Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Maximum memory supported but x60s?

X60/X61 series specific matters only.
Post Reply
Message
Author
CyberDude
Sophomore Member
Posts: 193
Joined: Sat May 01, 2004 4:58 am
Location: Europe

Maximum memory supported but x60s?

#1 Post by CyberDude » Wed Sep 16, 2009 5:15 am

Can someone please confirm what the maximum memory the x60s (1704-56G) can support. I've seen references to 2GB and 4GB.
Even IBM's site contradicts itself.
HERE is says 2GB in the summary but when you click through on the memory link it says 4GB is max.

Also on the Crucial Memory site they say 2GB is max. So I need someone to confirm that 4GB works as I'm about to order new RAM.

Googling has not clarified it either as there are conflicts and differing opinions.

EDIT: If it does support 4GB, will the OS see the full 4GB? I've seen references saying even though the hardware will allow 4GB to be installed that due to hardware limitations it will only make 3GB useable. BTW, I'm using openSUSE with a PAE enabled kernel so the OS will have not trouble using 4GB if the hardware has no limitation.
Last edited by CyberDude on Wed Sep 16, 2009 5:23 am, edited 1 time in total.
One of the last IBM branded Thinkpads.
IBM X60s 1704-56G running openSuSe 11.2 | KDE 4.5.4
IBM X30 2672-47G in retirement

dr_st
Admin
Admin
Posts: 8738
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am
Location: Israel

Re: Maximum memory supported but x60s?

#2 Post by dr_st » Wed Sep 16, 2009 5:22 am

Thinkpad 25 (20K7), T490 (20N3), Yoga 14 (20FY), T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X220 4291-4BG
X61 7673-V2V, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X32 (IPS Screen), A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad, A21m 2628-GXU

CyberDude
Sophomore Member
Posts: 193
Joined: Sat May 01, 2004 4:58 am
Location: Europe

Re: Maximum memory supported but x60s?

#3 Post by CyberDude » Wed Sep 16, 2009 6:09 am

Thanks. What a shame. I was hoping to have 4GB.
One of the last IBM branded Thinkpads.
IBM X60s 1704-56G running openSuSe 11.2 | KDE 4.5.4
IBM X30 2672-47G in retirement

xene
Freshman Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:55 pm
Location: Sugar Land, TX

Re: Maximum memory supported but x60s?

#4 Post by xene » Thu Sep 24, 2009 3:20 pm

Thank you, thank you, thank you for this thread!!!

I always took it as the gospel truth that my x60s could only run 2GB since that is what's posted in the specs. I bought an additional 2GB DIMM and now my laptop is happily humming away with 3GB on Windows 7. Saves me from buying a new X200s for another year or so...

ZaZ
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4558
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 1:33 pm
Location: Minnesota

Re: Maximum memory supported but x60s?

#5 Post by ZaZ » Thu Sep 24, 2009 7:50 pm

Did it make much of a difference over 2GB?
ProBook 470 G5

xene
Freshman Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:55 pm
Location: Sugar Land, TX

Re: Maximum memory supported but x60s?

#6 Post by xene » Thu Sep 24, 2009 8:47 pm

It really seems to. Now how much of that is totally psychological and how much is reality is left to be seen. Things seem much faster when I'm running multiple virtual machines (the true reason why I wanted more than 2GB). Time in opening apps seems quicker (I'm sure this is where "wishful thinking" comes into play) and opening new tabs in IE also seems faster.

All in all, well worth the $30 investment.

tomz17
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 1:26 am
Location: Rochester, NY

Re: Maximum memory supported but x60s?

#7 Post by tomz17 » Fri Sep 25, 2009 2:03 pm

I can also confirm that it is indeed 3GB (on an x60 with windows 7 64 bit).

alexander_s
Sophomore Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 9:13 am
Location: houston, tx

My x60s recognizes 2GB or 1GB stick but not BOTH concurrentl

#8 Post by alexander_s » Mon Sep 28, 2009 7:18 pm

I recently bought an x60s (model 1702-xxx) with 512k and promptly upgraded the RAM to a total of 3GB PC2-5300 - 2GB (crucial) and 1GB (Hynix). Well, the machine recognizes EITHER the 2GB stick OR the 1GB stick but not both at the same time.... I thought that 3GB was the maximum RAM for this device (running Win XPP 32 bit). Any advice?

tomz17
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 1:26 am
Location: Rochester, NY

Re: My x60s recognizes 2GB or 1GB stick but not BOTH concurrentl

#9 Post by tomz17 » Mon Sep 28, 2009 7:42 pm

alexander_s wrote:I recently bought an x60s (model 1702-xxx) with 512k and promptly upgraded the RAM to a total of 3GB PC2-5300 - 2GB (crucial) and 1GB (Hynix). Well, the machine recognizes EITHER the 2GB stick OR the 1GB stick but not both at the same time.... I thought that 3GB was the maximum RAM for this device (running Win XPP 32 bit). Any advice?

Sounds like the memory just doesn't like each other... Do you have another laptop to swap modules with to see if a more suitable combination could be found?

P.S. To answer some previous questions that had been posted here about dual channel performance.

I benchmarked the cpu/memory performance of my x60 in these two configurations
1gb kingston + 2gb crucial
and
2gb crucial + 2gb crucial

The cpu/memory performance was identical. The ram remained dual channel, and the clock/latency stayed the same. It seems that there is no penalty for mismatching memory modules.

xene
Freshman Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:55 pm
Location: Sugar Land, TX

Re: Maximum memory supported but x60s?

#10 Post by xene » Mon Sep 28, 2009 9:19 pm

I agree with alexander_s. I'm running with a combo of a Patriot PSD21G6672S (1GB) and a Corsair VS2GSDS667D2 (2GB).

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Thinkpad X60/X61 Series incl. Tablets”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests