X220 FHD Upgrade?

X200, X201, X220 (including equivalent tablet models) and X300, X301 series specific matters only.
Post Reply
Message
Author
Carthik
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 2:21 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

X220 FHD Upgrade?

#1 Post by Carthik » Wed Mar 30, 2016 10:40 pm

I remember there was a guy in Japan selling kits to install 1080p screens into an X220, however it pulled the signal or something like that from the docking station pins so that was a no go for me (need the docking station).

I'm about to swap out a white spotted IPS LCD on my X220 but before I do I want to be sure there are no viable FHD options that don't mess with the docking station? I don't mind modding, as long as it doesn't interfere with a feature I need.


Cheers,
ThinkPad X220
i7-2640M CPU
16GB Corsair Vengeance RAM
1TB Samsung 850 EVO mSATA SSD
2TB Samsung Sinpoint HDD
Option GTM671W WiFi/WWAN Card
LP125WH2-SLB3 LG IPS LCD
7.69Ah 9-Cell X230 44++ Battery
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit

axur-delmeria
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1390
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#2 Post by axur-delmeria » Wed Mar 30, 2016 11:25 pm

The alternative is to use the signals on the DisplayPort on the left side of the X220, but I don't know if anyone's ever tried that.
Daily driver: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M

In reserve: X61 T7500, X60 T2300
In pieces: X60s CS U1300 [board only], two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E

nitrocaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 453
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#3 Post by nitrocaster » Tue Apr 05, 2016 9:01 am

How many users are really interested in such mod? I'm working on it for myself ATM.
P.S.: I use DisplayPort #2 on docking connector. Using mini DisplayPort for that purpose would be extremely difficult because in that case one should connect signal wires on both sides of the motherboard - that means custom ffc cables, interference issues and so on.
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

Carthik
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 2:21 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#4 Post by Carthik » Thu Apr 07, 2016 9:44 pm

nitrocaster wrote:How many users are really interested in such mod? I'm working on it for myself ATM.
P.S.: I use DisplayPort #2 on docking connector. Using mini DisplayPort for that purpose would be extremely difficult because in that case one should connect signal wires on both sides of the motherboard - that means custom ffc cables, interference issues and so on.
I'm very interested. I need to be able to dock my X220 but I do not need the display port working as I will be running an external GPU.
ThinkPad X220
i7-2640M CPU
16GB Corsair Vengeance RAM
1TB Samsung 850 EVO mSATA SSD
2TB Samsung Sinpoint HDD
Option GTM671W WiFi/WWAN Card
LP125WH2-SLB3 LG IPS LCD
7.69Ah 9-Cell X230 44++ Battery
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit

nitrocaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 453
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#5 Post by nitrocaster » Fri Apr 08, 2016 11:47 am

Carthik wrote:I'm very interested. I need to be able to dock my X220 but I do not need the display port working as I will be running an external GPU.
Barely possible due to the reasons described above. Anyway, with fhd mod that uses docking DP#2 you still can use two external monitors - just plug one into system DP instead of docking station.
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

Carthik
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 2:21 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#6 Post by Carthik » Wed Apr 13, 2016 3:03 am

nitrocaster wrote:
Carthik wrote:I'm very interested. I need to be able to dock my X220 but I do not need the display port working as I will be running an external GPU.
Barely possible due to the reasons described above. Anyway, with fhd mod that uses docking DP#2 you still can use two external monitors - just plug one into system DP instead of docking station.
I'd be fine with that. Can you provide more details on your kit/parts?
ThinkPad X220
i7-2640M CPU
16GB Corsair Vengeance RAM
1TB Samsung 850 EVO mSATA SSD
2TB Samsung Sinpoint HDD
Option GTM671W WiFi/WWAN Card
LP125WH2-SLB3 LG IPS LCD
7.69Ah 9-Cell X230 44++ Battery
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit

nitrocaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 453
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#7 Post by nitrocaster » Wed Apr 13, 2016 4:22 am

nitrocaster wrote:Can you provide more details on your kit/parts?
I'll post once I get a working adapter.
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

