Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

X220 FHD Upgrade?

X200, X201, X220 (including equivalent tablet models) and X300, X301 series specific matters only.
Message
Author
RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20344
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#31 Post by RealBlackStuff » Tue Jul 26, 2016 5:29 am

Would this remark on the AUO Datasheet help?
Note 2 : If the PWM duty ratio(min) is set between 5% to 1%,the PWM input frequency should be set below
1KHz . The brightness-duty characteristic might not be able to keep in it’s linearity if the dimming control is
operated in 1% to 5% range.
On most screens there is also a fuse on the LED-panel, probably hidden under the DO NOT TOUCH stuff.
Did you also check the fuses F3 and F4 near the LCD-connector?
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 578
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#32 Post by nitrocaster » Tue Jul 26, 2016 6:49 am

RealBlackStuff wrote:Would this remark on the AUO Datasheet help?
Note 2 : If the PWM duty ratio(min) is set between 5% to 1%,the PWM input frequency should be set below
1KHz . The brightness-duty characteristic might not be able to keep in it’s linearity if the dimming control is
operated in 1% to 5% range.
On most screens there is also a fuse on the LED-panel, probably hidden under the DO NOT TOUCH stuff.
Did you also check the fuses F3 and F4 near the LCD-connector?
The problem is not in the backlight circuit itself. BIOS can't use dual monitor configuration, thus there's no backlight enable and dim signals for default built-in LCD.
Also, how much soldering is needed? it seems like just two wires need to be soldered in, seems easy enough.
I hope it would require only 8-9 soldering points, all on docking port connector pads. Like here (see round pads on top of the red board):
http://img-cdn.jg.jugem.jp/156/3028867/ ... 182065.jpg
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20344
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#33 Post by RealBlackStuff » Tue Jul 26, 2016 8:08 am

Are you talking X220 or X230?

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 578
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#34 Post by nitrocaster » Tue Jul 26, 2016 8:38 am

RealBlackStuff wrote:Are you talking X220 or X230?
Both. They have same pinout of LCD and docking connectors, so the adapter would work with both models.
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 578
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#35 Post by nitrocaster » Sat Aug 20, 2016 9:34 pm

Another update: new prototype supports brightness control. So, basically, it's gonna be a replacement for chinese mod kit. Hope to get a production version soon.

Image
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

Tasurinchi
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2124
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 8:38 am
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#36 Post by Tasurinchi » Sun Aug 21, 2016 5:11 am

nitrocaster wrote:So, basically, it's gonna be a replacement for chinese mod kit. Hope to get a production version soon
Nice! :thumbs-UP:
IBM Convertible 5140/L40SX/220/240/240X/2*340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/2*570/2*600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E
A20p/A22p/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/SL510/2*T22/4*T4x/11*T6x/6*T40x/6*T5x0/3*W5x0/W700/3*X2x/4*X3x/3*X4x/5*X6x/3*X6xT/12*X2xx/4*X30x/Z60m/3*Z61x

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 578
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#37 Post by nitrocaster » Sun Aug 21, 2016 8:50 am

Just uploaded a short (and pretty crappy, huh) demo on YouTube: https://youtu.be/SKb6llRurLQ
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

Tasurinchi
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2124
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 8:38 am
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#38 Post by Tasurinchi » Sun Aug 21, 2016 9:48 am

Cool, I'm really looking forward to this mod. I love the X2x0 machines, but that 1366x768 resolution... Oh boy... :(
IBM Convertible 5140/L40SX/220/240/240X/2*340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/2*570/2*600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E
A20p/A22p/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/SL510/2*T22/4*T4x/11*T6x/6*T40x/6*T5x0/3*W5x0/W700/3*X2x/4*X3x/3*X4x/5*X6x/3*X6xT/12*X2xx/4*X30x/Z60m/3*Z61x

wabamad
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 12:30 am
Location: Grande Prairie, Alberta Canada

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#39 Post by wabamad » Sun Aug 21, 2016 4:09 pm

I need this......
ThinkPad X200 Tablet, 240GB SSD. Getting ready to pull the trigger on an x230 tablet.

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 578
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#40 Post by nitrocaster » Sun Aug 21, 2016 4:13 pm

wabamad wrote:I need this......
No party for tablets. At least, in the first batch and until I get one of these.
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

wabamad
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 12:30 am
Location: Grande Prairie, Alberta Canada

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#41 Post by wabamad » Sun Aug 21, 2016 4:32 pm

I would get a non tablet to have a fhd screen.
ThinkPad X200 Tablet, 240GB SSD. Getting ready to pull the trigger on an x230 tablet.

StefanKo
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 2:54 pm
Location: Aachen, Germany

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#42 Post by StefanKo » Mon Aug 22, 2016 6:46 am

nitrocaster wrote:Another update: new prototype supports brightness control.
Cool! How did you make brightness control work?
And what do you expect your kit to cost, if you get into production?
using an X220 (i3->i5->i7, hopefully soon FHD IPS), an X41 (SSD via (m)sata-Mod, IPS, ~100Wh custom battery);
playing with an T430u(buntu), storing a T22, X41t, T42, R61, T61p;
and taking care of the T420s (FHD IPS) of my wife

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 578
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#43 Post by nitrocaster » Mon Aug 22, 2016 2:40 pm

Backlight control is provided by LVDS output. The problem with the previous prototype was that backlight either didn't work in bios or was enabled all the time. Now it's fixed at 100% level in BIOS and works as expected in Windows. BIOS mod is required to disable LVDS output so that it would be single display mode instead of duplication mode.
I suppose the price would be around 60 bucks. Don't know shipping costs yet.
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

gtxaspec
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2016 10:28 pm
Location: La Jolla, California

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#44 Post by gtxaspec » Mon Aug 22, 2016 2:58 pm

nitrocaster wrote:Backlight control is provided by LVDS output. The problem with the previous prototype was that backlight either didn't work in bios or was enabled all the time. Now it's fixed at 100% level in BIOS and works as expected in Windows. BIOS mod is required to disable LVDS output so that it would be single display mode instead of duplication mode.
I suppose the price would be around 60 bucks. Don't know shipping costs yet.
I hope this will work with X230, any insight?

thank you!

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 578
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#45 Post by nitrocaster » Mon Aug 22, 2016 3:26 pm

Yeah, it's compatible with X220/X230. Final PCB design is ready for production.
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

gtxaspec
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2016 10:28 pm
Location: La Jolla, California

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#46 Post by gtxaspec » Mon Aug 22, 2016 5:10 pm

Just a quick question, because I'm sure you are familiar with the PCB layout and boardview files and such. the second lvds channel coming out of the ICH, they are unconnected? No traces at all? I know before someone mentioned they would try to hookup to have 2 channel LVDS and such. Just wondering.

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 578
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#47 Post by nitrocaster » Mon Aug 22, 2016 5:33 pm

You're right, the second LVDS channel is unconnected. Only pads on the top layer. Same as eDP.
Technically, it's possible to remove the hub, solder thin wires to LVDS pads, put the hub back on it's place and replace 28-pin LCD connector with 40-pin one for dual channel LVDS, but I doubt this approach would work because wires under the hub will emit and receive EMI, which will distort both LVDS and other nearby signals. I don't even mention that removing/installing the hub is extremely difficult procedure which many repair shops are afraid of.
Regarding the same concept with eDP - that's even more difficult, because it uses >2GHz frequencies (compare with 400MHz LVDS) and tolerances are far more strict.
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

StefanKo
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 2:54 pm
Location: Aachen, Germany

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#48 Post by StefanKo » Tue Aug 23, 2016 3:20 am

nitrocaster wrote:BIOS mod is required to disable LVDS output so that it would be single display mode instead of duplication mode. I suppose the price would be around 60 bucks. Don't know shipping costs yet.
Is it possible to get that mod bios somewhere?
Did you make that yourself, or is it the same as from those modded X2x0 from China?
I still hope to get my "open air wiring" to work (Freiluftverdrahtung, without pcb, as we call it in Germany), and such a mod bios would then be great. If I can't get it to work... I'll just have to wait for your final kit :-)
using an X220 (i3->i5->i7, hopefully soon FHD IPS), an X41 (SSD via (m)sata-Mod, IPS, ~100Wh custom battery);
playing with an T430u(buntu), storing a T22, X41t, T42, R61, T61p;
and taking care of the T420s (FHD IPS) of my wife

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 578
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#49 Post by nitrocaster » Tue Aug 23, 2016 4:04 am

Neither my mod nor nb51' one don't use BIOS mod. I just said it's technically possible. And I'm not sure if I'll do it, because X230 requires hardware flasher to flash modified BIOS. X220 doesn't, though.
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

StefanKo
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 2:54 pm
Location: Aachen, Germany

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#50 Post by StefanKo » Tue Aug 23, 2016 8:22 am

Ok. I have an X220, so having a modded bios would be great.
My backlight does work fine, too, with LVDS active, but I think my FHD panel is broken. Can't get an image...
Maybe I'll just get a 13.3 inch panel instead :-)
using an X220 (i3->i5->i7, hopefully soon FHD IPS), an X41 (SSD via (m)sata-Mod, IPS, ~100Wh custom battery);
playing with an T430u(buntu), storing a T22, X41t, T42, R61, T61p;
and taking care of the T420s (FHD IPS) of my wife

harryK
Sophomore Member
Posts: 146
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2014 6:28 pm
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#51 Post by harryK » Tue Aug 23, 2016 2:03 pm

nitrocaster wrote:BIOS mod is required to disable LVDS output so that it would be single display mode instead of duplication mode
BIOS mod would be ideal, but bear in mind that at least on Linux there's a small patch for the gfx driver that disables LVDS permanently (to save power) and grants backlight control to the eDP lane. http://pastebin.com/WF6wdfpb

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 578
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#52 Post by nitrocaster » Tue Aug 23, 2016 2:22 pm

harryK wrote:BIOS mod would be ideal, but bear in mind that at least on Linux there's a small patch for the gfx driver that disables LVDS permanently (to save power) and grants backlight control to the eDP lane. http://pastebin.com/WF6wdfpb
Sure. It's just not a universal solution.
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

eysenck
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 4:07 pm
Location: Berkeley, CA

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#53 Post by eysenck » Tue Sep 06, 2016 2:49 am

Still waiting for your final kit :-). Seems great so far.

Some questions, if you have the time to answer them?

1. What's the best 1080p screen to use as an upgrade for the X220/X230?

2. Are there any disadvantages, aside from cost, of swapping out keyboard + screen in X230 versus just swapping out the screen in X220 (in both cases using your final product)?

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 578
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#54 Post by nitrocaster » Tue Sep 06, 2016 7:35 am

Currently I have two screens: LG LP125WF2-SPB3 and AUO B125HAN02.0. They have some differences:
1] Physical dimensions: LG is easier to fit in the lid
2] Brightness: 400nit (LG) vs 300nit (AUO)
3] Response time: 25ms (AUO) vs 35ms (LG)
4] Maximum PWM frequency: 10KHz (AUO) vs 1KHz (LG)
The price is about the same. Both panels are 6-bit (52% NTSC, 262K colors). There are also 8-bit panels (72% NTSC, 16.7M colors), but they are much more expensive and difficult to source.

Also, it seems that X230 is still affected by low color depth issue which is presumably caused by the bug in the display driver for Windows. Chinese blogger says that X220 is exempted:
I was encountered with this trouble as many other people who holds the x230 laptop. However, x220 series will not be affected if it uses a modified driver provided by the inventor of the adapter. This bug will cause a 16-bit-like color output on the screen panel, such that the gradual change of one color will not be so smooth as it was. If anyone remember the 16-bit color depth on the earlier LCD panels, that’s the feel. The root of this bug lies in the display driver, but no solutions has been ever given till now.
I haven't yet tried to find this driver, but can confirm that this issue is present on X220. That's the case when Linux users are really happy :)

Regarding the keyboard swap: you are going to swap the keyboard bezel as well for the perfect fit. I don't see any disadvantages.
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

apojoga
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2005 9:33 am

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#55 Post by apojoga » Sun Sep 11, 2016 8:38 pm

Would it be possible to go all the way and install a 3840×2160 screen such as http://www.panelook.com/NV125QUM-N81_BO ... 26731.html ?
X220 i7-2640M | FHD IPS 12.5" | 16GB @ 1866 | 256GB mSATA | 2TB 5400 HDD

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 578
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#56 Post by nitrocaster » Mon Sep 12, 2016 2:11 am

Not with the current kit. Maybe it would be possible with the next versions. HD3000/HD4000 doesn't support QHD either.
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 578
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#57 Post by nitrocaster » Tue Sep 13, 2016 1:29 pm

Work in progress.

Image Image
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

apojoga
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2005 9:33 am

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#58 Post by apojoga » Tue Sep 13, 2016 3:07 pm

Nice and clean.
X220 i7-2640M | FHD IPS 12.5" | 16GB @ 1866 | 256GB mSATA | 2TB 5400 HDD

StefanKo
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 2:54 pm
Location: Aachen, Germany

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#59 Post by StefanKo » Wed Sep 14, 2016 7:16 am

Looks great! I must get one or two of those boards from you next time I visit Moscow...
using an X220 (i3->i5->i7, hopefully soon FHD IPS), an X41 (SSD via (m)sata-Mod, IPS, ~100Wh custom battery);
playing with an T430u(buntu), storing a T22, X41t, T42, R61, T61p;
and taking care of the T420s (FHD IPS) of my wife

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 578
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#60 Post by nitrocaster » Sat Sep 17, 2016 5:47 pm

Finally flashed and installed the adapter on X230 board. Going to make final adjustments in the firmware and we'll be all set.

Image Image

The only problem now is eDP cables: they're quite difficult to source and I got only 4 pcs. Will keep you guys updated.
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad X200/201/220 and X300/301 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests