Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

X200, X201, X220 (including equivalent tablet models) and X300, X301 series specific matters only.
Message
Author
cherryblue
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2017 5:58 am
Location: Bautzen, Germany

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#691 Post by cherryblue » Mon Oct 23, 2017 5:52 am

@boutch55555: thanks for the info

A BIOS patch for the fhd-mod would be nice, if it stops the need for a patched linux kernel. But I have no clue how to patch the GOP driver in a UEFI image.

As to lid events and automatic deactivation of the panel: it is not working out of the box with a patched Linux kernel. Instead, if you close the lid, the fhd panel will go full brightness. It is necessary to write a udev script to have this working.
-- wait: maybe this is because my Thinkpad is in the docking station, I will recheck later ---
I'm not a windows user so I did not check with that OS.

proze
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2017 7:20 am
Location: Cape Town, RSA

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#692 Post by proze » Mon Oct 23, 2017 2:36 pm

cherryblue wrote:
Mon Oct 23, 2017 5:52 am
As to lid events and automatic deactivation of the panel: it is not working out of the box with a patched Linux kernel. Instead, if you close the lid, the fhd panel will go full brightness. It is necessary to write a udev script to have this working.
For me, with a patched kernel, when I close the lid the panel is turned off and the machine suspends, just like it should.

cherryblue
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2017 5:58 am
Location: Bautzen, Germany

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#693 Post by cherryblue » Tue Oct 24, 2017 4:50 am

proze wrote:
Mon Oct 23, 2017 2:36 pm
For me, with a patched kernel, when I close the lid the panel is turned off and the machine suspends, just like it should.
Interesting, mine is not doing this, neither with, nor without docking station. Maybe it depends on the Linux distribution and those scripts installed. Seems to be those ACPI scripts inside '/etc/acpi' which handle this stuff.

proze
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2017 7:20 am
Location: Cape Town, RSA

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#694 Post by proze » Tue Oct 24, 2017 5:05 am

cherryblue wrote:
Tue Oct 24, 2017 4:50 am
Interesting, mine is not doing this, neither with, nor without docking station. Maybe it depends on the Linux distribution and those scripts installed. Seems to be those ACPI scripts inside '/etc/acpi' which handle this stuff.
Ubuntu 17.04.
Kernel source from Ubuntu's github: https://github.com/Canonical-kernel/Ubuntu-kernel.
TLP doing power management: http://linrunner.de/en/tlp/tlp.html

boutch55555
Sophomore Member
Posts: 150
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:18 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#695 Post by boutch55555 » Tue Oct 24, 2017 5:42 am

Works for me (x230 2306CTO) in Debian Stretch with kernel patch (on 4.9.51). Doesn't work with the stock unpatched kernel (4.9.0-4), even with display mirroring, screen stays enabled (BL + picture). Works on windows 10 (fully updated, including fall creators update) with or without display mirroring. Got the same results with the bios patch, but didn't test Debian stock.

mindcomputing
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2017 7:49 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#696 Post by mindcomputing » Tue Oct 24, 2017 8:00 am

I am really looking into this mod
I am from Hamburg Germany
is anyone located at least in Germany offering install as a service for the nitrocaster mod?

cheers
T530 i7-3632QM 2x8GB LP156WF1 BDR-TD05 AW-CB160H Crucial MX300 750GB W10/x64 soon macOS X
X230 i7-3520M 2x8GB 1366×768 TN Toshiba Q300 960GB SSD 9Cell battery X220PalmRestClassicKeyboardMod
X230 i5-3320M 2x8GB 1366x768 TN Intel Pro-2500-SSD 480GB 4Cell Battery

emacsomancer
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2015 12:41 pm
Location: SLC, Utah

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#697 Post by emacsomancer » Tue Oct 24, 2017 3:23 pm

nitrocaster wrote:
Thu Oct 19, 2017 6:30 am
Good news. PayPal removed restrictions from my account, going to collect remaining deposit payments and proceed with the assembly.
I put in the pre-order form sometime in early October. I haven't received any PayPal notifications to pay the reservation fee. Are you still working through pre-orders or did mine got lost somewhere?
----
* X230 - i7-3520M - 16Gb RAM - 512Gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD - Lenovo IPS screen / Boot firmware: Coreboot
* X200 - Core2-P8600 - 8Gb RAM - 256Gb Samsung 850 Evo SSD - Hydis AFFS screen / Boot firmware: Libreboot
† OS: Bedrock Linux (w/ Void musl main stratum) / DE: none / WM: awesome / FS: zfs

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 518
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#698 Post by nitrocaster » Wed Oct 25, 2017 6:30 pm

@cherryblue:

If Windows constantly looses recognition of FHD display when your machine is not installed in the dock, then you have at least one of these issues:
1] Bad soldering between the adapter board and the motherboard - put new flux, apply more heat (don't poke or push plated holes, just touch and make sure the solder flows inside)
2] Bad FHD display (the only way to troubleshoot this is to test with another display)
3] Bad eDP cable (same as 2, need to get a known good replacement to test with)
4] Bad motherboard (did it work with external monitor on dock DP#2 before?)

@emacsomancer and @ all those who submitted the form:

You should have received notification from me. I sent deposit requests for all pending pre-orders.
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 518
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#699 Post by nitrocaster » Thu Oct 26, 2017 2:41 am

For those who try to pay their deposit and see "Sorry, this recipient cannot accept personal payments" - call PayPal and ask them why they don't allow you to send personal payments. I called them today and they confirmed that my account was not restricted from receiving personal payments.
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 518
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#700 Post by nitrocaster » Thu Oct 26, 2017 8:53 am

Update:

Another person who has PayPal business account couldn't pay deposit as personal payment and called support. They told him that the issue is on my side, which basically means that personal payments are disabled for my account (and yes, today's morning PayPal support told me that they didn't disable personal payments for me).

I'll call them again when I get back home. Will post more information once I get something.
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

mindcomputing
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2017 7:49 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#701 Post by mindcomputing » Fri Oct 27, 2017 4:08 pm

i am unsure where to get a geniue LP125WF2-SPB4 panel win0win appears to have taken down the aliexpress listing and the eBay listing 301938150362 is this the real deal?
T530 i7-3632QM 2x8GB LP156WF1 BDR-TD05 AW-CB160H Crucial MX300 750GB W10/x64 soon macOS X
X230 i7-3520M 2x8GB 1366×768 TN Toshiba Q300 960GB SSD 9Cell battery X220PalmRestClassicKeyboardMod
X230 i5-3320M 2x8GB 1366x768 TN Intel Pro-2500-SSD 480GB 4Cell Battery

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 18659
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#702 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sat Oct 28, 2017 4:27 am

I bought my perfect -SPB4 from win0win on that eBay auction.
Many others on this forum did the same.
Just contact him first to confirm that he will send an -SPB4 (and NOT an -SPB3). That's what I did.

mindcomputing
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2017 7:49 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#703 Post by mindcomputing » Sat Oct 28, 2017 7:41 am

In fact I did contact him and he's told me that the spb4 are out of stock the spb3 willing be shipped out instead, I am trying to source a merchant.
And will update soon
Cheers
T530 i7-3632QM 2x8GB LP156WF1 BDR-TD05 AW-CB160H Crucial MX300 750GB W10/x64 soon macOS X
X230 i7-3520M 2x8GB 1366×768 TN Toshiba Q300 960GB SSD 9Cell battery X220PalmRestClassicKeyboardMod
X230 i5-3320M 2x8GB 1366x768 TN Intel Pro-2500-SSD 480GB 4Cell Battery

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 18659
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#704 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sat Oct 28, 2017 7:49 am

FYI: there's nothing wrong with the -SPB3 and win0win is a reliable eBayer...
And you can't go wrong at that price!

seasonshu
Freshman Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2016 4:55 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#705 Post by seasonshu » Sat Oct 28, 2017 8:09 am

mindcomputing wrote:
Tue Oct 24, 2017 8:00 am
is anyone located at least in Germany offering install as a service for the nitrocaster mod?
Look for an 'electronics repair shop' or similar who work with computer boards. With the instructions provided they should not have any problems installing the board. This is what I did. Mind you, I did the 'heavy lifting' part myself, all the (dis)mantling, lid preparation, etc; I only trusted them with the board installation itself.

x3kcl
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2017 8:45 am
Location: Switzerland

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#706 Post by x3kcl » Sat Oct 28, 2017 1:38 pm

Well actually the SPB3 has less colors than the SPB4 -> http://www.panelook.com/modelcompare.ph ... 9324,25936

I got a set of SPB4 here: https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Free-Sh ... 0.0.cfvRBK

But still wait to test them with the mod.

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 18659
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#707 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sat Oct 28, 2017 1:57 pm

But unless you have electronic test-equipment, colorimeters and what not, you won't see the difference between -SPB3 and -SPB4 with the naked eye.

mindcomputing
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2017 7:49 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#708 Post by mindcomputing » Sat Oct 28, 2017 3:39 pm

RealBlackStuff wrote:
Sat Oct 28, 2017 1:57 pm
But unless you have electronic test-equipment, colorimeters and what not, you won't see the difference between -SPB3 and -SPB4 with the naked eye.
I use argyllcms +colormunki photo /xrite i1pro to calibrate both printers (aftermarket inks used in Epson printers for photoprinting,proofs before digipress) and monitors
main screen is a LG 34UM95-P with 99% sRGB Gamut coverage
T530 i7-3632QM 2x8GB LP156WF1 BDR-TD05 AW-CB160H Crucial MX300 750GB W10/x64 soon macOS X
X230 i7-3520M 2x8GB 1366×768 TN Toshiba Q300 960GB SSD 9Cell battery X220PalmRestClassicKeyboardMod
X230 i5-3320M 2x8GB 1366x768 TN Intel Pro-2500-SSD 480GB 4Cell Battery

ranXeron
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 12:46 pm
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#709 Post by ranXeron » Mon Oct 30, 2017 4:11 am

nitrocaster wrote:
Thu Oct 26, 2017 8:53 am
Update:

Another person who has PayPal business account couldn't pay deposit as personal payment and called support. They told him that the issue is on my side, which basically means that personal payments are disabled for my account (and yes, today's morning PayPal support told me that they didn't disable personal payments for me).

I'll call them again when I get back home. Will post more information once I get something.
I´d try to send a personal payment but received the infamous "Sorry, this recipient cannot accept personal payments" messages. I called paypal and they told me to use the "send money as a payment for goods/service" option which I did. Just don´t forget to add 7.4% paypal fees....

post_break
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2017 1:24 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#710 Post by post_break » Mon Oct 30, 2017 9:19 am

RealBlackStuff wrote:
Sat Oct 28, 2017 1:57 pm
But unless you have electronic test-equipment, colorimeters and what not, you won't see the difference between -SPB3 and -SPB4 with the naked eye.
Glad to hear that. I have a SPB3 sitting on the floor here waiting for pepe.

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 518
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#711 Post by nitrocaster » Wed Nov 01, 2017 6:21 am

PayPal finally admitted that personal payments were disabled for my account, supposedly due to violation of user agreement.
Here's what I found in English version of user agreement:
If you are selling goods or services, you may not ask the buyer to send you a Personal Transaction payment for the purchase. If you do so, PayPal may remove your ability to accept any or all payments for Personal Transactions.
In Russian version of user agreement 'you may not ask' is translated as 'you may not demand'. Since I don't demand to send me a personal transaction (I give two options instead), I don't violate Russian user agreement.

Anyway, from now on I can only accept payments 'for goods and services'. New price is $58, shipping fee remains the same $5.

Meanwhile PCBs were released from the factory. I expect them to arrive in about a week.
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 518
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#712 Post by nitrocaster » Tue Nov 07, 2017 4:21 am

Update (just quoting myself from the first post):

For those who submitted the form and didn't receive payment instructions

Since the total quantity of kits to be made is now limited, there's no point to continue accepting deposit payments. New orders will be processed once I have everything ready for shipping.
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 518
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#713 Post by nitrocaster » Wed Nov 08, 2017 4:55 am

Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

carcuevas
Freshman Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 10:53 am
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#714 Post by carcuevas » Wed Nov 08, 2017 9:04 am

Hi all guys,


Lot of time passed here since I had my x230 equipped with Nitro's mod, and still working amazingly even resisted a couple of falls ;-) and I am going for another one, I bought a X230 - i7, and this time I am going to try to have a sense wire soldered :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: looking forward to the new revision ;)
Running Debian on x230 (i5-3320m-12GB-250GB Samsung 850EVO-FHD mod by Nitrocaster + LP125WF2SPB4)

jp776
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 6:40 am
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#715 Post by jp776 » Fri Nov 10, 2017 2:58 am

I have an issue with the mod and the display.
Since new I get only a picture when the X220 booted into the Windows-notifying screen. Until this it is black.
Days befor I could see the whole booting process.
Is there anythink I can do?
Thanks

proze
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2017 7:20 am
Location: Cape Town, RSA

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#716 Post by proze » Fri Nov 10, 2017 3:02 am

carcuevas wrote:
Wed Nov 08, 2017 9:04 am
Hi all guys,


Lot of time passed here since I had my x230 equipped with Nitro's mod, and still working amazingly even resisted a couple of falls ;-) and I am going for another one, I bought a X230 - i7, and this time I am going to try to have a sense wire soldered :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: looking forward to the new revision ;)
Absolutely, still totally thrilled with the mod. I should do the same... look for a i7 X230 and mod it.

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 518
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#717 Post by nitrocaster » Fri Nov 10, 2017 7:10 am

jp776 wrote:
Fri Nov 10, 2017 2:58 am
I have an issue with the mod and the display.
Since new I get only a picture when the X220 booted into the Windows-notifying screen. Until this it is black.
Days befor I could see the whole booting process.
Is there anythink I can do?
Thanks
What happens if you switch to single display mode with FHD screen?
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

jp776
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 6:40 am
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#718 Post by jp776 » Fri Nov 10, 2017 8:13 am

nitrocaster wrote:
Fri Nov 10, 2017 7:10 am
jp776 wrote:
Fri Nov 10, 2017 2:58 am
I have an issue with the mod and the display.
Since new I get only a picture when the X220 booted into the Windows-notifying screen. Until this it is black.
Days befor I could see the whole booting process.
Is there anythink I can do?
Thanks
What happens if you switch to single display mode with FHD screen?
It is also going dark.

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 518
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#719 Post by nitrocaster » Sat Nov 11, 2017 3:44 am

That means the sense wire is broken.
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

jp776
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 6:40 am
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#720 Post by jp776 » Mon Nov 13, 2017 4:33 am

It was. Thanks!

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad X200/201/220 and X300/301 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: chrismfz and 8 guests