Access Connections - some tips on how to use it

Want to know HOW TO..? Have a FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTION..?
If you can't find it here, tell us and we'll publish whatever you need
Message
Author
keeners
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 10:22 am
Location: Las Vegas, NV

Re: Access Connections - some tips on how to use it

#31 Post by keeners » Mon Mar 02, 2009 2:00 pm

GomJabbar wrote:My experience indicates you should always uninstall Access Connections and reboot before upgrading the wireless driver software. Try to think of it as a layer cake. Install and remove layers in order.

To the best of my knowledge, install in the following order, and uninstall in reverse order:
1) Lenovo PM driver
2) Lenovo System Interface Driver
3) Hotkey driver
4) Wireless driver software
5) Access Connections
I uninstalled the Access Connections.

I don't see where I have a Wireless driver software update, other than my own wireless adapter.
I don't see Hotkey drive or Lenovo PM driver.

I did install # 2 on the list above, as well as:
Lenovo Care System update
Lenovo Care System supplement
Lenovo Care
System requirement Lab ( I have no idea what that is)

Do I uninstall the Lenovo care updates before continuing? Or just the Lenovo system interface driver?

Thanks again for any help.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~
LENOVO 3000 N100 0768-A52
Vista Home Premium SP1

keeners
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 10:22 am
Location: Las Vegas, NV

Re: Access Connections - some tips on how to use it

#32 Post by keeners » Mon Mar 02, 2009 2:39 pm

One more question.

I am on the Lenovo support page http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site. ... MIGR-67283

Near the bottom Installation Instructions, it says to install ThinkPad Power Management driver for Windows Vista, XP. However, on the read-me txt for this PM driver, it only gives a list of supported Think Pads. Not for Lenovos.

I am trying to find the Lenovo PM driver that was mentioned above.

Thanks again.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~
LENOVO 3000 N100 0768-A52
Vista Home Premium SP1

GomJabbar
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9765
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 6:57 am

Re: Access Connections - some tips on how to use it

#33 Post by GomJabbar » Mon Mar 02, 2009 3:48 pm

I didn't realize you were not using a ThinkPad. Nevertheless, you need the following.

1) Lenovo PM driver => Power Management Driver
2) Lenovo System Interface Driver => Lenovo System Interface driver
3) Hotkey driver => Hotkey driver
4) Wireless driver software => Broadcom Wireless LAN driver for Windows Vista (32-bit)
5) Access Connections => ThinkVantage Access Connections for Windows Vista

Below is a link to the Lenovo software available for your machine:
http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site. ... idate=true
DKB

keeners
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 10:22 am
Location: Las Vegas, NV

Re: Access Connections - some tips on how to use it

#34 Post by keeners » Mon Mar 02, 2009 4:31 pm

Thank you very much.

I will try these later when I get home from work.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~
LENOVO 3000 N100 0768-A52
Vista Home Premium SP1

keeners
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 10:22 am
Location: Las Vegas, NV

Re: Access Connections - some tips on how to use it

#35 Post by keeners » Tue Mar 03, 2009 4:06 pm

GomJabbar,
Thank you so very much for posting those links.

After going thru all the hoops, I finally got it all installed.

I'm not sure if it's all working properly, but I got the updates installed in their proper order.

Thanks once again.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~
LENOVO 3000 N100 0768-A52
Vista Home Premium SP1

kaede
Freshman Member
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 6:06 am
Location: Singapore

Re: Access Connections - some tips on how to use it

#36 Post by kaede » Thu Jan 21, 2010 1:45 am

any guide for windows 7 ? i've been running it under windows xp with no problem. now with the windows 7 installed im having problem to turn on and scanning wireless ssid. and there's random disconnection which is quite disturbing.

thanks

jdhurst
Admin
Admin
Posts: 5831
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 6:49 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Access Connections - some tips on how to use it

#37 Post by jdhurst » Thu Jan 21, 2010 8:55 am

I have Version 5.42 for Windows 7 (in the Windows 7 drivers section for my T61p). It works very well. I didn't have any issues - I just made sure my wired and wireless drivers were up-to-date, installed AC V5.42 and it worked right away. I use Windows 7 Pro 64-bit.

Try the time-honoured tap dance. Uninstall AC, uninstall your wireless NIC, restart, reinstall the wireless NIC, install AC. Let all the profiles go when you uninstall AC and rebuild them fresh.
... JDH

jdhurst
Admin
Admin
Posts: 5831
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 6:49 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Access Connections - some tips on how to use it

#38 Post by jdhurst » Mon Jan 25, 2010 8:16 am

I see version 5.50 for Windows 7 is now out. I installed it this past weekend and it seems to work well.
... JDH

Georgeolivergo
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun May 29, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: Seattle. WA

Re: Access Connections - some tips on how to use it

#39 Post by Georgeolivergo » Sun Mar 13, 2011 9:02 pm

I'm using AC with windows XP, and having problems specifying MAC addresses in the profile advanced settings. The advanced settings window opens but all the options are grayed out except enable radio management support. I'm trying to specify the address because I'm dealing with two access points with the same SSID. Any ideas?

jdhurst
Admin
Admin
Posts: 5831
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 6:49 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Access Connections - some tips on how to use it

#40 Post by jdhurst » Mon Mar 14, 2011 7:41 am

If it is greyed out, it is probably because you are not "administrator". Can you or someone log into the machine as admin and enter the MAC addresses? ... JDH

Georgeolivergo
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun May 29, 2005 5:36 pm
Location: Seattle. WA

Re: Access Connections - some tips on how to use it

#41 Post by Georgeolivergo » Mon Mar 14, 2011 7:42 pm

Unfortunately it's the same for both admin and user accounts. Could it have something to do with the capabilities of my NIC? I have Intel 2200BG.

jdhurst
Admin
Admin
Posts: 5831
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 6:49 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Access Connections - some tips on how to use it

#42 Post by jdhurst » Tue Mar 15, 2011 5:42 pm

The NIC is a possibility. I was never a fan of the Intel 2200 - I threw mine away.

You can try a couple of things:
(a) Uninstall Access Connections and all profiles (be sure you have a record), restart and reinstall. Any difference?
(b) Uninstall Access Connections again, uninstall the wireless NIC, restart, install the newest wireless NIC driver (download it first) and then install Access Connections

Access Connections 5.5, 5.62 and 5.72 support the Intel 2200 wireless NIC.

... JDH

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “** HOW TOs & FAQs **”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests