Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

X200, X201, X220 (including equivalent tablet models) and X300, X301 series specific matters only.
Message
Author
boutch55555
Sophomore Member
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:18 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#61 Post by boutch55555 » Mon Mar 26, 2018 1:17 pm

Yes, it works without bios flash. I just sent you a PM with a link for the app.

apala4
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2018 4:16 pm
Location: Chernihiv, Ukraine

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#62 Post by apala4 » Mon Mar 26, 2018 1:45 pm

boutch55555 wrote:
Mon Mar 26, 2018 1:17 pm
Yes, it works without bios flash. I just sent you a PM with a link for the app.
thank you.
currently my x230 is disassembled so will check app a bit later.
could you please comment on the following:
by default win10 offers screen mirroring with 1024*768.
brightest adjustment does not work at all. tried f8-f9, Fn + f8-f9, short pressing power button, win10 bright adjustment app from tray. have I missed smth? should I recheck my soldering or it is expected behavior unless bios is patched?
should it be oissible to have brightest adjustable without app and/or bios modding?

boutch55555
Sophomore Member
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:18 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#63 Post by boutch55555 » Mon Mar 26, 2018 1:51 pm

You can disable the old screen, no mirroring needed for this board.

If short press on power button doesn't cycle brightness there might be a issue with the solders, I'll take a picture when I get back home.

The app will add another icon in the tray.

apala4
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2018 4:16 pm
Location: Chernihiv, Ukraine

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#64 Post by apala4 » Mon Mar 26, 2018 1:55 pm

boutch55555 wrote:
Mon Mar 26, 2018 1:51 pm
You can disable the old screen, no mirroring needed for this board.

If short press on power button doesn't cycle brightness there might be a issue with the solders, I'll take a picture when I get back home.

The app will add another icon in the tray.
yep, I tried to leave new screen only (second) in windows - no brightness changes thought.
looks like i need resolder some key points on PCB.

apala4
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2018 4:16 pm
Location: Chernihiv, Ukraine

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#65 Post by apala4 » Tue Mar 27, 2018 8:13 am

received 2pcs B133HAN04.6.
checked with the one - no brightness adjustment without app.
rechecked mod soldering - nothing suspicious.
with app hovewer, adjustment works properly - does it mean there are no issues with soldering?

image quality of B133HAN04.6 is equal to B133HAN04.9

now realized that I do not have a dremel to proceed with lid modification.
wanna save camera, stock wlan and wwan antennas.

what else I need..., dremel, epoxy to glue top lid and maybe some thick tape or rubber pads for LCD alignment ?

wojtekS
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 5:41 am
Location: Siemianowice Śląskie, Poland

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#66 Post by wojtekS » Wed Mar 28, 2018 2:12 am

The soldering of the board is tricky.

If the app works but not the button it must be a bad soldering - one of the solderings is taking the signal from a pin normally used for dock power button, probably just being connected in parallel to the laptop power button. That's the way the board gets the signal from the power button. See: http://plan9.stanleylieber.com/hardware ... matics.pdf page 59, pin number 100 (I suppose).

This is one of 3 solderings just over "X220_X230" marking on the board: https://gd1.alicdn.com/imgextra/i2/5139 ... 395226.jpg

I had some problemw with USB not working (I had the USB version of the board) and it begun to work after 2 or 3 resolderings...

For the bios setting of screen you should set to "Digital 2 on dock" it is funny, sometimes if set to "Thinkpad LCD" it displays the bios on the new screen sometimes not. No idea why - the same phenomen was observed with Nitrocaster board. So it is just safer to seto to "Digital 2 on dock". I also learned to make the photos how to enter step by step to this screen settings in bios... it happened to me after the bios was reverted to default I had a black screen during startup - the first thing that appeared on the new screen was windows starting. I had to borrow another machine to see the key sequence to change on mine...

apala4
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2018 4:16 pm
Location: Chernihiv, Ukraine

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#67 Post by apala4 » Wed Mar 28, 2018 2:50 am

wojtekS wrote:
Wed Mar 28, 2018 2:12 am
...
This is one of 3 solderings just over "X220_X230" marking on the board: https://gd1.alicdn.com/imgextra/i2/5139 ... 395226.jpg
...
For the bios setting of screen you should set to "Digital 2 on dock" it is funny, sometimes if set to "Thinkpad LCD" it displays the bios on the new screen sometimes not. No idea why - the same phenomen was observed with Nitrocaster board. So it is just safer to seto to "Digital 2 on dock". I also learned to make the photos how to enter step by step to this screen settings in bios... it happened to me after the bios was reverted to default I had a black screen during startup - the first thing that appeared on the new screen was windows starting. I had to borrow another machine to see the key sequence to change on mine...
Image
Thank you for reply

Ok, I'll recheck soldering in circle #3.
Btw I'd decided not to use extra msata pcb (crossed red circle) for now. it should not be the reason, right (easy to check though)?
getting step-by-step bios photos is a good idea :)

apala4
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2018 4:16 pm
Location: Chernihiv, Ukraine

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#68 Post by apala4 » Sun Apr 01, 2018 3:25 pm

finally done!

my x330 with B133HAN04.6
Image
ejected wwan antennas and wires (can be installed back though). just realized that i'll rarely (if ever) use wwan .
would not bother members with intermediate photos.
LCD is not even glued. put a few pieces of 1.5mm thick nonglue tape but seems stock side clips are just enough. will see further.

- for now it redirects video output to screen #2
- app for brightness adjustment works well
- changing brightness via power button works unstable (it was working sometimes while i was working on lid modification, now it does not work)

todo: flash modified bios with lvds cut.

thx for your help and suggestions. :thumbs-UP:


P.S. my x240 with stock 1366*768 is coming next week. I have spare B133HAN04.6 and B133HAN04.9 so will check if it will be more complicated to x240 as well )

wojtekS
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 5:41 am
Location: Siemianowice Śląskie, Poland

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#69 Post by wojtekS » Sun Apr 01, 2018 4:37 pm

Just put 4 small dots of silicone sealer on 4 corners on the non adhesive tape.

This allows to adjust the panel to the front frame, when the sealer hards it prevents the panel from moving and as these are only 4 small dots it can be removed without destruction (as happens if people put it on the dual side adhesive foam tape).

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 19013
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#70 Post by RealBlackStuff » Mon Apr 02, 2018 6:54 am

apala4 wrote:
Sun Apr 01, 2018 3:25 pm
P.S. my x240 with stock 1366*768 is coming next week. I have spare B133HAN04.6 and B133HAN04.9 so will check if it will be more complicated to x240 as well )
Other than an FHD LCD+cable, lid- and bezel-mod, what else is needed for X240?
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

apala4
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2018 4:16 pm
Location: Chernihiv, Ukraine

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#71 Post by apala4 » Mon Apr 02, 2018 7:17 am

RealBlackStuff wrote:
Mon Apr 02, 2018 6:54 am
apala4 wrote:
Sun Apr 01, 2018 3:25 pm
P.S. my x240 with stock 1366*768 is coming next week. I have spare B133HAN04.6 and B133HAN04.9 so will check if it will be more complicated to x240 as well )
Other than an FHD LCD+cable, lid- and bezel-mod, what else is needed for X240?
I've asked almost the same here viewtopic.php?f=69&t=125751 :)
For my understanding I'll need:
- FHD LCD
- bezel mod
- lid mod
I believe stock lcd cable can be used

Question about x240 whitelist (and so compatible LCD) is still open.

P.S. After reading https://thinkpad-forum.de/threads/20957 ... light=x340 I still not understand why lid and bezel were glued. Looks like there is no extra space to place cables under the LCD.

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 19013
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#72 Post by RealBlackStuff » Mon Apr 02, 2018 8:22 am

Nope, the X240 has different HD- and FHD-cables for their displays.
If you are lucky though, the X240 might already come with an FHD-cable.
I know, I have taken both X240 and X240s completely apart, with both standard and touch-versions.
And unfortunately the X240 does have an LCD-whitelist in BIOS.
However, this is only "important" if you use Windows and want to adjust the screen-brightness (does not work on unlisted LCDs).
Under Linux everything works out of the box.

Don't know about the gluing, the original 12.5" LCD is 2.85mm thick and the new 13.3" is 2.4mm, minimal difference.
The lid is VERY thin though.

apala4
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2018 4:16 pm
Location: Chernihiv, Ukraine

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#73 Post by apala4 » Tue Apr 03, 2018 9:53 am

RealBlackStuff wrote:
Mon Apr 02, 2018 8:22 am
Nope, the X240 has different HD- and FHD-cables for their displays.
If you are lucky though, the X240 might already come with an FHD-cable.
I know, I have taken both X240 and X240s completely apart, with both standard and touch-versions.
And unfortunately the X240 does have an LCD-whitelist in BIOS.
However, this is only "important" if you use Windows and want to adjust the screen-brightness (does not work on unlisted LCDs).
Under Linux everything works out of the box.

Don't know about the gluing, the original 12.5" LCD is 2.85mm thick and the new 13.3" is 2.4mm, minimal difference.
The lid is VERY thin though.
Yep, now I remember smth about different HD- and FHD-cables.
I've googled a bit previously and there is definitely LCD whitelist for x250, it is sad they have the same for x240 :( .Have also read your thread about EDID findings.
Hope mine came with fhd cable so Ill be able to check briefly.

https://thinkpad-forum.de/threads/20957 ... ost2123979
Here dude managed to mod x240 without gluing.

MSN
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 02, 2018 9:07 am
Location: Trier, Germany

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#74 Post by MSN » Wed May 02, 2018 9:08 am

any idea where the WQHD+mSATA+USB3.0 kit can be bought?

apala4
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2018 4:16 pm
Location: Chernihiv, Ukraine

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#75 Post by apala4 » Wed May 02, 2018 9:24 am

MSN wrote:
Wed May 02, 2018 9:08 am
any idea where the WQHD+mSATA+USB3.0 kit can be bought?
nope
only WQHD+mSATA.

wojtekS
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 5:41 am
Location: Siemianowice Śląskie, Poland

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#76 Post by wojtekS » Wed May 02, 2018 2:10 pm

Looks like the WQHD/mSATA/USB 3.0 version was one time production. I really regret that I did not pick up a spare one when I bought mine a few month ago :(

evening_hunger
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 259
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 2:55 pm
Location: Normandy, France

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#77 Post by evening_hunger » Fri May 04, 2018 7:04 am

Hmm, I think I have a problem, not sure yet tho. So I bought a nitrocaster kit, and received it after a looong wait. At the same time, I got a cut-out bezel and the 13.3'' B133HAN04.6. Actually I haven't even opened the package with the screen, but looking through the photos, it seems that the B133HAN04.6 has its connector shifted to the "wrong" side, right? Isn't it closer to the right-hand-side hinge? I think Nitrocaster's cable won't reach there:( Do I have a chance of buying a proper cable?
Shame, I thought I was already able to do the soldering.
x320/i7-2620M/8GB/256gb.ssd/FHD13.3''IPS/debian_testing (main driver)
x230/i5/8GB/500gb.hdd+256gb.m2ssd/IPS/debian_stable+win7 (better half)

boutch55555
Sophomore Member
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:18 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#78 Post by boutch55555 » Fri May 04, 2018 7:41 am

I didn't find alternative longer cables, but you could get a couple of those extensions, that's what I used with my W11 panel.

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 19013
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#79 Post by RealBlackStuff » Fri May 04, 2018 9:06 am

The LCD-cables 00HM134 (X240, X250) and 00HM135 (X250) will work for a regular 12.5" FHD in X220/X230.
If they are long enough for a 13.3? No idea.

boutch55555
Sophomore Member
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:18 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#80 Post by boutch55555 » Fri May 04, 2018 10:19 am

Those are the same as the one shipped by nitrocaster, won't be long enough.

evening_hunger
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 259
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 2:55 pm
Location: Normandy, France

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#81 Post by evening_hunger » Sat May 05, 2018 2:57 pm

boutch55555 wrote:
Fri May 04, 2018 7:41 am
I didn't find alternative longer cables, but you could get a couple of those extensions, that's what I used with my W11 panel.
Great! I bought three straightaway. Well, another wait now, but at least I still can pull it off hopefully.

By the way I never fully realized how small Nitrocaster's (or the Chinese one discussed here) PCB is, gonna need some good soldering practice before that. Bought new iron & tip for the purpose, so should be allright...
x320/i7-2620M/8GB/256gb.ssd/FHD13.3''IPS/debian_testing (main driver)
x230/i5/8GB/500gb.hdd+256gb.m2ssd/IPS/debian_stable+win7 (better half)

pamark
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 12:18 pm
Location: Croatia

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#82 Post by pamark » Sat May 05, 2018 3:24 pm

evening_hunger wrote:
Sat May 05, 2018 2:57 pm

By the way I never fully realized how small Nitrocaster's (or the Chinese one discussed here) PCB is, gonna need some good soldering practice before that. Bought new iron & tip for the purpose, so should be allright...
I was surprised when i saw pcb, it was so small. I never before soldered smd, and had to practice too. I practiced on some old router and old agp graphic card, hahaha. Using flux is crucial

TankPad
Sophomore Member
Posts: 206
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2017 1:40 pm
Location: Colchester, UK

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#83 Post by TankPad » Sun May 06, 2018 8:15 am

boutch55555 wrote:
Fri May 04, 2018 7:41 am
I didn't find alternative longer cables, but you could get a couple of those extensions, that's what I used with my W11 panel.
Hey. I got some of those for one of my projects when you mentioned it in another thread. For the most part, they work fine but I get occasional interference for a sec and it then goes away.
Ever come across this with yours?
| 701c | X220 | T420 | X230 | T430s | W540

boutch55555
Sophomore Member
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:18 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#84 Post by boutch55555 » Mon May 07, 2018 7:11 pm

Describe "interference" ?

I got some 1/4s backlight drops once in a while on the bus with one of taobao's mods. I never had any issue with nitro's boards + extenders.

MSN
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 02, 2018 9:07 am
Location: Trier, Germany

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#85 Post by MSN » Tue May 15, 2018 3:51 pm

https://i.imgur.com/Zlpi7DY.jpg

Anyone knows where to get this cable for the WQHD kit? it was not included in my kit.

Are 00HM135 and 00HM134 only for FHD or will they work with the WQHD kit?

EDIT: sorry about the image size. can the forum create preview images somehow?

boutch55555
Sophomore Member
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:18 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#86 Post by boutch55555 » Tue May 15, 2018 4:12 pm

It's the stock cable that was in the laptop for LVDS.

TankPad
Sophomore Member
Posts: 206
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2017 1:40 pm
Location: Colchester, UK

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#87 Post by TankPad » Wed May 16, 2018 4:17 pm

boutch55555 wrote:
Mon May 07, 2018 7:11 pm
Describe "interference" ?

I got some 1/4s backlight drops once in a while on the bus with one of taobao's mods. I never had any issue with nitro's boards + extenders.
Hey. Sorry, I'm just seeing this now.
I get a flicker every now and then, and the image looks scrambled. It only lasts a sec and goes away. I've been meaning to monitor it and see if it coincides with the fan engaging or other power draws. I'm using Nitrocasters board too.
| 701c | X220 | T420 | X230 | T430s | W540

acooc
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 8:09 pm
Location: Toronto Canada

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#88 Post by acooc » Wed May 23, 2018 5:22 pm

hi,
I'm interested in the 1440p mod, or so called 2k on my x220 i7 2640m.
I was wondering which one came with the 12.5" screen, what latest/best revision to get? if mirrored can be turned off now? And where can I buy one from?

I'm from Canada, from the past I heard it was hard to get it shipped outside of China at least for the x330 without an agent

edit: also if there are any drawbacks or problems?
ThinkPad X220
i7-2640M CPU

boutch55555
Sophomore Member
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 7:18 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#89 Post by boutch55555 » Wed May 23, 2018 6:03 pm

Hi fellow Canadian,

This one is 1440p. I used superbuy for the transaction, pretty helpful staff when I needed to contact the seller. You can source the panel yourself, but I'll leave it to others for specific models, I didn't use those (I hate scaling) and I'm too lazy to search.

That board will work with USB for backlight, requiring an app in Windows or my wrapper in Linux. No mirroring needed.

I'd suggest getting a x230 mobo to upgrade at the same time. Fits perfectly, aside from the awkward DP hole. The bump in graphic performance (+~40%) is quite noticeable and kinda needed to fully enjoy those higher resolutions (my experience, using a 34" 3440x1440). That would also allow for the bios patch to remove LVDS, while allowing 2 external screens + internal. Ok, it will also require you flash the EC for the keyboard and battery but that's quite easy.

wojtekS
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 5:41 am
Location: Siemianowice Śląskie, Poland

Re: x220/x230 FHD/ WQHD 2K mSATA/USB3.0

#90 Post by wojtekS » Thu May 24, 2018 4:30 am

Just curious: if you swap the x220 motherboard for a x230 one what happens with the indicator leds under the screen ? x220 has 3 of them: bluetooth (if I remember correctly), wifi/wwan and hdd while x230 has only the last two.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad X200/201/220 and X300/301 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests