ThinkPad T400 - Should I "Permanently Disable" Computrace?

T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
bakery2k
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2008 8:54 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

ThinkPad T400 - Should I "Permanently Disable" Computrace?

#1 Post by bakery2k » Sat Mar 04, 2017 8:38 pm

I have just received a second-hand ThinkPad T400. In the BIOS "Anti-Theft" options, "Computrace" was set to "Enabled" but "Not Activated".

Having read about issues with second-hand ThinkPads in which Computrace was "Activated", I have changed the setting to "Disabled". Would you recommend going further and setting it to "Permanently Disabled"?

If so, should I do the same for the other "Anti-Theft" options: "Intel AT-p" and "ConstantSecure"?

ji2o0k
Freshman Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2015 6:25 pm
Location: Toronto, ON Canada

Re: ThinkPad T400 - Should I "Permanently Disable" Computrace?

#2 Post by ji2o0k » Sat Mar 04, 2017 9:21 pm

I did on both my T430s and T420s.....permanently disabled Computrace....


Not sure why you would keep it on - I would never use the service and even if I resell them, the buyer understands he is getting a 2nd hand unit

TPFanatic
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 753
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 11:29 pm
Location: Hudson, New Hampshire

Re: ThinkPad T400 - Should I "Permanently Disable" Computrace?

#3 Post by TPFanatic » Sat Mar 04, 2017 10:13 pm

There is a risk that Computrace can enable and activate itself if a Windows environment running Computrace is put in the computer.

If Permanently Disabled kills it for good, it's a good thing to do.
Daily driver: lenovo T500 P9700, WUXGA, 8GB
Ultraportable: IBM lenovo X60s
Home theater: lenovo T420

Enable advanced features on older Synaptics touchpads with the registry: http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=122612

jaspen-meyer
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 716
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 11:21 pm
Location: Pardubice, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: ThinkPad T400 - Should I "Permanently Disable" Computrace?

#4 Post by jaspen-meyer » Sun Mar 05, 2017 3:02 am

bakery2k wrote:Would you recommend going further and setting it to "Permanently Disabled"?
It is a rootkit.
It's anyone's guess what, exactly, "Permantely disabled" does or does not do.

Clearly, it's not a 'good witch'; when you click "Permanently Disable" it responds by scaring you by displaying a red screen with white letters.
T420 i7 3612QM; T420 i7 3630QM; T400 Q9100; x60s libreboot, led; x24 xiphmont led

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 18270
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Contact:

Re: ThinkPad T400 - Should I "Permanently Disable" Computrace?

#5 Post by RealBlackStuff » Sun Mar 05, 2017 8:28 am

Definitely Permanently Disable Computrace/LoJack and I'd do the same with the Intel Anti-Theft.
Probably just as bad as their ME and AMT.
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests