Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

T420, Black screen after switching to discrete graphics in BIOS

T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
zoboomafo
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2019 8:56 pm
Location: San Diego, California

T420, Black screen after switching to discrete graphics in BIOS

#1 Post by zoboomafo » Sun Sep 08, 2019 9:09 pm

I was trying to get my t420 to use the Nvidia 4200m graphics in liunx so i went into the BIOS and changed the display to Discrete. Now it boots to a black screen. The back light turns of for a few seconds then goes out. It appears to be booting normally and i was able to navigate the BIOS blind to switched it back integrated. I tried to update my bios. Its now on bios version 1.52 and still has the same problem. I have a 1080p screen installed. Could that be causing the problem? Or is my Nvidia chip dead?

zoboomafo
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2019 8:56 pm
Location: San Diego, California

Re: T420, Black screen after switching to discrete graphics in BIOS

#2 Post by zoboomafo » Mon Sep 09, 2019 10:59 pm

Can someone confirm wether or not the discrete graphicss setting in bios works with the 1080p screen upgrade?

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 20214
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Dublin, Éire
Contact:

Re: T420, Black screen after switching to discrete graphics in BIOS

#3 Post by RealBlackStuff » Tue Sep 10, 2019 12:33 am

Check the "stickies" at the top of this forum page for the FHD upgrade kits.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (the Real Black Stuff). And pigs CAN fly!
Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

zoboomafo
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2019 8:56 pm
Location: San Diego, California

Re: T420, Black screen after switching to discrete graphics in BIOS

#4 Post by zoboomafo » Tue Sep 10, 2019 9:18 am

I have. There is no mention of anyone attempting to change to discrete in bios. I'm just going to have to assume my Nvidia chip is dead and order a new motherboard.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests