Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Ultrabay 2000 is no longer recognized on A31 IBM...but always used to work fine!

Want to know HOW TO..? Have a FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTION..?
If you can't find it here, tell us and we'll publish whatever you need
Post Reply
Message
Author
URYYIC
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2016 3:20 pm
Location: oakland, CA

Ultrabay 2000 is no longer recognized on A31 IBM...but always used to work fine!

#1 Post by URYYIC » Fri Sep 16, 2016 3:37 pm

The title says it all. I have a disc with all of my recordings on it. No OS. I always used it in my A31 and it was awesome! Then...suddenly...it is not recognized, or listed in anything! I had it checked out and the adapter is fine. Computer is fine. Disc is fine.......Any help out there?

kfzhu1229
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1166
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Ultrabay 2000 is no longer recognized on A31 IBM...but always used to work fine!

#2 Post by kfzhu1229 » Fri Sep 16, 2016 4:39 pm

Try reversing the drives in the two drive bays?
_________________________________
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
2xT43 14.1" 2.26 SXGA+ 2gb 1*fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
Flexview UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10

MikalE
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 829
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 9:51 pm
Location: Marissa, Illinois

Re: Ultrabay 2000 is no longer recognized on A31 IBM...but always used to work fine!

#3 Post by MikalE » Fri Sep 16, 2016 4:42 pm

I had a DVD drive fail in a T510 not three weeks ago. It happens.
T500 T9600 2055-BE9
T510 i5 4384-DV7
T510 i7 4349-A64
T520 i7 4242-4UU(CTO)


T520: i7-2760QM(2.40GHz),16GB, 500GB SSD/500GB 7200 Drive, 1600x900, 1GB NVIDIA, DVDRW, Smartcard, media card, FPR, Win7 Pro64, whitelist BIOS, N 6300 AGN, German KB, BT 4.0.

ajkula66
SuperUserGeorge
SuperUserGeorge
Posts: 16340
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:28 am
Location: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA

Re: Ultrabay 2000 is no longer recognized on A31 IBM...but always used to work fine!

#4 Post by ajkula66 » Fri Sep 16, 2016 7:34 pm

If the disk is readable in other machines, then the drive itself has failed. The good news is that you should be able to pick up a working one for $10 or less nowadays...
...Knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules...(King Crimson)

Cheers,

George (your grouchy retired FlexView farmer)

AARP club members:A31p,T43pSF

Abused daily: T61p

Work in progress: X60T

PMs requesting personal tech support will be ignored.

kfzhu1229
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1166
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Ultrabay 2000 is no longer recognized on A31 IBM...but always used to work fine!

#5 Post by kfzhu1229 » Fri Sep 16, 2016 8:18 pm

However if the drive itself works in the other slot while the device in the other slot doesn't work in this slot (of course except for the Ultrabay plus specials like keyboard), then it is a bad news. Those ports are directly soldered to the mb... it is unlikely to happen because this is not a budget computer but things could happen.
_________________________________
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
2xT43 14.1" 2.26 SXGA+ 2gb 1*fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
Flexview UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “** HOW TOs & FAQs **”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests