Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

How do you test the T500 webcam?

T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
LisaKali
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2011 8:32 am
Location: Chicago, IL

How do you test the T500 webcam?

#1 Post by LisaKali » Thu Sep 12, 2013 7:35 am

Does anyone know how to test the webcam on the T500?

Fn-F6 and Fn-esc do nothing. I have installed the new drivers and rebooted, the webcam shows up as it should in the device manager, and the cam works in Skype, but that is all!

Thank you!

underclocker
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4016
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 3:52 pm
Location: Wash., D.C.

Re: How do you test the T500 webcam?

#2 Post by underclocker » Thu Sep 12, 2013 7:40 am

LisaKali wrote:...the webcam shows up as it should in the device manager, and the cam works in Skype, but that is all!
What more are you looking for? Those are the exact things that I do to test a webcam. You're webcam is working.
T510, i7-620m, NVidia, HD+, 8GB, 180GB Intel Pro 1500 SSD, Webcam, BT, FPR Home
T400s, C2D SP9400, Intel 4500MHD, WXGA+, 8GB, 160GB Intel X18-M G2 SSD, Webcam, BT, FPR Travel
Edge 14 Core i5 | Edge 15 Core i3 | Edge 15 Athlon II

schen
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1541
Joined: Thu May 06, 2004 11:01 am
Location: Forney, Texas

Re: How do you test the T500 webcam?

#3 Post by schen » Sun Sep 15, 2013 10:41 am

In essence, it's just a piece of hardware and doesn't do anything other than what some software application tells it to do. Among the more typical are things like some sort of imaging app that can use it to capture a still or video like any other digi-cam. You just have to look in the menu of it to see if the webcam is recognized by the software. Also, some security software will use it as a face recognition form of biometric to lock and unlock something like your logon or screen-saver.

Hope that's useful, but I'm going to go ahead and move this to the T5xx conference anyway in case anyone had anything to add.
Family Daily Drivers- T430s, T530, X220
Work- Sadly, the ThinkPads have gone away...... and replaced by HP ProDesk SFF drone machines :(
Other Projects- Edge 15, Z61m (Titanium)
Historic Retired ThinkPads- T42p, X20, A31p, 701c, 760XD, WorkPad C505

LisaKali
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2011 8:32 am
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: How do you test the T500 webcam?

#4 Post by LisaKali » Sun Sep 15, 2013 11:17 am

Fn-F6 is supposed to test it, and for many who post online this works. Fn-Esc is also supposed to work but, again, does not on my machine.

I need to be able to see what full-screen looks like on my machine, and cannot.

emeraldgirl08
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1759
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 6:59 pm
Location: Window Rock, Arizona

Re: How do you test the T500 webcam?

#5 Post by emeraldgirl08 » Sun Sep 15, 2013 11:50 am

More information about your setup would be helpful. What OS are you using? Which specific drivers in reference to the webcam have you installed?
Thinkpad X230 | Lenovo Yoga Tablet 2 | mATX Haswell Desktop | Hackintosh

LisaKali
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2011 8:32 am
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: How do you test the T500 webcam?

#6 Post by LisaKali » Sun Sep 15, 2013 11:52 am

Windows 7. Latest drivers...

emeraldgirl08
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1759
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 6:59 pm
Location: Window Rock, Arizona

Re: How do you test the T500 webcam?

#7 Post by emeraldgirl08 » Sun Sep 15, 2013 12:04 pm

Drivers? Which drivers? There are complementary drivers in addition to the Integrated Camera Driver for FN+F6 to function correctly. Have you installed Thinkvantage Communications Utility? Hotkeys Integration? There might be another driver as well but I cannot check Lenovo Support- it seems to be undergoing maintenance.
Thinkpad X230 | Lenovo Yoga Tablet 2 | mATX Haswell Desktop | Hackintosh

LisaKali
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2011 8:32 am
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: How do you test the T500 webcam?

#8 Post by LisaKali » Sun Sep 15, 2013 1:01 pm

The latest - ie most recent - drivers for the Thinkpad t500 on the Lenovo website. At least,on their site, Lenovo says that they are the latest.

emeraldgirl08
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1759
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 6:59 pm
Location: Window Rock, Arizona

Re: How do you test the T500 webcam?

#9 Post by emeraldgirl08 » Sun Sep 15, 2013 2:02 pm

LisaKali wrote:Windows 7. Latest drivers...
Have you installed either of these drivers? If not then then give you might want to give them a try. I have made a link for you directly from the Lenovo Support site.

Hotkeys Features Integration for Windows 7 (32-bit, 64-bit)

and

Thinkvantage Communications Utility for Windows 7 (32-bit, 64-bit)

The drivers on that site are the latest as Lenovo has tweaked the drivers to work with their proprietary software e.g. Lenovo Program Manager. Do not forget to restart after installing the drivers. Hope they do the trick :)
Thinkpad X230 | Lenovo Yoga Tablet 2 | mATX Haswell Desktop | Hackintosh

LisaKali
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2011 8:32 am
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: How do you test the T500 webcam?

#10 Post by LisaKali » Sun Sep 15, 2013 5:26 pm

Thank you, I will take a look!

jeremy_norbury
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 7:28 am
Location: Amstelveen
Contact:

Re: How do you test the T500 webcam?

#11 Post by jeremy_norbury » Mon Dec 02, 2013 4:06 am

LisaKali wrote:Does anyone know how to test the webcam on the T500?

Fn-F6 and Fn-esc do nothing. I have installed the new drivers and rebooted, the webcam shows up as it should in the device manager, and the cam works in Skype, but that is all!

Thank you!
Fn-F6 causes Skype to popup on my T530...

samuel79
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 2:17 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: How do you test the T500 webcam?

#12 Post by samuel79 » Thu Feb 27, 2014 5:21 pm

LisaKali wrote:Does anyone know how to test the webcam on the T500?

Fn-F6 and Fn-esc do nothing. I have installed the new drivers and rebooted, the webcam shows up as it should in the device manager, and the cam works in Skype, but that is all!

Thank you!

if it shows i skype its working im not aware of a windows program that lets you use the cam

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests