Upgrading X220/X230 to WQHD 1440p

X200, X201, X220 (including equivalent tablet models) and X300, X301 series specific matters only.
Post Reply

Would you pay ~$60 for WQHD kit for X220/X230?

Already have (or ordered) FHD kit, would buy WQHD kit
12
25%
Already have (or ordered) FHD kit, not interested
9
19%
Don't have and did not order FHD kit, would buy WQHD kit
18
38%
Don't have and did not order FHD kit, not interested at all
3
6%
Would buy WQHD kit for X220T/X230T (even if FHD kit for X220T/X230T is available)
6
13%
 
Total votes: 48

Message
Author
nitrocaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 488
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Upgrading X220/X230 to WQHD 1440p

#1 Post by nitrocaster » Mon Dec 26, 2016 6:45 am

There's no kit yet, but I'd like to make a new poll since the question in the order form for FHD kit might be taken as 'would you buy WQHD kit instead of FHD one'.
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

x3o2
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 5:42 am
Location: Germany

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to WQHD 1440p

#2 Post by x3o2 » Mon Dec 26, 2016 8:32 am

The max my eyes can take for a longer time on a 12,5'' is FHD.

I got a 14'' machine with WQHD here. With this resolution the panel should not be smaller for my eyes.

Maybe you should add to your poll: not interested in WQHD, waiting for FHD.

nitrocaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 488
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to WQHD 1440p

#3 Post by nitrocaster » Mon Dec 26, 2016 9:57 am

x3o2 wrote:The max my eyes can take for a longer time on a 12,5'' is FHD.

I got a 14'' machine with WQHD here. With this resolution the panel should not be smaller for my eyes.
My opinion is the same, but there are some people here who want WQHD.
x3o2 wrote:Maybe you should add to your poll: not interested in WQHD, waiting for FHD.
Those who want FHD can make an order once it's available again.
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

dogeitrade
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 3:15 pm
Location: United States

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to WQHD 1440p

#4 Post by dogeitrade » Mon Dec 26, 2016 11:16 pm

imo qhd might be too overkill for the x230

Tasurinchi
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2027
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 8:38 am
Location: Zurich, Switzerland

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to WQHD 1440p

#5 Post by Tasurinchi » Tue Jan 03, 2017 9:00 am

While such a resolution would be overkill, I would still be very interested to mod a X2x0 :wink:

Although a T430 would be a better platform for WQHD IMO...
IBM Convertible 5140/L40SX/220/240/240X/2*340CSE/360PE/365XD/380D/380E/380XD/380Z/390/560E/560X/2*570/2*600/600E/750Cs/755C/760CD/760EL/760XD/770E
A20p/A22p/A31/i1600/G40/R50p/R61i/S30/SL510/2*T22/4*T4x/11*T6x/6*T40x/6*T5x0/3*W5x0/W700/3*X2x/4*X3x/3*X4x/5*X6x/3*X6xT/12*X2xx/4*X30x/Z60m/3*Z61x

seasonshu
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2016 4:55 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to WQHD 1440p

#6 Post by seasonshu » Sat Jan 07, 2017 8:12 am

Voted.

I was really interested getting a QHD kit for the X230. Generally, I don't mind small fonts as long as the display is sharp. Seeing the FHD screen in real life, I must say it's pretty much enough for the 12.5" form.
I would have preferred the ratio 16:10, like 1920x1200 instead but no such panel is available and the frame would need extensive modding.

I am not sure how it's going to work out, but decided to use two X230 FHD machines for the road instead. (Fortunately, I don't often need to be on the go).

ajtakrajta
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2017 3:12 am
Location: Caslav, Czechia

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to WQHD 1440p

#7 Post by ajtakrajta » Mon Jan 09, 2017 4:16 am

Guys, can you please describe me how are you using FHD on 12.5" screen? I suppose you are running Windows with a 150% scaling or similar. I would prefer WQHD on 12.5" because of Linux and 2x HiDPI rendering. It's would be almost like an original 1366x768 resolution, but with much smoother pixels.

crashnburn
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 4:26 pm
Location: TX, USA & Bombay, India

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to WQHD 1440p

#8 Post by crashnburn » Mon Jan 09, 2017 5:31 am

Anyone have any luck with getting this done?
T61 8892-02U: 14.1"SXGA+/2.2C2D/4G/XP|Adv Mini Dock|30" Gateway XHD3000 WQXGA via Dual-link DVI
X61T 7767-96U: 12.1"SXGA+/1.6C2D/3G/Vista|Ultrabase
W510 4319-2PU: 15.6"FHD/i7-720QM/4G/Win7Pro64 (for dad)
T43 1875-DLU: 14.1"XGA/1.7PM-740/1G/XP (Old)

nitrocaster
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 488
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 8:38 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to WQHD 1440p

#9 Post by nitrocaster » Mon Jan 09, 2017 5:32 am

ajtakrajta wrote:Guys, can you please describe me how are you using FHD on 12.5" screen? I suppose you are running Windows with a 150% scaling or similar. I would prefer WQHD on 12.5" because of Linux and 2x HiDPI rendering. It's would be almost like an original 1366x768 resolution, but with much smoother pixels.
I use it without scaling. Lots of screen estate is the main reason I made it.
For those who interested in buying X220/X230 FHD kit: Read this before sending me a PM!
X230: i7-3520M | 16GB RAM | 512GB M.2 Micron M600 | LG LP125WF2-SPB4 FHD IPS | 9c Li-Ion | Win8.1 Pro 64

jcvjcvjcvjcv
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 726
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 8:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to WQHD 1440p

#10 Post by jcvjcvjcvjcv » Mon Jan 09, 2017 7:39 am

For actual content, many application offer perfect scaling. For interfaces; after some time you already know what button lives where, so it doesn't need to be that big.

Enabling scaling in Windows is just a guarantee that something will look ugly
W520
T61

dr_st
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 6906
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to WQHD 1440p

#11 Post by dr_st » Mon Jan 09, 2017 11:35 am

jcvjcvjcvjcv wrote:For actual content, many application offer perfect scaling.
And some don't...
jcvjcvjcvjcv wrote:Enabling scaling in Windows is just a guarantee that something will look ugly
It's been improving little by little with each new release. In 8.1/10 it's really not that bad. Actually 8.1 seems to be better. In Win10 by default some apps were blurry, but when I installed the DPI Fix utility (which allegedly uses the 8.1 algorithms), I get everything looking sharp both on 100% and 125%.
Current: X220 4291-4BG, T410 2537-R46, T60 1952-F76, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G
Collectibles: T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X32 (IPS Screen)
Retired: X61 7673-V2V, A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad
Past: Z61t 9440-A23, T60 2623-D3U, X32 2884-M5U

apojoga
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2005 9:33 am

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to WQHD 1440p

#12 Post by apojoga » Tue Jan 10, 2017 12:17 am

ajtakrajta wrote:Guys, can you please describe me how are you using FHD on 12.5" screen? I suppose you are running Windows with a 150% scaling or similar. I would prefer WQHD on 12.5" because of Linux and 2x HiDPI rendering. It's would be almost like an original 1366x768 resolution, but with much smoother pixels.
I run it at 125% scaling. It's gorgeous. I wouldn't mind any higher resolution, either, 1440p... 2160p... would be all fine. I'd just bump up the DPI scaling and enjoy the incredibly gorgeous fonts.
X220 i7-2640M | FHD IPS 12.5" | 16GB @ 1866 | 256GB mSATA | 2TB 5400 HDD

carcuevas
Freshman Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 10:53 am
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to WQHD 1440p

#13 Post by carcuevas » Thu Jan 19, 2017 4:34 pm

I don't know about you, but I am already nearly a couple of weeks with the FHD mod, and I can say its enough, 1440P maybe it will be too much...
Running Debian on x230 (i5-3320m-12GB-250GB Samsung 850EVO-FHD mod by Nitrocaster + LP125WF2SPB4)

Quantumcross
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2017 7:06 pm
Location: Rochester, NY

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to WQHD 1440p

#14 Post by Quantumcross » Fri Jan 20, 2017 12:14 am

I would definitely purchase a 1440p kit. You can scale everything to whatever size you want... You will just get finer details and crisper text.

carcuevas
Freshman Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2016 10:53 am
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to WQHD 1440p

#15 Post by carcuevas » Fri Jan 20, 2017 9:19 am

Quantumcross wrote:I would definitely purchase a 1440p kit. You can scale everything to whatever size you want... You will just get finer details and crisper text.

That's for sure, but I can tell you that with Nitrocaster FHD mod and the LP125WF2SPB4 it's already really fine, well for me more than enough... :) but it's question of taste I guess :)
Running Debian on x230 (i5-3320m-12GB-250GB Samsung 850EVO-FHD mod by Nitrocaster + LP125WF2SPB4)

StefanKo
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 2:54 pm
Location: Aachen, Germany

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to WQHD 1440p

#16 Post by StefanKo » Fri Jan 20, 2017 2:24 pm

I already have a FHD kit, and the resolution will definitely be enough for me.

Yet, I cannot wonder how a chromebook retina display LP129QE1 (2560×1700) would look in an x220.
Contrary to the 13 inch 16:9 screens, it is NOT wider than the thinkpad, even less wide than the original display, but with 3:2 it is very high! Almost as high as the display cover...

edit: And these displays are astonishingly cheap!
using an X220 (i3->i5->i7, hopefully soon FHD IPS), an X41 (SSD via (m)sata-Mod, IPS, ~100Wh custom battery);
playing with an T430u(buntu), storing a T22, X41t, T42, R61, T61p;
and taking care of the T420s (FHD IPS) of my wife

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 18215
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Contact:

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to WQHD 1440p

#17 Post by RealBlackStuff » Fri Jan 20, 2017 2:55 pm

The height of that LCD with attached LED-sub-panel is 203.1 mm.
That won't fit inside the lid, even if you cut everything away...
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

StefanKo
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 2:54 pm
Location: Aachen, Germany

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to WQHD 1440p

#18 Post by StefanKo » Fri Jan 20, 2017 3:11 pm

Ah, I thought the outline given by panelook would be with PCB.
I should have looked into the datasheet :-/

Still... my displaycover has 205 mm space from the inner edge at the top to the inner edge at the bottom. And the PCB should fit between the hinges. The status lights would have to go, of course.

The hinges would still be a problem, because there are parts reaching upwards into the cover that would be in the way of the display. One would have to make them thinner.
using an X220 (i3->i5->i7, hopefully soon FHD IPS), an X41 (SSD via (m)sata-Mod, IPS, ~100Wh custom battery);
playing with an T430u(buntu), storing a T22, X41t, T42, R61, T61p;
and taking care of the T420s (FHD IPS) of my wife

crashnburn
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 4:26 pm
Location: TX, USA & Bombay, India

Re: Upgrading X220/X230 to WQHD 1440p

#19 Post by crashnburn » Wed Mar 29, 2017 3:10 am

I wouldnt mind an X series or T series with High Res.
T61 8892-02U: 14.1"SXGA+/2.2C2D/4G/XP|Adv Mini Dock|30" Gateway XHD3000 WQXGA via Dual-link DVI
X61T 7767-96U: 12.1"SXGA+/1.6C2D/3G/Vista|Ultrabase
W510 4319-2PU: 15.6"FHD/i7-720QM/4G/Win7Pro64 (for dad)
T43 1875-DLU: 14.1"XGA/1.7PM-740/1G/XP (Old)

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad X200/201/220 and X300/301 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests