Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

does T420 (not T420s) not support an UltraBay?

T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
angelofthesouth1
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon May 27, 2019 3:03 pm
Location: Glendale, AZ

does T420 (not T420s) not support an UltraBay?

#1 Post by angelofthesouth1 » Sat Aug 01, 2020 11:30 am

I wanted to see what files were left on an old failing laptop hard drive, so I inserted it in my Ultrabay (I love those devices). The computer (T420) would not read it. That was okay, the drive was likely dead anyway. But I tried my active hard drive just to make sure: I rebooted with the drive in the ultrabay. Hmm, the T420 won't read that either.

This doesn't make sense anymore. I started wondering if the ultrabay is broken. Or...does the T420 (not T420s) not work with ultrabays?

I should mention that I run used Thinkpads and they sometimes behave strangely due (probably) to being not in the best shape. For instance, this T420 tends to ignore F12 at boot when I press it to boot from another device. I have to use the ThinkVantage button.

Cigarguy
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1719
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 3:08 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Re: does T420 (not T420s) not support an UltraBay?

#2 Post by Cigarguy » Sat Aug 01, 2020 12:46 pm

My T420 supports an Ultrabay HDD without any problems. I'm thinking it's not laptop but the Ultrabay adapter that is the problem.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: TheMagicT410 and 54 guests