Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

HOW TO replace broken CPU pin [PIC WARNING]

Want to know HOW TO..? Have a FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTION..?
If you can't find it here, tell us and we'll publish whatever you need
Post Reply
Message
Author
QWERTY Andreas
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 466
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 2:40 am
Location: Copenhagen Denmark

HOW TO replace broken CPU pin [PIC WARNING]

#1 Post by QWERTY Andreas » Sun Nov 30, 2014 4:14 pm

Hi
So i finally found the problem with my Q9100.. i had broken a pin during my modifications :cry:

So i thougth that maybe i could fix it, so i did try - and it worked.

The proces is very simple and takes <10 minutes.

Take a small copper cable. Place it in the socket. Cut it, a Little above the socket. Make a small "platform" at the top, to ensure connection with the CPU. Install the CPU. You are now done :thumbs-UP:

Huge pic: http://i.imgur.com/XaK6oCn.jpg?1

MOD edit: picture way too big! Tags removed. please check the Forum Rules, Section 5.
Thinkpad W500 (2.53 GHz P8700, 4 GB RAM, FireGL V5700, WUXGA)
Thinkpad T61F 14" (2.53 GHz QX9300, 6 GB RAM, Quadro FX570m 256 MB, SXGA). Advanced dock with AMD Radeon HD7750
Custom build ITX desktop (i5 4590, 8GB RAM, AMD R7 260X, custom watercooling)
Thinkpad 8, Fujitsu F-07C


FS: T61F

automobus
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 546
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 5:32 pm
Location: USA : Illinois : Chicago

Re: HOW TO replace broken CPU pin [PIC WARNING]

#2 Post by automobus » Sun Nov 30, 2014 7:55 pm

Thanks for the tip! I did once something similar to a motherboard floppy header.

Medessec
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1188
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2009 10:09 pm
Location: Chico, California
Contact:

Re: HOW TO replace broken CPU pin [PIC WARNING]

#3 Post by Medessec » Mon Dec 01, 2014 8:38 am

really? lol!

That's quite possibly the most redneck fix I've ever seen for computing thus far. No offense- granted, it DOES work, I won't knock it.

That is just awesome.

btw- (I haven't been on this forum for some time, out of context probably) what in the devil are you doing with a Q9100 and a T61 motherboard?
Trying my hardest to collect Thinkpads, but college and being broke kinda gets in the way. However...
701C, 760, 770, X24, T30, G41, A31p, T43p, T60/61 Frankie, Z61p, X60 SXGA+, W700ds
MEDESSEC

and yes. I am a bit of a lunatic.

QWERTY Andreas
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 466
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 2:40 am
Location: Copenhagen Denmark

Re: HOW TO replace broken CPU pin [PIC WARNING]

#4 Post by QWERTY Andreas » Mon Dec 01, 2014 11:14 am

Medessec wrote:really? lol!

That's quite possibly the most redneck fix I've ever seen for computing thus far. No offense- granted, it DOES work, I won't knock it.

That is just awesome.

btw- (I haven't been on this forum for some time, out of context probably) what in the devil are you doing with a Q9100 and a T61 motherboard?
I didn't think it would Work either - but it was well worth the try :)

But with some simple mods it is possible to run Core2Quads (and all other 1066FSB CPUs) in a T61. Im currently using a QX9300 in my Frankenpad, and its great! Way better than the X9000. See this topic for more information: http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?f=29&t=110620
Thinkpad W500 (2.53 GHz P8700, 4 GB RAM, FireGL V5700, WUXGA)
Thinkpad T61F 14" (2.53 GHz QX9300, 6 GB RAM, Quadro FX570m 256 MB, SXGA). Advanced dock with AMD Radeon HD7750
Custom build ITX desktop (i5 4590, 8GB RAM, AMD R7 260X, custom watercooling)
Thinkpad 8, Fujitsu F-07C


FS: T61F

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “** HOW TOs & FAQs **”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests