Page 1 of 1

help, I disabled my X201i while working inside it

Posted: Wed Jun 24, 2020 12:41 pm
by angelofthesouth1
The wireless card on my X201i was failing, so I opened it up and removed it. I wanted to use my Linksys wireless-N USB adapter to access my network, at least temporarily. I've been told I could use software to make sure the computer used the USB adapter, but I found it simpler to just pull the card so it couldn't be used. That proved to be a horrible mistake, because it seems I did something wrong and disabled (possibly damaged) the computer. It no longer boots properly since I put the keyboard and the touchpad button panel back on. The screen remains blank. I can see the CPU spin for a few seconds, then stop; so I know it's getting power. Also, nothing on the indicator panel on the back of the lid lights up.

I think everything's reconnected. The only difference is that I haven't put in any of the screws I removed. Do I have to for things to work?

Re: help, I disabled my X201i while working inside it

Posted: Wed Jun 24, 2020 1:16 pm
by MikalE
There's no reason why pulling the wi-fi card would disable your system. It's not required for boot. You may have jarred something else loose.

Re-seat the memory, the HDD or SSD, the keyboard connector and anything else that plugs in and try again. I have never had to have the case screws installed for a test run of a system.

Did you remove the battery before dis-assembly?

Re: help, I disabled my X201i while working inside it

Posted: Wed Jun 24, 2020 1:30 pm
by angelofthesouth1
I think I removed the battery, yes. Oh,no--your question just makes me wonder.

Re: help, I disabled my X201i while working inside it

Posted: Wed Jun 24, 2020 1:32 pm
by cadillacmike68
Ditto on the case screws and re-checking every connection. It's easy to partially disconnect something and not notice it.

I usually do not re-screw everything until I'm sure the change works.

Re: help, I disabled my X201i while working inside it

Posted: Thu Jun 25, 2020 12:51 am
by RealBlackStuff
Maybe the (removed) antenna-wire connectors shorted something on the motherboard, if you did not cover them up.