Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

T420 3G modem

T400/T410/T420 and T500/T510/T520 Series
Post Reply
Message
Author
adip
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 1:33 pm
Location: /POL/, land

T420 3G modem

#1 Post by adip » Tue Jan 20, 2015 1:54 pm

I want to install 3g modem in my thinkpad and i have Ericsson f5521gw from my old hp mini. Vendor (who sold me my t420) told my that I can install it. Laptop has 6 month warranty and seal witch i don't want to void just to check this. This 420 has model : EDIT: 4180-W15 can you tell me is it upgradable? I mean does has empty pcie slot and does is have second antenna?
Last edited by adip on Tue Jan 20, 2015 3:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

rkawakami
Admin
Admin
Posts: 10327
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 1:26 am
Location: San Jose, CA 95120 USA
Contact:

Re: T420 3G modem

#2 Post by rkawakami » Tue Jan 20, 2015 2:29 pm

Welcome to thinkpads.com!

4180-15W does not seem to be in the Support database. Can you please double check?
Ray Kawakami
X22 X24 X31 X41 X41T X60 X60s X61 X61s X200 X200s X300 X301 Z60m Z61t Z61p 560 560Z 600 600E 600X T21 T22 T23 T41 T60p T410 T420 T520 W500 W520 R50 A21p A22p A31 A31p
NOTE: All links to PC-Doctor software hosted by me are dead. Files removed 8/28/12 by manufacturer's demand.

adip
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 1:33 pm
Location: /POL/, land

Re: T420 3G modem

#3 Post by adip » Tue Jan 20, 2015 2:46 pm

OMG sorry 4180-W15 or product id:4180W15

FryPpy
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 537
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 3:29 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: T420 3G modem

#4 Post by FryPpy » Tue Jan 20, 2015 3:51 pm

adip wrote:OMG sorry 4180-W15 or product id:4180W15
TMT database (by twistero) sad
i5-2520M(2.5GHz) 2GB RAM 160GB 7200rpm HD 14in 1366x768 LCD NVIDIA N12P-NS1 1GB CDRW/DVDRW Intel 802.11agn wireless WWAN Bluetooth modem 1Gb Ethernet UltraNav Secure Chip 6c Li-Ion Win7 Pro 32
It is like you have WWAN already. Check BIOS->Security may be WWAN is disabled here?

adip
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 1:33 pm
Location: /POL/, land

Re: T420 3G modem

#5 Post by adip » Tue Jan 20, 2015 4:17 pm

My thinkpad was little bit customizeb by the vendor, it has 4GB of ram and 128GB SSD.
Under battery I have sticker with wwan's imei. I think he removed it and sold separately. :BAAAD!:
What you think, will it have antenna cable?

AIX
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 503
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 3:10 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania, EU

Re: T420 3G modem

#6 Post by AIX » Wed Jan 21, 2015 3:45 am

Yes, most probably.

In order to install the WWAN card, you have to remove the DIMM slot cover, it's under the back of your laptop, just one screw. Is this cover sealed?!

ThinkPad T420 and T420i Hardware Maintenance Manual
T480 · i7-8650U · 32GB RAM · 512GB SSD · FHD · NVIDIA MX150 · Fibocom L830-EB
T420s · i5-2520M · 12GB RAM · 480GB SSD · HD+ · HD3000 · F5521gw
Past: T430, T400, T60, T41, T22, 600X, 390X

Norway Pad
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1161
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 2:50 pm
Location: Meridian, ID & Oyer, Norway
Contact:

Re: T420 3G modem

#7 Post by Norway Pad » Wed Jan 21, 2015 4:01 am

adip wrote:What you think, will it have antenna cable?
Remove the cover and make sure you have two cables, one blue and one red, hanging in the open area next to the DIMM. Those cables are from the WWAN antennas.

The other WWAN major component is the SIM card reader, which appears to be an integrated part of the motherboard, and should still be there. The HMM says nothing bout it being removable, as it was on the older T60/T61 machines.
Bjorn
THINKPAD collector. Only missing a proper RetroThinkpad.

adip
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 1:33 pm
Location: /POL/, land

Re: T420 3G modem

#8 Post by adip » Wed Jan 21, 2015 3:42 pm

I checked i have antenna. :)
I installed and... My thinkpad is not bootting unautorised card :eek:
Here is photo of modem it seems that hp has their own version of F5521GW :evil:
http://i.imgur.com/5EW8bml.png
Witch solution is better?
Should i flash custom bios or buy orginal ibm F5521GW?

Does anyone of tried to remove whitelist?

I've found this https://www.bios-mods.com/forum/Thread- ... st-removal And https://www.bios-mods.com/forum/Thread- ... S-ver-1-46
I also have installed 1.46 but there is model difference. Will it work? Lenovo on their webside have only one 2 versions for diffrend windows and it works.

Norway Pad
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1161
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 2:50 pm
Location: Meridian, ID & Oyer, Norway
Contact:

Re: T420 3G modem

#9 Post by Norway Pad » Thu Jan 22, 2015 1:09 am

I tested a Gobi2000 card that was pulled from a T410, but that card as well gave the 1802 error in the T420. So it seems like even genuine cards from other "generations" trigger that error too. Funny thing is that the 1802 didn't happen before the Qualcomm Gobi2000 driver was installed.

I don't know about this BIOS. Seems like it's flashed from within Windows, which is a thing I have always avoided. Might be just me, though. From the feedbacks on the forum there, it seems like it works for some users. But I can't give any other advice than to proceed with caution. An unsuccessful BIOS flash can theoretically brick your laptop.

Are there anybody else here who have experience with these modded BIOS files?
Bjorn
THINKPAD collector. Only missing a proper RetroThinkpad.

adip
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 1:33 pm
Location: /POL/, land

Re: T420 3G modem

#10 Post by adip » Thu Jan 22, 2015 4:19 am

Can you tell me what card i should look for for example on ebay? What FRU I should look for.

AIX
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 503
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 3:10 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania, EU

Re: T420 3G modem

#11 Post by AIX » Thu Jan 22, 2015 4:30 am

I'd buy an original part (like this one), with a modified BIOS that allows you to use a generic card I think you can't control the card with Fn+F5 (enable/disable), if I'm not wrong.

http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.ph ... 26#p730926
T480 · i7-8650U · 32GB RAM · 512GB SSD · FHD · NVIDIA MX150 · Fibocom L830-EB
T420s · i5-2520M · 12GB RAM · 480GB SSD · HD+ · HD3000 · F5521gw
Past: T430, T400, T60, T41, T22, 600X, 390X

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 22128
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Wexford, Éire
Contact:

Re: T420 3G modem

#12 Post by RealBlackStuff » Thu Jan 22, 2015 4:34 am

I would seriously stay away from that https://www.bios-mods.com place, they are a bunch of backwater bunglers!
If you want a decent modded BIOS, check out http://forums.MyDigitalLife.info and check for a "Slic BIOS" for your model T420).
You'd find this: http://forums.mydigitallife.info/printt ... 0&page=405
Scroll down to Serg008's first post. Select the second link (Slic + WList).
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)
Covid-19: Stay safe, so still Mask it or Casket!

Norway Pad
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1161
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2009 2:50 pm
Location: Meridian, ID & Oyer, Norway
Contact:

Re: T420 3G modem

#13 Post by Norway Pad » Thu Jan 22, 2015 4:49 am

adip wrote:Can you tell me what card i should look for for example on ebay? What FRU I should look for.
I found this one, which seems to be a Gobi3000 for the T420. http://www.ebay.com/itm/271539301529?_t ... EBIDX%3AIT I might pick one of these up just to see, instead of installing a modified BIOS. If so, I'll let you guys know how it turns out.

Edit: Priceless description from RBS there. :lol: I wouldn't say anything in case anyone here are involved, but I'd too say that the MyDigitalLife forum gives a better impression.
Bjorn
THINKPAD collector. Only missing a proper RetroThinkpad.

adip
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 1:33 pm
Location: /POL/, land

Re: T420 3G modem

#14 Post by adip » Thu Jan 22, 2015 7:42 am

I will buy this but in my country. Because prices are better. 45 usd vs 50 pln check in google :lol:
http://allegro.pl/modem-wwan-f5521gw-le ... 83489.html
*Website is in polish.
Looks legit.

AIX
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 503
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 3:10 am
Location: Bucharest, Romania, EU

Re: T420 3G modem

#15 Post by AIX » Thu Jan 22, 2015 7:54 am

Good price, indeed. The funny thing is that I just did a search and found it for the same price - 50 RON - here, in Romania. And the RON is pretty much on par with the PLN :D
T480 · i7-8650U · 32GB RAM · 512GB SSD · FHD · NVIDIA MX150 · Fibocom L830-EB
T420s · i5-2520M · 12GB RAM · 480GB SSD · HD+ · HD3000 · F5521gw
Past: T430, T400, T60, T41, T22, 600X, 390X

karotlopj
Sophomore Member
Posts: 237
Joined: Wed May 18, 2016 7:14 am
Location: Yorkshire, England

Re: T420 3G modem

#16 Post by karotlopj » Sat May 08, 2021 10:16 am

Kind of late to this thread, but can anyone help me check whether I can use my 3G modem in a T420?

I have a <Sierra Wireless Inc Sierra Wireless MC8355 - Gobi 3000(TM) Module> at usbus1

Using the networking app in Windows 10 it tell me the card is not active and has no subscription. I can however use the same SIM in a ThinkPad X1 Carbon and TP-LINK 4G router so wondering what can be done to use it with the T420.

Any suggestions?
My ThinkPad Graveyard:
600 * 2, X220, X61 * 2, T61

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T400/T410/T420 and T500/T510/T520 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 43 guests