Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

T420 screen resolution

T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
Garth
Freshman Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 4:42 pm
Location: Worcester, UK

T420 screen resolution

#1 Post by Garth » Sun Mar 06, 2016 2:06 am

I currently have an old faithful T60p (used daily) with the 1400x1050 display and am thinking of getting a newer Thinkpad for the more powerful processors. Narrowing down to a T420 (I like the older-style keyboard layout). There are loads of these on Ebay with 1366x768 screens at reasonable prices. Is it worth holding out for one with a 1600x900 display as these are thin on the ground?
(1) T420 i7, 8 Gb RAM, 128 Gb SSD, 500 Gb HD in Ultrabay, 1600x900, Win 10 Pro 64-bit
(2) T60p 2.16 GHz, 4 Gb RAM, 256 Gb SSD, 500 Gb HD in Ultrabay, 14" 1400x1050, Win 7 32-bit/XP dualboot
(3) T22 900mHz, 512 Mb RAM, 320 Gb HD, Win XP
(4) 600E 400mHz, 512 Mb RAM, 12 Gb HD, Win XP

jwjensen356
Freshman Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 2:53 pm
Location: San Mateo, California

Re: T420 screen resolution

#2 Post by jwjensen356 » Sun Mar 06, 2016 2:37 am

I just acquired a new T420 (NIB) and it has the 1366x768 screen. I am going from a T40 so I am having to get used to the new screen and aspect ratio. Looks fine to me.
Last edited by jwjensen356 on Tue Aug 09, 2016 5:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

dr_st
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8219
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 6:20 am
Location: Israel

Re: T420 screen resolution

#3 Post by dr_st » Sun Mar 06, 2016 3:28 am

IMO, definitely hunt for the 1600x900, or buy one with 1366x768 and replace the screen yourself.

Going down from 1400x1050 to 1366x768, on a machine that is supposed to be the daily driver, is not what you want to do, believe me. :)
Thinkpad 25 (20K7), X1 Carbon (20HQ), Yoga 14 (20FY), T430s (IPS FHD + Classic Keyboard), X220 4291-4BG
X61 7673-V2V, T60 2007-QPG, T42 2373-F7G, X32 (IPS Screen), A31p w/ Ultrabay Numpad, A21m 2628-GXU

Garth
Freshman Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 4:42 pm
Location: Worcester, UK

Re: T420 screen resolution

#4 Post by Garth » Sun Mar 06, 2016 8:12 am

Having done more research I'm now thinking of going for a T420 with an i7 processor as there appear to be more of these about with 1600x900 graphics than the i5 processor and the extra performance would come in handy. Cost a bit more but there are several on Ebay. I already have an SSD to fit so should make a nice machine.
(1) T420 i7, 8 Gb RAM, 128 Gb SSD, 500 Gb HD in Ultrabay, 1600x900, Win 10 Pro 64-bit
(2) T60p 2.16 GHz, 4 Gb RAM, 256 Gb SSD, 500 Gb HD in Ultrabay, 14" 1400x1050, Win 7 32-bit/XP dualboot
(3) T22 900mHz, 512 Mb RAM, 320 Gb HD, Win XP
(4) 600E 400mHz, 512 Mb RAM, 12 Gb HD, Win XP

Garth
Freshman Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 4:42 pm
Location: Worcester, UK

Re: T420 screen resolution

#5 Post by Garth » Sun Mar 20, 2016 11:44 am

I've now bought a little-used excorporate T420 with a 1600x900 screen, i7 processor, 8Gb memory and Windows 10 Pro. It hums along very nicely and really fits the bill. It has a 500 Gb mechanical HD and will go even better when I install my spare SSD and put the 500 Gb HD in the Ultrabay. Worth hunting down on Ebay. Only problem so far is that the SD slot isn't recognised but I guess that this is a driver issue as it doesn't have any Lenovo-specific drivers installed.
(1) T420 i7, 8 Gb RAM, 128 Gb SSD, 500 Gb HD in Ultrabay, 1600x900, Win 10 Pro 64-bit
(2) T60p 2.16 GHz, 4 Gb RAM, 256 Gb SSD, 500 Gb HD in Ultrabay, 14" 1400x1050, Win 7 32-bit/XP dualboot
(3) T22 900mHz, 512 Mb RAM, 320 Gb HD, Win XP
(4) 600E 400mHz, 512 Mb RAM, 12 Gb HD, Win XP

axur-delmeria
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2463
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: T420 screen resolution

#6 Post by axur-delmeria » Sun Mar 20, 2016 12:49 pm

^ Get an mSATA SSD so you don't have to put the hard drive on the Ultrabay.
Daily driver: X220 4291-C91 i7-2620M

Backup: X601 Core 2 Duo T8100
Toy: X60F Core Solo U1300
On loan: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M
In pieces: two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E; X61 7676-A24; and a BOE-Hydis HV121P01-100 in failed SXGA+ mod
:cry:

Garth
Freshman Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 4:42 pm
Location: Worcester, UK

Re: T420 screen resolution

#7 Post by Garth » Mon Mar 21, 2016 2:46 am

axur-delmeria wrote:^ Get an mSATA SSD so you don't have to put the hard drive on the Ultrabay.
So where does this fit? Any restrictions on capacity? I/O same speed as Ultrabay? Prresumably you can boot from this?
(1) T420 i7, 8 Gb RAM, 128 Gb SSD, 500 Gb HD in Ultrabay, 1600x900, Win 10 Pro 64-bit
(2) T60p 2.16 GHz, 4 Gb RAM, 256 Gb SSD, 500 Gb HD in Ultrabay, 14" 1400x1050, Win 7 32-bit/XP dualboot
(3) T22 900mHz, 512 Mb RAM, 320 Gb HD, Win XP
(4) 600E 400mHz, 512 Mb RAM, 12 Gb HD, Win XP

axur-delmeria
Senior ThinkPadder
Senior ThinkPadder
Posts: 2463
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: T420 screen resolution

#8 Post by axur-delmeria » Mon Mar 21, 2016 11:38 am

The mSATA slot is beside the RAM slot on the underside of the laptop. This also doubles as a Wireless WAN (WWAN) slot, so if your T420 has built-in 3G/UMTS modem, you'll have to remove it to make way for the mSATA SSD.

The mSATA slot is limited to SATA 2 (3Gbps) speed in contrast to the HDD's SATA 3 (6Gbps).
Daily driver: X220 4291-C91 i7-2620M

Backup: X601 Core 2 Duo T8100
Toy: X60F Core Solo U1300
On loan: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M
In pieces: two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E; X61 7676-A24; and a BOE-Hydis HV121P01-100 in failed SXGA+ mod
:cry:

yankeesamurai
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2016 12:38 pm
Location: Woodland Park, CO, on planet Earth

Re: T420 screen resolution

#9 Post by yankeesamurai » Wed Mar 30, 2016 6:02 pm

ABSOLUTLY GET THE I7 HD MODEL... us 420 users drool over them.... , but desire more horsepower and glossier screen in our nightly dreams..lol you wont be dissapointed.. something ive discovered about the 420 is that it loves win 8.1 , its about 40% faster
than win 7... the difference is amazing..and instantly noticed first time 8.1 is installed... I was going to go for a processor upgrade
to a I7 until i tried win8.. now i just need those display upgrades to come in here at the forum.. lol

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests