Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

X200, X201, X220 (including equivalent tablet models) and X300, X301 series specific matters only.
Message
Author
nocturne.op.15
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2019 10:32 am
Location: Prague, CZ

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1231 Post by nocturne.op.15 » Mon Sep 02, 2019 1:17 pm

Hm, strange. I now have the same problem - no backlight.
After I initially installed mod, I checked everything was working 100% - as usualy, this is my third mod.
After completion, I found no backlight, image is fine on a dark display.

So I checked sense wire, all solderings, all possible shortcuts - nothing found. Measured iv LVDS tape is OK, checked display with external controller board - everything seemed to be normal.

So I decided to put original LVDS display back - and voila, also no backlight, but working image is barely visible in the background.

Any ideas what to check next? Seems to me like some fuse was broken or something similar happened.

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20214
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1232 Post by RealBlackStuff » Mon Sep 02, 2019 11:59 pm

Yes, that's the backlight fuse F2 you have blown (near the LCD-connector on the mobo)..
It's a 3A/32V Fast-acting one.
Either replace or piggyback-solder a new one on top of it.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

nocturne.op.15
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2019 10:32 am
Location: Prague, CZ

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1233 Post by nocturne.op.15 » Tue Sep 03, 2019 12:42 am

Yep, I have found board layout schemes and circuit schematics, it looks to be F2 or F6 fuse. unfortunately on the backside :-( good news is I have spare X220 board, which uses the same fusing, so I will resolder it and let know.

EDIT: both F2 and F6 fuses are OK, also getting 3.3V voltage on them. But no voltage on pins 27 and 28 on LVDS connector. Capacitors C140-C142 are not shortned, I have not found any physical damage on te board itself. I will not find the broken spot, I will make it a dirty way, getting 3.3V directly from F2 to LVDS

EDIT2 - 3,3V is provided to LVDS correctly, I measured bad side of the connector. Then backlight control must be wrong.

EDIT3: BACKLIGHT_ON (pin 4 on LVDS) has also 3.3V when board is powered.

WINNING EDIT: blown F1 fuse - 12V for backlight power, VBL20 circuit, pins 1&2 on LVDS

I made a shortcut for testing, works OK. I have no idea when it was blown, but I learned a lot of about reading board layout diagrams and notebook schematics

nocturne.op.15
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2019 10:32 am
Location: Prague, CZ

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1234 Post by nocturne.op.15 » Tue Sep 03, 2019 12:18 pm

Now, after resoldering F1 fuse, problem continues - but only with Nitrocaster board, LVDS works correctly. Seems more has been fried, display and/or cable. Or, at worse, ataptor board :evil:

Mrtn
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2016 10:57 am
Location: Zwolle, Netherlands

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1235 Post by Mrtn » Sat Sep 07, 2019 4:24 am

I've done the 13inch mod, but I think the solution with 2 extension cables is not the most stable one.

Is it possible to get a longer cable for the screen, such that I can connect the screen directly to the adapte board? I don't know what's the type of connector on the adapter board.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad X200/201/220 and X300/301 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests