Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

X201 + X200 Ultrabase audio over HDMI?

X200, X201, X220 (including equivalent tablet models) and X300, X301 series specific matters only.
Post Reply
Message
Author
shinjiplus
Freshman Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 8:32 pm

X201 + X200 Ultrabase audio over HDMI?

#1 Post by shinjiplus » Fri Aug 13, 2010 2:29 am

hi all,

i've just purchased an X201 w/ X200 Ultrabase, and the Monoprice Displayport to HDMI adapter (http://www.monoprice.com/products/produ ... 1&format=2)

my HDMI cable works just fine with my comcast DVR but will not transmit audio when connected to the Monoprice adapter.

i do NOT have my TV listed in the playback devices :(

i am running windows 7 and my TV is a LG 42LBX. has anyone had this successfully working yet? i have updated all my drivers.

thanks!

Harryc
Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 13228
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 8:23 am
Location: Upstate New York

Re: X201 + X200 Ultrabase audio over HDMI?

#2 Post by Harryc » Fri Aug 13, 2010 5:28 am

The X200 Ultrabase does not support audio over displayport to HDMI -
http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/DisplayPort

shinjiplus
Freshman Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 8:32 pm

Re: X201 + X200 Ultrabase audio over HDMI?

#3 Post by shinjiplus » Fri Aug 13, 2010 9:19 pm

Harryc wrote:The X200 Ultrabase does not support audio over displayport to HDMI -
http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/DisplayPort
http://forum.notebookreview.com/lenovo- ... yport.html

according to that post i thought it did...???

etherghost
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 4:59 pm
Location: Minneapolis, MN

Re: X201 + X200 Ultrabase audio over HDMI?

#4 Post by etherghost » Sat Aug 21, 2010 7:41 pm

My X200T connected to the Ultrabase with a Displayport to HDMI adapter does not output audio either

vinuneuro
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 331
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 5:09 pm
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Re: X201 + X200 Ultrabase audio over HDMI?

#5 Post by vinuneuro » Sat Aug 21, 2010 10:49 pm

Just got one of those cheap small usb toslink soundcards. Problem solved.

shinjiplus
Freshman Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 8:32 pm

Re: X201 + X200 Ultrabase audio over HDMI?

#6 Post by shinjiplus » Tue Aug 24, 2010 1:12 am

http://www.amazon.com/DisplayPort-HDMI- ... 263&sr=8-2

that adapter WORKS with my X201 in X200 Ultrabase! both audio and video are passed through adapter over HDMI.

arion
Freshman Member
Posts: 116
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2004 9:02 am
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: X201 + X200 Ultrabase audio over HDMI?

#7 Post by arion » Sat Aug 28, 2010 1:03 am

Some of the DisplayPort to HDMI adapters do not pass audio.

jessar
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2010 7:52 pm
Location: Groningen, Netherlands

Re: X201 + X200 Ultrabase audio over HDMI?

#8 Post by jessar » Tue Dec 28, 2010 6:11 pm

m. shinjiplus please are you sure its work both audio and video ???
because i like this tablet so much but because the HDMI i didn't get it!! :roll:

AndyR
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 3:09 pm
Location: Portsmouth, England

Re: X201 + X200 Ultrabase audio over HDMI?

#9 Post by AndyR » Wed Jan 12, 2011 2:59 pm

audio works fine over using my cheapo amazon DP>HDMI cable,

I needed to enable it in control panel, default was to only put audio through on board speakers, changed to TV and works fine.

Excellent picture aswell so extremely pleased.

bretahrnek
Freshman Member
Posts: 72
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 9:59 am
Location: United Kingdom, Sheffield

Re: X201 + X200 Ultrabase audio over HDMI?

#10 Post by bretahrnek » Sat Oct 24, 2015 4:16 am

shinjiplus wrote:http://www.amazon.com/DisplayPort-HDMI- ... 263&sr=8-2

that adapter WORKS with my X201 in X200 Ultrabase! both audio and video are passed through adapter over HDMI.

Hi,
I've done plenty research and also tried that myself.
Have exactly same adapter -- startech display port -> hdmi and there is no audio through.

X201 with X200 ultrabase.

I think there is only one way to have it working and that requiring soldering inside ultrabase - locate audio signal and solder it onto displayport connector...

perhaps somebody had this idea and will share how to do the trick.


Brett
mainly in use : X201.i5.8GB.**AFFS**.120GBVertex4.Intel6300.GOBI2000.NMD.Ultrabase.w7Pro64
other : T410s.i5.8GB.120GBVertex4.Intel6300.GOBI2000.NMD.w7Pro64
others : X60 | T43p.UXGA.sata | 600e | X300 | T61p
ex : Edge.11 | T60.UXGA.T9500

emeraldgirl08
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1759
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 6:59 pm
Location: Window Rock, Arizona

Re: X201 + X200 Ultrabase audio over HDMI?

#11 Post by emeraldgirl08 » Sat Oct 24, 2015 9:30 am

bretahrnek wrote:
Hi,
I've done plenty research and also tried that myself.
Have exactly same adapter -- startech display port -> hdmi and there is no audio through.

X201 with X200 ultrabase.

I think there is only one way to have it working and that requiring soldering inside ultrabase - locate audio signal and solder it onto displayport connector...

perhaps somebody had this idea and will share how to do the trick.


Brett
Before dismantling and soldering try a different Displayport cable. An X201 with the X200/X201 Ultrabase will pass audio+video via Displayport. I am using a generic cable I bought off of Amazon and it works. If using W7:
  • Right-click on the volume icon in the task bar
  • Click on 'Playback devices'
  • Right-click on 'Speakers' and disable it
  • Right-click on monitor/television (in my case it shows Samsung) and enable it
There should now be sound passed along with video to your monitor or television.

To go back to using the X201 speakers or dock speakers go back into 'Playback devices' and disable Monitor/Television then enable 'Speakers.'

For others who are trying with an X200- this method will not work on an X200. I've owned (2) X200 and never was successful at getting it to pass along audio via the displayport- only video worked.
Thinkpad X230 | Lenovo Yoga Tablet 2 | mATX Haswell Desktop | Hackintosh

axur-delmeria
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2286
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: X201 + X200 Ultrabase audio over HDMI?

#12 Post by axur-delmeria » Sat Oct 24, 2015 10:18 am

bretahrnek wrote:think there is only one way to have it working and that requiring soldering inside ultrabase - locate audio signal and solder it onto displayport connector...
This is incorrect. DisplayPort does not have separate pins/signals for audio and video so there's nothing to solder.

Audio is carried in the same data packets as video, and it's up to the display hardware (LCD monitor or TV) to decode it.

When a display device doesn't have audio output capability, it identifies itself as Video-only device through the VESA DDC signal pins, telling the graphics hardware to not send audio data.
Daily driver: X220 4291-C91 i7-2620M

Backup: X601 Core 2 Duo T8100
Toy: X60F Core Solo U1300
On loan: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M
In pieces: two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E; X61 7676-A24; and a BOE-Hydis HV121P01-100 in failed SXGA+ mod
:cry:

bretahrnek
Freshman Member
Posts: 72
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 9:59 am
Location: United Kingdom, Sheffield

Re: X201 + X200 Ultrabase audio over HDMI?

#13 Post by bretahrnek » Sun Oct 25, 2015 3:52 am

emeraldgirl08 wrote:
Before dismantling and soldering try a different Displayport cable. An X201 with the X200/X201 Ultrabase will pass audio+video via Displayport. I am using a generic cable I bought off of Amazon and it works. If using W7:
  • Right-click on the volume icon in the task bar
  • Click on 'Playback devices'
  • Right-click on 'Speakers' and disable it
  • Right-click on monitor/television (in my case it shows Samsung) and enable it
There should now be sound passed along with video to your monitor or television.

To go back to using the X201 speakers or dock speakers go back into 'Playback devices' and disable Monitor/Television then enable 'Speakers.'

For others who are trying with an X200- this method will not work on an X200. I've owned (2) X200 and never was successful at getting it to pass along audio via the displayport- only video worked.

Hi, that is interesting, however can't see my TV listed there, only speakers...
Tried same with T420 and X200 and works like a charm...
X201 I'm using is 3680-3M3 it's i5 one
update: just tried that again, and whichever hdmi port I try on TV it just shows it as PNP monitor.
on different laptop/desktop it recognize it as SONY TV
mainly in use : X201.i5.8GB.**AFFS**.120GBVertex4.Intel6300.GOBI2000.NMD.Ultrabase.w7Pro64
other : T410s.i5.8GB.120GBVertex4.Intel6300.GOBI2000.NMD.w7Pro64
others : X60 | T43p.UXGA.sata | 600e | X300 | T61p
ex : Edge.11 | T60.UXGA.T9500

axur-delmeria
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2286
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: X201 + X200 Ultrabase audio over HDMI?

#14 Post by axur-delmeria » Sun Oct 25, 2015 11:32 pm

Which drivers did you install for the graphics?

Did you get it from:
1. Lenovo's web site
2. Windows Update
3. Intel website
Daily driver: X220 4291-C91 i7-2620M

Backup: X601 Core 2 Duo T8100
Toy: X60F Core Solo U1300
On loan: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M
In pieces: two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E; X61 7676-A24; and a BOE-Hydis HV121P01-100 in failed SXGA+ mod
:cry:

bretahrnek
Freshman Member
Posts: 72
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 9:59 am
Location: United Kingdom, Sheffield

Re: X201 + X200 Ultrabase audio over HDMI?

#15 Post by bretahrnek » Sun Nov 08, 2015 6:47 am

axur-delmeria wrote:Which drivers did you install for the graphics?

Did you get it from:
1. Lenovo's web site
2. Windows Update
3. Intel website
I'll try all all sources then..
didn't know there is a difference.

Think I've installed windows from original lenovo's RR dvds for X200, then lenovo system update - updated all.
that was about it.
mainly in use : X201.i5.8GB.**AFFS**.120GBVertex4.Intel6300.GOBI2000.NMD.Ultrabase.w7Pro64
other : T410s.i5.8GB.120GBVertex4.Intel6300.GOBI2000.NMD.w7Pro64
others : X60 | T43p.UXGA.sata | 600e | X300 | T61p
ex : Edge.11 | T60.UXGA.T9500

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad X200/201/220 and X300/301 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests