Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

X220 modified bios (1.46) doesn't let me change the option from the bios

X200, X201, X220 (including equivalent tablet models) and X300, X301 series specific matters only.
Post Reply
Message
Author
im1hpu0
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2018 9:14 am
Location: Qualiano - Napoli, Italy

X220 modified bios (1.46) doesn't let me change the option from the bios

#1 Post by im1hpu0 » Fri Aug 10, 2018 9:16 am

https://www.reddit.com/r/thinkpad/comme ... hange_the/

Unfortunately I don't have time to write everything again, but you can find all the infos here.

Sorry about this and thanks in advance for the help

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 19500
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: X220 modified bios (1.46) doesn't let me change the option from the bios

#2 Post by RealBlackStuff » Fri Aug 10, 2018 9:51 am

I assume you're talking about this BIOS: http://x220.mcdonnelltech.com/
Did you read the WARNING in its PART 1 OF 4: ADJUST BIOS SETTINGS?
I'd be very careful with so many unusual options...
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

im1hpu0
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2018 9:14 am
Location: Qualiano - Napoli, Italy

Re: X220 modified bios (1.46) doesn't let me change the option from the bios

#3 Post by im1hpu0 » Fri Aug 10, 2018 10:10 am

Mmm i read it several times, and I never saw it lmao. I shall try once I return home tomorrow/sunday. But thank you very much.

im1hpu0
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2018 9:14 am
Location: Qualiano - Napoli, Italy

Re: X220 modified bios (1.46) doesn't let me change the option from the bios

#4 Post by im1hpu0 » Sat Aug 11, 2018 11:27 am

Ok, I've checked everything that was write in that particular point. But it didn't resolve anything. Can it be the cmos battery the problem? Or maybe the propretary blocking every change that someone does in the advanced tab?

P.S: it also redirects me to "How to install hackintosh", but I don't want to install it.

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 19500
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: X220 modified bios (1.46) doesn't let me change the option from the bios

#5 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sat Aug 11, 2018 12:25 pm

Check first that you have no passwords in the BIOS, then check the CMOS-battery.
If it is less than 2.8V it should be replaced.

Fusion
Sophomore Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 9:34 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: X220 modified bios (1.46) doesn't let me change the option from the bios

#6 Post by Fusion » Wed Aug 15, 2018 4:56 pm

If much of the BIOS options are greyed out or inaccessible than the BIOS is password locked.
Are you getting a password prompt? Hitting enter makes the prompt go away but then changes in the BIOS are blocked.
ThinkPad X220, i7-2640m, 16GB RAM, 120GB Kingston SSD, Intel HD3000, 12.5" WQHD, MacOS Sierra 10.13.2
ThinkPad W500 4063-VA4 CD2 Penryn 2,80GHz, 4GB RAM, 320GB HDD, 15.4" WUXGA, FireGL V5700, Win7u
ThinkPad R60 9461-DXG P-CD2 1,83GHz, 2GB 667MHz, 100GB HDD, ATI X1400@512MB, XP2 Pro

ThinkGreen
Freshman Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2012 12:08 pm
Location: Montignoso (MS) - Italy
Contact:

Re: X220 modified bios (1.46) doesn't let me change the option from the bios

#7 Post by ThinkGreen » Mon Aug 27, 2018 2:57 am

I'm undecided about which is the "better" bios version to install on my Lenovo x220, to have both no vulnerability and good performance.
Currently I have again the old 1.38 version.

I'm particularty interested to know if this issue could be resolved with a bios update.
Be happy if You have some doubts.

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 19500
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: X220 modified bios (1.46) doesn't let me change the option from the bios

#8 Post by RealBlackStuff » Mon Aug 27, 2018 6:36 am

No.
Get a 90W charger, problem solved without having to make any changes elsewhere.

ThinkGreen
Freshman Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2012 12:08 pm
Location: Montignoso (MS) - Italy
Contact:

Re: X220 modified bios (1.46) doesn't let me change the option from the bios

#9 Post by ThinkGreen » Mon Aug 27, 2018 7:03 am

Apart that, is it better to upgrade from 1.38 to 1.46 or not ?
Be happy if You have some doubts.

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 19500
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: X220 modified bios (1.46) doesn't let me change the option from the bios

#10 Post by RealBlackStuff » Mon Aug 27, 2018 8:28 am

McDonnell's 1.46 BIOS gives you many more options than Lenovo's.
I have it on my own X220 and use it without any problems, running W7 and Linux Mint.
My machines will never see W10, so don't ask.

Only you can decide if that BIOS is better for your machine.
If you have a password on your BIOS, get rid of that first, before you do any further experiments.

ThinkGreen
Freshman Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2012 12:08 pm
Location: Montignoso (MS) - Italy
Contact:

Re: X220 modified bios (1.46) doesn't let me change the option from the bios

#11 Post by ThinkGreen » Mon Aug 27, 2018 8:39 am

I've no password on my bios and I still use Windows 7.

With that bios ram frequency is not limited to 1333 MHz, right ?
Be happy if You have some doubts.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad X200/201/220 and X300/301 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests