Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

X220i Fan Error

X200, X201, X220 (including equivalent tablet models) and X300, X301 series specific matters only.
Post Reply
Message
Author
Tooniis
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 29, 2020 12:25 am
Location: Muscat, Oman

X220i Fan Error

#1 Post by Tooniis » Fri May 29, 2020 12:35 am

I have an old X220i that throws a Fan Error every time I try to boot it.

The fan wouldn't move when connected to the motherboard. To make sure the fan is broken, I tested it with a 5V supply and it just twitches slightly, so it was indeed broken.

I bought a new fan, tested it with a 5V supply to make sure it works, and replaced the old one, then found out that this one wouldn't spin either when connected to the motherboard.

I tested the fan socket on the motherboard, and found no voltage. I found that fuse F15 on the motherboard was blown, so I desoldered it and jumped the connection with solder. Now the fan does spin when I power up the laptop, but the Fan Error is still there.

The laptop doesn't allow anything to be done. BIOS setup can't be opened (it does start opening it, but the error is thrown quickly and it powers off). I tried to bypass the error with ESC, ESC+F1, and ESC+Delete, but it just ignores those and powers off.

I'm guessing some fan sensor is shot?

Can anything be done for this other than a new motherboard?

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 21255
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: X220i Fan Error

#2 Post by RealBlackStuff » Fri May 29, 2020 12:59 am

I would dump its motherboard, regardless, since the X220i has an i3 CPU, the lowest of the low.
Replace it with a common i5-2520M or i5-2540M version.
Or if you fancy it, all i7 versions include one USB3.00 port.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.
Covid-19: Mask it or casket.

Tooniis
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 29, 2020 12:25 am
Location: Muscat, Oman

Re: X220i Fan Error

#3 Post by Tooniis » Fri May 29, 2020 4:08 am

RealBlackStuff wrote:
Fri May 29, 2020 12:59 am
I would dump its motherboard, regardless, since the X220i has an i3 CPU, the lowest of the low.
Replace it with a common i5-2520M or i5-2540M version.
Or if you fancy it, all i7 versions include one USB3.00 port.
It's been sitting like that for months now. I haven't been really interested getting it fixed; I just thought if I could find a simple fix for it then I might find a purpose for it. I don't think I would use it much anyway because of its size.

I might still consider just upgrading it later on...

axur-delmeria
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2630
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: X220i Fan Error

#4 Post by axur-delmeria » Fri May 29, 2020 4:39 am

Can you check if the new fan outputs an RPM sense pulse? You could connect the 3rd wire (or 4th, I don't know which pin is the RPM and the PWM drive signal on this fan) to an oscilloscope and then give it 3v, then 5v.
Daily driver: X220 4291-C91 i7-2620M

Backup: X601 Core 2 Duo T8100
Toy: X60F Core Solo U1300
On loan: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M
In pieces: two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E; X61 7676-A24; and a BOE-Hydis HV121P01-100 in failed SXGA+ mod
:cry:

Tooniis
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 29, 2020 12:25 am
Location: Muscat, Oman

Re: X220i Fan Error

#5 Post by Tooniis » Sat May 30, 2020 7:23 am

axur-delmeria wrote:
Fri May 29, 2020 4:39 am
Can you check if the new fan outputs an RPM sense pulse? You could connect the 3rd wire (or 4th, I don't know which pin is the RPM and the PWM drive signal on this fan) to an oscilloscope and then give it 3v, then 5v.
New fan doesn't give a pulse. I tried with the old fan by blowing on it and it does give a pulse.

Looks like I got the wrong fan. It is not the exact model, but the seller advertised it as compatible. I got it only because for some reason I didn't find the exact same model of the old fan at that time.

I'll order a new matching fan and see how that goes.

axur-delmeria
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2630
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: X220i Fan Error

#6 Post by axur-delmeria » Sat May 30, 2020 7:39 am

Tooniis wrote:
Sat May 30, 2020 7:23 am
New fan doesn't give a pulse. I tried with the old fan by blowing on it and it does give a pulse.
No pulse on the 3rd and 4th wires? I was thinking it could be wired incorrectly (the PWM drive and RPM sense wires were mistakenly switched on the connector). But if there's no pulse on either wire then the fan you bought was defective. Maybe you can ask for a replacement?
Daily driver: X220 4291-C91 i7-2620M

Backup: X601 Core 2 Duo T8100
Toy: X60F Core Solo U1300
On loan: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M
In pieces: two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E; X61 7676-A24; and a BOE-Hydis HV121P01-100 in failed SXGA+ mod
:cry:

Tooniis
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 29, 2020 12:25 am
Location: Muscat, Oman

Re: X220i Fan Error

#7 Post by Tooniis » Sat May 30, 2020 9:53 pm

axur-delmeria wrote:
Sat May 30, 2020 7:39 am
Tooniis wrote:
Sat May 30, 2020 7:23 am
New fan doesn't give a pulse. I tried with the old fan by blowing on it and it does give a pulse.
No pulse on the 3rd and 4th wires? I was thinking it could be wired incorrectly (the PWM drive and RPM sense wires were mistakenly switched on the connector). But if there's no pulse on either wire then the fan you bought was defective. Maybe you can ask for a replacement?
3rd wire is close to VCC, 4th wire is close to GND, and both are constant. Either I probed it wrong, its PWM frequency is too high for my oscilloscope (which is just an Arduino UNO, so really low resolution), or it is indeed broken.

In any case, I doubt I'd be able to get a free replacement since it's been like more than half a year since I bought it. Thanks for the tip anyway.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad X200/201/220 and X300/301 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: la-luva and 35 guests