Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

X220 lost "high resolution" VESA/framebuffer modes after BIOS upgrade

X200, X201, X220 (including equivalent tablet models) and X300, X301 series specific matters only.
Post Reply
Message
Author
Knez
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2019 1:39 am
Location: Gävle, Sweden

X220 lost "high resolution" VESA/framebuffer modes after BIOS upgrade

#1 Post by Knez » Mon Apr 29, 2019 4:55 am

Hi!

A couple of months ago I updated my BIOS to the latest hacked version found here: http://x220.mcdonnelltech.com/resources/ to be able to use my X220 as a hackintosh.
After upgrading the BIOS the X220 lost the ability to find the native screen resolution before loading the drivers from the OS.

Typical things are the bootscreen for OSX or Windows showing in the monitors native resolution, text only mode in linux showing in the monitors native resolution.
All i get now is 640x480 stretched over the screen which looks terrible.

Same phenomenon when using an external monitor connected through my Mini Dock 3. It's almost like the machine lost all the built in VESA graphics modes and just defaults to 640x480.
Anything I can do about it? All I did was flash 1.46 and run "use setup defaults" in the BIOS option menu.

It's not really an issue, it just somewhat spoils an otherwise great machine.

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20093
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact:

Re: X220 lost "high resolution" VESA/framebuffer modes after BIOS upgrade

#2 Post by RealBlackStuff » Mon Apr 29, 2019 6:28 am

That BIOS has quite a few extras, that are not normally available.
I suggest you go into BIOS and press F9 to reload all the defaults, then F10 to save them.
Or reinstall that BIOS.

McDonnell says:
Please note the warning on the Advanced menu in the BIOS: Setting items on this screen to incorrect values may cause the system to malfunction!
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

Knez
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2019 1:39 am
Location: Gävle, Sweden

Re: X220 lost "high resolution" VESA/framebuffer modes after BIOS upgrade

#3 Post by Knez » Mon Apr 29, 2019 6:33 am

RealBlackStuff wrote:
Mon Apr 29, 2019 6:28 am
That BIOS has quite a few extras, that are not normally available.
I suggest you go into BIOS and press F9 to reload all the defaults, then F10 to save them.
Or reinstall that BIOS.

McDonnell says:
Please note the warning on the Advanced menu in the BIOS: Setting items on this screen to incorrect values may cause the system to malfunction!
I haven't touched the advanced menu, all I ever did was install the BIOS, load the defaults and change what needed changing from the McDonnell page to get OSX running.
Will resinstall the BIOS today.

IIRC I didn't install the official 1.46 BIOS before flashing on the modified version. Is going with the official, unmodified BIOS beforehand mandatory?

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20093
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact:

Re: X220 lost "high resolution" VESA/framebuffer modes after BIOS upgrade

#4 Post by RealBlackStuff » Mon Apr 29, 2019 6:38 am

AFAIK it's advisable, but apparently not mandatory.

Knez
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2019 1:39 am
Location: Gävle, Sweden

Re: X220 lost "high resolution" VESA/framebuffer modes after BIOS upgrade

#5 Post by Knez » Tue Apr 30, 2019 11:02 am

I solved this today. For some reason my machines doesnt like BIOS 1.46, modified or original. I reverted to 1.43 original and then modified and all is back to normal again.

Sometimes going bleeding edge isnt the answer.

skx
Freshman Member
Posts: 120
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2018 6:25 pm
Location: Colombia

Re: X220 lost "high resolution" VESA/framebuffer modes after BIOS upgrade

#6 Post by skx » Wed May 08, 2019 8:12 pm

Knez wrote:
Tue Apr 30, 2019 11:02 am
Sometimes going bleeding edge isnt the answer.
:mrgreen: it should not be the case though for bios updates
ThinkPad X220: i5-2520M CPU 2.5GHz - 8GB RAM 1333 MHz - SSD 860 EVO 250GB - Debian - ME_cleaned
ThinkPad X230: i5-3320M CPU 3.3GHz - 8GB RAM 1600 MHz - SSD 860 EVO 500GB - Debian - ME_cleaned

axur-delmeria
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2282
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: X220 lost "high resolution" VESA/framebuffer modes after BIOS upgrade

#7 Post by axur-delmeria » Thu May 09, 2019 1:38 am

I see two possible explanations

- Some functions (like the high-res VESA modes) were removed to make room for Spectre mitigations

- newest Intel Video BIOS removes said high-res modes for some reason.
Daily driver: X220 4291-C91 i7-2620M

Backup: X601 Core 2 Duo T8100
Toy: X60F Core Solo U1300
On loan: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M
In pieces: two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E; X61 7676-A24; and a BOE-Hydis HV121P01-100 in failed SXGA+ mod
:cry:

skx
Freshman Member
Posts: 120
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2018 6:25 pm
Location: Colombia

Re: X220 lost "high resolution" VESA/framebuffer modes after BIOS upgrade

#8 Post by skx » Thu May 09, 2019 4:45 pm

Then it is not a bug but a feature :mrgreen:
ThinkPad X220: i5-2520M CPU 2.5GHz - 8GB RAM 1333 MHz - SSD 860 EVO 250GB - Debian - ME_cleaned
ThinkPad X230: i5-3320M CPU 3.3GHz - 8GB RAM 1600 MHz - SSD 860 EVO 500GB - Debian - ME_cleaned

johnmcdonnell
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2012 7:51 pm
Location: Upland, CA

Re: X220 lost "high resolution" VESA/framebuffer modes after BIOS upgrade

#9 Post by johnmcdonnell » Sat May 18, 2019 5:17 pm

Sorry about the late reply, but I just came across this thread.

I posed a question about this issue a while back to the creator of the modified BIOS, VladikSS at bios-mods.com:
Your 1.44 BIOS appears to use Intel vbios version 2089 while your 1.43 BIOS used Intel vbios 2119. Was there something that required rolling that back?
His response:
Indeed, this mod uses stock vbios. 2119 vbios version was taken from Oleh modifications, and is not so stable on Linux. I tried to transfer configuration from stock vbios to the latest available version but it didn't work, that's why I decided to leave stock version.
https://www.bios-mods.com/forum/Thread- ... #pid139124

His v1.46 modified BIOS also includes the stock vbios version 2089 that unfortunately doesn't support the native 1366x768 VESA graphics mode.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad X200/201/220 and X300/301 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests