the X60 display is the same size as the X40, fyi.
ThinkStation P700 | ThinkPad X1C7

ajkula66
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge
Posts: 16952
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA

#5 Post by ajkula66 » Tue Jul 01, 2008 11:25 pm

The LCD panel is definitely thicker, no questions asked. My belief is that you'd be putting quite some strain on LCD and/or lid.

Personally, I'd refrain from attempting it...
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

FlexView AARP club members:A31p, T43pSF

Abused daily: T520, X200s


PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.

nexx
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 7:44 pm
Location: Sao Paulo, Brazil

would try but...

#6 Post by nexx » Wed Jul 02, 2008 4:58 pm

Well, I would try on my x60s, but guess I can't afford a SXGA x60t screen without knowing if it will work or not. How much can it cost??

Does anybody have both screens to send us measures and more details? Or does anybody want to give away a lcd for this test (maybe a partially working)?

Hope we can get an answer somehow (if it is replaceable or not). If it is, then to me will be the perfect ultraportable.

Regards,
nexx

j-dawg
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 529
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 9:32 pm
Location: PGH, PA

#7 Post by j-dawg » Wed Jul 02, 2008 8:38 pm

The difference in price between a low-spec X60s and a low-spec X60 Tablet isn't enough to justify retrofitting the screen. It would be more effective to just buy an X60 Tablet with the SXGA+ screen.
X61 Tablet - 1.6GHz C2D, SXGA+, 1GB RAM, 100GB HD, Vista Business.

i have other laptops but i'll be honest i never use 'em

nexx
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 7:44 pm
Location: Sao Paulo, Brazil

#8 Post by nexx » Sun Jul 06, 2008 7:50 pm

Laptop weight and dimension are the justification...

nexx

microwave
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2004 5:23 pm
Location: Kyunggido,South korea.

Re: SXGA+ on a X60s (non tablet)

#9 Post by microwave » Fri Jul 18, 2008 9:53 am

I have already tried to install sxga+ LCD on x60s and succeed to get a higher resolution ( 1400 x 1050) .

1. Modify x60's LCD cable to install sxga+ LCD

2. Modify x60's bios image code .( the X60 BIOS is permanently set at XGA, even if a higher res panel is installed. You should modify bios image code to get a higher resolution.)


You can see feasibility test image for sxga+ on x60s. Refer to following site . ( This link is a korean web site . )

http://www.thinkmania.com/zb40/zboard.p ... c&no=11881

ps.) I hope that you will overlook many mistakes in my english.

pianowizard
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 8531
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 5:07 am
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Contact:

Re: SXGA+ on a X60s (non tablet)

#10 Post by pianowizard » Fri Jul 18, 2008 10:15 am

microwave wrote:I have already tried to install sxga+ LCD on x60s and succeed to get a higher resolution ( 1400 x 1050) .
Awesome. If possible, would you please weigh this altered X60s? I'm curious how much heavier it is than the original X60s. Also, is the display assembly really thick enough to hold the 1400x1050 screen? I was almost convinced it's not.
HP Pavilion x2 12-b096ms (1920x1280, Core M3-6Y30, 3.14 lb); Microsoft Surface 3 (1920x1280, Atom x7-Z8700, 2.00 lb)
Dell OptiPlex 5040 SFF (Core i5-6600); Acer ET322QK, T272HUL; Crossover 404K; QNIX QHD2410R; Seiki Pro SM40UNP

Puppy
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2803
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2004 4:52 am
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

Re: SXGA+ on a X60s (non tablet)

#11 Post by Puppy » Fri Jul 18, 2008 10:17 am

microwave wrote:I have already tried to install sxga+ LCD on x60s and succeed to get a higher resolution ( 1400 x 1050) .
Awesome. Pictures, pictures ! :-) What lcd panel is it ?
ThinkPad (1992 - 2012): R51, X31, X220, Tablet 8
Huawei MateBook 13

microwave
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2004 5:23 pm
Location: Kyunggido,South korea.

Re: SXGA+ on a X60s (non tablet)

#12 Post by microwave » Fri Jul 18, 2008 10:38 am

As though I did not comment before thread, I have already installed SXGA+ LCD on X60 housing case. As you already know, It is little thicker ( Specially, upper location of LCD) and lcd housing frame is different from that of x60s. To install sxga+ on x60s housing case, I should modify lcd frame of sxga+. As you know, It is not easy. But I can install sxga+ LCD on x60s's housing case.

Within few days, I will show you full image of x60s with higher resoultion(1400x1050).

I used Boe-hydis HV121p01-100 .( You can not install Hv121P01-101 on x60s as though you can get a higher resoultion. HV121P01-101 is little thicker than HV121P01-100).

Price of HV121P01-100 (A1 Grade) is a $230USD per 1000 units.
( B1 Grade is a $150 ~ 170USD per 1000units . )

pianowizard
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 8531
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 5:07 am
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Contact:

Re: SXGA+ on a X60s (non tablet)

#13 Post by pianowizard » Fri Jul 18, 2008 10:54 am

microwave wrote:As though I did not comment before thread, I have already installed SXGA+ LCD on X60 housing case.
Okay, so you installed the screen on an X60, not X60s. That makes more sense, because the X60 has a thicker display assembly than the X60s. But an X60 with a 1400x1050 screen (which should be heavier than the original 1024x768 screen) probably weighs around 3.5 pounds, not much lighter the X60 tablet. So, I'm not sure this mod is worthwhile.

Ideally, we want to have an X60s with 1400x1050, so that it would have a more significant weight advantage over the X60 tablet, but unfortunately its display housing is too thin. Perhaps a compromise would be to take the X60s and replace its display assembly with one from an X60. Now, that would be a really impressive Frankenpad!
HP Pavilion x2 12-b096ms (1920x1280, Core M3-6Y30, 3.14 lb); Microsoft Surface 3 (1920x1280, Atom x7-Z8700, 2.00 lb)
Dell OptiPlex 5040 SFF (Core i5-6600); Acer ET322QK, T272HUL; Crossover 404K; QNIX QHD2410R; Seiki Pro SM40UNP

jketzetera
Sophomore Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 11:29 pm
Location: Sydney Australia

Re: SXGA+ on a X60s (non tablet)

#14 Post by jketzetera » Sat Jul 19, 2008 4:26 pm

microwave wrote:As though I did not comment before thread, I have already installed SXGA+ LCD on X60 housing case. As you already know, It is little thicker ( Specially, upper location of LCD) and lcd housing frame is different from that of x60s. To install sxga+ on x60s housing case, I should modify lcd frame of sxga+. As you know, It is not easy. But I can install sxga+ LCD on x60s's housing case.

Within few days, I will show you full image of x60s with higher resoultion(1400x1050).

I used Boe-hydis HV121p01-100 .( You can not install Hv121P01-101 on x60s as though you can get a higher resoultion. HV121P01-101 is little thicker than HV121P01-100).

Price of HV121P01-100 (A1 Grade) is a $230USD per 1000 units.
( B1 Grade is a $150 ~ 170USD per 1000units . )

That is really awesome!! Myself and many others here are looking forward to see how you performed the installation and how the end result is!

gator
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 3401
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 2:28 am
Location: Gainesville, FL

#15 Post by gator » Sat Jul 19, 2008 6:33 pm

microwave, amazing news. Even though an X60 with the SXGA+ screen will be heavier at ~3.5 lbs as pianowizard estimates, this is a very useful mod in my opinion. Travel weight is still lesser than a 14" thinkpad and that makes it very attractive for me ...

Please post some pics (if you have any) detailing panel used and the installation procedure. I am not sure if you used a SXGA+ panel from a X60 tablet or you used a differnt (aftermarket) panel that you got from elsewhere.

Just the feasibility of this mod makes the X6 series very attractive ...
Now: T60 2613-EKU | T23 2647-9NU | 600X 2645-9FU | HP 100LX
Past: X31 2673-Y13 | T41 2374-3HU | T22 2647-AEU


Rules of the road :thumbs-UP:

pianowizard
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 8531
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 5:07 am
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Contact:

#16 Post by pianowizard » Sat Jul 19, 2008 7:51 pm

gator wrote:Even though an X60 with the SXGA+ screen will be heavier at ~3.5 lbs as pianowizard estimates.
You know what, I spoke too fast. I was assuming that the X61t SXGA+ screen was used as is, forgetting that microwave had said "to install sxga+ on x60s housing case, I should modify lcd frame of sxga+. As you know, It is not easy...", suggesting he had to remove some/all of the extra layers and attachments from the screen to make it thin and small enough to fit the display assembly. Removing these components will make the screen lighter, so I should revise my estimate to ~3.3 lbs, which is not bad at all!

However, I think I would still prefer my HP nc2400, which weighs 2.81 lbs without optical drive, or 3.16 lbs with one, despite its lower res.
HP Pavilion x2 12-b096ms (1920x1280, Core M3-6Y30, 3.14 lb); Microsoft Surface 3 (1920x1280, Atom x7-Z8700, 2.00 lb)
Dell OptiPlex 5040 SFF (Core i5-6600); Acer ET322QK, T272HUL; Crossover 404K; QNIX QHD2410R; Seiki Pro SM40UNP

gator
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 3401
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 2:28 am
Location: Gainesville, FL

#17 Post by gator » Sat Jul 19, 2008 8:03 pm

pianowizard wrote: However, I think I would still prefer my HP nc2400, which weighs 2.81 lbs without optical drive, or 3.16 lbs with one, despite its lower res.
I wish I could say the same ... I have a work issued Dell D420 and I can't stand the keyboard (absolutely useless trackpoint on it and the keys are very spongy). I absolutely hate the widescreen format, very counter-productive for the apps I use or reading papers .... I have started carrying an X24 (that I bought from underclocker for someone else) since I am going to have it for 2 months.

This is the first time I am extensively using a widescreen and the last 1.5 months have made me realize that I will never buy a widescreen laptop. As such I am highly interested in this mod, an SXGA+ 12" on a X60 will be a dream machine!

PW, is the keyboard on the nc2400 good?
Now: T60 2613-EKU | T23 2647-9NU | 600X 2645-9FU | HP 100LX
Past: X31 2673-Y13 | T41 2374-3HU | T22 2647-AEU


Rules of the road :thumbs-UP:

pianowizard
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 8531
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 5:07 am
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Contact:

#18 Post by pianowizard » Sat Jul 19, 2008 8:18 pm

gator wrote:PW, is the keyboard on the nc2400 good?
I'm not picky about keyboards and find the nc2400's to be good enough -- perhaps my pianistic training helps me here. However, the keys have a rough surface which is intended to prevent them from getting shiny, and it took me a while to get used to the roughness. Another thing is that the layout differs from that of Thinkpad keyboards, which I suspect would bother you.

I still can't figure out why you would prefer XGA over WXGA though. Like I said before, if you want your windows to have a 4:3 aspect ratio, just reduce them to 1024x768 rather than maximizing them. Some people prefer XGA because its pixel density is lower, making things look bigger. But that's clearly not the reason you prefer XGA, since you like SXGA+ on a 12.1" display.
HP Pavilion x2 12-b096ms (1920x1280, Core M3-6Y30, 3.14 lb); Microsoft Surface 3 (1920x1280, Atom x7-Z8700, 2.00 lb)
Dell OptiPlex 5040 SFF (Core i5-6600); Acer ET322QK, T272HUL; Crossover 404K; QNIX QHD2410R; Seiki Pro SM40UNP

microwave
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2004 5:23 pm
Location: Kyunggido,South korea.

Re: SXGA+ on a X60s (non tablet)

#19 Post by microwave » Mon Jul 21, 2008 2:06 pm

As I promised before, I show you final image of sxga+ installation on x60. As though clear plate is for x61, the system board and housing case is for x60.

Refer to following link.
( This is a korean website for thinkpad as like www.thinkpads.com)

http://www.thinkmania.com/zb40/zboard.p ... c&no=12022

ajkula66
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge
Posts: 16952
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA

#20 Post by ajkula66 » Mon Jul 21, 2008 6:40 pm

Simply amazing...this is the way i like to be proven wrong...

:bow: :bow: :bow: :bow: :bow:
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

FlexView AARP club members:A31p, T43pSF

Abused daily: T520, X200s


PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.

rek
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 396
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2006 8:27 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

#21 Post by rek » Mon Jul 21, 2008 11:34 pm

:bow: indeed! The "impossible" has become possible :shock: This news alone almost makes me want to go buy an X60 and a spare SXGA+ panel.. why buy an X300 when you could have this! :D

I would love to see your work re: the modified LCD cable. Maybe for those who don't mind the XGA resolution, but like the Flexview screen, it might be possible to swap in a panel from an X41 tablet (much easier to find) without the need for any BIOS hacking...
Main - Yoga 460 14.0 2560x1440 Pen+Touch | i5-6200U | 16GB | 256GB SSD
Workshop - X240 12.1 1920x1080 | i5-4300U | 8GB | 256GB SSD
Car Glovebox - Dell Venue 11 Pro 10.8 1920x1080 Pen+Touch | M-5Y71 | 8GB | 256GB SSD

gator
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 3401
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 2:28 am
Location: Gainesville, FL

#22 Post by gator » Mon Jul 21, 2008 11:44 pm

rek wrote:why buy an X300 when you could have this!
seriously, this is exactly what I thought too ... the screen is IPS which makes this mod even more desirable :)
Now: T60 2613-EKU | T23 2647-9NU | 600X 2645-9FU | HP 100LX
Past: X31 2673-Y13 | T41 2374-3HU | T22 2647-AEU


Rules of the road :thumbs-UP:

jketzetera
Sophomore Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 11:29 pm
Location: Sydney Australia

#23 Post by jketzetera » Tue Jul 22, 2008 6:29 am

Microwave, that is truly an impressive mod! Would you mind describing in detail how you did it and what components you had to get?

gunston
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1306
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2005 8:00 am
Location: Brisbane, QLD AUST
Contact:

#24 Post by gunston » Tue Jul 22, 2008 9:26 am

strain eye
1. T43 2668-B97 14" SXGA+ 1.5G RAM 9cells
2. X60s 1703-CA3 powerful

AvalonXIII
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 542
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 8:20 pm
Location: San Jose, CA

#25 Post by AvalonXIII » Tue Jul 22, 2008 3:29 pm

gunston wrote:strain eye
Not really, I have used SXGA+ 12" screen before and feel just fine. In fact, I love it more. High resolution screens are desirable in many instances as well, like programming.

chi3x10
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 12:21 pm
Location: Gainesville, FL

#26 Post by chi3x10 » Tue Aug 05, 2008 1:05 am

Hi, microwave,

:bow: :bow:

Can you please show us how to modify the LCD cable and the BIOS. I found a lot of 12 LCD panel on ebay. Do you think it's possible to install a SXGA (1280x1024) one on X61? Again, great job and thanks a lot for the information!
701C, 240, X23, X41, T42p, X61

microwave
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2004 5:23 pm
Location: Kyunggido,South korea.

#27 Post by microwave » Wed Aug 06, 2008 12:41 am

chi3x10 wrote:Hi, microwave,

:bow: :bow:

Can you please show us how to modify the LCD cable and the BIOS. I found a lot of 12 LCD panel on ebay. Do you think it's possible to install a SXGA (1280x1024) one on X61? Again, great job and thanks a lot for the information!
It is possible to install sxga+ LCD on x61/x61s as like x60/x60s. A few days ago, I reprogram bios codes to install sxga+ lcd on x61/x61s.

As you know or not, Japanese guy's modification( I saw a description at japan yahoo auction.Refer to http://page4.auctions.yahoo.co.jp/jp/auction/d83554954) can't use a internal bluetooth and thinklight function. But all the function can be used in my modification.
To modify LCD cable for sxga+, you should refer to N121x5-l06 ( 12.1" xga lcd for x60/x61 ) and HV121P01-100 ( 12.1" SXGA+ lcd for x61/x61s) and compare to pins assignment.
It is very difficult to modify bios code for sxga+. If you do a inproper modification of your bios code, your computer will be screwed up.
If there is a bios crisis ecovery option on thinkpad as like hp/compaq, it is easy job. As you know( there is no bios crisis recovery option on thinkpad , One mistake will destrory your computer.

In some days, When I have a lot of time, I will make a instruction guide for sxga+ bios modification.

(My poor english ability prevent me from make a instruction guide)

Leokim.

microwave
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2004 5:23 pm
Location: Kyunggido,South korea.

#28 Post by microwave » Sat Aug 09, 2008 1:39 pm

This is a still image of x61 after installing 12.1" sxga+ lcd screen.

I complete to finish modifying final bios image for supporting sxga+

lcd screen on x61/x61s .

http://www.thinkmania.com/zb40/zboard.p ... c&no=12142

http://www.thinkmania.com/zb40/zboard.p ... c&no=12143

qviri
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1275
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany

#29 Post by qviri » Sat Aug 09, 2008 2:58 pm

Most impressive.

Is it just the motherboard BIOS that needs to be modified, or is the graphics BIOS separate? If so, how does one go about flashing that?
X220/IPS, T60p/IPS
Nothing endures but change

db999md
Freshman Member
Posts: 118
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2006 12:19 pm
Location: NJ

#30 Post by db999md » Tue Aug 12, 2008 8:49 pm

could you use powerstrip? not sure if that works with intel integrated graphics . .

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Thinkpad X60/X61 Series incl. Tablets”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 42 guests