Carthik
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 2:21 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#8 Post by Carthik » Wed Apr 13, 2016 10:04 pm

nitrocaster wrote:
nitrocaster wrote:Can you provide more details on your kit/parts?
I'll post once I get a working adapter.
ETA?
ThinkPad X220
i7-2640M CPU
16GB Corsair Vengeance RAM
1TB Samsung 850 EVO mSATA SSD
2TB Samsung Sinpoint HDD
Option GTM671W WiFi/WWAN Card
LP125WH2-SLB3 LG IPS LCD
7.69Ah 9-Cell X230 44++ Battery
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit

nitrocaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 453
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#9 Post by nitrocaster » Thu Apr 14, 2016 2:22 am

Carthik wrote:ETA?
~3-4 weeks.
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

eysenck
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 4:07 pm
Location: Berkeley, CA

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#10 Post by eysenck » Tue May 17, 2016 6:53 am

nitrocaster wrote:
Carthik wrote:ETA?
~3-4 weeks.
Any progress?

nitrocaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 453
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#11 Post by nitrocaster » Tue May 17, 2016 7:19 am

eysenck wrote:
nitrocaster wrote: ~3-4 weeks.
Any progress?
Waiting for last components to arrive. Russian post is pretty slow :)
Last edited by nitrocaster on Thu May 19, 2016 3:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

eysenck
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 4:07 pm
Location: Berkeley, CA

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#12 Post by eysenck » Tue May 17, 2016 7:47 am

nitrocaster wrote:
eysenck wrote: Any progress?
Waiting for last componts to arrive. Russian post is pretty slow :)
Cool!

I am also very interested in this.

If you have time, could you write a bit more about what components you're buying / what you plan on doing specifically? I have very limited knowledge of electronics but would like to learn more.

nitrocaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 453
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#13 Post by nitrocaster » Tue May 17, 2016 7:24 pm

eysenck wrote: Cool!

I am also very interested in this.

If you have time, could you write a bit more about what components you're buying / what you plan on doing specifically? I have very limited knowledge of electronics but would like to learn more.
The main trick is backlight - there's no easy way to make it work properly. I'll post a little report with photos once the prototype is ready.
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

nitrocaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 453
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#14 Post by nitrocaster » Fri May 20, 2016 5:47 pm

All parts have arrived. Waiting for a free time to get it assembled together...
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

eysenck
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 4:07 pm
Location: Berkeley, CA

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#15 Post by eysenck » Sun May 22, 2016 6:48 pm

Great. I am really looking forward to your updates!

Tasurinchi
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2018
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 8:38 am
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#16 Post by Tasurinchi » Mon May 23, 2016 3:21 am

I'm an onlooker as well :mrgreen:
IBM Convertible 5140/L40SX/220/240/240X/2*340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/2*570/2*600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E
A20p/A22p/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/SL510/2*T22/4*T4x/11*T6x/6*T40x/6*T5x0/3*W5x0/W700/3*X2x/4*X3x/3*X4x/5*X6x/3*X6xT/12*X2xx/4*X30x/Z60m/3*Z61x

OceanMang
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 12:40 pm
Location: Vaxjoo, Sweden

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#17 Post by OceanMang » Tue May 24, 2016 12:45 pm

Well, there were someone in China done this before, here's link you can take a look as reference:
http://forum.51nb.com/thread-1548345-1-1.html
You may need an account inorder to view all pics, not hard by using chrome translate.

nitrocaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 453
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#18 Post by nitrocaster » Tue May 24, 2016 2:33 pm

OceanMang wrote:Well, there were someone in China done this before, here's link you can take a look as reference:
http://forum.51nb.com/thread-1548345-1-1.html
You may need an account inorder to view all pics, not hard by using chrome translate.
Yeah, there were some successful attempts. However, it's still unclear if they got proper backlight control.
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

Tasurinchi
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2018
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 8:38 am
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#19 Post by Tasurinchi » Tue May 24, 2016 3:05 pm

There's also a Japanese guy/gal that was selling kits for the same mod. I'm too lazy to google it right now :oops:
IBM Convertible 5140/L40SX/220/240/240X/2*340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/2*570/2*600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E
A20p/A22p/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/SL510/2*T22/4*T4x/11*T6x/6*T40x/6*T5x0/3*W5x0/W700/3*X2x/4*X3x/3*X4x/5*X6x/3*X6xT/12*X2xx/4*X30x/Z60m/3*Z61x

nitrocaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 453
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#20 Post by nitrocaster » Tue May 24, 2016 3:18 pm

That japanese guy (letsitbe.jugem.jp) sold some kits on japanese Yahoo auction for about $90 (adapter + cable).
I've been trying to reach him with no success (among others) before I started my own project.
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

OceanMang
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 12:40 pm
Location: Vaxjoo, Sweden

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#21 Post by OceanMang » Tue May 24, 2016 3:39 pm

nitrocaster wrote:
OceanMang wrote:Well, there were someone in China done this before, here's link you can take a look as reference:
http://forum.51nb.com/thread-1548345-1-1.html
You may need an account inorder to view all pics, not hard by using chrome translate.
Yeah, there were some successful attempts. However, it's still unclear if they got proper backlight control.
At least in above case backlight control works perfectly just like original by using "Internal burner program"(quote from the author). Which proves there is a doable solution. Good luck with it.

StefanKo
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 2:54 pm
Location: Aachen, Germany

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#22 Post by StefanKo » Wed May 25, 2016 3:23 am

I am also attempting to fit a FHD dieplay into my X220.
I got this far by now:

- Merged the original display cable with an eDP cable.
Now the eDP gets backlight power and control, as well as logic power from the mainboard.
The LVDS lanes and logic power are still also connected to the original display connector.
-> I can connect both the old and the new display at the same time.
The old one will show the image, but without backlight.
The new one has backlight, with brighness control working!
But of course there's no image there.

- Tried to connect the eDP signal cables to the docking port.
-> The new display was recognized by windows, but, when activated (in clone mode with the original), it showed no image.
I am pretty sure there is a bad connection, or I have to work on the signal shielding to get it to work... I just don't have time now...

My conclusion: You can use the original backlight control if you can trick the Thinkpad to activate both LVDS and eDP in clone mode.
using an X220 (i3->i5->i7, hopefully soon FHD IPS), an X41 (SSD via (m)sata-Mod, IPS, ~100Wh custom battery);
playing with an T430u(buntu), storing a T22, X41t, T42, R61, T61p;
and taking care of the T420s (FHD IPS) of my wife

nitrocaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 453
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#23 Post by nitrocaster » Wed May 25, 2016 4:31 am

StefanKo wrote: -> The new display was recognized by windows, but, when activated (in clone mode with the original), it showed no image.
I am pretty sure there is a bad connection, or I have to work on the signal shielding to get it to work... I just don't have time now...
When dealing with high-speed interfaces, it's not only a shielding. In order to prevent signal loss, crosstalk and reflections you need a proper cable with matched impedance and length. For example, according to DisplayPort PCB layout guidelines, the length difference between a differential pair should be limited to 5 mils (0.127mm) maximum. Pretty tight, huh?
StefanKo wrote: My conclusion: You can use the original backlight control if you can trick the Thinkpad to activate both LVDS and eDP in clone mode.
The ideal solution would be to keep LVDS inferface inactive to reduce power consumption. Otherwise you'll basically have dual display setup working all the time.
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

StefanKo
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 2:54 pm
Location: Aachen, Germany

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#24 Post by StefanKo » Wed May 25, 2016 5:04 am

nitrocaster wrote: When dealing with high-speed interfaces, it's not only a shielding. In order to prevent signal loss, crosstalk and reflections you need a proper cable with matched impedance and length. For example, according to DisplayPort PCB layout guidelines, the length difference between a differential pair should be limited to 5 mils (0.127mm) maximum. Pretty tight, huh?
I know there are strict guidelines. But I am also sure that you do not need to follow them so strictly all the time to get things working.
So far I have found one bad contact...
nitrocaster wrote: The ideal solution would be to keep LVDS inferface inactive to reduce power consumption. Otherwise you'll basically have dual display setup working all the time.
That is true, but as long as my display does not work, I do not intent to try to create my own pwm control for that display.
Probably, even if it works, I'll just live with the higher power consumption.
What is worse, is that the X220 can only control 2 screens at a time, so internal would always have to be off when using an external screen.
using an X220 (i3->i5->i7, hopefully soon FHD IPS), an X41 (SSD via (m)sata-Mod, IPS, ~100Wh custom battery);
playing with an T430u(buntu), storing a T22, X41t, T42, R61, T61p;
and taking care of the T420s (FHD IPS) of my wife

StefanKo
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 2:54 pm
Location: Aachen, Germany

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#25 Post by StefanKo » Sun Jun 12, 2016 11:38 am

I have further pursued my attempt on a FHD IPS X220, but so far I had no success.
The FHD display never shows an image.

I have powered the backlight from the original display cable -> works
The old display is still connected to LVDS -> works (without backlight)

The eDP lanes are connected to the docking port as shown in the images attached here.
-> display presence is detected in windows, but the display does not show image

The cable lengths are approximately the same in each pair.
I have tested the connections, they are really as in my schematics, without shortcuts or loose contacts.
Unfortunately I currently have neither another eDP display to test, nor a notebook where I can test my current display.

Any other ideas why it might not work?

Image Datasheet of the display connector
Image schematics of the docking port
Image cabling (not my latest try...)
using an X220 (i3->i5->i7, hopefully soon FHD IPS), an X41 (SSD via (m)sata-Mod, IPS, ~100Wh custom battery);
playing with an T430u(buntu), storing a T22, X41t, T42, R61, T61p;
and taking care of the T420s (FHD IPS) of my wife

nitrocaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 453
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#26 Post by nitrocaster » Sun Jun 26, 2016 11:19 am

So far I got everything required to build a prototype... only to found that x240 LCD connector has reverse pin order.
Due to a lack of solder paste I assembled the board using iron and hot air (sorry for bad focus, that's the only pic I got).

Image

Going to redesign the board, wait until it's manufactured and try again.
Last edited by nitrocaster on Wed Jun 29, 2016 11:49 am, edited 1 time in total.
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

nitrocaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 453
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#27 Post by nitrocaster » Wed Jun 29, 2016 11:46 am

While new pcbs are being manufactured, I made a successful attempt to install AUO B125HAN02 panel into the lid. This panel is somewhat larger than LP125WF2 models used in X240, so more material has to be removed.

Image Image Image Image Image
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

nitrocaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 453
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#28 Post by nitrocaster » Fri Jul 22, 2016 7:25 pm

Today I made another test: now I have the image, but backlight doesn't work. Didn't make any pics of working LCD because I had no spare boot disk, but whatever. Here's the adapter board:
Image
So now the only problem is backlight.
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

choroq
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 4:18 am
Location: Houston, Texas, USA

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#29 Post by choroq » Tue Jul 26, 2016 4:24 am

that is incredible that you made your own board for this mod. i eagerly await when you finish this, i'd definitely buy it immediately.

why didn't you use the board from china though? it seems that it fully works. Also, how much soldering is needed? it seems like just two wires need to be soldered in, seems easy enough.

nitrocaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 453
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#30 Post by nitrocaster » Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:13 am

choroq wrote:why didn't you use the board from china though? it seems that it fully works. Also, how much soldering is needed? it seems like just two wires need to be soldered in, seems easy enough.
It's very difficult to buy. They sell adapter with lcd panel and refuse to sell the adapter itself. And you have to send the laptop to seller for the kit installation.

Backlight is still not adjustable, but at least I can see the image on screen now.
Image

Something bad happened when I was installing the adapter board on my X230, and it doesn't turn on. Going to try troublesoot and repair it myself so that I could continue my experiments.
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad X200/201/220 and X300/301 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: pamark and 11 guests