Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

X200, X201, X220 (including equivalent tablet models) and X300, X301 series specific matters only.
Message
Author
la-luva
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 12:01 pm
Location: Elverum, Norway

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#121 Post by la-luva » Thu Dec 26, 2019 7:29 am

boutch55555 wrote:
Sat Dec 23, 2017 8:32 am
Patching is quite easy, worse part is creating an account on 51nb to download the files ;) PM me if you want a google drive / dropbox link.

Whole process :
Update to 2.68 with official installer. Extract the bios, place it in the x230_bios_patch folder, name it x230.bin and run patch.bat. It should create x230.bin.patched. Flash that.

It also removes whitelist and adds advanced menu. You can choose to disable one of them by commenting it in patches.txt

Sometimes i need it said with "teaspoon", sorry but i have not been doing so much linux, i am better on modifying the hardware parts.

When you say "disable them by commenting", should the # be in the text or not if you want the disabling of the lvds to happend?

Is this correct for remove whitelist,lvds and open advanced menu?

# Patch string format
# FileGuid SectionType PatchType:FindPatternOrOffset:ReplacePattern
# Please ensure that the latest symbol in patch string is space

# Possible section types:
# PE32 image 10
# Position-independent code 11
# TE Image 12
# DXE Dependency 13
# Version information 14
# User interface string 15
# 16-bit code 16
# Guided freeform 18
# Raw data 19
# PEI Dependency 1B
# SMM Dependency 1C

LenovoWmaPolicyDxe.efi | Whitelist By OX |
79E0EDD7-9D1D-4F41-AE1A-F896169E5216 10 O:0C39:7500 O:0C4E:90E99F010000 O:0CA2:7500 O:0CB8:EB1B O:0CCD:90E900000000 O:0CD3:EB00

noLVDS By Again |
0AFCDD7A-345E-415E-926D-C5971B580400 19 O:0ACA:9300 O:10E0:0600

AdvancedMenu By leokim |
32442D09-1D11-4E27-8AAB-90FE6ACB0489 10 O:02A0:778B1D826D24964E8E103467D56AB1BA
T40, T43, T61, T61w, X40, X61T, X61, X61, X601S, X200s, X201, X220 i5, X220 i7, X230 i5, X230T, X240, X260, T430 i5,

boutch55555
Sophomore Member
Posts: 183
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:18 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#122 Post by boutch55555 » Fri Dec 27, 2019 7:15 am

Comments are lines prefixed with #. The top part comments explain the types used by the patches at bottom. So it just specifies the file ID, section type, and what to overwrite at what position. To apply the 3 patches, keep the "declarations" commented and leave the 3 "data" lines as they were.

Code: Select all

# LenovoWmaPolicyDxe.efi | Whitelist By OX |  
79E0EDD7-9D1D-4F41-AE1A-F896169E5216 10 O:0C39:7500 O:0C4E:90E99F010000  O:0CA2:7500 O:0CB8:EB1B O:0CCD:90E900000000 O:0CD3:EB00 

# noLVDS By Again |  
0AFCDD7A-345E-415E-926D-C5971B580400 19 O:0ACA:9300 O:10E0:0600 

# AdvancedMenu By leokim |  
32442D09-1D11-4E27-8AAB-90FE6ACB0489 10 O:02A0:778B1D826D24964E8E103467D56AB1BA
Also, for anyone interested, looks like the app is just UEFITool so you can just download it and add those 3 patches instead of asking me for the files or getting them on 51nb.

You can extract the bios from the provided chip and and flash it on yours, but I think the intended use is to physically replace the chip.

I haven't seen a lvds patch for the x220, I guess nobody made one. But with the WQHD, it would make sense to use a x230 motherboard for the performance bump of the HD4000. It fits almost perfectly in the x220 shell, aside from the DP connector. Requires an extra EC patch for the keyboard and the bios whitelist for the battery.

la-luva
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 12:01 pm
Location: Elverum, Norway

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#123 Post by la-luva » Sat Dec 28, 2019 6:01 am

Thanks for answering my questions.

boutch55555 wrote:
Fri Dec 27, 2019 7:15 am
You can extract the bios from the provided chip and and flash it on yours, but I think the intended use is to physically replace the chip.
I thought the bios for the X30 series and newer had to be modified individually?

Do i get a new mac adress if i use the the file they sendt me on mail or from the loose bios chip?

There are two chip close to each other, is it the chip closest to the LCD we are speaking of?

What is the other chip?

Can I use CH341a or RPI to read out the bios from the original bios with original biosfile and make modified bios with UEFITool and this x230_bios_patch? and then flash it back?
T40, T43, T61, T61w, X40, X61T, X61, X61, X601S, X200s, X201, X220 i5, X220 i7, X230 i5, X230T, X240, X260, T430 i5,

boutch55555
Sophomore Member
Posts: 183
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:18 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#124 Post by boutch55555 » Sat Dec 28, 2019 7:35 am

la-luva wrote:
Sat Dec 28, 2019 6:01 am

I thought the bios for the X30 series and newer had to be modified individually?
I sent a dump to a 2 persons and used one myself without issue. It can be problematic if the bios version from the dump doesn't match the EC version. So you should try to extract and patch yours first.
la-luva wrote:
Sat Dec 28, 2019 6:01 am
Do i get a new mac adress if i use the the file they sendt me on mail or from the loose bios chip?
IIRC it stays the same.
la-luva wrote:
Sat Dec 28, 2019 6:01 am
There are two chip close to each other, is it the chip closest to the LCD we are speaking of?

What is the other chip?
Yes, that's the one. Top is 4mb, bottom is 8mb. The other chip is the one you don't want to touch.
la-luva wrote:
Sat Dec 28, 2019 6:01 am
Can I use CH341a or RPI to read out the bios from the original bios with original biosfile and make modified bios with UEFITool and this x230_bios_patch? and then flash it back?
I personally used a pi with a SOIC-8 clip to extract and write the chip, copied the extract to a Windows PC to patch it. Mostly followed those instructions.

la-luva
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 12:01 pm
Location: Elverum, Norway

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#125 Post by la-luva » Wed Jan 01, 2020 12:39 pm

Thanks again for answeres.

Here is what i did with succsess.
All in Windows 10
Used the CH341a (with 1.34 software version) with a soic8 clip to read out the bios from my X230, did it 3 times saved them with individually names.
Put one of the files in the downloaded from internet "x230_bios_patch" folder and run the patch.bat file.
This gave me a new bios.bin.patched file, removed the patched ending so that the file only had the .bin ending, my name was x230.bin
Then connected the soic8 clip to the bios chip and the programmer in the computer, read out the original bios once more to ensure the soic8 clip was properly connected.
Then i ereased the orignal bios and flashed the now modified bios file.
Then put the computer togheter and pushed the power button.
It started up, but gave me som beep error code, i belive it was 5 beeps 3 times .
Had to shut off some security things in bios and then beep error at startup dissapeard.
Advanced menu showed up in bios, and lvds was gone so in lcd settings in windows only one lcd was present.

Does anybody know if this also removes battery whitelist?

It was easy to patch the bios when i realised this patch.bat file NOT could be run in LINUX , i had to use WINDOWS to run it an make the patched bios file.
T40, T43, T61, T61w, X40, X61T, X61, X61, X601S, X200s, X201, X220 i5, X220 i7, X230 i5, X230T, X240, X260, T430 i5,

boutch55555
Sophomore Member
Posts: 183
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:18 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#126 Post by boutch55555 » Sun Jan 05, 2020 9:49 pm

la-luva wrote:
Wed Jan 01, 2020 12:39 pm
Does anybody know if this also removes battery whitelist?
You need the EC patch for that : https://github.com/hamishcoleman/thinkpad-ec

Just be careful, if you got the latest bios (2.77) it will be EC version 1.15, while it has been 1.14 for a while. Version compatibility can be found a bit below the middle of this page : https://download.lenovo.com/pccbbs/mobiles/g2uj33uc.txt
la-luva wrote:
Wed Jan 01, 2020 12:39 pm
It was easy to patch the bios when i realised this patch.bat file NOT could be run in LINUX , i had to use WINDOWS to run it an make the patched bios file.
Well I did mention it
boutch55555 wrote:
Sat Dec 28, 2019 7:35 am
I personally used a pi with a SOIC-8 clip to extract and write the chip, copied the extract to a Windows PC to patch it.
Now that we're talking about it, uefitool-cli is available on the Debian SID (unstable) repository, so it should be possible (and somewhat easy) to do it all on the Pi.

smokinjoefrazier
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2020 4:09 am
Location: Los Angeles, Calif.

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#127 Post by smokinjoefrazier » Mon Jan 13, 2020 4:46 am

Hi everyone,

I have a question about the FHD mod + docking station. I know docking related questions were answered several times. But I read this Reddit post. https://www.reddit.com/r/thinkpad/comme ... mate_x230/ . This user claims that it is possible to use both the dock’s display and VGA port with the Nitrocaster’s FHD mod. Is this possible with the Taobao FHD board as well? By the way, I am talking about the case the internal display is not used while the laptop on the dock and two external displays are used through the dock station’s display and VGA ports (not the mini display port on the laptop ) Another docking related question is let’s say, I soldered the FHD mod board’s msata 3.0 pins to the motherboard but I do not installed any msata drive to the adapter, in this case, if I dock the laptop, will it recognize and use the sata 3.0 port in the Ultrabay or not ?

Besides, Taping specific pins on the docking port allows us to use internal display and msata 3.0 by disabling the dock's ports right? I guess it has nothing to do with the case that I mentioned above.

The Taobao FHD board that I mentioned:
https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=553863861510

Thank you so much

boutch55555
Sophomore Member
Posts: 183
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:18 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#128 Post by boutch55555 » Sat Jan 25, 2020 1:42 pm

Disclaimer I don't have a dock. That being said...
smokinjoefrazier wrote:
Mon Jan 13, 2020 4:46 am
This user claims that it is possible to use both the dock’s display and VGA port with the Nitrocaster’s FHD mod. Is this possible with the Taobao FHD board as well?
He is using the Taobao board.
smokinjoefrazier wrote:
Mon Jan 13, 2020 4:46 am
By the way, I am talking about the case the internal display is not used while the laptop on the dock and two external displays are used through the dock station’s display and VGA ports (not the mini display port on the laptop )
VGA will not be an issue.

Both Taobao's board and nitrocaster's use the same DP port for output, DOCKB_DP. it's supposed to be the 2nd connector on the dock. My guess is that if you don't tape the pins you will lose the internal display because of some components in the dock, but the other port (DOCKA_DP) will work just fine.
smokinjoefrazier wrote:
Mon Jan 13, 2020 4:46 am
Another docking related question is let’s say, I soldered the FHD mod board’s msata 3.0 pins to the motherboard but I do not installed any msata drive to the adapter, in this case, if I dock the laptop, will it recognize and use the sata 3.0 port in the Ultrabay or not ?
Tricky question. The board has a sata redriver chip, I have no idea how the sata controller would react sending data to 2 destinations at once. I doubt it could damage either the dock or the computer since those are data lines, but I never saw reports on that. It might be the reason the reddit person used a 4337 dock instead of ultrabay... Please share the result if you try it.
smokinjoefrazier wrote:
Mon Jan 13, 2020 4:46 am
Besides, Taping specific pins on the docking port allows us to use internal display and msata 3.0 by disabling the dock's ports right? I guess it has nothing to do with the case that I mentioned above.
Yup, but they are frigging small.

As an extra note, that board also uses USB for brightness control with power button fallback. The latter isn't a problem as they can be hooked in parallel, but you might run into issues with that USB port. Again, it would be only the data lines, but you would lose FN key control.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad X200/201/220 and X300/301 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests