Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

X200, X201, X220 (including equivalent tablet models) and X300, X301 series specific matters only.

Would you pay $54 for such kit for X220T/X230T?

Yes
100
91%
No
10
9%
 
Total votes: 110

Message
Author
TheChuckster
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 5:26 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#241 Post by TheChuckster » Fri Feb 24, 2017 1:45 pm

Hi, if anyone has an unused or extra board they would like to sell me, send me a PM or an email (better). I'm willing to pay 2x the cost or more, I'll make you an offer.

Starlight5
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2014 9:44 pm

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#242 Post by Starlight5 » Fri Feb 24, 2017 2:36 pm

nitrocaster wrote:Probably no. Replacing the LCD is too tricky, because it's glued to the protective glass.
Thank you very much for fast reply! At least I won't have any second thoughts selling it.

TankPad
Sophomore Member
Posts: 181
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2017 1:40 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#243 Post by TankPad » Sun Feb 26, 2017 1:50 pm

Hey nitrocaster,

Just wanted to say that this work you've done is amazing. I'd like to order a kit from you too and having spent a couple of hours reading through multiple forums,reddit etc I have a couple of questions. Will this kit be a direct plug and play for the 13.3 inch mod screen? or am I missing something?

I know there's a lot of hardware issues to the lid surrounding that mod, but that's actually were I'm most confident, so long as I can actually get the screen to function first.

Secondly, how do I actually place an order? Have you setup some kind of link where people can buy them maybe?

Apologies if these are silly questions, I'm just a little confused having read so much, including previous mod attempts that are confusing me a little.

I've had my X220 since 2011 and while I love it, the screen has always been that one thing that bugged me. Congrats on the work, its really impressive.
| 701c | X220 | T420 | X230 | T430s |

boutch55555
Freshman Member
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:18 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#244 Post by boutch55555 » Sun Feb 26, 2017 3:00 pm

TankPad wrote:Will this kit be a direct plug and play for the 13.3 inch mod screen? or am I missing something?
From the electronics perspective, it's plug and play. The edp cable is too short though.

TheChuckster
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 5:26 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#245 Post by TheChuckster » Sun Feb 26, 2017 3:02 pm

boutch55555 wrote:
TankPad wrote:Will this kit be a direct plug and play for the 13.3 inch mod screen? or am I missing something?
From the electronics perspective, it's plug and play. The edp cable is too short though.
You'd have to figure out a way to mod the bezel as well, which is definitely something I'm going to consider doing.

Maybe using a laser cutter? Were you able to find a 13.3" screen? The LCDfans crew seemed to imply that they were having trouble sourcing them.

Where can you find edp cables of sufficient quality? I've had bad luck in the past with crappy cables.

boutch55555
Freshman Member
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:18 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#246 Post by boutch55555 » Sun Feb 26, 2017 3:10 pm

See http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?f=43&t=123089

Still waiting for a local guy at a computer recycling facility to get back to me for cables. Once I get a part number on a correct lenght it should be easier.

I'm modding the first one "diy no tools" style, will use my desktop mill if I ever do a short batch.

TankPad
Sophomore Member
Posts: 181
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2017 1:40 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#247 Post by TankPad » Sun Feb 26, 2017 8:21 pm

boutch55555 wrote:
TankPad wrote:Will this kit be a direct plug and play for the 13.3 inch mod screen? or am I missing something?
From the electronics perspective, it's plug and play. The edp cable is too short though.
Thanks for the info. I reckon I can get the cable easily enough, as I have access to a lot of hardware, repair machines etc.

As for the bezel, I think the best way to approach it is with a sharp blade and a metal rule. Then a rub down with a fine file or a suitable sandpaper. I have an entire spare lid here that I plan to mod first, as a practice.

I started researching what would be the best IPS panel to upgrade my X220 and X230 but as soon as I saw those 13.3 inch mods, I knew I could never settle for a standard screen again. :D
| 701c | X220 | T420 | X230 | T430s |

x3o2
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 5:42 am
Location: Germany

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#248 Post by x3o2 » Mon Feb 27, 2017 5:30 am

TankPad wrote:I reckon I can get the cable easily enough, as I have access to a lot of hardware, repair machines etc.
If it is that easy for you, then, please, let us know about what you have found. I am still searching...

TankPad wrote:but as soon as I saw those 13.3 inch mods, I knew I could never settle for a standard screen again.
So do I :D

I voted for the 400 Nits 13'' Sharp often mentioned above.

olex126
Sophomore Member
Posts: 147
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 3:46 pm
Location: St.Thomas, Ontario, CANADA

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#249 Post by olex126 » Mon Feb 27, 2017 4:13 pm

Nitrocaster.

Great work! From what I can determine, the second batch has been sold out? (Tried the pre-order form, but no luck!)

How to get on the pre-order list if and when you decide to run a third batch or do an ebay listing?

I could do with two of these kits myself, just don't want to order the screens months in advance of planned installation!

Thanks. Regards.

Dave
Previous Thinkpads: 701C, A22m, A31p, T23p x2, T30, X31, various 750's, 760's, & 390's.

Current Daily Drivers: Various X60T & X61T's, various T42p-T43p's, an x220, and my main DD is a T601F LED (T9500/8Gb/250SSD/W7 Ultimate)


"Life Is A Journey...Enjoy The Ride!"

ctoph0
Freshman Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2011 6:58 pm
Location: Montclair, NJ

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#250 Post by ctoph0 » Tue Feb 28, 2017 9:39 am

Just curious, when was the second batch preorders started? I must have missed them but I 100% want one(or two) of these boards. Is there a way to be added to the third order?
Great work Nitro, you're keeping the dream alive!
Past: A22M T61P X41T X200 X201
Present: X201 X220 X61s T420
Future: Upgrading the present!

myrnehr
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2013 8:10 pm
Location: Colorado Springs, Colorado

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#251 Post by myrnehr » Tue Feb 28, 2017 3:18 pm

god, and to think I was about to sell my X230! I am definitely interested in preordering for a third batch.

nitrocaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 478
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#252 Post by nitrocaster » Tue Feb 28, 2017 3:50 pm

ctoph0 wrote:Just curious, when was the second batch preorders started?
I reopened the form in a few days after the first batch was sold out, so it was accepting pre-orders quite a long time.

Regarding the 3rd batch: I'll begin working on it once I ship the second one. Be patient.
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

TankPad
Sophomore Member
Posts: 181
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2017 1:40 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#253 Post by TankPad » Tue Feb 28, 2017 4:34 pm

nitrocaster wrote:
ctoph0 wrote:Just curious, when was the second batch preorders started?
I reopened the form in a few days after the first batch was sold out, so it was accepting pre-orders quite a long time.

Regarding the 3rd batch: I'll begin working on it once I ship the second one. Be patient.
Not sure if I'm misunderstanding, Nitro, but the form is currently closed. Is this intentional?
| 701c | X220 | T420 | X230 | T430s |

nitrocaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 478
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#254 Post by nitrocaster » Tue Feb 28, 2017 4:35 pm

As promised, my listing of X230 i7 mobo with pre-installed FHD adapter on feebay.
Last edited by nitrocaster on Tue Feb 28, 2017 5:43 pm, edited 2 times in total.
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

nitrocaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 478
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#255 Post by nitrocaster » Tue Feb 28, 2017 4:37 pm

TankPad wrote:Not sure if I'm misunderstanding, Nitro, but the form is currently closed. Is this intentional?
Yes, since I am not working on the 3rd batch I can't take pre-orders for it.
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

ctoph0
Freshman Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2011 6:58 pm
Location: Montclair, NJ

Re: RE: Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#256 Post by ctoph0 » Tue Feb 28, 2017 5:32 pm

nitrocaster wrote:As promised, X230 i7 mobo with pre-installed FHD adapter on feebay.
This is your listing?

Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk
Past: A22M T61P X41T X200 X201
Present: X201 X220 X61s T420
Future: Upgrading the present!

nitrocaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 478
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#257 Post by nitrocaster » Tue Feb 28, 2017 5:44 pm

It is.
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

agarza
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1507
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 10:31 am
Location: Guadalajara, Jalisco MEXICO

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#258 Post by agarza » Wed Mar 01, 2017 12:03 pm

Hi nitro.

I'm definitely interested in getting one kit from you, I just came late to this thread.
It would be nice to get a notification once you will start or decide to provision more kits.

Thanks
Current
T440p:
Core i7-4710MQ|16GB RAM|Intel 200GB SSD| 14.1" AUO IPS FHD|Win 7 Pro|T450 Trackpad|Backlit keyboard|2nd Caddy

T460p:
Core i5-6300HQ|16GB RAM|lPNY 256GB SSD| 14.1" Panasonic IPS WQHD|Win 7 Pro
Past: T420 HD+, X61s XGA, T61 14" SXGA+, T42p 14.1 SXGA+, T30, A22e

TankPad
Sophomore Member
Posts: 181
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2017 1:40 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#259 Post by TankPad » Thu Mar 02, 2017 3:40 pm

nitrocaster wrote:
TankPad wrote:Not sure if I'm misunderstanding, Nitro, but the form is currently closed. Is this intentional?
Yes, since I am not working on the 3rd batch I can't take pre-orders for it.
I'm a little confused (sorry, lol). Not working on a third batch "yet" or ever?

I might throw a bid on that X230 Mobo, though I'd prefer to do my X220 first. Cheers. :)
| 701c | X220 | T420 | X230 | T430s |

nitrocaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 478
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#260 Post by nitrocaster » Thu Mar 02, 2017 3:44 pm

Not working yet.
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

TankPad
Sophomore Member
Posts: 181
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2017 1:40 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#261 Post by TankPad » Thu Mar 02, 2017 6:11 pm

nitrocaster wrote:Not working yet.
Ah I see. I look forward to ordering from you then. Thanks. :)
| 701c | X220 | T420 | X230 | T430s |

ATFNightHunter
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 2:17 am
Location: San Diego, CA

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#262 Post by ATFNightHunter » Fri Mar 03, 2017 2:19 am

Hey, I know I signed up for the mod, but I never got a confirmation.. does that mean I'm out of luck?

NH

nitrocaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 478
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#263 Post by nitrocaster » Fri Mar 03, 2017 9:17 am

If you received a confirmation email - you're on the list.
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

Quantumcross
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2017 7:06 pm
Location: Rochester, NY

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#264 Post by Quantumcross » Mon Mar 06, 2017 1:53 am

I've filled out the 2nd batch preorder form ages ago, but I haven't gotten an email... Am I out...?

nitrocaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 478
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#265 Post by nitrocaster » Mon Mar 06, 2017 2:39 am

I sent confirmation emails only for the first batch pre-orders. Probably I have to do that for the second batch too, or maybe setup some kind of web form to check order status. Sorry for misunderstanding.

edit: On a second thought, here's the thing: if you filled the form (i.e. it was accepting new submissions) - you are on the list. I closed it just after the whole batch was pre-ordered.
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

ctoph0
Freshman Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2011 6:58 pm
Location: Montclair, NJ

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#266 Post by ctoph0 » Mon Mar 06, 2017 10:13 am

I believe i added my email yo that list, but it may have been nwysky's list regarding the x62, is it possible to confirm?

Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk
Past: A22M T61P X41T X200 X201
Present: X201 X220 X61s T420
Future: Upgrading the present!

Quantumcross
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2017 7:06 pm
Location: Rochester, NY

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#267 Post by Quantumcross » Tue Mar 07, 2017 2:14 am

nitrocaster wrote:I sent confirmation emails only for the first batch pre-orders. Probably I have to do that for the second batch too, or maybe setup some kind of web form to check order status. Sorry for misunderstanding.

edit: On a second thought, here's the thing: if you filled the form (i.e. it was accepting new submissions) - you are on the list. I closed it just after the whole batch was pre-ordered.
Thanks for confirming! Got a little worried :)

TheChuckster
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2017 5:26 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#268 Post by TheChuckster » Wed Mar 08, 2017 8:01 pm

TankPad wrote:As for the bezel, I think the best way to approach it is with a sharp blade and a metal rule. Then a rub down with a fine file or a suitable sandpaper. I have an entire spare lid here that I plan to mod first, as a practice.
What blade are you using? I have a Kershaw fold-er, but I don't think the blade is sharp enough.

How are you shaping the bezel? Are you just lengthening the top and the two sides (but keeping the bottom the same)? Ideally, the 13.3" screen still mounts the same way as the 12" screen? Anything special for the wifi/WWAN antennae?

TankPad
Sophomore Member
Posts: 181
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2017 1:40 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#269 Post by TankPad » Wed Mar 08, 2017 8:24 pm

A fresh craft knife will be more than capable. You can then use a file to profile the edge to match the original style.
TheChuckster wrote:
TankPad wrote:As for the bezel, I think the best way to approach it is with a sharp blade and a metal rule. Then a rub down with a fine file or a suitable sandpaper. I have an entire spare lid here that I plan to mod first, as a practice.
What blade are you using? I have a Kershaw fold-er, but I don't think the blade is sharp enough.

How are you shaping the bezel? Are you just lengthening the top and the two sides (but keeping the bottom the same)? Ideally, the 13.3" screen still mounts the same way as the 12" screen? Anything special for the wifi/WWAN antennae?
| 701c | X220 | T420 | X230 | T430s |

mito
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2016 6:11 am
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#270 Post by mito » Thu Mar 09, 2017 6:23 pm

agarza wrote:Hi nitro.

I'm definitely interested in getting one kit from you, I just came late to this thread.
It would be nice to get a notification once you will start or decide to provision more kits.

Thanks
I preordered one kit, but I'm willing to spare it for you. If nitrocaster agrees, he can reallocate my kit to you.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad X200/201/220 and X300/301 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests