Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

X200, X201, X220 (including equivalent tablet models) and X300, X301 series specific matters only.
Message
Author
x3o2
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 5:42 am
Location: Germany

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#601 Post by x3o2 » Sat Sep 16, 2017 11:34 am

nitrocaster wrote:
Wed Sep 13, 2017 2:33 pm
Pre-OS mode uses 640x480 video mode which might be handled in some specific way. Do you have another panel to test?
I tested the X230 with four different FHD panels, all working fine except the LTN133 only working in pre-OS mode.

redbluerat
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 12:25 am
Location: Ballarat, AU

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#602 Post by redbluerat » Mon Sep 18, 2017 1:59 am

Is there a comparrision between this and the kingkonglue mod?

Here is a photo:

https://img.alicdn.com/imgextra/i1/5547 ... 478642.jpg

And here is the source (the x330 mod service on taobao):

https://world.taobao.com/item/550879131 ... 3.6.Pq57nV

nitrocaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 488
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#603 Post by nitrocaster » Mon Sep 18, 2017 4:02 am

That kit from TaoBao didn't work with some displays that worked fine with my kit. Another concern was that Chinese adapter board attaches to the motherboard by a row of plated half-holes and the resulting connection isn't nearly as robust as 7 plated though-holes in the adapter that I made.
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

redbluerat
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 12:25 am
Location: Ballarat, AU

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#604 Post by redbluerat » Tue Sep 19, 2017 7:06 am

With respect to brightness control, I have a program that adjusts my external monitor's brightness over DP using DDC. Would it be possible to control brightness on single display mode using this method?

nitrocaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 488
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#605 Post by nitrocaster » Tue Sep 19, 2017 2:00 pm

No. Ordinary monitor is something more than the display itself, and in our case we only have the display itself.
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

Mrtn
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2016 10:57 am
Location: Zwolle, Netherlands

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#606 Post by Mrtn » Wed Sep 20, 2017 6:17 am

Hi all,

I'm working for a few months now with the FHD mod.

The last week my laptop starts with showing a blank screen after waking up/booting. My backlight is turning on, but no display is shown, not even the bios screen.
Once I got display it's working perfect, no flickering etc. at all, but the blank screen is getting realy annoying. :(

Somebody any idea what could be the problem?

thrilleratplay
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 8:03 am
Location: Albany, NY, USA

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#607 Post by thrilleratplay » Wed Sep 20, 2017 8:41 am

redbluerat wrote:
Mon Sep 18, 2017 1:59 am
Is there a comparrision between this and the kingkonglue mod?
....
I've been researching the QWHD mod kit, https://world.taobao.com/item/557203626813.htm, the past few days and based on a few posts in Reddit I've seen and how it is described through Google Translate, I plan on purchasing Nitrocaster's version because they have been around long enough to determine long term issues, which there don't seem to be many of. While kingkonglue's screen mod has a better resolution, it is still new and pushes the limits of the Thinkpads possibly making them * gasp * fragile.


However, I am curious about just the expresscard addon that adds sata and usb.

shawross
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 351
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2013 5:48 am
Location: Perth Aus / Thailand

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#608 Post by shawross » Wed Sep 20, 2017 2:48 pm

Mrtn wrote: The last week my laptop starts with showing a blank screen after waking up/booting.
What OS are you running? I have seen reports that the latest Windows 10 updates can cause this.


https://www.askwoody.com/
Active --- Love the X series
X301 SU9400 IDA Mod - W 7 / X201 540M - W 7 / X220 2520 - W7

Nostalgia
X61 T7500 / T43's / T42

Rogue daily driver - Samsung RV511 15.6 " Screen - W 7

Mrtn
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2016 10:57 am
Location: Zwolle, Netherlands

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#609 Post by Mrtn » Thu Sep 21, 2017 6:44 am

shawross wrote:
Wed Sep 20, 2017 2:48 pm
Mrtn wrote: The last week my laptop starts with showing a blank screen after waking up/booting.
What OS are you running? I have seen reports that the latest Windows 10 updates can cause this.


https://www.askwoody.com/
I'm running W10Pro in dualboot with Linux Mint, but usally I run Windows. My installation is totally clean from an ISO, so no OEM factory installation. Didn't try to wait for a while, so don't know if it would reappair in 5 or 10 minutes.

Even after pulling the battery I often don't see the Thinkpad bios image? In BIOS my default display is set to DP#2 (the adapter board).

nitrocaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 488
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#610 Post by nitrocaster » Thu Sep 21, 2017 10:49 am

Mrtn wrote:
Wed Sep 20, 2017 6:17 am
Hi all,

I'm working for a few months now with the FHD mod.

The last week my laptop starts with showing a blank screen after waking up/booting. My backlight is turning on, but no display is shown, not even the bios screen.
Once I got display it's working perfect, no flickering etc. at all, but the blank screen is getting realy annoying. :(

Somebody any idea what could be the problem?
Does it boot into Windows or stucks somewhere before? If you can change brightness from the very beginning, that means FHD display is not detected by system.
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

nitrocaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 488
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#611 Post by nitrocaster » Fri Sep 22, 2017 3:41 am

Status update: PCBs are expected to be released from the factory tomorrow.
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

Mrtn
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2016 10:57 am
Location: Zwolle, Netherlands

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#612 Post by Mrtn » Fri Sep 22, 2017 4:40 am

nitrocaster wrote:
Thu Sep 21, 2017 10:49 am
Mrtn wrote:
Wed Sep 20, 2017 6:17 am
...
Does it boot into Windows or stucks somewhere before? If you can change brightness from the very beginning, that means FHD display is not detected by system.
I guess it will try to boot Windows, sometimes when I turn it on and off multiple times I'll get display in the Windows startup repair. But not totally sure, since I even don't get the ThinkPad bios logo.

The problem didn't occur the last days, I'll try to change brightness when the screen stays blank again. So I hope I can't give you the answer... :wink:

I'm still loving each moment working with the FHD screen inside. Some classmates are looking for their own X220 and mod it in the future, they also like your work! :D

cherryblue
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2017 5:58 am
Location: Bautzen, Germany

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#613 Post by cherryblue » Mon Sep 25, 2017 3:49 pm

Finally I got my rev4 mod board installed. The screen is a "Samsung LTN125HL02-301" because it is kind of difficult to get a different type of screen. :(

Backlight control is always and everywhere working. :)
Other stuff is not. :(
Any idea what is going wrong, or where to check for errors?

This are the issues:
I can see the Bios screen on the FHD screen. But sometimes only after pressing Fn-F7. An external display seems always be preferred over the FHD screen by the bios.

But I'm totally unable to see the screen of memtest86, linux console or xorg/X11 on this screen. (Tested with debian jessie), (I have no Windows, and could not try, yet).
When connecting an external VGA screen, xrandr gives the output, see end of this post. As you can see DP3/eDP3 is missing.

I tried to force usage of the screen with:

Code: Select all

xrandr --newmode "1920x1080_60.00" 173.00 1920 2048 2248 2576 1080 1083 1088 1120 -hsync +vsync
xrandr --addmode DP3 1920x1080_60.00
xrandr --output DP3 --mode 1920x1080_60.00
This did not lead to a picture on the screen.

xrandr output:

Code: Select all

#>xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 8 x 8, current 1920 x 1080, maximum 32767 x 32767
LVDS1 connected primary 1920x1080+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 280mm x 160mm
   1920x1080     60.03*+  59.93  
   ...
DP1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP2 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP3 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI2 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI3 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
VGA1 connected 1920x1080+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 510mm x 290mm
   1920x1080     60.00*+
   ...
VIRTUAL1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
Appendix (Friday 13.): Panel Type B125HAN02.0 is also not working, there is something else fishy.
Appendix (18.Okt.2017): Panel Type B125HAN02.0 is working fine after fixing some slack joints
Last edited by cherryblue on Wed Oct 18, 2017 11:17 am, edited 2 times in total.

nitrocaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 488
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#614 Post by nitrocaster » Mon Sep 25, 2017 4:03 pm

I got the same display a couple of days ago and found the same issue. Not sure what's the problem, but the easy way is to avoid this model.

BTW, win0win said he has lots of LP125WF2-SPB4 in stock again.
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

evillawngnome
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Louisville, KY

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#615 Post by evillawngnome » Tue Sep 26, 2017 10:07 am

Nitro,
Any eta for the completion of this new batch of kits? Trying to be patient, but I've got a gorgeous panel staring at me, ready to be installed.

Thanks!!

cherryblue
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2017 5:58 am
Location: Bautzen, Germany

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#616 Post by cherryblue » Tue Sep 26, 2017 2:29 pm

nitrocaster wrote:
Mon Sep 25, 2017 4:03 pm
I got the same display a couple of days ago and found the same issue. Not sure what's the problem, but the easy way is to avoid this model.

BTW, win0win said he has lots of LP125WF2-SPB4 in stock again.
Aww, thanks for telling me. I ordered another panel type. It takes at least 5 weeks to arrive. :(
I will report back if it works.

nitrocaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 488
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#617 Post by nitrocaster » Tue Sep 26, 2017 5:17 pm

PCBs and components should arrive in a few days. I found a local PCB assembly service - we are going to do full automated assembly. They say it takes a week or two. After that I have to flash and test the whole batch. So, maybe in 2-3 weeks I'll be sending first emails with 'your order is ready' in the topic.
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

mr.rhtuner
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 11:31 pm
Location: London, Ontario, Canada

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#618 Post by mr.rhtuner » Wed Sep 27, 2017 3:59 pm

Hey guys, I have a small issue.

Q: Does this mod affect left-side DisplayPort connector?
A: No. The adapter board connects to Dock DisplayPort #2.


I'm running Xubuntu on my X230 with Nitro's FHD mod.
I just tried to plug my laptop into our boardroom projector via VGA and I am able to detect the projector.

When I try to detect the projector using HDMI->Mini-DisplayPort connection on the side of my laptop, nothing shows up on the projector, it's not getting a signal from the laptop.

When I run xrandr, it doesn't show anything other than the default output of the LVDS.


Any ideas?

proze
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2017 7:20 am
Location: Cape Town, RSA

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#619 Post by proze » Thu Sep 28, 2017 3:00 am

Good morning enthusiasts. I can announce great success!

<I don't know how to post an image... there should be a pic here of my now-uber-awesome X230 here>

The difference from the TN 720p panel to this is just astonishing. This is the LP125WF2-SPB3 from win0win, btw.

Some installation notes for those yet to take the plunge:

1. The soldering is pretty easy IF you have access to good soldering equipment, including a magnifier/microscope, and perhaps prior experience. I would be very, very hesitant to try this with a hardware-store soldering iron. The components are small and delicate. If you don't have such access, I'd strongly recommend getting some help.

2. Assuming the above, the mechanical work in modding the laptop lid to fit the bigger panel is by far the hardest part of the job. The effort is definitely non-zero! The lid is aluminium and you need to remove quite a lot of material. I used a Dremel-type tool to grind away bits that were in the way. Strip the lid down as far as possible before you start and be patient.

OS notes:

1. I'm running Ubuntu. The screen came up as a second display first time. I had to set it to primary.
2. Backlight control does not work if you switch off the internal display...
3. ...and suspend does not work by closing the lid with it on. I can put it into suspend manually, though.

So there's some tweaking to be done. It's usable right now, but not without little irritations.
Edit: Okay, I understand I need a patch for the Intel driver. I'll do that next...
Edit 2: After the kernel patch everything works great, just like it used to.

Notes for nitrocaster:

1. Perhaps it's wise to stress to people that the mod will require some decent soldering kit.

2. Could you put kapton tape on before you ship? It's not something most people have lying around.
Last edited by proze on Fri Sep 29, 2017 2:00 am, edited 2 times in total.

proze
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2017 7:20 am
Location: Cape Town, RSA

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#620 Post by proze » Thu Sep 28, 2017 5:20 am

mr.rhtuner wrote:
Wed Sep 27, 2017 3:59 pm
Hey guys, I have a small issue.

Q: Does this mod affect left-side DisplayPort connector?
A: No. The adapter board connects to Dock DisplayPort #2.


I'm running Xubuntu on my X230 with Nitro's FHD mod.
I just tried to plug my laptop into our boardroom projector via VGA and I am able to detect the projector.

When I try to detect the projector using HDMI->Mini-DisplayPort connection on the side of my laptop, nothing shows up on the projector, it's not getting a signal from the laptop.

When I run xrandr, it doesn't show anything other than the default output of the LVDS.


Any ideas?
I have just tested this on my modified-as-of-this-morning X230 using Ubuntu/Gnome3 and the miniDP on the left works just like it used to.

boutch55555
Freshman Member
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:18 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#621 Post by boutch55555 » Thu Sep 28, 2017 5:39 am

mr.rhtuner wrote:
Wed Sep 27, 2017 3:59 pm
When I try to detect the projector using HDMI->Mini-DisplayPort connection on the side of my laptop, nothing shows up on the projector, it's not getting a signal from the laptop.
I'd guess your adapter is passive and it needs an active adapter like the x220. From what I could find you need DP 1.2 and the x230 has 1.1a. Did you ever test it before installing the mod ?

ka_phi
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2017 3:52 am
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#622 Post by ka_phi » Thu Sep 28, 2017 6:47 am

Hi,
I've been using the kit with a SPB4 (among the ones nitrocaster recommended) for several weeks now and am very pleased with it. Thanks again nitrocaster!

The soldering went fairly easy, except, of course, for the sense wire. The main issue here was, that the solder didn't "stick". Apparently it is somehow coated, which I only found out (read in another thread if I remember correctly) after I gave up and used a single strand of a thicker wire. The solder stuck right away and now I have a sense wire to spare ;)

I just recently got around patching the Linux kernel. Now the display is recognized as the only internal display (eDP1) with normal backlight control and it suspends if I close the lid :D

I use Antergos and patched the 4.12.12 kernel in the arch repos. I used the patch nitrocaster posted/linked (https://gist.github.com/nitrocaster/2bb ... d162a48c73). They changed quite a bit in the intel driver and the three blocks to patch are not only on different lines now. So best to compare if you want use it for a different kernel. Compiling took about two hrs. (only one core used).

Code: Select all

diff -uNr linux-4.12.12/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_dp.c linux-4.12.12/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_dp.c
--- linux-4.12.12/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_dp.c	2017-09-13 23:18:33.000000000 +0100
+++ linux-4.12.12/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_dp.c	2017-09-14 17:50:00.000000000 +0100
@@ -109,8 +109,7 @@
 static bool is_edp(struct intel_dp *intel_dp)
 {
 	struct intel_digital_port *intel_dig_port = dp_to_dig_port(intel_dp);
-
-	return intel_dig_port->base.type == INTEL_OUTPUT_EDP;
+	return intel_dig_port->base.type == INTEL_OUTPUT_EDP || strncmp(intel_dp->attached_connector->base.name, "DP-3", 4) == 0;
 }
 
 static struct drm_device *intel_dp_to_dev(struct intel_dp *intel_dp)
@@ -5096,7 +5096,7 @@
	if (INTEL_GEN(dev_priv) < 5)
		return false;

-	if (INTEL_GEN(dev_priv) < 9 && port == PORT_A)
+	if (INTEL_GEN(dev_priv) < 9 && port == PORT_D)
		return true;

	return intel_bios_is_port_edp(dev_priv, port);
diff -uNr linux-4.12.12/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_lvds.c linux-4.12.12/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_lvds.c
--- linux-4.12.12/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_lvds.c	2017-09-13 23:18:33.000000000 +0100
+++ linux-4.12.12/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_lvds.c	2017-09-13 17:50:00.000000000 +0100
@@ -552,201 +552,10 @@
 static const struct dmi_system_id intel_no_lvds[] = {
 	{
 		.callback = intel_no_lvds_dmi_callback,
-		.ident = "Apple Mac Mini (Core series)",
+		.ident = "modded Thinkpad X230",
 		.matches = {
-			DMI_MATCH(DMI_SYS_VENDOR, "Apple"),
-			DMI_MATCH(DMI_PRODUCT_NAME, "Macmini1,1"),
-		},
-	},
-	{
-		.callback = intel_no_lvds_dmi_callback,
-		.ident = "Apple Mac Mini (Core 2 series)",
-		.matches = {
-			DMI_MATCH(DMI_SYS_VENDOR, "Apple"),
-			DMI_MATCH(DMI_PRODUCT_NAME, "Macmini2,1"),
-		},
-	},
-	{
-		.callback = intel_no_lvds_dmi_callback,
-		.ident = "MSI IM-945GSE-A",
-		.matches = {
-			DMI_MATCH(DMI_SYS_VENDOR, "MSI"),
-			DMI_MATCH(DMI_PRODUCT_NAME, "A9830IMS"),
-		},
-	},
-	{
-		.callback = intel_no_lvds_dmi_callback,
-		.ident = "Dell Studio Hybrid",
-		.matches = {
-			DMI_MATCH(DMI_SYS_VENDOR, "Dell Inc."),
-			DMI_MATCH(DMI_PRODUCT_NAME, "Studio Hybrid 140g"),
-		},
-	},
-	{
-		.callback = intel_no_lvds_dmi_callback,
-		.ident = "Dell OptiPlex FX170",
-		.matches = {
-			DMI_MATCH(DMI_SYS_VENDOR, "Dell Inc."),
-			DMI_MATCH(DMI_PRODUCT_NAME, "OptiPlex FX170"),
-		},
-	},
-	{
-		.callback = intel_no_lvds_dmi_callback,
-		.ident = "AOpen Mini PC",
-		.matches = {
-			DMI_MATCH(DMI_SYS_VENDOR, "AOpen"),
-			DMI_MATCH(DMI_PRODUCT_NAME, "i965GMx-IF"),
-		},
-	},
-	{
-		.callback = intel_no_lvds_dmi_callback,
-		.ident = "AOpen Mini PC MP915",
-		.matches = {
-			DMI_MATCH(DMI_BOARD_VENDOR, "AOpen"),
-			DMI_MATCH(DMI_BOARD_NAME, "i915GMx-F"),
-		},
-	},
-	{
-		.callback = intel_no_lvds_dmi_callback,
-		.ident = "AOpen i915GMm-HFS",
-		.matches = {
-			DMI_MATCH(DMI_BOARD_VENDOR, "AOpen"),
-			DMI_MATCH(DMI_BOARD_NAME, "i915GMm-HFS"),
-		},
-	},
-	{
-		.callback = intel_no_lvds_dmi_callback,
-                .ident = "AOpen i45GMx-I",
-                .matches = {
-                        DMI_MATCH(DMI_BOARD_VENDOR, "AOpen"),
-                        DMI_MATCH(DMI_BOARD_NAME, "i45GMx-I"),
-                },
-        },
-	{
-		.callback = intel_no_lvds_dmi_callback,
-		.ident = "Aopen i945GTt-VFA",
-		.matches = {
-			DMI_MATCH(DMI_PRODUCT_VERSION, "AO00001JW"),
-		},
-	},
-	{
-		.callback = intel_no_lvds_dmi_callback,
-		.ident = "Clientron U800",
-		.matches = {
-			DMI_MATCH(DMI_SYS_VENDOR, "Clientron"),
-			DMI_MATCH(DMI_PRODUCT_NAME, "U800"),
-		},
-	},
-	{
-                .callback = intel_no_lvds_dmi_callback,
-                .ident = "Clientron E830",
-                .matches = {
-                        DMI_MATCH(DMI_SYS_VENDOR, "Clientron"),
-                        DMI_MATCH(DMI_PRODUCT_NAME, "E830"),
-                },
-        },
-        {
-		.callback = intel_no_lvds_dmi_callback,
-		.ident = "Asus EeeBox PC EB1007",
-		.matches = {
-			DMI_MATCH(DMI_SYS_VENDOR, "ASUSTeK Computer INC."),
-			DMI_MATCH(DMI_PRODUCT_NAME, "EB1007"),
-		},
-	},
-	{
-		.callback = intel_no_lvds_dmi_callback,
-		.ident = "Asus AT5NM10T-I",
-		.matches = {
-			DMI_MATCH(DMI_BOARD_VENDOR, "ASUSTeK Computer INC."),
-			DMI_MATCH(DMI_BOARD_NAME, "AT5NM10T-I"),
-		},
-	},
-	{
-		.callback = intel_no_lvds_dmi_callback,
-		.ident = "Hewlett-Packard HP t5740",
-		.matches = {
-			DMI_MATCH(DMI_BOARD_VENDOR, "Hewlett-Packard"),
-			DMI_MATCH(DMI_PRODUCT_NAME, " t5740"),
-		},
-	},
-	{
-		.callback = intel_no_lvds_dmi_callback,
-		.ident = "Hewlett-Packard t5745",
-		.matches = {
-			DMI_MATCH(DMI_BOARD_VENDOR, "Hewlett-Packard"),
-			DMI_MATCH(DMI_PRODUCT_NAME, "hp t5745"),
-		},
-	},
-	{
-		.callback = intel_no_lvds_dmi_callback,
-		.ident = "Hewlett-Packard st5747",
-		.matches = {
-			DMI_MATCH(DMI_BOARD_VENDOR, "Hewlett-Packard"),
-			DMI_MATCH(DMI_PRODUCT_NAME, "hp st5747"),
-		},
-	},
-	{
-		.callback = intel_no_lvds_dmi_callback,
-		.ident = "MSI Wind Box DC500",
-		.matches = {
-			DMI_MATCH(DMI_BOARD_VENDOR, "MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO., LTD"),
-			DMI_MATCH(DMI_BOARD_NAME, "MS-7469"),
-		},
-	},
-	{
-		.callback = intel_no_lvds_dmi_callback,
-		.ident = "Gigabyte GA-D525TUD",
-		.matches = {
-			DMI_MATCH(DMI_BOARD_VENDOR, "Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd."),
-			DMI_MATCH(DMI_BOARD_NAME, "D525TUD"),
-		},
-	},
-	{
-		.callback = intel_no_lvds_dmi_callback,
-		.ident = "Supermicro X7SPA-H",
-		.matches = {
-			DMI_MATCH(DMI_SYS_VENDOR, "Supermicro"),
-			DMI_MATCH(DMI_PRODUCT_NAME, "X7SPA-H"),
-		},
-	},
-	{
-		.callback = intel_no_lvds_dmi_callback,
-		.ident = "Fujitsu Esprimo Q900",
-		.matches = {
-			DMI_MATCH(DMI_SYS_VENDOR, "FUJITSU"),
-			DMI_MATCH(DMI_PRODUCT_NAME, "ESPRIMO Q900"),
-		},
-	},
-	{
-		.callback = intel_no_lvds_dmi_callback,
-		.ident = "Intel D410PT",
-		.matches = {
-			DMI_MATCH(DMI_BOARD_VENDOR, "Intel"),
-			DMI_MATCH(DMI_BOARD_NAME, "D410PT"),
-		},
-	},
-	{
-		.callback = intel_no_lvds_dmi_callback,
-		.ident = "Intel D425KT",
-		.matches = {
-			DMI_MATCH(DMI_BOARD_VENDOR, "Intel"),
-			DMI_EXACT_MATCH(DMI_BOARD_NAME, "D425KT"),
-		},
-	},
-	{
-		.callback = intel_no_lvds_dmi_callback,
-		.ident = "Intel D510MO",
-		.matches = {
-			DMI_MATCH(DMI_BOARD_VENDOR, "Intel"),
-			DMI_EXACT_MATCH(DMI_BOARD_NAME, "D510MO"),
-		},
-	},
-	{
-		.callback = intel_no_lvds_dmi_callback,
-		.ident = "Intel D525MW",
-		.matches = {
-			DMI_MATCH(DMI_BOARD_VENDOR, "Intel"),
-			DMI_EXACT_MATCH(DMI_BOARD_NAME, "D525MW"),
+			DMI_MATCH(DMI_SYS_VENDOR, "LENOVO"),
+			DMI_MATCH(DMI_PRODUCT_NAME, "2325P23"),
 		},
 	},

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 18204
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Contact:

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#623 Post by RealBlackStuff » Thu Sep 28, 2017 8:45 am

If you have to recompile, why bother to put in all that non-Lenovo stuff?
And the very last line looks like it has an X230 MTM 2325P23 in it, shouldn't that be modified for every laptop?

proze
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2017 7:20 am
Location: Cape Town, RSA

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#624 Post by proze » Thu Sep 28, 2017 9:34 am

RealBlackStuff wrote:
Thu Sep 28, 2017 8:45 am
If you have to recompile, why bother to put in all that non-Lenovo stuff?
And the very last line looks like it has an X230 MTM 2325P23 in it, shouldn't that be modified for every laptop?
He's removing all the others, not adding them. I'm not sure exactly what that code snippet is doing, but I guess for regular/unmodded X230s you don't want to be turning off the LVDS, so you wouldn't need it.

ka_phi
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2017 3:52 am
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#625 Post by ka_phi » Thu Sep 28, 2017 9:40 am

Yes, all the non-Lenovo stuff is taken out. You're right about the last line, sorry that I forgot to mention. I only changed the model number here to my own model compared to the patch nitrocaster posted, but I don't know if this really makes any difference.

evillawngnome
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Louisville, KY

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#626 Post by evillawngnome » Fri Sep 29, 2017 11:38 am

Do the kernel patches discussed above also work with the x220, or is it not necessary?

theterminator93
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 834
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2013 7:45 pm
Location: Avon Lake, Ohio, United States

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#627 Post by theterminator93 » Fri Sep 29, 2017 9:38 pm

nitrocaster wrote:
Tue Sep 26, 2017 5:17 pm
PCBs and components should arrive in a few days. I found a local PCB assembly service - we are going to do full automated assembly. They say it takes a week or two. After that I have to flash and test the whole batch. So, maybe in 2-3 weeks I'll be sending first emails with 'your order is ready' in the topic.
That would be awesome. We're leaving for Japan in a month and having FHD for the X220 on the trip would make me very happy indeed. :)
Daily: T25 | W520 i7-2860QM·Quadro 2000m·IPS FHD | T420 i7-2640M·NVS 4200m·IPS FHD | X220 i7-2640M | T601F T9900·NVS 140M·IPS UXGA
Wife's: T61p T9500·2010 FX570m·WUXGA | X220T i7-2640M
Others: T61p·61·60·43·42p|X41T·24·23·22|G41|A31p·22m|i1200|TransNote|380D|365XD|701C|755C

ka_phi
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2017 3:52 am
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#628 Post by ka_phi » Sat Sep 30, 2017 2:40 am

@evillawngnome
Should be working for X220 as well if you replace the model number in the third code block with yours before compiling. Unless you want the new FHD display to be detected as the only (internal eDP1) display with full backlight control, the kernel patch is not necessary for the FHD mod kit to work.

siriuz
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 4:29 pm
Location: Australia, Melbourne

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#629 Post by siriuz » Mon Oct 02, 2017 10:02 am

I've installed the FHD mod with a SPB4 screen, it all seems to work great in Linux which is my default boot.

But... is it normal to not be able to see the BIOS booting screen? It just shows up blank but lit if I hit F1 on boot.

proze
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2017 7:20 am
Location: Cape Town, RSA

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#630 Post by proze » Mon Oct 02, 2017 10:58 am

I can see mine. I have an SPB3. IIRC there was a post earlier mentioning this. Perhaps the sense wire?

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad X200/201/220 and X300/301 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests