Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Install 16GB RAM on T510

T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
ircfas133
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2009 8:40 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Install 16GB RAM on T510

#1 Post by ircfas133 » Thu Nov 15, 2012 1:32 am

So T510 only supports 8 GB RAM, potentially due to CPU limitation. I saw online there are people go ahead and install 16 GB RAM anyway. Did anybody on this forum try this? How does it work? If there is a way to go brutal force on this, I'm very curious the way to implement this. Thanks!

ZaZ
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4524
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 1:33 pm
Location: Minnesota

Re: Install 16GB RAM on T510

#2 Post by ZaZ » Thu Nov 15, 2012 3:27 am

I believe the T510 is chipset limited to 8GB, which means it's a no-go.
ProBook 470 G3

jayton4
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 618
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 9:00 am
Location: United States

Re: Install 16GB RAM on T510

#3 Post by jayton4 » Thu Nov 15, 2012 6:53 am

Yes it was tried and confirmed that it does not work. If you use a 32bit OS that can only address 3GB RAM, you can get it to boot. However, if you use anything 64bit it will not boot at all. I am sure that it will not work. Check indicium's post on this thread:
http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?f=45&t=106598
Also, wolfman is an expert on this issue.



As far as it being a chipset limitation, I can not be so sure about that. The processor for the W510 (with 4 ram slots) was the I7-820QM which is also said to be chipset limited at 8GB, yet this model fully supports 16GB.

Your best bet is to dump that T510 and get either a T520, T530, W510, W520, or W530.
jayton4
Current models/upgrades:
T410 2518X01- 8GB, Corsair Force GT 120GB
T410s 2901A3U- 8GB, Intel 6300 WiFi, Crucial m4 mSATA 256GB SSD w/ microSATA adapter
T420s 4174PPU- 16GB, Intel 520-series 7mm 180GB SSD, Crucial M550 512GB mSATA SSD, Intel 6300 WiFi
and a few classics in storage

ircfas133
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2009 8:40 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Install 16GB RAM on T510

#4 Post by ircfas133 » Fri Nov 16, 2012 9:29 pm

Many thanks for your help!

john1in2
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 12:26 am
Location: San Diego CA

Re: Install 16GB RAM on T510

#5 Post by john1in2 » Fri Dec 07, 2012 6:58 pm

T430 works with 16 GB RAM. GSKill 16GB was recently on sale at newegg for $48.00 free shipping.

atactic
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 11:12 am
Location: Burlington, Canada

Re: Install 16GB RAM on T510

#6 Post by atactic » Mon Aug 06, 2018 11:16 am

This is an old Thread bit...
Installing 16 GB RAm to my T510 it failed to boot Windows 10 (64 bit of course). Lenovo has updated their support docs, 16 GB is the max Ram for the W510, but the T510 remains at 8GB.
atactic

TPFanatic
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1027
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 11:29 pm
Location: Boston, Massachusetts

Re: Install 16GB RAM on T510

#7 Post by TPFanatic » Tue Aug 07, 2018 4:41 pm

W510 is actually a bit of an oddity. It has quad core and dual core models. The quad cores are Nehalem/Clarksfield, while the dual cores are Arrandale. The dual core model is basically a T510 with NVIDIA Quadro FX 880M and probably limited to 8GB like the T510, T410, and X201.

Nehalem's MCH is evidently able to work with more than 8GB of RAM and 8GB sticks, as seen in these posts where users upgraded their W510 to 32GB of RAM.
https://old.reddit.com/r/thinkpad/comme ... questions/
https://www.quora.com/Is-it-possible-to ... -32-GB-RAM

General speed wise and graphically, the W510 is completely superseded by the W520 and W530. The only thing the W510 has that the others don't is a touchscreen option.

The W701 with quad core can also have 32GB of RAM.
lenovo T61 T7500, SXGA+, 8GB
lenovo T410s i5 520m, WXGA+, 4GB
lenovo T430 i5 3320m, FHD, 8GB
lenovo T500 P9700, WUXGA, 8GB
lenovo T520 i7 2760QM, FHD, 8GB



Enable 2 finger scroll on any Synaptics touchpads with registry: http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=122612

jdrou
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 630
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 6:15 pm
Location: Madison Heights, MI

Re: Install 16GB RAM on T510

#8 Post by jdrou » Tue Aug 07, 2018 6:24 pm

TPFanatic wrote:
Tue Aug 07, 2018 4:41 pm
W510 is actually a bit of an oddity. It has quad core and dual core models. The quad cores are Nehalem/Clarksfield, while the dual cores are Arrandale. The dual core model is basically a T510 with NVIDIA Quadro FX 880M and probably limited to 8GB like the T510, T410, and X201.

Nehalem's MCH is evidently able to work with more than 8GB of RAM and 8GB sticks, as seen in these posts where users upgraded their W510 to 32GB of RAM.
https://old.reddit.com/r/thinkpad/comme ... questions/
https://www.quora.com/Is-it-possible-to ... -32-GB-RAM

General speed wise and graphically, the W510 is completely superseded by the W520 and W530. The only thing the W510 has that the others don't is a touchscreen option.

The W701 with quad core can also have 32GB of RAM.
Also applies to Precision M6500; dual-core had two slots and could only take 4 GB modules and quad-core could take 4x 8GB modules. W701 and M6500 actually had options to ship with 32 GB. I don't think that was 'officially' supported by Intel though.
Current Thinkpads:
X31, X40, X61T, X61, X201, X220 (i7 IPS), W520 (2720QM/2000M/FHD), T440p (i7-4800MQ/GF730GT/FHD)
Dells: Latitude C840, Precision M70, Precision M4400, M6400 (WUXGA), M6600, M6700
Daily driver: Dell XPS 13 w/Kaby Lake+Iris Pro+TB3

axur-delmeria
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1928
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: Install 16GB RAM on T510

#9 Post by axur-delmeria » Wed Aug 08, 2018 2:28 am

Note that Nehalem and Clarksfield have an on-die memory controller, while Arrandale's is on a separate die along with the graphics unit. It's possible that Arrandale's memory controller is derived from the Core 2-era GM45.
Daily driver: X220 4291-C91 i7-2620M

Backup: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M
Toy: X60F Core Solo U1300
In pieces: two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E; X61 7676-A24; and a BOE-Hydis HV121P01-100 in failed SXGA+ mod
:cry:

TPFanatic
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1027
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 11:29 pm
Location: Boston, Massachusetts

Re: Install 16GB RAM on T510

#10 Post by TPFanatic » Wed Aug 08, 2018 8:23 am

Nehalem and Clarksfield also don't have integrated graphics.
lenovo T61 T7500, SXGA+, 8GB
lenovo T410s i5 520m, WXGA+, 4GB
lenovo T430 i5 3320m, FHD, 8GB
lenovo T500 P9700, WUXGA, 8GB
lenovo T520 i7 2760QM, FHD, 8GB



Enable 2 finger scroll on any Synaptics touchpads with registry: http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=122612

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests