Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Display problem X220i Tablet

X200, X201, X220 (including equivalent tablet models) and X300, X301 series specific matters only.
Message
Author
Thinkpad4by3
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1573
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: Display problem X220i Tablet

#31 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Mon Apr 09, 2018 4:28 pm

I can second imgur.
Probably should be Thinkpad16by10.

Looking For: 386 laptop, IBM or not.

brucehe
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 329
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 5:25 pm
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

Re: Display problem X220i Tablet

#32 Post by brucehe » Mon Apr 09, 2018 5:44 pm

Let me know if this works.

https://imgur.com/oT5Tmwc

Bruce
W520 FHD Quadro 2000M, T60p T9300 UXGA IPS Frankenpad "sold", T60 XGA X1300 (wife), HP 8710w IPS multimedia, Yoga 2 10 inch W10, X220T (many pieces), X230T,
Under my care, T61 4:3, T400 Intel 8GB Ram 256GB SSD, 2X T410, T420, T430, T42 XGA Radeon7500 (Xbuntu) (Donated)

Thinkpad4by3
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1573
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: Display problem X220i Tablet

#33 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Mon Apr 09, 2018 6:45 pm

The components looks fine but it looks like something was spilled in that systemboard. I don't know for sure, wait for RBS to give you a final verdict.
Probably should be Thinkpad16by10.

Looking For: 386 laptop, IBM or not.

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 18881
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: Display problem X220i Tablet

#34 Post by RealBlackStuff » Mon Apr 09, 2018 9:06 pm

You need a multimeter to check fuses F4 (4th vertical left of printed F4, blue, with letter F) and F3 (blue, immediately horizontal left of white connector, blue, with letter H).
Check them for "continuity" (= beep) with all power removed.

brucehe
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 329
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 5:25 pm
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

Re: Display problem X220i Tablet

#35 Post by brucehe » Mon Apr 09, 2018 11:53 pm

Looks like both fuses are good. The sticky looking stuff on the board is the adhesive from the black plastic covering I removed to access the components.

Bruce
W520 FHD Quadro 2000M, T60p T9300 UXGA IPS Frankenpad "sold", T60 XGA X1300 (wife), HP 8710w IPS multimedia, Yoga 2 10 inch W10, X220T (many pieces), X230T,
Under my care, T61 4:3, T400 Intel 8GB Ram 256GB SSD, 2X T410, T420, T430, T42 XGA Radeon7500 (Xbuntu) (Donated)

brucehe
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 329
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 5:25 pm
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

Re: Display problem X220i Tablet

#36 Post by brucehe » Tue Apr 10, 2018 10:25 am

Sort of back to where I started. Just not convinced it is a system board issue. There is a entire display for $50 on Ebay which is a good price for one of these. Just not sure how much I want to invest in this unit.

Bruce
W520 FHD Quadro 2000M, T60p T9300 UXGA IPS Frankenpad "sold", T60 XGA X1300 (wife), HP 8710w IPS multimedia, Yoga 2 10 inch W10, X220T (many pieces), X230T,
Under my care, T61 4:3, T400 Intel 8GB Ram 256GB SSD, 2X T410, T420, T430, T42 XGA Radeon7500 (Xbuntu) (Donated)

Thinkpad4by3
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1573
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: Display problem X220i Tablet

#37 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Tue Apr 10, 2018 10:37 am

Well those X220T units with an i5 can run a near 200$. 70$ for an i3 X220T would still put you 80$ ahead. Another 70$ can get you a i7 board and make you 110$ ahead.
Probably should be Thinkpad16by10.

Looking For: 386 laptop, IBM or not.

brucehe
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 329
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 5:25 pm
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

Re: Display problem X220i Tablet

#38 Post by brucehe » Wed Apr 11, 2018 7:06 pm

I purchased an I5 system board as that was the cheaper path. Will let you know if that was the issue. Meanwhile I will keep looking for a nice display.

Bruce
W520 FHD Quadro 2000M, T60p T9300 UXGA IPS Frankenpad "sold", T60 XGA X1300 (wife), HP 8710w IPS multimedia, Yoga 2 10 inch W10, X220T (many pieces), X230T,
Under my care, T61 4:3, T400 Intel 8GB Ram 256GB SSD, 2X T410, T420, T430, T42 XGA Radeon7500 (Xbuntu) (Donated)

Thinkpad4by3
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1573
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: Display problem X220i Tablet

#39 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Wed Apr 11, 2018 7:11 pm

Well you just increased the value of the machine about 50$ but I dont know how much you spent on the i5 mainboard for if you lost or gained value.
Probably should be Thinkpad16by10.

Looking For: 386 laptop, IBM or not.

marlinspike
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 558
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:58 am
Location: Williamsburg, VA

Re: Display problem X220i Tablet

#40 Post by marlinspike » Mon Apr 16, 2018 6:11 am

I saw fuse f3 and f4 mentioned, but isn't f1 also involved?
T60 2007-7JU (15" Flexview, has a T60p mobo for the v5200, 4gb ram, changed HDD w/7200rpm 100gb, T7400 2.16ghz Core 2 Duo)
X201

brucehe
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 329
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 5:25 pm
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

Re: Display problem X220i Tablet

#41 Post by brucehe » Mon Apr 16, 2018 11:39 am

I changed the board and no display. Connected the display port to an external monitor and there was output when the LCD cable was not connected. I connected the LCD and this time I had my headlamp shining at the display and there was output but no backlight. I had not seen this before. Maybe I missed it or there was a problem with the original board. I will put the old board back in and check.

I now know there is a backlight problem. Does the backlight go out on these LED panels or is it blowing fuses on the board? F3 and F4 were good on the original board. I will check the fuses on the new board including F1.

Bruce
W520 FHD Quadro 2000M, T60p T9300 UXGA IPS Frankenpad "sold", T60 XGA X1300 (wife), HP 8710w IPS multimedia, Yoga 2 10 inch W10, X220T (many pieces), X230T,
Under my care, T61 4:3, T400 Intel 8GB Ram 256GB SSD, 2X T410, T420, T430, T42 XGA Radeon7500 (Xbuntu) (Donated)

marlinspike
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 558
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:58 am
Location: Williamsburg, VA

Re: Display problem X220i Tablet

#42 Post by marlinspike » Mon Apr 16, 2018 12:36 pm

Check F1. While I haven't taken mine apart yet I saw on another forum that I can't find at the moment that F1 was the problem.
T60 2007-7JU (15" Flexview, has a T60p mobo for the v5200, 4gb ram, changed HDD w/7200rpm 100gb, T7400 2.16ghz Core 2 Duo)
X201

brucehe
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 329
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 5:25 pm
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

Re: Display problem X220i Tablet

#43 Post by brucehe » Mon Apr 16, 2018 2:52 pm

Can't seem to find F1, every other fuse though... might be on the back side.

Bruce
W520 FHD Quadro 2000M, T60p T9300 UXGA IPS Frankenpad "sold", T60 XGA X1300 (wife), HP 8710w IPS multimedia, Yoga 2 10 inch W10, X220T (many pieces), X230T,
Under my care, T61 4:3, T400 Intel 8GB Ram 256GB SSD, 2X T410, T420, T430, T42 XGA Radeon7500 (Xbuntu) (Donated)

brucehe
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 329
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 5:25 pm
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

Re: Display problem X220i Tablet

#44 Post by brucehe » Mon Apr 16, 2018 3:58 pm

OK, found it, new information.

F1 on the new board is blown. I can't see the display in the background anymore either. I also checked F1 on the old board and it is fine.

Can the fuse be replaced or shorted?

Bruce
W520 FHD Quadro 2000M, T60p T9300 UXGA IPS Frankenpad "sold", T60 XGA X1300 (wife), HP 8710w IPS multimedia, Yoga 2 10 inch W10, X220T (many pieces), X230T,
Under my care, T61 4:3, T400 Intel 8GB Ram 256GB SSD, 2X T410, T420, T430, T42 XGA Radeon7500 (Xbuntu) (Donated)

marlinspike
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 558
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:58 am
Location: Williamsburg, VA

Re: Display problem X220i Tablet

#45 Post by marlinspike » Mon Apr 16, 2018 4:06 pm

brucehe wrote:
Mon Apr 16, 2018 3:58 pm
OK, found it, new information.

F1 on the new board is blown. I can't see the display in the background anymore either. I also checked F1 on the old board and it is fine.

Can the fuse be replaced or shorted?

Bruce
Shorting of course works and of course is not recommended. Yes, it can be replaced. Where is F1, so I know where to look when I get back home and can take mine apart?
T60 2007-7JU (15" Flexview, has a T60p mobo for the v5200, 4gb ram, changed HDD w/7200rpm 100gb, T7400 2.16ghz Core 2 Duo)
X201

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 18881
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: Display problem X220i Tablet

#46 Post by RealBlackStuff » Mon Apr 16, 2018 4:14 pm

X220 and X220t have almost identical schematics, for D/L see here: https://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?t=121522
Fuse locations should also be almost identical.

brucehe
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 329
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 5:25 pm
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

Re: Display problem X220i Tablet

#47 Post by brucehe » Mon Apr 16, 2018 11:26 pm

F1 is on the side with the heat pipes and RAM and is to the left of the docking port. It is 3A 32V. I think I heard it blow but maybe it was my imagination. It sounded like a static charge jump. Could that have been the fuse?

Anyway, where is the best place to get a new one? How difficult is it to replace this surface mount component?

Bruce
W520 FHD Quadro 2000M, T60p T9300 UXGA IPS Frankenpad "sold", T60 XGA X1300 (wife), HP 8710w IPS multimedia, Yoga 2 10 inch W10, X220T (many pieces), X230T,
Under my care, T61 4:3, T400 Intel 8GB Ram 256GB SSD, 2X T410, T420, T430, T42 XGA Radeon7500 (Xbuntu) (Donated)

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 18881
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: Display problem X220i Tablet

#48 Post by RealBlackStuff » Tue Apr 17, 2018 6:20 am

If you're talking fuses, I usually get mine from http://www.newark.com/ but there are also others such as https://www.digikey.com/ and https://www.mouser.com/
If you are handy with a soldering iron and tiny SMD fuses, you can either replace them, or solder a new one piggyback style on top of the old one.

brucehe
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 329
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 5:25 pm
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

Re: Display problem X220i Tablet

#49 Post by brucehe » Tue Apr 17, 2018 11:08 am

Thanks, I like the idea of piggybacking one on top.

I looked at Mouser's document on SMD fuses and there are many types. How do you find out the specifications of the fuse, very fast versus slow blow, etc?

I notice there is a "P" on the fuse.

Thanks again all,

Bruce
W520 FHD Quadro 2000M, T60p T9300 UXGA IPS Frankenpad "sold", T60 XGA X1300 (wife), HP 8710w IPS multimedia, Yoga 2 10 inch W10, X220T (many pieces), X230T,
Under my care, T61 4:3, T400 Intel 8GB Ram 256GB SSD, 2X T410, T420, T430, T42 XGA Radeon7500 (Xbuntu) (Donated)

brucehe
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 329
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 5:25 pm
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

Re: Display problem X220i Tablet

#50 Post by brucehe » Tue Apr 17, 2018 11:17 am

Update: I put the old board back in and hooked up the display and yes I could see the image on the screen in the background i.e. no backlight. This board has all good fuses so I am assuming this has been a LCD problem all along even though I read it is rare to have a LED backlight failure.

I have read about ways to test the LED backlight but with this composite panel of digitizer and LCD opening it up I am guessing would be difficult and even if I verified the LED backlight was bad I am not sure it is repairable except by replacing the LCD.

So, I think I am back to looking for a whole lid or display. Unfortunately they are not too common on Ebay.

Meanwhile I will see if I can repair the board with the blown fuse which I am guessing I damaged not being careful in my anit-static procedures, lesson learned.

Bruce
W520 FHD Quadro 2000M, T60p T9300 UXGA IPS Frankenpad "sold", T60 XGA X1300 (wife), HP 8710w IPS multimedia, Yoga 2 10 inch W10, X220T (many pieces), X230T,
Under my care, T61 4:3, T400 Intel 8GB Ram 256GB SSD, 2X T410, T420, T430, T42 XGA Radeon7500 (Xbuntu) (Donated)

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 18881
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: Display problem X220i Tablet

#51 Post by RealBlackStuff » Tue Apr 17, 2018 11:28 am

The schematics have either the exact fuse-name near it or its value, check page 32.
Usually they are fast-acting size 0603: https://www.fusesunlimited.com/products ... ntfuse0603
Amp Letter

Code: Select all

0.25	D
0.375	E
0.5	F
0.75	G
1	H
1.25	J
1.5	K
1.75	L
2	N
2.5	O
3	P
3.5	R
4	S
5	T
7	W
8	X

brucehe
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 329
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 5:25 pm
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

Re: Display problem X220i Tablet

#52 Post by brucehe » Fri Apr 27, 2018 11:37 am

I purchased a new fuse from Ebay and my neighbor who has all the nice electronic tools, heated soldering tweezers and adjustable temperature iron replaced the fuse. I reinstalled this I5 board and it works fine to the display port but I do not see anything on the LCD whereas when I install the I3 board I can see very dim images on the display. The backlight is obviously not working. I have checked all 20+ fuses on both boards.

My next step is to purchase a used display when I see one on Ebay that is not too scratched. Any other ideas appreciated.

Thanks,

Bruce
W520 FHD Quadro 2000M, T60p T9300 UXGA IPS Frankenpad "sold", T60 XGA X1300 (wife), HP 8710w IPS multimedia, Yoga 2 10 inch W10, X220T (many pieces), X230T,
Under my care, T61 4:3, T400 Intel 8GB Ram 256GB SSD, 2X T410, T420, T430, T42 XGA Radeon7500 (Xbuntu) (Donated)

Thinkpad4by3
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1573
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: Display problem X220i Tablet

#53 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Fri Apr 27, 2018 12:38 pm

Take apart the LCD.
Remove the backlight and diffuser
Replace it with a mirror.
Now you have a reflective display that will rock in the sun!
Probably should be Thinkpad16by10.

Looking For: 386 laptop, IBM or not.

brucehe
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 329
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 5:25 pm
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

Re: Display problem X220i Tablet

#54 Post by brucehe » Sat May 05, 2018 1:30 am

The saga continues....

Got a used supposedly good display from Ebay. Basically does the same thing the original display does. I get a dim image on the background (typical no backlight image) with the I3 board and nothing at all with the I5 board.

I must be missing something obvious else I have two bad boards. I notice there is a switch to indicate the presence of a stylus. Does this need to be in place to make the display light?

I am going to go to the schematic and verify which fuses are involved in the LCD backlight and check them on the board.

Thanks,

Bruce
W520 FHD Quadro 2000M, T60p T9300 UXGA IPS Frankenpad "sold", T60 XGA X1300 (wife), HP 8710w IPS multimedia, Yoga 2 10 inch W10, X220T (many pieces), X230T,
Under my care, T61 4:3, T400 Intel 8GB Ram 256GB SSD, 2X T410, T420, T430, T42 XGA Radeon7500 (Xbuntu) (Donated)

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 18881
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: Display problem X220i Tablet

#55 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sat May 05, 2018 5:13 am

Did you get just the LCD or a complete lid?
Have you ever checked/replaced the LCD-cable?

brucehe
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 329
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 5:25 pm
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

Re: Display problem X220i Tablet

#56 Post by brucehe » Sat May 05, 2018 10:14 am

I got the whole lid. Yes, I did get a new LCD cable.

Bruce
W520 FHD Quadro 2000M, T60p T9300 UXGA IPS Frankenpad "sold", T60 XGA X1300 (wife), HP 8710w IPS multimedia, Yoga 2 10 inch W10, X220T (many pieces), X230T,
Under my care, T61 4:3, T400 Intel 8GB Ram 256GB SSD, 2X T410, T420, T430, T42 XGA Radeon7500 (Xbuntu) (Donated)

Thinkpad4by3
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1573
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: Display problem X220i Tablet

#57 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Sat May 05, 2018 10:23 am

Have you tried using the keyboard to try and raise the brightness on the i3 board.
Probably should be Thinkpad16by10.

Looking For: 386 laptop, IBM or not.

brucehe
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 329
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 5:25 pm
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

Re: Display problem X220i Tablet

#58 Post by brucehe » Sat May 05, 2018 6:31 pm

Yes, no change and hitting F6 and F7.

Bruce
W520 FHD Quadro 2000M, T60p T9300 UXGA IPS Frankenpad "sold", T60 XGA X1300 (wife), HP 8710w IPS multimedia, Yoga 2 10 inch W10, X220T (many pieces), X230T,
Under my care, T61 4:3, T400 Intel 8GB Ram 256GB SSD, 2X T410, T420, T430, T42 XGA Radeon7500 (Xbuntu) (Donated)

Thinkpad4by3
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1573
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: Display problem X220i Tablet

#59 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Sat May 05, 2018 8:07 pm

On the X220 is should be Home and end to change the brightness, right next to PgUp for the thinklight.
Probably should be Thinkpad16by10.

Looking For: 386 laptop, IBM or not.

brucehe
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 329
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 5:25 pm
Location: Corvallis, Oregon

Re: Display problem X220i Tablet

#60 Post by brucehe » Sun May 06, 2018 12:47 am

Those are the keys I used to adjust the brightness, no effect.

Bruce
W520 FHD Quadro 2000M, T60p T9300 UXGA IPS Frankenpad "sold", T60 XGA X1300 (wife), HP 8710w IPS multimedia, Yoga 2 10 inch W10, X220T (many pieces), X230T,
Under my care, T61 4:3, T400 Intel 8GB Ram 256GB SSD, 2X T410, T420, T430, T42 XGA Radeon7500 (Xbuntu) (Donated)

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad X200/201/220 and X300/301 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests