Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

3000 n100 ram upgrade issue

Support for your LENOVO branded Laptop.
For those on the road to ThinkPad ownership..!
Post Reply
Message
Author
alexo1us
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 9:20 pm
Location: toronto ontario

3000 n100 ram upgrade issue

#1 Post by alexo1us » Tue Jan 29, 2008 12:59 pm

I'm trying to do a ram upgrade got two 1 GB of Patriot I can install one in the top slot as long as I keep the original IBM installed 512 in slot one.
other then that I get to the lenovo white screen and it hangs.
anyone had any luck in this
I was thinking I'll just take them back and get 1 2 GB and put it in the top slot anyone done this does it work past the 2GB bios limit?
According to PCDoc the only difference other then size is the ibm provides more info IE part number and date of manufacture.
anythoughts would help
Thanx Alex

ryengineer
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 4393
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 9:29 pm
Location: L.A. (home town) CA, Toronto ON.

#2 Post by ryengineer » Tue Jan 29, 2008 3:23 pm

As far as limit is concerned, you can install one memory module of 2GB stick or in a combination of 1+1GBs, more than that will not work.

As far as your problem is concerned, it sounds like bad memory sticks to me, try to get them replaced or run Memtest86+ on them to see if they pass the test. Another technique that helps sometimes is to change their position from one slot to another.

And yes, you can replace these sticks from another vendor also, try to buy them from manufacturers like Crucial, Corsair or OCZ.
"I've come a long, long way," she said, "and I will go as far,
With the man who takes me from my horse, and leads me to a bar."
The man who took her off her steed, and stood her to a beer,
Were a bleary-eyed Surveyor and a DRUNKEN ENGINEER.

alexo1us
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 9:20 pm
Location: toronto ontario

#3 Post by alexo1us » Wed Jan 30, 2008 12:02 pm

thanx for the input
but I did do all the testing and both new ones are fine according to tests it is just i can't get away from having to place one of the old 512 in slot one(bottom) both new ones work fine otherwize.
I'm thinking now ether get one 2gb and see what happens but that will give me 2.5 gb total don't know what that would do for the bios limit of 2 gb.
i was also thinking since it work just fine with the 1.5 i would get a flashdrive and use readyboost when needed.
thanx again Alex

whizzer
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 10:06 pm
Location: Central ILL

N100 Ram

#4 Post by whizzer » Wed Jan 30, 2008 1:51 pm

I just replaced my 2-512s with 2- 1Gig Crucial Sticks. No issues here.
Whizzer

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 18815
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

#5 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sun Feb 03, 2008 10:51 am

An original 512MB in slot 0 plus a 2GB stick in slot 1 will work.
2GB + 2GB will NOT boot.
Don't know if 1GB + 2GB works.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

ryengineer
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 4393
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 9:29 pm
Location: L.A. (home town) CA, Toronto ON.

#6 Post by ryengineer » Sun Feb 03, 2008 7:33 pm

RealBlackStuff wrote:An original 512MB in slot 0 plus a 2GB stick in slot 1 will work.....snip
For N100? I thought the limit was up to 2GB only.
"I've come a long, long way," she said, "and I will go as far,
With the man who takes me from my horse, and leads me to a bar."
The man who took her off her steed, and stood her to a beer,
Were a bleary-eyed Surveyor and a DRUNKEN ENGINEER.

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 18815
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

#7 Post by RealBlackStuff » Mon Feb 04, 2008 1:02 pm

I try to help out a guy on the Lenovo forum, who has confirmed that 512MB + 2GB works.
http://forum.lenovo.com/lnv/board/messa ... ead.id=546
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

ryengineer
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 4393
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 9:29 pm
Location: L.A. (home town) CA, Toronto ON.

#8 Post by ryengineer » Mon Feb 04, 2008 7:19 pm

RealBlackStuff wrote:I try to help out a guy on the Lenovo forum, who has confirmed that 512MB + 2GB works.
http://forum.lenovo.com/lnv/board/messa ... ead.id=546
The user there has N200 (which can take up to 4GB memory), we are talking about N100 here.
"I've come a long, long way," she said, "and I will go as far,
With the man who takes me from my horse, and leads me to a bar."
The man who took her off her steed, and stood her to a beer,
Were a bleary-eyed Surveyor and a DRUNKEN ENGINEER.

ParatoOptimal
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 457
Joined: Fri May 07, 2010 1:33 am
Location: Boston, MA

Re: 3000 n100 ram upgrade issue

#9 Post by ParatoOptimal » Sat Oct 02, 2010 4:07 pm

I believe I saw elsewhere on this forum where someone said 3GB was the MAX for the N100 but I can't confirm it.
770E (relic not in use
3000 N100 T2080 1.73GHz
R61 773-1GU
T41 2373 7FU Pentium-M 1.6GHz Banias
X31 2672 XXM Pentium-M 1.3GHz
X60s 1702-68U L2400 1.66GHz Core Duo
Compaq Portable (suitcase size, gone)
Mac Portable (first laptop in world, Stored
Mac Laptop (Stored
Toshiba Tecra (Stored

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “3000 Series Laptops”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests