Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

X200, X201, X220 (including equivalent tablet models) and X300, X301 series specific matters only.
Message
Author
cherryblue
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2017 5:58 am
Location: Bautzen, Germany

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#721 Post by cherryblue » Mon Nov 13, 2017 7:58 am

nitrocaster wrote:
Wed Oct 25, 2017 6:30 pm
@cherryblue:

If Windows constantly looses recognition of FHD display when your machine is not installed in the dock, then you have at least one of these issues:
1] Bad soldering between the adapter board and the motherboard - put new flux, apply more heat (don't poke or push plated holes, just touch and make sure the solder flows inside)
2] Bad FHD display (the only way to troubleshoot this is to test with another display)
3] Bad eDP cable (same as 2, need to get a known good replacement to test with)
4] Bad motherboard (did it work with external monitor on dock DP#2 before?)
@ nitrocaster: thanks!
It was a faulty FHD panel. I received a LP125WF2-SPB3 panel and modded a second thinkpad. This mod worked instantly. By exchanging components I could verify that my B125HAN02.0 panel is misbehaving.

Taping those pins of both of my "UltraBase Series 3" docking stations is required nevertheless.

Quantumcross
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2017 7:06 pm
Location: NY

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#722 Post by Quantumcross » Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:06 pm

Hi Nitrocaster, I'm still enjoying my mod, even though I messed up the sense wire.

I've finally put the effort in to patch my kernel and I get so much more battery life, and now I can't screw myself over when I use xrandr to use an external display and accidentally lock myself out of no display with the mirrored displays hack.

The next problem I would like to solve is this:
I use LUKS full disk encryption on Debian. I'm sure it would be similar for other operating systems, but I think it is outputting the display to LVDS during the stage where it asks for my encryption passphrase. Is there any way to set the correct (eDP) output during this stage of boot?

It is interesting because my boot goes like this:

1. SeaBIOS -- No display (I cannot see anything, possibly fixed with coreboot patch?)
2. GRUB -- Display works
3. Enter encryption passphrase -- No display (I have to type my encryption passphrase blind, which is fine)
4. Booted terminal -- Display works (Everything works here, kernel is fully loaded and LVDS is disabled)

The reason I would like to fix this is because if there is some upgrade that breaks my LUKS config it would be difficult to fix. I would have to move my hard drive to another computer to debug it.

adek
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2017 11:00 pm
Location: Kyiv City, Ukraine

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#723 Post by adek » Thu Nov 16, 2017 4:07 pm

Quantumcross wrote:
Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:06 pm
The next problem I would like to solve is this:
I use LUKS full disk encryption on Debian. I'm sure it would be similar for other operating systems, but I think it is outputting the display to LVDS during the stage where it asks for my encryption passphrase. Is there any way to set the correct (eDP) output during this stage of boot?

It is interesting because my boot goes like this:

1. SeaBIOS -- No display (I cannot see anything, possibly fixed with coreboot patch?)
2. GRUB -- Display works
3. Enter encryption passphrase -- No display (I have to type my encryption passphrase blind, which is fine)
4. Booted terminal -- Display works (Everything works here, kernel is fully loaded and LVDS is disabled)

The reason I would like to fix this is because if there is some upgrade that breaks my LUKS config it would be difficult to fix. I would have to move my hard drive to another computer to debug it.
In modified 1.43 version of BIOS firmware there is Advanced menu item. I have some graphics settings in it.

May be you could activate it blindly by some specific navigation (boot moment 10 secs of f1 typing - Enter - 2*right - 8*down - Enter - 2*down - Enter - Enter)
If all correct, you in this options menu

https://i.imgur.com/4Yu7G9c.jpg

1*down is PEG selecting graphics card
3*down is Auto selecting graphics card
and so on
After that just Enter - F10 - Enter
And, on some luck, you finally have correct working screen on all boot stages.


Admin warning: picture WAY too big, tags removed.
Please read the Forum Rules, especially Section 5:
viewtopic.php?f=16&t=14339

Quantumcross
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2017 7:06 pm
Location: NY

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#724 Post by Quantumcross » Thu Nov 16, 2017 5:01 pm

Sorry it wasn't clear from my reply, but I'm using coreboot.

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 566
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#725 Post by nitrocaster » Sat Nov 18, 2017 4:30 am

I got some good news: assembly scheduled on Monday, Nov 20.
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

mindcomputing
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2017 7:49 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#726 Post by mindcomputing » Wed Nov 22, 2017 7:04 pm

Bought two authentic SPB4 panels of aliexpress seller
Store:
Xin He Electronics Co., Ltd.

order total was 115.64 USD for both panels well packed and delivered to my door step
thanks to clever markings for the german customs I was not force to pay any further taxes

LCD Frame Bezel
Value 23 USD

so its just roughly 49 EUR per Panel I paid
which even BEATS the price for the 1366x768 Premium HD IPS Panel which is cheapest available for well over 65 EUR
so why should i consider lets resolution for double the price, sure FHD panels requires modding and soldering, but its a thinkpad it can handle it!
T530 i7-3632QM 2x8GB LP156WF1 BDR-TD05 AW-CB160H Crucial MX300 750GB W10/x64 soon macOS X
X230 i7-3520M 2x8GB 1366×768 TN Toshiba Q300 960GB SSD 9Cell battery X220PalmRestClassicKeyboardMod
X230 i5-3320M 2x8GB 1366x768 TN Intel Pro-2500-SSD 480GB 4Cell Battery

mvan
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 8:10 pm

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#727 Post by mvan » Thu Nov 23, 2017 5:35 pm

Hi
I have a modded X220.
It seems that under Debian with kernel 4.12 everything works fine, but under 4.13 I get no login image (so it is likely an Xorg issue).
Did anybody else notice this ? Any fix?

Perhaps related to
bugs.launchpad.net/linux/+bug/1724639


I did not apply a BIOS or kernel patch but did define
/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/00-DP3.conf
as
Section "monitor"
Modeline "1920x1080_60" 173.00 1920 2048 2248 2576 1080 1083 1088 1120 -hsync +vsync
Option "PreferredMode" "1920x1080_60"
Identifier "DP3"
EndSection

Section "monitor"
Modeline "1920x1080_60" 173.00 1920 2048 2248 2576 1080 1083 1088 1120 -hsync +vsync
Option "PreferredMode" "1920x1080_60"
Identifier "DP-3"
EndSection

ProFfeSsoRr
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 2:58 am
Location: Novosibirsk, Russia

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#728 Post by ProFfeSsoRr » Fri Dec 01, 2017 3:25 am

Hello, anybody use modern linux kernel (i.e. 4.13, 4.14) with patch https://gist.github.com/nitrocaster/2bb ... d162a48c73 ? Second section of this patch doesn't work and I don't know how to fix this patch :(

ka_phi
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2017 3:52 am
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#729 Post by ka_phi » Fri Dec 01, 2017 4:41 am

Hi,
please see my post here viewtopic.php?p=807177#p807177 for kernel 4.12.12.
For kernel 4.13.12 the line numbers changed slightly:
1. block: @@ -109,8 +109,7 @@
2. block: @@ -5059,7 +5059,7 @@
3. block: @@ -622,201 +622,10 @@

Please don't forget to put your own model number in the DMI_MATCH at the end of the patch.

ProFfeSsoRr
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 2:58 am
Location: Novosibirsk, Russia

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#730 Post by ProFfeSsoRr » Fri Dec 01, 2017 2:40 pm

ka_phi wrote:
Fri Dec 01, 2017 4:41 am
my post here viewtopic.php?p=807177#p807177 for kernel 4.12.12.
For kernel 4.13.12 the line numbers changed slightly:
1. block: @@ -109,8 +109,7 @@
2. block: @@ -5059,7 +5059,7 @@
3. block: @@ -622,201 +622,10 @@
Thank you! Works on 4.14.3 perfectly too!

Fusion
Sophomore Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 9:34 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#731 Post by Fusion » Wed Dec 06, 2017 4:25 pm

Any idea when these might be shipping? I need to know so that I can plan ordering the screen and hopefully have both parts by Xmas.
ThinkPad X220, i7-2640m, 16GB RAM, 120GB Kingston SSD, Intel HD3000, 12.5" WQHD, MacOS Sierra 10.13.2
ThinkPad W500 4063-VA4 CD2 Penryn 2,80GHz, 4GB RAM, 320GB HDD, 15.4" WUXGA, FireGL V5700, Win7u
ThinkPad R60 9461-DXG P-CD2 1,83GHz, 2GB 667MHz, 100GB HDD, ATI X1400@512MB, XP2 Pro

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 566
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#732 Post by nitrocaster » Wed Dec 06, 2017 4:27 pm

Boards were released from assembly yesterday. Now I just need to find the time to pick them up.
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

mr.rhtuner
Freshman Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 11:31 pm
Location: London, Ontario, Canada

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#733 Post by mr.rhtuner » Tue Dec 12, 2017 4:27 pm

Hey guys, I'm a bit confused at the dock situation.

The FAQ outines:

Q: Does this mod affect left-side DisplayPort connector?
A: No. The adapter board connects to Dock DisplayPort #2.

Q: Can I use docking station with this mod?
A: You can use UltraBase Series 3 without any problem. However, when using Mini Dock Series 3, the internal display will go blank (and second DVI/DisplayPort on dock will be non functional). To overcome this issue, you can tape a row of DP#2 pins inside the docking connector. A guide for this will be posted soon.


How does this work? I thought with this FHD mod being performed, that the DisplayPort Docking output wouldn't work?

With the X230 FHD mod installed, can I use two external monitors + the FHD screen?

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 566
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#734 Post by nitrocaster » Tue Dec 12, 2017 4:32 pm

mr.rhtuner wrote:
Tue Dec 12, 2017 4:27 pm
With the X230 FHD mod installed, can I use two external monitors + the FHD screen?
Yes, you can. But:
1] Brightness control won't work
2] The first monitor has to be connected to the left miniDP and the second one has to be connected to DP#1 on dock
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

mr.rhtuner
Freshman Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 11:31 pm
Location: London, Ontario, Canada

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#735 Post by mr.rhtuner » Wed Dec 13, 2017 11:31 am

nitrocaster wrote:
Tue Dec 12, 2017 4:32 pm
mr.rhtuner wrote:
Tue Dec 12, 2017 4:27 pm
With the X230 FHD mod installed, can I use two external monitors + the FHD screen?
Yes, you can. But:
1] Brightness control won't work
2] The first monitor has to be connected to the left miniDP and the second one has to be connected to DP#1 on dock

Okay, understood.
I'm guessing there is nothing that can be done for the brightness then? sorry, I haven't had time to read all the posts here.

So using DVI or VGA is out of the question then?
Last edited by mr.rhtuner on Wed Dec 13, 2017 11:36 am, edited 1 time in total.

dr_st
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7546
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#736 Post by dr_st » Wed Dec 13, 2017 11:36 am

VGA you can always use, independently of DP. It's a completely separate channel. When docked, you should use the dock VGA, as the laptop VGA is disabled.

On the Mini-Dock, DP#1 goes to the DP out, and DP#2 goes to the DVI out, so that will be disabled. The Mini-Dock Plus has a splitter on each input signal, so you can use either DP#1 or DVI#1, and the 2nd pair of ports will be disabled.
Thinkpad 25 (20K7), X1 Carbon (20HQ), Yoga 14 (20FY), T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X220 4291-4BG, X61 7673-V2V
T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X32 (IPS Screen), A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad, A21m 2628-GXU

evening_hunger
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 264
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 2:55 pm
Location: Normandy, France

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#737 Post by evening_hunger » Thu Dec 14, 2017 1:58 pm

nitrocaster wrote:
Wed Dec 06, 2017 4:27 pm
Boards were released from assembly yesterday. Now I just need to find the time to pick them up.
Any updates on the current batch?
x320/i7-2620M/8GB/256gb.ssd/FHD13.3''IPS/debian_testing (main driver)
x230/i5/8GB/500gb.hdd+256gb.m2ssd/IPS/debian_stable+win7 (better half)

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 566
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#738 Post by nitrocaster » Thu Dec 14, 2017 2:19 pm

evening_hunger wrote:
Thu Dec 14, 2017 1:58 pm
Any updates on the current batch?
Yeah! I received the boards a couple of days ago. There are some defects, but the overall quality is quite good. Now, because some of you guys wanted to have your orders shipped before Christmas, I'm going to prepare and ship first orders on this weekend and then take care of the rest.

There are also bad news: the whole batch of 420 kits is reserved, which means it's going to be completely sold out if everybody who submitted the form pays his invoice. The form still accepts new submissions, but keep in mind the above information.
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

evening_hunger
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 264
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 2:55 pm
Location: Normandy, France

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#739 Post by evening_hunger » Thu Dec 14, 2017 7:43 pm

nitrocaster wrote:
Thu Dec 14, 2017 2:19 pm
There are also bad news: the whole batch of 420 kits is reserved, which means it's going to be completely sold out if everybody who submitted the form pays his invoice. The form still accepts new submissions, but keep in mind the above information.
Glad to hear that. Well, theoretically I'm one of the lucky ones, so not really a bad news. Good to see the business is thriving man!
x320/i7-2620M/8GB/256gb.ssd/FHD13.3''IPS/debian_testing (main driver)
x230/i5/8GB/500gb.hdd+256gb.m2ssd/IPS/debian_stable+win7 (better half)

masterplanet
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2017 8:56 am
Location: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#740 Post by masterplanet » Fri Dec 15, 2017 8:58 am

nitrocaster wrote:
Thu Dec 14, 2017 2:19 pm
Yeah! I received the boards a couple of days ago. There are some defects, but the overall quality is quite good. Now, because some of you guys wanted to have your orders shipped before Christmas, I'm going to prepare and ship first orders on this weekend and then take care of the rest.

There are also bad news: the whole batch of 420 kits is reserved, which means it's going to be completely sold out if everybody who submitted the form pays his invoice. The form still accepts new submissions, but keep in mind the above information.
Just bought my first x220 hoping to do this mod. I know you're hard at work getting the current batch out, but any news on extras that aren't paid for or hope for a 4th batch?

Webserfer
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 6:16 am
Location: Canberra, Australia

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#741 Post by Webserfer » Sat Dec 16, 2017 8:44 pm

nitrocaster wrote:
Thu Dec 14, 2017 2:19 pm
evening_hunger wrote:
Thu Dec 14, 2017 1:58 pm
Any updates on the current batch?
Yeah! I received the boards a couple of days ago. There are some defects, but the overall quality is quite good. Now, because some of you guys wanted to have your orders shipped before Christmas, I'm going to prepare and ship first orders on this weekend and then take care of the rest.

There are also bad news: the whole batch of 420 kits is reserved, which means it's going to be completely sold out if everybody who submitted the form pays his invoice. The form still accepts new submissions, but keep in mind the above information.
nitrocaster, I just received my invoice, is it ok that I pay Thursday as that's when I get paid?

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 566
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#742 Post by nitrocaster » Sun Dec 17, 2017 1:12 am

Yes, no problem.
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 566
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#743 Post by nitrocaster » Sun Dec 17, 2017 9:50 pm

I made the order status spreadsheet for batch #3.
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

schhlomoslab
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2017 8:28 pm
Location: Rochester, NY USA

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#744 Post by schhlomoslab » Mon Dec 18, 2017 8:32 pm

Hello friends. I'd been searching for this for so long and am so glad to have found this thread. Thanks to nitrocaster and everyone else who has contributed. Dying to make this platform more usable!

Forgive me if this has come up in another thread, and if so please point me in the right direction.

I have 2 x230 and would love to have support in doing the modification to install the 1080p display and the adapter kit. I just do not have enough skill and confidence to do this work myself. I am glad to pay for the service and parts!

Are there any people out there who provide this service or could do this mod? If so, please forward a link if there is a page, or send me a PM with the contact information.

Many thanks!

evillawngnome
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 3:45 pm
Location: Louisville, KY

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#745 Post by evillawngnome » Wed Dec 20, 2017 4:55 pm

Have all of the invoices not gone out yet? I still haven't seen mine.

ghzroy
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2017 4:34 pm
Location: Duisburg, Germany

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#746 Post by ghzroy » Wed Dec 20, 2017 5:04 pm

schhlomoslab wrote:Hello friends. I'd been searching for this for so long and am so glad to have found this thread. Thanks to nitrocaster and everyone else who has contributed. Dying to make this platform more usable!

Forgive me if this has come up in another thread, and if so please point me in the right direction.

I have 2 x230 and would love to have support in doing the modification to install the 1080p display and the adapter kit. I just do not have enough skill and confidence to do this work myself. I am glad to pay for the service and parts!

Are there any people out there who provide this service or could do this mod? If so, please forward a link if there is a page, or send me a PM with the contact information.

Many thanks!
I guess majority of people who are awaiting their kits are afraid to manage the mod of their own x220/x230... The ones that successfully modded already might no longer follow this thread.
Anyway, you should let people know where you are from, if you already ordered the boards, and if you sourced any of the available panel options yet.

jmill
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2017 9:38 am
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#747 Post by jmill » Wed Dec 20, 2017 6:18 pm

schhlomoslab wrote:
Mon Dec 18, 2017 8:32 pm
Hello friends. I'd been searching for this for so long and am so glad to have found this thread. Thanks to nitrocaster and everyone else who has contributed. Dying to make this platform more usable!

Forgive me if this has come up in another thread, and if so please point me in the right direction.

I have 2 x230 and would love to have support in doing the modification to install the 1080p display and the adapter kit. I just do not have enough skill and confidence to do this work myself. I am glad to pay for the service and parts!

Are there any people out there who provide this service or could do this mod? If so, please forward a link if there is a page, or send me a PM with the contact information.

Many thanks!
Maybe commenting generally: as someone who is not an EE by trade, I've been teaching myself to solder with progressively harder projects over the past 18 months. I have now repaired a great number of consumer electronics for friends and family (mostly lost causes), but I'm still a long ways away from feeling comfortable with doing something as important as this mod for someone else. Hopefully a more experienced/confident member will be able to help you or you can find someone locally. Although I will say that with the right setup (fine temp. control + precision tip + good quality lead solder), as long as you go slow and follow best practices, there really isn't much to fear. Perhaps practice your general skills while waiting for the board to arrive? I was in the same boat as you not too long ago and I just recently repacked my battery to have higher capacity/new cells and aside from the space constraints and working on the live control circuit, it went pretty smoothly, despite me being terrified the entire time.
ThinkPad X230, i7-3520m, 16GB RAM, 1Tb Crucial MX300, 1Tb Samsung 850 msata, Intel HD4000, 12.5" FHD

nitrocaster
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 566
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#748 Post by nitrocaster » Wed Dec 20, 2017 7:17 pm

Did anybody here buy NV125FHM-N62 screen to install it with the kit? I definitely remember that somebody bought a screen that has not been tested with the kit yet and said he wants to try it.

P.S.: Packing first 24 paid orders. I know, I said I'll ship on the weekend. I always fail with these estimates as each time something goes a bit wrong.
Want to buy X220/X230 FHD mod kit? Read this before sending me a PM!
T25 | X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

schhlomoslab
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2017 8:28 pm
Location: Rochester, NY USA

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#749 Post by schhlomoslab » Wed Dec 20, 2017 7:39 pm

ghzroy wrote:
Wed Dec 20, 2017 5:04 pm
schhlomoslab wrote:Hello friends. I'd been searching for this for so long and am so glad to have found this thread. Thanks to nitrocaster and everyone else who has contributed. Dying to make this platform more usable!

Forgive me if this has come up in another thread, and if so please point me in the right direction.

I have 2 x230 and would love to have support in doing the modification to install the 1080p display and the adapter kit. I just do not have enough skill and confidence to do this work myself. I am glad to pay for the service and parts!

Are there any people out there who provide this service or could do this mod? If so, please forward a link if there is a page, or send me a PM with the contact information.

Many thanks!
I guess majority of people who are awaiting their kits are afraid to manage the mod of their own x220/x230... The ones that successfully modded already might no longer follow this thread.
Anyway, you should let people know where you are from, if you already ordered the boards, and if you sourced any of the available panel options yet.
This is good advice! Thank you!

I'm in Rochester, NY USA. My interest is in finding someone who is qualified to install this kit in 1 x230 machine. I am currently on the waiting list and will order a kit as soon as possible. I'd be willing to ship the machine to the technician, and pay for service including return shipping.

If any one out there could help, I'd be so grateful.

Many thanks,

_S

x3kcl
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2017 8:45 am
Location: Switzerland

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to FHD 1080p

#750 Post by x3kcl » Thu Dec 21, 2017 4:29 pm

nitrocaster wrote:
Wed Dec 20, 2017 7:17 pm
Did anybody here buy NV125FHM-N62 screen to install it with the kit? I definitely remember that somebody bought a screen that has not been tested with the kit yet and said he wants to try it.

P.S.: Packing first 24 paid orders. I know, I said I'll ship on the weekend. I always fail with these estimates as each time something goes a bit wrong.
Yea, I got a NV125FHM-N62 here but I did not get the invitation to pay yet. (order 366)

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad X200/201/220 and X300/301 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests