Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

X200, X201, X220 (including equivalent tablet models) and X300, X301 series specific matters only.

Would you pay $54 for such kit for X220T/X230T?

Yes
95
90%
No
10
10%
 
Total votes: 105

Message
Author
RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 17940
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Contact:

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#31 Post by RealBlackStuff » Wed Dec 21, 2016 12:04 pm

I installed a very basic Debian Jesse on a spare X200, then made a self-booting USB-stick using the hamish/github download as mentioned a few posts down here: http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?f=69&t=120776
Following instructions, once in Debian it only took about a minute or two.

6sicSIX
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 3:11 am
Location: Colchester, Essex, UK

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#32 Post by 6sicSIX » Thu Dec 22, 2016 3:27 am

carcuevas wrote:
Hi,

what method are you using for doing the Bios MOD??? I tried with the pomona + raspberry pi and I was not able to read the chip for starters so I didn't continue... :D :lol: :lol:
Apparently it's possible to do it without a hardware flash now - only part of the bios is write-protected - see here:
http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/Install_C ... ntroller_2

Of course I now need to install git and figure out how to make the iso....

x3o2
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 5:42 am
Location: Germany

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#33 Post by x3o2 » Thu Dec 22, 2016 8:59 am

Great work!

I am desperately waiting for the second batch to come.

nitrocaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 454
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#34 Post by nitrocaster » Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:39 pm

All paid orders packed and prepared for tomorrow shipping!

Image Image
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

dogeitrade
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 3:15 pm
Location: United States

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#35 Post by dogeitrade » Fri Dec 23, 2016 2:10 pm

:D

systema
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 7:09 am
Location: NYC

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#36 Post by systema » Fri Dec 23, 2016 3:52 pm

nitrocaster wrote:All paid orders packed and prepared for tomorrow shipping!

Image Image
From Russia with love? :Nice:
X41T [Pentium M 758 1.5 GHz] + OCZ 2GB RAM + Lenovo 60GB SSD + 8-cell BAT @ WIN7
X230 FHD [i7-3520M 2.9 GHz] + 16GB RAM + Crucial 750GB SSD + 9-cell BAT @ WIN8.1

StefanKo
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 2:54 pm
Location: Aachen, Germany

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#37 Post by StefanKo » Sat Dec 24, 2016 1:39 am

Good luck with Почта России!
using an X220 (i3->i5->i7, hopefully soon FHD IPS), an X41 (SSD via (m)sata-Mod, IPS, ~100Wh custom battery);
playing with an T430u(buntu), storing a T22, X41t, T42, R61, T61p;
and taking care of the T420s (FHD IPS) of my wife

nitrocaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 454
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#38 Post by nitrocaster » Sat Dec 24, 2016 10:50 am

Shipped 31 orders today. I literally paralyzed the work of local post office and collected a large queue of angry people cursing Почта России (and probably me too :mrgreen: ).
3 remaining orders will be shipped tomorrow.
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

rkawakami
Admin
Admin
Posts: 10081
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 1:26 am
Location: San Jose, CA 95120 USA
Contact:

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#39 Post by rkawakami » Sat Dec 24, 2016 1:53 pm

Sounds like one of my own local post offices; one clerk handling the rush of Christmas shippers. On behalf of the first group of purchasers, thanks for the effort. I've got my order in :) .
Ray Kawakami
X22 X24 X31 X41 X41T X60 X60s X61 X61s X200 X200s X300 X301 Z60m Z61t Z61p 560 560Z 600 600E 600X T21 T22 T23 T41 T60p T410 T420 T520 W500 W520 R50 A21p A22p A31 A31p
NOTE: All links to PC-Doctor software hosted by me are dead. Files removed 8/28/12 by manufacturer's demand.

nitrocaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 454
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#40 Post by nitrocaster » Sat Dec 24, 2016 2:25 pm

Just got myself a vanilla X230 with i5 2.6GHz. Nearly perfect cosmetics besides a single scratch on the lid (not all the way though to metal). Anybody here interested in buying it with preinstalled FHD mod?
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 17940
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Contact:

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#41 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sat Dec 24, 2016 2:28 pm

I'm equally happy to know that my order is on its way as well.
Seeing you go to the Post Office again tomorrow, I assume your (Greek-Orthodox) Christmas is not until January next year?
Regardless, for all, see below! :santa:
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

nitrocaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 454
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#42 Post by nitrocaster » Sat Dec 24, 2016 2:37 pm

RealBlackStuff wrote:I'm equally happy to know that my order is on its way as well.
Seeing you go to the Post Office again tomorrow, I assume your (Greek-Orthodox) Christmas is not until January next year?
Regardless, for all, see below! :santa:
It's not quite mine, but Russian :) Thank you.
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

prime07
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2016 4:26 pm
Location: Heilbronn, Germany

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#43 Post by prime07 » Sun Dec 25, 2016 2:54 am

circumstances changed... Anyone interested in buying my mod kit, instead of waiting for the second batch? I would sell it for the original price of 54$ + shipping.
It has been shipped by nitrocaster yesterday, and it will stay unopened.
Please pm, the first one will get it.

/edit: found a buyer, thank you
Last edited by prime07 on Sun Dec 25, 2016 5:05 am, edited 1 time in total.

6sicSIX
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 3:11 am
Location: Colchester, Essex, UK

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#44 Post by 6sicSIX » Sun Dec 25, 2016 4:52 am

prime07 wrote:Please pm, the first one will get it.
Pm sent! :)

dogeitrade
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 3:15 pm
Location: United States

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#45 Post by dogeitrade » Mon Dec 26, 2016 1:36 am

i remember you said something about a kernel patch to disable LVDS to save power, how would i go about doing that ?

nitrocaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 454
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#46 Post by nitrocaster » Mon Dec 26, 2016 2:13 pm

dogeitrade wrote:i remember you said something about a kernel patch to disable LVDS to save power, how would i go about doing that ?
https://gist.github.com/nitrocaster/2bb ... d162a48c73
I don't know who is the author, but someone reported this does actually work.
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

karazi
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat May 18, 2013 8:21 pm

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#47 Post by karazi » Mon Dec 26, 2016 7:01 pm

Hello, I sent a request to order 2 kits on Dec 19th (filled out Google form). I guess I didn't make the first shipment - do I need to fill out another order form? thanks!

nitrocaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 454
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#48 Post by nitrocaster » Mon Dec 26, 2016 8:02 pm

karazi wrote:Hello, I sent a request to order 2 kits on Dec 19th (filled out Google form). I guess I didn't make the first shipment - do I need to fill out another order form? thanks!
12 kits from the first batch were not completely assembled and will be ready during this week. So, there's still a chance.
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

karazi
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat May 18, 2013 8:21 pm

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#49 Post by karazi » Mon Dec 26, 2016 9:58 pm

nitrocaster wrote:
karazi wrote:Hello, I sent a request to order 2 kits on Dec 19th (filled out Google form). I guess I didn't make the first shipment - do I need to fill out another order form? thanks!
12 kits from the first batch were not completely assembled and will be ready during this week. So, there's still a chance.
Cool, happy to change quantity from 2 to 1 so someone else can get one.

Nevadita
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 10:10 pm
Location: Willemstad, Curacao, Dutch Caribbean

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#50 Post by Nevadita » Tue Dec 27, 2016 12:15 am

Since my other message got buried i ask this again. on the case the Adapter for the tablet versions become a thing, what will happen with the Wacom tech with the new high res? it will be disabled or its posible to "recalibrate" it to the new screen?

rkan
Freshman Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 2:52 pm
Location: Vantaa, Finland

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#51 Post by rkan » Tue Dec 27, 2016 1:44 am

Ohh man... I missed!! I think I checked the thread on 18th of December, but this thread was put up on the 19th :D. Well..
T43p - M 770(2.13GHz), 2GB RAM, 60GB HDD, 15in 1600x1200 LCD, 128MB ATI FireGL V3200, CD-RW/DVD-R Multi-Burner, Intel 802.11abg wireless(MPCI), Bluetooth/Modem(CDC), 1Gb Ethernet(LOM)

nitrocaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 454
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#52 Post by nitrocaster » Tue Dec 27, 2016 4:01 am

Nevadita wrote:Since my other message got buried i ask this again. on the case the Adapter for the tablet versions become a thing, what will happen with the Wacom tech with the new high res? it will be disabled or its posible to "recalibrate" it to the new screen?
I have no idea. Maybe it does not depend on display resolution.
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

LDSer
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2016 1:32 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#53 Post by LDSer » Tue Dec 27, 2016 1:33 pm

@nitrocaster
When did you get a second batch?

nitrocaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 454
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#54 Post by nitrocaster » Wed Dec 28, 2016 5:42 am

LDSer wrote:@nitrocaster
When did you get a second batch?
Not yet. See current status in the first post.
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

Leosleo
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2016 7:07 am
Location: Palermo, Italy

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#55 Post by Leosleo » Wed Dec 28, 2016 7:47 am

Nitro, sorry but there was not an advice on the other thread about the form of purchase the kit!
I had asked for one Kit and to be considered in list on the other thread (as you can see) and only now I read of this post and the kits end.
I just ordered display from win0win, as you suggested, a month ago and I will have only a display without can using it.

Is there a chance to have one kit? No one advised of this thread :( I'm waiting for it for 2 month. Waiting for other 1.5 month is too much. One kit only for my Thinkpad :( Please!

EDIT: The advice is present in the other thread. My mistake. Now I'm so sorry not to have a kit :(
Nitro, is there a chance to have one in less of a month? Or anyone (that bought more kit) can sell me one?
karazi wrote:
nitrocaster wrote: 12 kits from the first batch were not completely assembled and will be ready during this week. So, there's still a chance.
Cool, happy to change quantity from 2 to 1 so someone else can get one.
Can I take that of Karazi?

who
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2016 3:48 am
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#56 Post by who » Thu Dec 29, 2016 3:51 am

Thank you for your work!

I am also waiting for a kit - any possibility to make already a reservation? :D

nitrocaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 454
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#57 Post by nitrocaster » Thu Dec 29, 2016 5:15 am

Leosleo wrote:Can I take that of Karazi?
Can't wait for the next batch?
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

mito
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2016 6:11 am
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#58 Post by mito » Thu Dec 29, 2016 7:38 am

I would definitely like to make a reservation, so that i don't miss next batch when it comes. :)

Leosleo
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2016 7:07 am
Location: Palermo, Italy

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#59 Post by Leosleo » Thu Dec 29, 2016 9:26 am

nitrocaster wrote:
Leosleo wrote:Can I take that of Karazi?
Can't wait for the next batch?
Mhmm Nitro, no I can't.
Or better, I'm waiting this kit since very much time and if I had seen the link, I would have ordered it. I can wait another month, but in February I will leave my city to go in another country (Erasmus) where I will have difficult to mount kit with display. Indeed I wanted have my Thinkpad ready before to leave.
If it's impossible I give up, no problem.

nitrocaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 454
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#60 Post by nitrocaster » Thu Dec 29, 2016 10:35 am

Leosleo wrote: Mhmm Nitro, no I can't.
Or better, I'm waiting this kit since very much time and if I had seen the link, I would have ordered it. I can wait another month, but in February I will leave my city to go in another country (Erasmus) where I will have difficult to mount kit with display. Indeed I wanted have my Thinkpad ready before to leave.
If it's impossible I give up, no problem.
OK, I'll reallocate one kit from Karazi to you. Check you PM.
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad X200/201/220 and X300/301 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests