Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Is it possible to upgrade to 12 G of RAM (4 G + 8 G)?

X200, X201, X220 (including equivalent tablet models) and X300, X301 series specific matters only.
Post Reply
Message
Author
paulwece
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2017 10:01 am
Location: Columbia, MO

Is it possible to upgrade to 12 G of RAM (4 G + 8 G)?

#1 Post by paulwece » Sun Jul 02, 2017 10:07 am

Hi,

I just bought a refurbished X220 (specs are below). I wonder if it's possible to replace one of the 4G ram with a 8G ram for a total of 12 G, or does both ram cards has to be the same? Currently it has 8 G of ram (two 4 g ram).

I also read that it has to be 1333 mhz right? If you can recommend one that'll work I'd appreciate it. thanks

Manufacturer: Lenovo
Model: Thinkpad X220 Laptop Lenovo
CPU: Intel® Core™ i5-2520M Processor 2.50GHZ (3M Cache, up to 3.30 GHz)
RAM: 8G DDR3 (2x4GB)
Hard Drive: 128GB Solid STATE DRIVE SSD Sata 2.5" SUPER FAST performance
Graphics: Intel® Integrated HD Graphics
Screen: 12.5" HD (1366x768) LED Backlit Display
Optical: no
Webcam: N/A
Network: 10/100/1000 Gigabit Ethernet - Intel® Centrino® Advanced-N 6205 AGN
Interfaces: (1) DisplayPort with audio (1) VGA (3) USB 2.0 4-in-1 SD Card Reader (SD/SDHC/SDXC/MMC slot) (1) Express Card 54mm
COA: Windows 10 Professional

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 19389
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to upgrade to 12 G of RAM (4 G + 8 G)?

#2 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sun Jul 02, 2017 10:30 am

Yes, you can put in max. 2x8GB=16GB, either 1366 or 1600.
Do NOT put in 1866 or low-voltage (1.35V) DDR3L.
Both of your modules SHOULD have the same speed.
Use well-known brands such as Crucial, Hynix, Elpida, Samsung, Axiom, G.Skill.
Avoid so-called Value Ram.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

Thinkpad4by3
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1816
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: Is it possible to upgrade to 12 G of RAM (4 G + 8 G)?

#3 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Sun Jul 02, 2017 9:01 pm

Also, woth mismatched sticks, you may not be able to run dual channel mode, decreasing performance. To what degree, IDK.

Sent from my SM-G550T using Tapatalk

Thinkpad4by3's Law of the Universe.

The efficiency of two screens equally sized with equal numbers if pixels are equal. The time spent by a 4:3 user complaining about 16:9 is proportional to the inefficiency working with a 16:9 display, therefore the amount of useful work extracted is equal.

ThinkGreen
Freshman Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2012 12:08 pm
Location: Montignoso (MS) - Italy
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to upgrade to 12 G of RAM (4 G + 8 G)?

#4 Post by ThinkGreen » Sat Aug 25, 2018 2:50 am

I restart from this topic because I've a similar question.

I need to update my configuration:

- 2 Gb: Samsung PC3-10700 (667 MHz) M471B5773CHS-CH9
- 4 Gb: Crucial PC3-8500F (533 MHz) CT51264BC1067.M16F

How could I upgrade both modules to improve performance as more as possible ?
Be happy if You have some doubts.

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 19389
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to upgrade to 12 G of RAM (4 G + 8 G)?

#5 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sat Aug 25, 2018 5:32 am

See my first post in this thread.

ThinkGreen
Freshman Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2012 12:08 pm
Location: Montignoso (MS) - Italy
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to upgrade to 12 G of RAM (4 G + 8 G)?

#6 Post by ThinkGreen » Sat Aug 25, 2018 6:25 pm

So would the best choice be a pair of 2x8Gb of DDR3 at 1600 MHz ?
Be happy if You have some doubts.

skx
Freshman Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2018 6:25 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Is it possible to upgrade to 12 G of RAM (4 G + 8 G)?

#7 Post by skx » Sun Aug 26, 2018 7:39 am

ThinkGreen wrote:
Sat Aug 25, 2018 6:25 pm
So would the best choice be a pair of 2x8Gb of DDR3 at 1600 MHz ?
I would add a 2nd 4 Gb: Crucial PC3-8500F (533 MHz) CT51264BC1067.M16F

Cost benefit wise, better solution, 8Gb is sufficient for normal usage, only if your are into heavy virtual machine usage going up to 16Gb would make sense.
ThinkPad X220: i5-2520M CPU 2.5GHz - 8GB RAM 1333 MHz - SSD 860 EVO 250GB - Debian Stretch
ThinkPad X230: i5-3320M CPU 3.3GHz - 8GB RAM 1600 MHz - SSD 860 EVO 500GB - Debian Stretch

ThinkGreen
Freshman Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2012 12:08 pm
Location: Montignoso (MS) - Italy
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to upgrade to 12 G of RAM (4 G + 8 G)?

#8 Post by ThinkGreen » Sun Aug 26, 2018 8:01 am

And now You have 2 models of 4 GB in dual mode ?
skx wrote:
ThinkGreen wrote:
Sat Aug 25, 2018 6:25 pm
So would the best choice be a pair of 2x8Gb of DDR3 at 1600 MHz ?
I would add a 2nd 4 Gb: Crucial PC3-8500F (533 MHz) CT51264BC1067.M16F

Cost benefit wise, better solution, 8Gb is sufficient for normal usage, only if your are into heavy virtual machine usage going up to 16Gb would make sense.
Be happy if You have some doubts.

skx
Freshman Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2018 6:25 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Is it possible to upgrade to 12 G of RAM (4 G + 8 G)?

#9 Post by skx » Sun Aug 26, 2018 9:01 am

ThinkGreen wrote:
Sun Aug 26, 2018 8:01 am
And now You have 2 models of 4 GB in dual mode ?
Sure, just buy exact same RAM and you will have dual mode. It is easy to find the exact same RAM via ebay for like an affordable 20usd/eur.
ThinkPad X220: i5-2520M CPU 2.5GHz - 8GB RAM 1333 MHz - SSD 860 EVO 250GB - Debian Stretch
ThinkPad X230: i5-3320M CPU 3.3GHz - 8GB RAM 1600 MHz - SSD 860 EVO 500GB - Debian Stretch

ThinkGreen
Freshman Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2012 12:08 pm
Location: Montignoso (MS) - Italy
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to upgrade to 12 G of RAM (4 G + 8 G)?

#10 Post by ThinkGreen » Sun Aug 26, 2018 9:33 am

I'm undecided on which is the real max supported frequency...
Be happy if You have some doubts.

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 19389
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to upgrade to 12 G of RAM (4 G + 8 G)?

#11 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sun Aug 26, 2018 10:32 am

I think that RAM frequency is only of limited interest to most people, unless you look for bragging rights.
If you'd need to do really big number-crunching, you wouldn't work on a laptop to begin with.
More important is to have RAM modules with the same speed and (preferably) the same size, so they can run in Dual-Channel mode.
But even Dual-Channel (or not) doesn't make all that much difference.

ThinkGreen
Freshman Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2012 12:08 pm
Location: Montignoso (MS) - Italy
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to upgrade to 12 G of RAM (4 G + 8 G)?

#12 Post by ThinkGreen » Sun Aug 26, 2018 1:24 pm

In think it's an important aspect.

Here is an interesting discussion about this argument, included the fact old bios supported 1866 MHz ram, too.

viewtopic.php?f=43&t=105882
Be happy if You have some doubts.

skx
Freshman Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2018 6:25 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Is it possible to upgrade to 12 G of RAM (4 G + 8 G)?

#13 Post by skx » Tue Aug 28, 2018 3:17 am

Its like people claiming FLAC is must have for listening music with an iPod. You will never consciously notice the difference.
ThinkPad X220: i5-2520M CPU 2.5GHz - 8GB RAM 1333 MHz - SSD 860 EVO 250GB - Debian Stretch
ThinkPad X230: i5-3320M CPU 3.3GHz - 8GB RAM 1600 MHz - SSD 860 EVO 500GB - Debian Stretch

ThinkGreen
Freshman Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2012 12:08 pm
Location: Montignoso (MS) - Italy
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to upgrade to 12 G of RAM (4 G + 8 G)?

#14 Post by ThinkGreen » Tue Aug 28, 2018 4:14 am

Are You sure ? From 1033 to 1600 could be a concrete improvement in day-to-day performance.
Be happy if You have some doubts.

dr_st
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7457
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am

Re: Is it possible to upgrade to 12 G of RAM (4 G + 8 G)?

#15 Post by dr_st » Tue Aug 28, 2018 9:13 am

ThinkGreen wrote:
Tue Aug 28, 2018 4:14 am
Are You sure ? From 1033 to 1600 could be a concrete improvement in day-to-day performance.
What are you basing this assumption on?
Thinkpad 25 (20K7), X1 Carbon (20HQ), Yoga 14 (20FY), T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X220 4291-4BG, X61 7673-V2V
T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X32 (IPS Screen), A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad, A21m 2628-GXU

ThinkGreen
Freshman Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2012 12:08 pm
Location: Montignoso (MS) - Italy
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to upgrade to 12 G of RAM (4 G + 8 G)?

#16 Post by ThinkGreen » Tue Aug 28, 2018 9:57 am

dr_st wrote:
ThinkGreen wrote:
Tue Aug 28, 2018 4:14 am
Are You sure ? From 1033 to 1600 could be a concrete improvement in day-to-day performance.
What are you basing this assumption on?
It's not an assumption, it's an hypothesis.
Do You know the difference?
Be happy if You have some doubts.

dr_st
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7457
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am

Re: Is it possible to upgrade to 12 G of RAM (4 G + 8 G)?

#17 Post by dr_st » Tue Aug 28, 2018 11:14 am

Thinkpad 25 (20K7), X1 Carbon (20HQ), Yoga 14 (20FY), T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X220 4291-4BG, X61 7673-V2V
T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X32 (IPS Screen), A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad, A21m 2628-GXU

Saucey
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 880
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 9:22 pm
Location: San Diego, California
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to upgrade to 12 G of RAM (4 G + 8 G)?

#18 Post by Saucey » Wed Aug 29, 2018 11:18 pm

If you're using 16GB RAM, having heavy usage (like 12GB or more), quadcore i7 pushing 85%+ & 'feel' the speed of the SSD, then that latency speed on RAM would show the significance.

Get the 1600MHz if it feels better to you. Personally I couldn't tell much of a difference.

If you're going to use a lot of layers on photoshop, or have a lot of chrome tabs, 12GB would be good enough. My T430s with XFCE handled 70 Chrome tabs fine, although I did have adblock on all that :)
Coffee, ThinkPads & Nikon Fan.

Current: PixelBook, Y50-70, T430
Collected: A31p, T43p, 2521
Past: W700ds, X1C3, 701C

GomJabbar
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9839
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 6:57 am

Re: Is it possible to upgrade to 12 G of RAM (4 G + 8 G)?

#19 Post by GomJabbar » Thu Aug 30, 2018 7:10 am

FWIW, I recently bought from Amazon: Crucial 16GB Kit (8GBx2) DDR3/DDR3L 1866 MT/s (PC3-14900) Unbuffered SODIMM 204-Pin Memory - CT2K102464BF186D and installed this kit in my X220 (bios version 1.26). I works just fine, and at full speed (as verified by CPU-Z).
Product description
Capacity:16GB Kit (8GBx2)

CT2KIT102464BF186D is a kit consisting of (2) 8GB DDR3L 1.35V Notebook module that operates at speeds up to 1866 MT/s and has a CL13 latency. It is dual voltage and can operate at 1.35V or 1.5V. It is Unbuffered and is non-ECC. It conforms to the industry standard SODIMM layout of 204 pins and is compatible with computers that take DDR3L SODIMM memory.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00JC ... UTF8&psc=1
DKB

ThinkGreen
Freshman Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2012 12:08 pm
Location: Montignoso (MS) - Italy
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to upgrade to 12 G of RAM (4 G + 8 G)?

#20 Post by ThinkGreen » Thu Aug 30, 2018 9:49 am

Saucey wrote:If you're using 16GB RAM, having heavy usage (like 12GB or more), quadcore i7 pushing 85%+ & 'feel' the speed of the SSD, then that latency speed on RAM would show the significance.

Get the 1600MHz if it feels better to you. Personally I couldn't tell much of a difference.

If you're going to use a lot of layers on photoshop, or have a lot of chrome tabs, 12GB would be good enough. My T430s with XFCE handled 70 Chrome tabs fine, although I did have adblock on all that :)
70 ? Personally never gone over 30 tabs, with adblock and great suspender on. :)
Be happy if You have some doubts.

ThinkGreen
Freshman Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2012 12:08 pm
Location: Montignoso (MS) - Italy
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to upgrade to 12 G of RAM (4 G + 8 G)?

#21 Post by ThinkGreen » Fri Aug 31, 2018 5:34 am

Which one among:
Kingston: kvr13s9s8/4
Crucial: ct51264bf160bj.m8fn
?
Be happy if You have some doubts.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad X200/201/220 and X300/301 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: wojtekS and 16 guests