Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

X220 FHD Upgrade?

X200, X201, X220 (including equivalent tablet models) and X300, X301 series specific matters only.
Message
Author
vade
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 4:22 pm
Location: Lappeenranta, Finland

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#361 Post by vade » Thu Jan 05, 2017 3:16 pm

nitrocaster wrote:A reasonable way to go is to replace the PMH. Which CPU do you have on your board: i5 or i7?
Indeed, replacing the PMH would be less wasteful. The CPU is an i5-2520M.

I wonder, can such a factory-mounted component be replaced using nothing but a modest soldering iron?

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 566
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#362 Post by nitrocaster » Thu Jan 05, 2017 3:24 pm

vade wrote:
nitrocaster wrote:A reasonable way to go is to replace the PMH. Which CPU do you have on your board: i5 or i7?
Indeed, replacing the PMH would be less wasteful. The CPU is an i5-2520M.

I wonder, can such a factory-mounted component be replaced using nothing but a modest soldering iron?
You can carefully cut each terminal and remove the chip itself, leaving the stumps soldered to the pads. Then use a blob of leaded solder to remove the stumps, clean the pads with a wick, cover them with flux, place new PMH and solder any two opposite pins while holding the chip flat on the board. Next, solder the rest of pins, clear the junk with alcohol and you're all set.
Last edited by nitrocaster on Thu Jan 05, 2017 3:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

vade
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 4:22 pm
Location: Lappeenranta, Finland

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#363 Post by vade » Thu Jan 05, 2017 3:41 pm

PMH replacement sounds doable with that technique. Now just need to find a working PMH and a replacement for F1 fuse.

I very much appreciate the effort you (and others) put into diagnosing the consequence of my mistake. Learned quite a lot. Thank you.

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 19435
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#364 Post by RealBlackStuff » Thu Jan 05, 2017 3:46 pm

Excuse my dumb question, but what is PMH/PHM?

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 566
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#365 Post by nitrocaster » Thu Jan 05, 2017 3:55 pm

vade wrote:PMH replacement sounds doable with that technique. Now just need to find a working PMH and a replacement for F1 fuse.
I very much appreciate the effort you (and others) put into diagnosing the consequence of my mistake. Learned quite a lot. Thank you.
You can buy both on eBay or AliExpress. If you were using X230, I could send you a replacement PMH (bought 6 of them during diagnosing my dead X230 board).
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 566
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#366 Post by nitrocaster » Thu Jan 05, 2017 3:58 pm

RealBlackStuff wrote:Excuse my dumb question, but what is PMH/PHM?
'PHM' was a typo. PMH = Power Management Hub or so called 'Think Engine', which drives power mosfets, monitors voltages and temperatures.
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

vade
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 4:22 pm
Location: Lappeenranta, Finland

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#367 Post by vade » Fri Jan 06, 2017 5:55 am

nitrocaster wrote:You can buy both on eBay or AliExpress.
Shopping for parts now. X220 schematic says the PMH is a BU77700KVT-GP. However, I looked at the chip and it says only BU77700KVT without the -GP suffix. Is it relevant?

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 566
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#368 Post by nitrocaster » Fri Jan 06, 2017 5:59 am

vade wrote:
nitrocaster wrote:You can buy both on eBay or AliExpress.
Shopping for parts now. X220 schematic says the PMH is a BU77700KVT-GP. However, I looked at the chip and it says only BU77700KVT without the -GP suffix. Is it relevant?
'GP' is just some generic siffux used in their part library, ignore it.
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 19435
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#369 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sat Jan 07, 2017 8:26 am

nitrocaster wrote:Russian Post attempts second try:
Image
Status for shipping to USA unchanged, still waiting...
https://www.facebook.com/notes/littleod ... 339600213/

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 566
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#370 Post by nitrocaster » Sat Jan 07, 2017 8:33 am

At least you guys can learn from other's mistakes while waiting, decreasing the chance of winning the fried motherboard lottery.
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

Tasurinchi
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2080
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 8:38 am
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#371 Post by Tasurinchi » Sat Jan 07, 2017 12:11 pm

Got my package today!

Very nicely packed, good job! Now I need to practice soldering on guinea-pig stuff I have around before messing up any board! :wink:
IBM Convertible 5140/L40SX/220/240/240X/2*340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/2*570/2*600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E
A20p/A22p/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/SL510/2*T22/4*T4x/11*T6x/6*T40x/6*T5x0/3*W5x0/W700/3*X2x/4*X3x/3*X4x/5*X6x/3*X6xT/12*X2xx/4*X30x/Z60m/3*Z61x

Smradek
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2017 4:42 am
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#372 Post by Smradek » Mon Jan 09, 2017 5:08 am

Hi nitrocaster.

I can get LQ133M1JW03 on taobao for 350 RMB plus shipping. The eDP connector is located on the right side of the panel. Is Your eDP cable long enough to reach the connector on the panel?

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 566
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#373 Post by nitrocaster » Mon Jan 09, 2017 5:22 am

Smradek wrote:Hi nitrocaster.

I can get LQ133M1JW03 on taobao for 350 RMB plus shipping. The eDP connector is located on the right side of the panel. Is Your eDP cable long enough to reach the connector on the panel?
The connector has to be located on the left side. Otherwise the cable would not be long enough.
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

boutch55555
Sophomore Member
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:18 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#374 Post by boutch55555 » Tue Jan 10, 2017 6:15 am

nitrocaster wrote: The connector has to be located on the left side. Otherwise the cable would not be long enough.
Ok, so now we need a side switcher flat ribbon (I can only find 40 pins), an extension or a new longer cable.

Tracking says I'll get the screen today, I'll start test fitting tonight. I did some cutting tests yesterday on an old T61 bezel with my desktop mill (Shapeoko 2) and it looks quite nice. I might be willing to cut some for people if needed.

I won't be able to test the screen though, my mod kit is awaiting departure from Russia since Dec 30... They now offer me to send a search request for lost mail !

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 566
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#375 Post by nitrocaster » Tue Jan 10, 2017 6:38 am

All packets to US and Canada seem to have the same status. I ordered case parts for my X230 on eBay from China on December 23 and the last status update is 'Awaiting for departure from China' on December 24. So, that is kinda common problem. Holidays :?
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

Smradek
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2017 4:42 am
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#376 Post by Smradek » Tue Jan 10, 2017 7:04 am

nitrocaster wrote:
Smradek wrote:Hi nitrocaster.

I can get LQ133M1JW03 on taobao for 350 RMB plus shipping. The eDP connector is located on the right side of the panel. Is Your eDP cable long enough to reach the connector on the panel?
The connector has to be located on the left side. Otherwise the cable would not be long enough.
OK, I gave up on 13.3" and ordered two LG LP125WF2-SPB4
from win0win's AliExpress shop. Cheaper then eBay :).

When the kits arrived I've seen how small this things really are, so ordered this too
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/0-3ML-Disposa ... 1442147392

Has anyone experience with this Paint-Instead-of-Solder-Thingy?

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 19435
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#377 Post by RealBlackStuff » Tue Jan 10, 2017 7:08 am

I wonder if Putain has ordered USA shipments to be "held" as punishment for the 35 embassy staff who were thrown out by Obama...

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 566
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#378 Post by nitrocaster » Tue Jan 10, 2017 7:17 am

RealBlackStuff wrote:I wonder if Putain has ordered USA shipments to be "held" as punishment for the 35 embassy staff who were thrown out by Obama...
Yeah, while riding a bear topless :mrgreen:
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 566
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#379 Post by nitrocaster » Tue Jan 10, 2017 7:23 am

Smradek wrote: When the kits arrived I've seen how small this things really are, so ordered this too
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/0-3ML-Disposa ... 1442147392

Has anyone experience with this Paint-Instead-of-Solder-Thingy?
I have. It contracts very much after curing and does not fill plated through holes, so the adapter board would fall off easily. One could use it for attaching the sense wire though. But if you can solder PTHs, why not solder the sense wire as well?
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

Smradek
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2017 4:42 am
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#380 Post by Smradek » Tue Jan 10, 2017 7:42 am

nitrocaster wrote:
Smradek wrote: When the kits arrived I've seen how small this things really are, so ordered this too
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/0-3ML-Disposa ... 1442147392

Has anyone experience with this Paint-Instead-of-Solder-Thingy?
I have. It contracts very much after curing and does not fill plated through holes, so the adapter board would fall off easily. One could use it for attaching the sense wire though. But if you can solder PTHs, why not solder the sense wire as well?
Yeah, I was worried about filling the holes.

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 566
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#381 Post by nitrocaster » Tue Jan 10, 2017 9:38 am

Smradek wrote:ordered two LG LP125WF2-SPB4 from win0win's AliExpress shop. Cheaper then eBay :).
I couldn't find win0win on AliExpress. A link would be helpful.
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

Smradek
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2017 4:42 am
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#382 Post by Smradek » Tue Jan 10, 2017 10:06 am

nitrocaster wrote:
Smradek wrote:ordered two LG LP125WF2-SPB4 from win0win's AliExpress shop. Cheaper then eBay :).
I couldn't find win0win on AliExpress. A link would be helpful.
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/B125HAN ... 29067.html

I was searching for LP125WF2-SPB4 on Taobao and found the Taobao seller win0win.
Asked for the price for LP125WF2-SPB4 the seller gave this link and confirmed it is his AliExpress shop.

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 566
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#383 Post by nitrocaster » Tue Jan 10, 2017 10:16 am

Nice. Let's wait until you get your panels and see if they are really good.
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

boutch55555
Sophomore Member
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:18 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#384 Post by boutch55555 » Tue Jan 10, 2017 7:08 pm

So, yeah... the LQ133M1JW03 is wider than casing, no fit. :roll:

dogeitrade
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 3:15 pm
Location: United States

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#385 Post by dogeitrade » Tue Jan 10, 2017 11:18 pm

Received the LCD today from win0win, now just waiting on the kit :D

x3o2
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 5:42 am
Location: Germany

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#386 Post by x3o2 » Wed Jan 11, 2017 4:26 am

boutch55555 wrote:the LQ133M1JW03 is wider than casing, no fit.
Agree. It doesn't fit ootb. But...

it is part of the X330. To make it fit, you have to adapt the casing big time. If you want one of the best 13'' panels around in a 12'' machine, go this way.

But keep in mind, the eDP-connector of the LQ133 is on the 'wrong' side, so you'd need a longer eDP cable.

boutch55555
Sophomore Member
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:18 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#387 Post by boutch55555 » Wed Jan 11, 2017 5:59 am

x3o2 wrote:To make it fit, you have to adapt the casing big time. If you want one of the best 13'' panels around in a 12'' machine, go this way.
No, I mean the screen is 0.5 - 1mm wider than the exterior of the casing. It just can't physically fit.

x3o2
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 5:42 am
Location: Germany

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#388 Post by x3o2 » Wed Jan 11, 2017 6:22 am

boutch55555 wrote:No, I mean the screen is 0.5 - 1mm wider than the exterior of the casing. It just can't physically fit.
What do you say about this one?

https://www.reddit.com/r/thinkpad/comme ... 4/d6jpn0a/

boutch55555
Sophomore Member
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:18 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#389 Post by boutch55555 » Wed Jan 11, 2017 6:30 am


nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 566
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: X220 FHD Upgrade?

#390 Post by nitrocaster » Wed Jan 11, 2017 8:28 am

boutch55555 wrote:Pictures worth a thousand words...
http://imgur.com/kVOO9Nz
http://imgur.com/bB50mlz
http://imgur.com/vOcZHvD
You seem to get it now. They remove the frame from the LCD.
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad X200/201/220 and X300/301 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests