Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

X200, X201, X220 (including equivalent tablet models) and X300, X301 series specific matters only.
Message
Author
samveen
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2019 12:28 am
Location: New Delhi, India

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1201 Post by samveen » Mon May 27, 2019 9:24 am

nitrocaster wrote:
Thu Dec 29, 2016 5:15 am
Can't wait for the next batch?
Totally off topic, but please correct the link in the first post. It's linked to nitrocsater.me/store

luedi
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 9:51 am

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1202 Post by luedi » Wed Jun 05, 2019 7:13 am

daduke wrote:
Mon Apr 29, 2019 11:41 am
daduke wrote:
Fri Apr 26, 2019 2:42 pm
ok here it is: https://daduke.org/hardware/x220-fhd/. I couldn't get any coreboot/Seabios display output without the original VGA BIOS, but it's rather easy to extract. Let me know if you have any issues with it
new commit - you can now power the nitrocaster PCB from VCC3P instead of VCC, reducing sleep battery drain (see description on the website ^)
:thumbs-UP: Thats great for x220 users. I am using an x230 with FHD mod and coreboot. Is your VCC3P commit 840a47e available in the coreboot master?
I couldnt find that commit in your fork nor in the master.
X230 i7, nitrocaster FullHD mod rev.6, Coreboot with Alexander Couzens' LVDS patch and Sergey Alirzaev's eDP power patch
BOE NV125FHM-N62 IPS panel

daduke
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2019 12:50 am
Location: Zurich, CH
Contact:

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1203 Post by daduke » Wed Jun 05, 2019 11:33 pm

luedi wrote:
Wed Jun 05, 2019 7:13 am
daduke wrote:
Mon Apr 29, 2019 11:41 am

new commit - you can now power the nitrocaster PCB from VCC3P instead of VCC, reducing sleep battery drain (see description on the website ^)
:thumbs-UP: Thats great for x220 users. I am using an x230 with FHD mod and coreboot. Is your VCC3P commit 840a47e available in the coreboot master?
I couldnt find that commit in your fork nor in the master.
it's the latest commit in my fork: https://github.com/daduke/coreboot/commits/x220_fhd
I have contacted the coreboot ppl re: merge or PR but no reaction so far. The X230 version of the patch hasn't been merged either.
X220 i7, nitrocaster FullHD mod, coreboot with LVDS patch

luedi
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 9:51 am

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1204 Post by luedi » Thu Jun 06, 2019 9:20 am

daduke wrote:
Wed Jun 05, 2019 11:33 pm
luedi wrote:
Wed Jun 05, 2019 7:13 am


:thumbs-UP: Thats great for x220 users. I am using an x230 with FHD mod and coreboot. Is your VCC3P commit 840a47e available in the coreboot master?
I couldnt find that commit in your fork nor in the master.
it's the latest commit in my fork: https://github.com/daduke/coreboot/commits/x220_fhd
I have contacted the coreboot ppl re: merge or PR but no reaction so far. The X230 version of the patch hasn't been merged either.
Thank you for your feedback! Would your VCC to VCC3P commit also work on a x230 (Ivy bridge chipset)?
Then I will try that on my x230.
X230 i7, nitrocaster FullHD mod rev.6, Coreboot with Alexander Couzens' LVDS patch and Sergey Alirzaev's eDP power patch
BOE NV125FHM-N62 IPS panel

daduke
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2019 12:50 am
Location: Zurich, CH
Contact:

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1205 Post by daduke » Thu Jun 06, 2019 11:35 pm

luedi wrote:
Thu Jun 06, 2019 9:20 am
daduke wrote:
Wed Jun 05, 2019 11:33 pm

it's the latest commit in my fork: https://github.com/daduke/coreboot/commits/x220_fhd
I have contacted the coreboot ppl re: merge or PR but no reaction so far. The X230 version of the patch hasn't been merged either.
Thank you for your feedback! Would your VCC to VCC3P commit also work on a x230 (Ivy bridge chipset)?
Then I will try that on my x230.
I would guess as that's where I got it from: https://review.coreboot.org/c/coreboot/+/28950/
X220 i7, nitrocaster FullHD mod, coreboot with LVDS patch

Mrtn
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2016 10:57 am
Location: Zwolle, Netherlands

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1206 Post by Mrtn » Fri Jun 07, 2019 10:38 am

Just to be sure, does the brightness control work with the Coreboot patch, just as usual?

I read the firmware from my X220, will also mod my X230 when I got all the parts to made that a 13" laptop.

And are the problems with docking stations also solved or do they still need to be taped?

daduke
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2019 12:50 am
Location: Zurich, CH
Contact:

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1207 Post by daduke » Fri Jun 07, 2019 1:06 pm

Mrtn wrote:
Fri Jun 07, 2019 10:38 am
Just to be sure, does the brightness control work with the Coreboot patch, just as usual?
yes.

Mrtn wrote:
Fri Jun 07, 2019 10:38 am
And are the problems with docking stations also solved or do they still need to be taped?
no idea as I don't have one.
X220 i7, nitrocaster FullHD mod, coreboot with LVDS patch

boutch55555
Sophomore Member
Posts: 175
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:18 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1208 Post by boutch55555 » Tue Jun 11, 2019 4:55 am

Someone posted a kernel patch (workaround) for the display issue (not showing randomly) on Linux.

luedi
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 9:51 am

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1209 Post by luedi » Tue Jun 11, 2019 5:24 am

daduke wrote:
Thu Jun 06, 2019 11:35 pm
luedi wrote:
Thu Jun 06, 2019 9:20 am


Thank you for your feedback! Would your VCC to VCC3P commit also work on a x230 (Ivy bridge chipset)?
Then I will try that on my x230.
I would guess as that's where I got it from: https://review.coreboot.org/c/coreboot/+/28950/
Amazingly it works with the mentioned commit (Bridging J1 and disconnecting Aux Power). Let's hope for better battery life in suspend.
There is no display output of the coreboot prompt (Boot options etc.), only once SeaBIOS is loaded i.e. Linux boot loader.
X230 i7, nitrocaster FullHD mod rev.6, Coreboot with Alexander Couzens' LVDS patch and Sergey Alirzaev's eDP power patch
BOE NV125FHM-N62 IPS panel

luedi
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 9:51 am

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1210 Post by luedi » Tue Jun 11, 2019 5:32 am

On another note since we are all after 1080p on a 12.1" screen,
Does anyone have a proper way of doing fractional scaling in linux?
So far I've enabled experimental mode in gnome 3.32 on Ubuntu 19.04 giving me a usable (125%) experience in system apps.
However Firefox and others do not render properly (become blurry/fuzzy), which is quite annoying.
Any other solutions out there?
X230 i7, nitrocaster FullHD mod rev.6, Coreboot with Alexander Couzens' LVDS patch and Sergey Alirzaev's eDP power patch
BOE NV125FHM-N62 IPS panel

Mrtn
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2016 10:57 am
Location: Zwolle, Netherlands

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1211 Post by Mrtn » Tue Jun 11, 2019 10:39 am

luedi wrote:
Tue Jun 11, 2019 5:24 am
daduke wrote:
Thu Jun 06, 2019 11:35 pm


I would guess as that's where I got it from: https://review.coreboot.org/c/coreboot/+/28950/
Amazingly it works with the mentioned commit (Bridging J1 and disconnecting Aux Power). Let's hope for better battery life in suspend.
There is no display output of the coreboot prompt (Boot options etc.), only once SeaBIOS is loaded i.e. Linux boot loader.
Did you also followed this part from https://daduke.org/hardware/x220-fhd/:
use this guide to extract the VGA BIOS. Name it vgabios.bin. I could not get any coreboot/Seabios output without this.
?

luedi
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 9:51 am

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1212 Post by luedi » Wed Jun 12, 2019 6:21 am

luedi wrote:
Tue Jun 11, 2019 5:24 am
daduke wrote:
Thu Jun 06, 2019 11:35 pm


I would guess as that's where I got it from: https://review.coreboot.org/c/coreboot/+/28950/
Amazingly it works with the mentioned commit (Bridging J1 and disconnecting Aux Power). Let's hope for better battery life in suspend.
There is no display output of the coreboot prompt (Boot options etc.), only once SeaBIOS is loaded i.e. Linux boot loader.
Thanks again to daduke for PMing about this. Though this might help others as well...

I've built and flashed CB with Alexander Couzens' LVDS patch (https://review.coreboot.org/c/coreboot/+/28950/7, without an extracted VBIOS blob (Just CB included VBIOS).
That does not include any code from Sergey (VCC>VCC3P). ( comments patchset 7 https://review.coreboot.org/c/coreboot/+/28950/)
The nitrocaster mod PCB was connected with aux power cable and no J1 bridge.

That gave me display output of CB and Seabios before Kernel was loaded (but higher power usage on sleep and lid closed).

Then I did the aforementioned (disconnect aux and bridge J1). Now there is only display output once the kernel is loaded.
My guess would be that the Mod PCB does not get power until the kernel is loaded. That would mean that I need to implement Sergey's code.
I will report whether that worked for me...

Patch by Sergey Alirzaev (zl29ah@gmail.com)

Code: Select all

--- a/src/northbridge/intel/sandybridge/gma.c
+++ b/src/northbridge/intel/sandybridge/gma.c
@@ -557,6 +557,10 @@ static void gma_pm_init_post_vbios(struct device *dev)
                gtt_write(0xc4030, reg32);
        }
 
+       /* Turn the panel power on using eDP VDD Override */
+       gtt_write(PCH_PP_CONTROL, gtt_read(PCH_PP_CONTROL) | PCH_PP_UNLOCK | EDP_FORCE_VDD);
+       udelay(125000); /* And wait until it powers up */
+
        /* Setup Panel Power On Delays */
        reg32 = gtt_read(0xc7208);
        if (!reg32) {
X230 i7, nitrocaster FullHD mod rev.6, Coreboot with Alexander Couzens' LVDS patch and Sergey Alirzaev's eDP power patch
BOE NV125FHM-N62 IPS panel

thrilleratplay
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 8:03 am
Location: Albany, NY, USA

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1213 Post by thrilleratplay » Wed Jun 12, 2019 8:11 am

luedi wrote:
Wed Jun 12, 2019 6:21 am
without an extracted VBIOS blob (Just CB included VBIOS).
Are you using the Legacy VGA text mode or libgfxinit Linear high-resolution framebuffer?

luedi
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 9:51 am

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1214 Post by luedi » Wed Jun 12, 2019 9:47 am

thrilleratplay wrote:
Wed Jun 12, 2019 8:11 am
luedi wrote:
Wed Jun 12, 2019 6:21 am
without an extracted VBIOS blob (Just CB included VBIOS).
Are you using the Legacy VGA text mode or libgfxinit Linear high-resolution framebuffer?
I've used the Legacy VGA text mode as the high resolution framebuffer did not play well together with some of the secondary payloads.
Both modes worked for Coreboot option screen and subsequent boot into linux kernel.
No VGA BIOS blob necessary.
X230 i7, nitrocaster FullHD mod rev.6, Coreboot with Alexander Couzens' LVDS patch and Sergey Alirzaev's eDP power patch
BOE NV125FHM-N62 IPS panel

luedi
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 9:51 am

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1215 Post by luedi » Wed Jun 12, 2019 10:09 am

luedi wrote:
Wed Jun 12, 2019 6:21 am
luedi wrote:
Tue Jun 11, 2019 5:24 am


Amazingly it works with the mentioned commit (Bridging J1 and disconnecting Aux Power). Let's hope for better battery life in suspend.
There is no display output of the coreboot prompt (Boot options etc.), only once Linux is loaded.
Thanks again to daduke for PMing about this. Though this might help others as well...

I've built and flashed CB with Alexander Couzens' LVDS patch (https://review.coreboot.org/c/coreboot/+/28950/7, without an extracted VBIOS blob (Just CB included VBIOS).
That does not include any code from Sergey (VCC>VCC3P). ( comments patchset 7 https://review.coreboot.org/c/coreboot/+/28950/)
The nitrocaster mod PCB was connected with aux power cable and no J1 bridge.

That gave me display output of CB and Seabios before Kernel was loaded (but higher power usage on sleep and lid closed).

Then I did the aforementioned (disconnect aux and bridge J1). Now there is only display output once the kernel is loaded.
My guess would be that the Mod PCB does not get power until the kernel is loaded. That would mean that I need to implement Sergey's code.
I will report whether that worked for me...

Patch by Sergey Alirzaev (zl29ah@gmail.com)

Code: Select all

--- a/src/northbridge/intel/sandybridge/gma.c
+++ b/src/northbridge/intel/sandybridge/gma.c
@@ -557,6 +557,10 @@ static void gma_pm_init_post_vbios(struct device *dev)
                gtt_write(0xc4030, reg32);
        }
 
+       /* Turn the panel power on using eDP VDD Override */
+       gtt_write(PCH_PP_CONTROL, gtt_read(PCH_PP_CONTROL) | PCH_PP_UNLOCK | EDP_FORCE_VDD);
+       udelay(125000); /* And wait until it powers up */
+
        /* Setup Panel Power On Delays */
        reg32 = gtt_read(0xc7208);
        if (!reg32) {
Ok, so it seems my CB build is perfect now (X230, Nitrocaster FHD Mod, eDP powered, no Aux power connection, J1 bridged). Fully functional!

I've used this guide to assemble the initial CB build with Alexander Couzen's patch. http://wiki.muc.ccc.de/x230modding:start (Mind the current patchlevel 7)
At the current development state there is a merge conflict when rebasing (catching up from patch date to current) with current CB.
That has to be fixed manually in the file (google fix merge conflict git).
Then getting the submodules (3rd party etc.)
After that added Sergey's 3 lines of code to "src/northbridge/intel/sandybridge/gma.c" as described above (around line 557).
Then followed with the rest of the guide (build crosscompiler).

Since I previously had flashed coreboot I flashed the new version internally (no need for raspi flasher).
My working config for this device and mod is here https://pastebin.com/ZXf4fbhq (needs to be saved as .config inside coreboot main directory)
General info on how to build and flash coreboot is here: https://www.coreboot.org/Intel_Sandybri ... d_Tutorial

Needless to say, I strongly advise to backup all data and read out old bios flash images before flashing coreboot.
My build is meant for internal flashing with a flash layout file to only touch the bios region of the flash.
Last edited by luedi on Sun Jun 16, 2019 3:53 am, edited 1 time in total.
X230 i7, nitrocaster FullHD mod rev.6, Coreboot with Alexander Couzens' LVDS patch and Sergey Alirzaev's eDP power patch
BOE NV125FHM-N62 IPS panel

Nuuskis91
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2019 8:04 am
Location: Oulu, Finland

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1216 Post by Nuuskis91 » Thu Jun 13, 2019 8:11 am

Which 13,3" panel I should use? The B133HAN04.6 or LQ133M1JW21?

Also, does it matter, which bios I'll flash with Nitrocaster rev.6?

Mrtn
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2016 10:57 am
Location: Zwolle, Netherlands

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1217 Post by Mrtn » Fri Jun 21, 2019 4:36 pm

Hi,

I'm sorry for posting another reply for troubleshooting a problem, but I didn't manage to find an answer.

My x230 had display with the FHD mod, but after cleaning the fan I don't get any display on the internal screen. Also no backlight visible.
VGA is still working and the board is powered, I also have redone the cables a few times but I'm running out of ideas to troubleshoot this problem.

Can anybody help me please? :)

Mrtn

ppppp
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2019 12:10 am
Location: Pensacola, FL

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1218 Post by ppppp » Sat Jun 22, 2019 1:54 pm

I've taken my laptop to two places for it to get it done and they can't do it. The one place that almost got it said the board doesn't quite sit on top of the docking area for the solder to make it there. Is directly wiring up the board and taping it down a bad idea? should I try another place? idk where else to take this thing.

also if you're near the pensacola florida area and you have experience with the mod, i'll pay you to get it done.

khseal
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 5:09 am
Location: Velikie Luki, RU

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1219 Post by khseal » Sat Jun 22, 2019 10:53 pm

Can anybody help me please? :)
Try to solder the contacts that were soldered. The soldering may have broken when the plugs are disconnected Adapter is better to fix something if my advice helps.

luedi
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 9:51 am

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1220 Post by luedi » Sun Jun 23, 2019 4:38 am

khseal wrote:
Sat Jun 22, 2019 10:53 pm
Can anybody help me please? :)
Try to solder the contacts that were soldered. The soldering may have broken when the plugs are disconnected Adapter is better to fix something if my advice helps.
To add to this I would recommend to only use solder wick if needed (no vac pump). Also use SMT rated flux.
Nitro caster advises several seconds of heat applied to each pin. This is because of the ROHS compliant lead free solder. It takes much longer to liquify.
When the job is done you should also clean up the slag and flux residue.
Good luck!
X230 i7, nitrocaster FullHD mod rev.6, Coreboot with Alexander Couzens' LVDS patch and Sergey Alirzaev's eDP power patch
BOE NV125FHM-N62 IPS panel

shifting
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2017 11:29 pm
Location: edmonton, canada

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1221 Post by shifting » Sun Jun 23, 2019 12:53 pm

So...I seem to have made a mistake, and I'm hoping somebody can tell me what it is.

Attempting my second nitrocaster mod, I've wound up with a laptop that the display works, but there's no backlight.

I've tested that the screen itself is good (by plugging it into my other laptop that works), and I've tested that there is backlight power (by plugging back in the original 1366x768 screen)

Does anybody know what would cause this?

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20083
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact:

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1222 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sun Jun 23, 2019 11:34 pm

Did you check the Backlight operation demo: as listed in the very first post on page 1 of this thread?
Check the sense-wire?
Check the new LCD-cable connectors for damage and proper insertion?
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

shifting
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2017 11:29 pm
Location: edmonton, canada

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1223 Post by shifting » Mon Jun 24, 2019 12:31 am

RealBlackStuff wrote:
Sun Jun 23, 2019 11:34 pm
Did you check the Backlight operation demo: as listed in the very first post on page 1 of this thread?
I don't see anything troubleshooting related in that video. What am I missing?
RealBlackStuff wrote:
Sun Jun 23, 2019 11:34 pm
Check the sense-wire?
Well, continuity seems to check out. Sense wire is always a likely suspect, but wouldn't video be absent too, if that were the issue?
RealBlackStuff wrote:
Sun Jun 23, 2019 11:34 pm
Check the new LCD-cable connectors for damage and proper insertion?
yes.

creative_username
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2019 5:24 am
Location: Vic, Australia

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1224 Post by creative_username » Mon Jul 01, 2019 5:34 am

Hey Everyone, New to the Forum. :)
Just finished up soldering the mod into my x230, put everything back together and.... Nothing,
i've checked for shorts with a multi meter, there were none.
when powering on fan spins for 3 seconds then turns back off, any idea what is the issue?,
Here's a photo of the soldering on the board:
https://i.imgur.com/ULSw6Uu.jpg

Thanks in advance for any help!

davepol
Freshman Member
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 2:44 pm
Location: Poland/US

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1225 Post by davepol » Mon Jul 08, 2019 1:52 pm

Hey guys!
I have the same request :) Please check my soldering. When I power on the laptop, lcd actually powers on, but it seems like there is no data going to the lcd...
I did everything according to the manual from nitrocaster's store.

Thanks a lot for any help!

https://imgur.com/a/rUZFTXA
T510 FHD, X200T, T60P, 600E

bam
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2019 4:06 pm
Location: Moscow, RU

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1226 Post by bam » Mon Jul 15, 2019 6:28 pm

nitrocaster wrote:
Mon Dec 19, 2016 8:03 am
A FHD display itself consumes about as much power as a stock one, but active LVDS interface (which is used for brightness control) consumes additional 1W.
Sorry dumb question why brightness can't be controlled with AUX eDP channel?

Pegasus_A
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2019 4:36 pm
Location: London, United Kingdom

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#1227 Post by Pegasus_A » Thu Aug 01, 2019 5:00 am

Hi guys, new to this thread. Wanted to ask if anyone live in UK or London specifically and done the nitrocaster mod and happy to dig in again since I am not that expert in soldering. Drop me a line thanks

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad X200/201/220 and X300/301 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests