Page 40 of 42

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

Posted: Sun May 05, 2019 2:54 am
by daduke
ahh I see the problem. It wants to get those submodules from my repo.. let me investigate.

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

Posted: Sun May 05, 2019 7:04 am
by daduke
dwhacks wrote:
Sun May 05, 2019 12:54 am
daduke wrote:
Fri May 03, 2019 1:07 pm

probably, it's worth a try.


just revert 840a47e if you're not using VCC3P. I've reported my progress on https://review.coreboot.org/c/coreboot/+/28950/ but no reaction yet (that's where the most of the changes come from, I just packaged up things nicely...
Well I've got coreboot back on my x220 (I flashed my prior build as it was easy to start). Now I'm trying to build yours with the mod, I'm not good with git! ha.
So, how do we makesure we have yours? git clone <link to your branch> then git checkout x220_fhd? and then revert to the regular power way by git checkout 840a47e ?

This is what I've done anyway, and I get an error at "make"

Code: Select all

dwhacks@X220 ~/daduke/coreboot $ make
Cloning into '3rdparty/arm-trusted-firmware'...
Username for 'https://github.com': dwhacks
Password for 'https://dwhacks@github.com': 
remote: Repository not found.
fatal: repository 'https://github.com/daduke/arm-trusted-firmware.git/' not found
fatal: clone of 'https://github.com/daduke/arm-trusted-firmware.git' into submodule path '3rdparty/arm-trusted-firmware' failed
    GEN        generated/bootblock.ld
    CP         bootblock/arch/x86/bootblock.ld
    LINK       cbfs/fallback/bootblock.debug
    OBJCOPY    cbfs/fallback/bootblock.elf
    OBJCOPY    bootblock.raw.elf
    OBJCOPY    bootblock.raw.bin
    CP         romstage/arch/x86/memlayout.ld
In file included from src/arch/x86/memlayout.ld:16:
src/include/memlayout.h:22:10: fatal error: vb2_constants.h: No such file or directory
 #include <vb2_constants.h>
          ^~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
compilation terminated.
Makefile:355: recipe for target 'build/romstage/arch/x86/memlayout.ld' failed
make: *** [build/romstage/arch/x86/memlayout.ld] Error 1
dwhacks@X220 ~/daduke/coreboot $ 
I replayed the whole process on a fresh raspi installation and updated https://daduke.org/hardware/x220-fhd/ accordingly.

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

Posted: Sun May 05, 2019 10:56 am
by dwhacks
daduke wrote:
Sun May 05, 2019 2:51 am

did you do

Code: Select all

git submodule update --init --recursive
as all the tutorials tell you to? My repo is a fork of plain coreboot, so you'll have to follow the exact same steps.
I'm guessing that's where my problem is:

Code: Select all

dwhacks@X220 ~/daduke2/coreboot $ git submodule update --init --recursive
Cloning into '3rdparty/arm-trusted-firmware'...
Username for 'https://github.com': dwhacks
Password for 'https://dwhacks@github.com': 
remote: Repository not found.
fatal: repository 'https://github.com/daduke/arm-trusted-firmware.git/' not found
fatal: clone of 'https://github.com/daduke/arm-trusted-firmware.git' into submodule path '3rdparty/arm-trusted-firmware' failed
I'm not sure why it needs my username and password. But it seems like the .gitmodules doesnt point in the right place?

EDIT: nevermind, I missed some of your posts! I'll try it now!

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

Posted: Sun May 05, 2019 12:26 pm
by dwhacks
Well I've got your fork working! only one display and boots into linux mint great! Now just to test Windows!

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

Posted: Sun May 05, 2019 1:23 pm
by daduke
dwhacks wrote:
Sun May 05, 2019 12:26 pm
Well I've got your fork working! only one display and boots into linux mint great! Now just to test Windows!
hooray! congrats.

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

Posted: Sun May 05, 2019 3:14 pm
by m18e
I've got the mod installed in my x230 (Ubuntu 19.04) and the display looks amazing!

Couple issues I'm seeing and I'm wondering if anyone else has seen the same thing.

First, the display flickers every 10-15 seconds, and it looks like there's falling snow. It's really bad at the grub boot screen (it flickers non-stop), but once logged in, it settles down to every 10-15 seconds.

Second, the Ubuntu login screen isn't present on the monitor. I've used the display control panel to set the displays to mirrored, but I can't see the account selection screen.

Third, it doesn't suspend/resume with the lid anymore. I have HandleLidSwitchDocked=suspend in my /etc/systemd/logind.conf, but I still see this in my syslog when I suspend:

Code: Select all

May  5 13:11:32 sazerac kernel: [  647.695967] atkbd serio0: Unknown key pressed (translated set 2, code 0xd8 on isa0060/serio0).
May  5 13:11:32 sazerac kernel: [  647.695973] atkbd serio0: Use 'setkeycodes e058 <keycode>' to make it known.
May  5 13:11:32 sazerac kernel: [  647.696427] atkbd serio0: Unknown key released (translated set 2, code 0xd8 on isa0060/serio0).
May  5 13:11:32 sazerac kernel: [  647.696431] atkbd serio0: Use 'setkeycodes e058 <keycode>' to make it known.
May  5 13:11:33 sazerac /usr/lib/gdm3/gdm-x-session[1439]: (WW) EDID timing clock 141.00 exceeds claimed max 15MHz, fixing
May  5 13:11:33 sazerac /usr/lib/gdm3/gdm-x-session[1439]: (II) modeset(0): EDID vendor "LGD", prod id 1186
May  5 13:11:33 sazerac /usr/lib/gdm3/gdm-x-session[1439]: (II) modeset(0): Printing DDC gathered Modelines:
May  5 13:11:33 sazerac /usr/lib/gdm3/gdm-x-session[1439]: (II) modeset(0): Modeline "1920x1080"x0.0  138.70  1920 1968 2000 2080  1080 1083 1088 1111 +hsync -vsync (66.7 kHz eP)
May  5 13:11:33 sazerac /usr/lib/gdm3/gdm-x-session[1439]: (II) modeset(0): Modeline "1920x1080"x0.0  111.00  1920 1968 2000 2080  1080 1083 1088 1111 +hsync -vsync (53.4 kHz e)
May  5 13:11:33 sazerac org.gnome.Shell.desktop[1580]: Window manager warning: Overwriting existing binding of keysym 38 with keysym 38 (keycode 11).
May  5 13:11:33 sazerac org.gnome.Shell.desktop[1580]: Window manager warning: Overwriting existing binding of keysym 39 with keysym 39 (keycode 12).
May  5 13:11:33 sazerac org.gnome.Shell.desktop[1580]: Window manager warning: Overwriting existing binding of keysym 31 with keysym 31 (keycode a).
May  5 13:11:33 sazerac org.gnome.Shell.desktop[1580]: Window manager warning: Overwriting existing binding of keysym 32 with keysym 32 (keycode b).
May  5 13:11:33 sazerac org.gnome.Shell.desktop[1580]: Window manager warning: Overwriting existing binding of keysym 33 with keysym 33 (keycode c).
May  5 13:11:33 sazerac org.gnome.Shell.desktop[1580]: Window manager warning: Overwriting existing binding of keysym 34 with keysym 34 (keycode d).
May  5 13:11:33 sazerac org.gnome.Shell.desktop[1580]: Window manager warning: Overwriting existing binding of keysym 35 with keysym 35 (keycode e).
May  5 13:11:33 sazerac org.gnome.Shell.desktop[1580]: Window manager warning: Overwriting existing binding of keysym 36 with keysym 36 (keycode f).
May  5 13:11:33 sazerac org.gnome.Shell.desktop[1580]: Window manager warning: Overwriting existing binding of keysym 37 with keysym 37 (keycode 10).
And this when I resume:

Code: Select all

May  5 13:11:40 sazerac kernel: [  654.916649] atkbd serio0: Unknown key pressed (translated set 2, code 0xd9 on isa0060/serio0).
May  5 13:11:40 sazerac kernel: [  654.916654] atkbd serio0: Use 'setkeycodes e059 <keycode>' to make it known.
May  5 13:11:40 sazerac kernel: [  654.916997] atkbd serio0: Unknown key released (translated set 2, code 0xd9 on isa0060/serio0).
May  5 13:11:40 sazerac kernel: [  654.917000] atkbd serio0: Use 'setkeycodes e059 <keycode>' to make it known.
May  5 13:11:40 sazerac /usr/lib/gdm3/gdm-x-session[1439]: (WW) EDID timing clock 141.00 exceeds claimed max 15MHz, fixing
May  5 13:11:40 sazerac /usr/lib/gdm3/gdm-x-session[1439]: (II) modeset(0): EDID vendor "LGD", prod id 1186
May  5 13:11:40 sazerac /usr/lib/gdm3/gdm-x-session[1439]: (II) modeset(0): Printing DDC gathered Modelines:
May  5 13:11:40 sazerac /usr/lib/gdm3/gdm-x-session[1439]: (II) modeset(0): Modeline "1920x1080"x0.0  138.70  1920 1968 2000 2080  1080 1083 1088 1111 +hsync -vsync (66.7 kHz eP)
May  5 13:11:40 sazerac /usr/lib/gdm3/gdm-x-session[1439]: (II) modeset(0): Modeline "1920x1080"x0.0  111.00  1920 1968 2000 2080  1080 1083 1088 1111 +hsync -vsync (53.4 kHz e)
May  5 13:11:40 sazerac org.gnome.Shell.desktop[1580]: Window manager warning: Overwriting existing binding of keysym 31 with keysym 31 (keycode a).
May  5 13:11:40 sazerac org.gnome.Shell.desktop[1580]: Window manager warning: Overwriting existing binding of keysym 32 with keysym 32 (keycode b).
May  5 13:11:40 sazerac org.gnome.Shell.desktop[1580]: Window manager warning: Overwriting existing binding of keysym 33 with keysym 33 (keycode c).
May  5 13:11:40 sazerac org.gnome.Shell.desktop[1580]: Window manager warning: Overwriting existing binding of keysym 38 with keysym 38 (keycode 11).
May  5 13:11:40 sazerac org.gnome.Shell.desktop[1580]: Window manager warning: Overwriting existing binding of keysym 39 with keysym 39 (keycode 12).
May  5 13:11:40 sazerac org.gnome.Shell.desktop[1580]: Window manager warning: Overwriting existing binding of keysym 34 with keysym 34 (keycode d).
May  5 13:11:40 sazerac org.gnome.Shell.desktop[1580]: Window manager warning: Overwriting existing binding of keysym 35 with keysym 35 (keycode e).
May  5 13:11:40 sazerac org.gnome.Shell.desktop[1580]: Window manager warning: Overwriting existing binding of keysym 36 with keysym 36 (keycode f).
May  5 13:11:40 sazerac org.gnome.Shell.desktop[1580]: Window manager warning: Overwriting existing binding of keysym 37 with keysym 37 (keycode 10).
Any suggestions? :)

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

Posted: Mon May 06, 2019 12:10 am
by daduke
m18e wrote:
Sun May 05, 2019 3:14 pm
First, the display flickers every 10-15 seconds, and it looks like there's falling snow. It's really bad at the grub boot screen (it flickers non-stop), but once logged in, it settles down to every 10-15 seconds.
check the LVDS cable in its socket. I've seen that too.
m18e wrote:
Sun May 05, 2019 3:14 pm
Second, the Ubuntu login screen isn't present on the monitor. I've used the display control panel to set the displays to mirrored, but I can't see the account selection screen.
that's because the login screen displays on the ghost LVDS screen. Solution: coreboot + https://review.coreboot.org/c/coreboot/+/28950/

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

Posted: Mon May 06, 2019 5:16 am
by khseal
I found fake displays https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uVBM7b3 ... e=youtu.be
Does anyone have a display with work adapter LP125WF4-SPB1?

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

Posted: Wed May 08, 2019 10:48 am
by noisufnoc
I'm in the process of installing my mod on my x220. https://www.reddit.com/r/thinkpad/comme ... mod_on_my/

I noticed that in i3-wm running on Arch, things are really only fully functional (more than just a desktop background) if I have an external monitor connected. I read that there's either a kernel patch, or I can flash the bios...today is there a build of coreboot that takes care of this? I'd like to go that route anyway, so I can install my ac wifi card.

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

Posted: Wed May 08, 2019 11:01 am
by daduke
noisufnoc wrote:
Wed May 08, 2019 10:48 am
I'm in the process of installing my mod on my x220. https://www.reddit.com/r/thinkpad/comme ... mod_on_my/

I noticed that in i3-wm running on Arch, things are really only fully functional (more than just a desktop background) if I have an external monitor connected. I read that there's either a kernel patch, or I can flash the bios...today is there a build of coreboot that takes care of this? I'd like to go that route anyway, so I can install my ac wifi card.
see https://daduke.org/hardware/x220-fhd/

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

Posted: Wed May 08, 2019 11:47 am
by noisufnoc
daduke wrote:
Wed May 08, 2019 11:01 am
noisufnoc wrote:
Wed May 08, 2019 10:48 am
I'm in the process of installing my mod on my x220. https://www.reddit.com/r/thinkpad/comme ... mod_on_my/

I noticed that in i3-wm running on Arch, things are really only fully functional (more than just a desktop background) if I have an external monitor connected. I read that there's either a kernel patch, or I can flash the bios...today is there a build of coreboot that takes care of this? I'd like to go that route anyway, so I can install my ac wifi card.
see https://daduke.org/hardware/x220-fhd/
ha! I was literally coming back to this thread to say that I found your blog post. Cheers!

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

Posted: Wed May 08, 2019 12:07 pm
by noisufnoc
daduke wrote:
Wed May 08, 2019 11:01 am
noisufnoc wrote:
Wed May 08, 2019 10:48 am
I'm in the process of installing my mod on my x220. https://www.reddit.com/r/thinkpad/comme ... mod_on_my/

I noticed that in i3-wm running on Arch, things are really only fully functional (more than just a desktop background) if I have an external monitor connected. I read that there's either a kernel patch, or I can flash the bios...today is there a build of coreboot that takes care of this? I'd like to go that route anyway, so I can install my ac wifi card.
see https://daduke.org/hardware/x220-fhd/
actually, now that i found you...

I saw this comment on your post about disconnecting the power lead on the board, and shorting a pin on the nitrocaster board. If I choose _not_ to do that, I can still use your fork of coreboot, right?

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

Posted: Wed May 08, 2019 12:21 pm
by daduke
noisufnoc wrote:
Wed May 08, 2019 12:07 pm
daduke wrote:
Wed May 08, 2019 11:01 am


see https://daduke.org/hardware/x220-fhd/
actually, now that i found you...

I saw this comment on your post about disconnecting the power lead on the board, and shorting a pin on the nitrocaster board. If I choose _not_ to do that, I can still use your fork of coreboot, right?
yup, just revert back to be3ee1b in this case.

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

Posted: Wed May 08, 2019 12:31 pm
by noisufnoc
daduke wrote:
Wed May 08, 2019 12:21 pm
noisufnoc wrote:
Wed May 08, 2019 12:07 pm


actually, now that i found you...

I saw this comment on your post about disconnecting the power lead on the board, and shorting a pin on the nitrocaster board. If I choose _not_ to do that, I can still use your fork of coreboot, right?
yup, just revert back to be3ee1b in this case.
here, yeah? https://github.com/daduke/coreboot/commit/be3ee1b

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

Posted: Wed May 08, 2019 12:45 pm
by daduke
noisufnoc wrote:
Wed May 08, 2019 12:31 pm
daduke wrote:
Wed May 08, 2019 12:21 pm


yup, just revert back to be3ee1b in this case.
here, yeah? https://github.com/daduke/coreboot/commit/be3ee1b
yes

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

Posted: Wed May 08, 2019 1:06 pm
by noisufnoc
daduke wrote:
Wed May 08, 2019 12:45 pm
noisufnoc wrote:
Wed May 08, 2019 12:31 pm


here, yeah? https://github.com/daduke/coreboot/commit/be3ee1b
yes
thank you!

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

Posted: Wed May 08, 2019 11:50 pm
by Wargyl
Здравствуйте и спасибо, Павел!

I got my mod board in a couple weeks ago and immediately installed it and continued to use the native display with no problems while I waited to receive the new one from China. Well, the new display arrived today and, after struggling for a while trying to figure out how the eDP cable worked, plugged it in and... Nothing. I tried it both with and without the LVDS jumper cable and couldn't get any output, so I decided to go back over the solder points to make sure everything was in place and I definitely made some improvements (the smallest thing I had soldered before this was a transistor for an amplifier).

I must have screwed something up during this whole process, because now the backlight on the native LVDS display isn't working either, just a dim picture where the only thing I can make out are the white details.

Here's an album of the board: https://imgur.com/a/GRylH7D

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

Posted: Thu May 09, 2019 7:54 am
by khseal
I must have screwed something up during this whole process, because now the backlight on the native LVDS display isn't working either, just a dim picture where the only thing I can make out are the white details.
The backlight fuse may have burned.
All connections must be made without connecting power sources.
On the connector of the lvds there is constantly powering the backlight, which can burn anything.
Many users simply burned laptops with built-in batteries.

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

Posted: Thu May 09, 2019 12:22 pm
by nitrocaster
Wargyl wrote:
Wed May 08, 2019 11:50 pm
I must have screwed something up during this whole process, because now the backlight on the native LVDS display isn't working either, just a dim picture where the only thing I can make out are the white details.
As khseal suggested, this is most likely a blown backlight fuse.

Thanks to fellow thinkpadders from Russia, we got a confirmation that LTN125HL02-301 and LP125WF4-SPB1 work with rev.6 adapter board. I updated the list of supported displays.

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

Posted: Thu May 09, 2019 5:29 pm
by Wargyl
The backlight fuse may have burned.
All connections must be made without connecting power sources.
On the connector of the lvds there is constantly powering the backlight, which can burn anything.
Many users simply burned laptops with built-in batteries.
As khseal suggested, this is most likely a blown backlight fuse.
Thank you! I solder bridged F1 on the motherboard (just behind the LVDS connecter) and the LVDS display is now functional again! However, the new display is still not working, while I had my DMM out to beep test the fuses on the Mainboard, I went ahead and tested F1 (just above the power-line pad) on the mod board as well and it seems to not be passing current either (all the other resistors are showing a resistance). Could solder-bridging this fix the problem or should I look elsewhere?

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

Posted: Fri May 10, 2019 5:35 am
by nitrocaster
You can try bridging F1 on the adapter board just to make sure this is the only problem, but not before checking that there's no short no display power rail after this fuse.

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

Posted: Fri May 10, 2019 9:45 am
by Kyo
Hello guys, I’m new to here.
I decided to install this kit to my x220 even though I was really afraid of ruining my motherboard by the fault of soldering.

As the result, it was failed. I couldn’t solder the sense wire to the 3rd capacitors pad properly and it seems I melted 4th capacitor. I gave up this moment and assembled mine to make sure if it still works. I can turn on and use it as usual.

My question is,

Can I leave it and is it ok to use it as usual?
Can I still try again to upgrade it even if I lost 4th(from right) capacitor? (I’m thinking of asking it to repair shop )

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

Posted: Mon May 13, 2019 2:14 pm
by nocturne.op.15
I have the similar issue with my second nitrocaster mod, accidentaly desoldered C137, than the other one when trying to resolder C137. I still have heme ,soldering pads seems to be OK - so my questions are

- could this SMD capacitor be damaged by heat? Seems to be ceramic, so could it withstand some more heating?
- if not, is there any equivalent for these caps? I did not found specification for SCD1U10V2KX-4GP

it was much easier the first time I made this mod :-)

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

Posted: Mon May 13, 2019 2:40 pm
by khseal
- could this SMD capacitor be damaged by heat? Seems to be ceramic, so could it withstand some more heating?
Ceramic capacitors can be heated.
[/quote]
- if not, is there any equivalent for these caps? I did not found specification for SCD1U10V2KX-4GP
I think that this is a capacitor 1 uF 10V

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

Posted: Fri May 17, 2019 4:53 pm
by applicationist
I just installed the mod on X230, but no backlight (Screen works, I can see thinkpad logo on boot)

Thought it might be backlight fuse, so I checked them, F6 had no continuity.. so I tried bridging it. Same issue. De-soldered and resoldered the mod, its all fine.. F1 and one marked 'F2' also have continuity.. but still no backlight..

Any other ideas? I dont think this mod can take any more de-re solders!

EDIT: I tried the old screen, and the backlight on that lights just fine

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

Posted: Sat May 18, 2019 11:27 am
by nitrocaster
Kyo wrote:
Fri May 10, 2019 9:45 am
Can I leave it and is it ok to use it as usual?
Can I still try again to upgrade it even if I lost 4th(from right) capacitor? (I’m thinking of asking it to repair shop )
Missing 3rd or 4th cap is not a problem - just leave it that way. It would be a problem if you were using something larger than FHD, but since this is not the case, you don't really need these 2 caps.
applicationist wrote:
Fri May 17, 2019 4:53 pm
I just installed the mod on X230, but no backlight (Screen works, I can see thinkpad logo on boot)

Thought it might be backlight fuse, so I checked them, F6 had no continuity.. so I tried bridging it. Same issue. De-soldered and resoldered the mod, its all fine.. F1 and one marked 'F2' also have continuity.. but still no backlight..

Any other ideas? I dont think this mod can take any more de-re solders!

EDIT: I tried the old screen, and the backlight on that lights just fine
The fuse blew after you connected LVDS cable before removing the battery or the AC adapter. Usually the only victim is the backlight fuse, but in some cases power management IC, PCH or that small MCU on the adapter board dies. You have to remove all power before opening your machine and reconnecting stuff inside it.

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

Posted: Sun May 19, 2019 3:53 am
by applicationist
Must be something on the adapter board blown then makes sense.

This time with a new mainboard and screen I did everything perfect.. but I probably damaged the adapter with the previous attempt with a faulty screen as I was getting frustrated and fed up thinking I had done it wrong

Ordered another mod.. final attempt before I give up and buy a Mac book 😂

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

Posted: Sun May 19, 2019 11:45 am
by Poklomo
Hi nitrocaster,

Have you consider to do WQHD kit ? To be honest, nobody should be interest by such a resolution. The main interest is that WQHD panel cover 100% of sRGB, FHD panel are about 50%.

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

Posted: Sun May 19, 2019 12:21 pm
by nitrocaster
If your main consideration is getting 100% sRGB, then you should probably take a look at 13" displays.

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

Posted: Sun May 19, 2019 1:40 pm
by Poklomo
the 13 inch mod is pretty stupid in my opinion

Will take a look to Chinese mods