Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

Power increase on T500?

T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 series specific matters only
Message
Author
TPFanatic
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1027
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 11:29 pm
Location: Boston, Massachusetts

Re: Power increase on T500?

#31 Post by TPFanatic » Tue Jun 06, 2017 9:29 pm

I upgraded from a T42p to a T500 since July 2015. I chose the T500 because, as others pointed out, the 16:10 screen. I also appreciate the classic ultrabay and keyboard. T500 replacement parts and system boards are also incredibly cheap. My laptop is nearing 8 years old and a W500 in my care just kicked the bucket. (some sort of power problem, the power port zaps when an AC adapter is plugged in)

I use my T500 daily for writing, photo editing, and Youtube. I know it can handle Youtube 1080@60FPS but my internet limitations require me to force 1080@30FPS with an extension. At times I use 3D programs and the Radeon 3650 helps for that, as they would otherwise run in compatibility mode with the GMA 4500. I can also play some 3D games with the 3650. The 3650 has zero effect on the browser and adds extra heat so I run with it off when not using 3D.


I have done the following upgrades.


RAM: 4GB to 8GB
This was an important upgrade to me since I use Firefox and it is VERY ram intensive. I ran out often at 4GB, I could not multitask with multiple heavy programs open. Now I leave programs open with seemingly endless RAM to spare. Windows still tends to take more and more RAM over time.


Screen: LG 1680x1050 to Sharp 1920x1200 to LG LP154WU1-TLA2 1920x1200 Glossy
The original LG was the superior OEM screen. Colors were very good and it was also bright. My T42p was UXGA and I wanted to get 1200p back so I upgraded to some Sharp. That screen developed QC problems and also had terrible brightness control. Finally upgraded to a glossy LG 1920x1200 with better colors, best brightness, and 500:1 contrast ratio. It is unusable outdoors but I have newer LED laptops for that. I may do the LED mod sometime. All OEM WUXGA's are quite dim. I may have to buy and install a matte screen again so I can use this outside. No point in charging my 9 cell batteries if I'm not going mobile. Or maybe I will try an antiglare filter?


CPU: P8600 2.4ghz 3MB L2 25W to P9700 2.8ghz 6MB L2 28W
I felt the P8600 was bottlenecking me in some 3D games I like to play and also make Youtube smoother. I upgraded to a P9700 and there is no noticeable improvement in games or browsing, or playing Flash games (death to Flash), except the CPU gets hotter and my TPFC settings have to step up the fan. With the P8600 the CPU never exceeded 75C under load. The P9700 gets up to 80C. Only improvement is it seems to handle videos in VLC better.


Flashed no-whitelist BIOS
I have the T500 that uses the 7V versions so I already had SLIC 2.1. I dug around for a correct no-whitelist BIOS for my T500 and used it to install a 3G WWAN which has been useless. I may install a 4G card in the future. Wireless, I'm currently using an Intel 5300 wireless card and may upgrade to something newer still with 3 antennae in the future. My router is barely N and my ISP is crap so ultimately my internet speed is no better than my T42p's G.


Installed a webcam
Ultimately a stupid thing to do because I never use it.


Future plans:
- Install 4G WWAN.
- Install 3 antenna newer Wifi card.
- LED mod the screen.
- Reinstall Windows because my Win 7 image is slow as mud booting. Maybe upgrade to 10 Pro so I get that sweet Bitlocker drive encryption.
- EGPU


I love my T500 and will probably use it for several more years. I've stopped playing 3D games. Writing, digital art, and videos are my current recreational hobbies. The screen and keyboard are most important to that.

I'm eying the W530 or W541 as possible upgrade paths in my future, so I can add 3D gaming to my life again and never have to deal with browsing lag again. But I really dislike 15.6" so there's reason to predict my next daily driver may be a P70 in 8 years.
lenovo T61 T7500, SXGA+, 8GB
lenovo T410s i5 520m, WXGA+, 4GB
lenovo T430 i5 3320m, FHD, 8GB
lenovo T500 P9700, WUXGA, 8GB
lenovo T520 i7 2760QM, FHD, 8GB



Enable 2 finger scroll on any Synaptics touchpads with registry: http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=122612

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 19319
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: Power increase on T500?

#32 Post by RealBlackStuff » Wed Jun 07, 2017 3:55 am

TPFanatic wrote:
Tue Jun 06, 2017 9:29 pm
RAM: 4GB to 8GB
This was an important upgrade to me since I use Firefox and it is VERY ram intensive.
You can greatly improve your FF-RAM activities with (free) Firemin.

w0qj
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 734
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 9:53 pm
Location: Hong Kong

Re: Power increase on T500?

#33 Post by w0qj » Wed Jun 07, 2017 5:33 am

Sorry for coming to the party so late!

We are here to share with you our very similar experience, that from your software usage profile you may need 16 GB RAM, which I believe your T500 unfortunately does not support.

1. We used very similar software on our X1 Carbon Generation 3 (8 GB RAM, i7-5600U Processor up to 3.20 GHz), HD Graphics 5500 in processor, SSD, and Win7 Pro 64-bit:

2. Our typical use is:
- about 40-50 FireFox tabs open (we purposely did not install Flash), investment advice type webpages.
- e-mail client in background,
- office software
- real time stock charting program that sucks up CPU cycles
- occasional music player

3. For above scenario, RAM usages starts off at 8 GB RAM fully used, and then the RAM Swap File kicks in due to further RAM usage (fragmentation).
Our X1C3 notebook slows down to a crawl when [CTRL]+[PgUp] to scroll across different tabs of our Browser.

4. Since we had no way of upgrading our X1C3 8 GB RAM (soldered into MotherBoard), we had to upgrade to newer model X1C4 (X1 Carbon 4th Generation) for its 16 GB RAM (and for its bigger SSD, but that's another story), also Win7 Pro 64-bit. We reboot our X1C4 once a week, after RAM usage (fragmentation) uses up all 16 GB RAM and starts using Swap File, slowing down the system.

5. As an aside, many webpages nowadays embed video in its webpages with autoplay, further degrading your RAM usage and CPU cycles :(

In Summary, we are here to share with you our very similar experience, that from your software usage profile you may need 16 GB RAM, which I believe your T500 unfortunately does not support.

[Many thanks for everyone's above tweaks to further minimize RAM footprint especially for FireFox, which we'll try out as well!]
CASPER wrote:
Sat May 27, 2017 1:43 pm
Hello,

I have been using my T500 for 5 years. I like it very much, battery still holds good charge, it`s very tough and has good build qulity, keyboard is superior and I love to type on it. But it is 9 years old now, and I sometimes struggle to do simple tasks as web browsing due to lack of power.
My configuration is:
Intel Core2Duo P8400 2,26 GHz,
Intel GMA 4500MHD graphics,
8 GB dual channel DDR3 memory,
320 GB HDD,
WIN 7 x64.

My typical use is:
- about 30-60 firefox tabs open (some with flash based content),
- e-mail client in background,
- music player,
- gimp software,
- office software,
All of that is open at the same time. Sometimes I use 3D cad software.
The problem is that I cannot even scroll through web pages smoothly enough.

Processor usage is high so I was wondering if replacing CPU would increase singificantly speed of my laptop? Or there is no other way, than switch to newer Thnikpad model?
I currently run without SWAP file, with custom power settings, have optimalized services and applications running in background, no file indexing, so at the software level everything I could, I have done.

I think CPU upgrade could be an easy choice, but I want to have good battery life and low power consumption overall, because I use it very often, combined with greater speed. Is it possible with this machine?
Daily Driver: X1 Carbon 4th Gen (X1C4): i7-6600U 2.6GHz; 16GB DDR3 1866 MHz; 1TB PCIe-NVMe SSD; 14" WQHD 2560x1440; LTE EM7455 Mobile Broadband; Win7 Pro 64bit
Current Thinkpads: X1C4 | X1C3 | X250 | X230 | T410
Retired Thinkpads: T42 | 560 (circa 1996)
~~IBM Thinkpad era computer bag !

CASPER
Freshman Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2015 2:22 am
Location: Bobrowiec, PL

Re: Power increase on T500?

#34 Post by CASPER » Wed Jun 07, 2017 7:10 am

Thank you for all replies.

I don`t have problems with RAM usage.
Applied tweaks to FF, installed Firemon, still, even at one tab opened it`s unresponsive. Can you suggest something?
Last edited by CASPER on Sun Oct 15, 2017 4:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 19319
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: Power increase on T500?

#35 Post by RealBlackStuff » Wed Jun 07, 2017 7:52 am

Maybe you should try FireMIN (browser RAM minimizer) instead of FireMON (firewall monitor)?

I use PaleMoon, a derivative of Firefox, without that bloatware "Australis".
Combine PaleMoon with FireMIN and you be grand!

CASPER
Freshman Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2015 2:22 am
Location: Bobrowiec, PL

Re: Power increase on T500?

#36 Post by CASPER » Wed Jun 07, 2017 8:43 am

I mean Firemin, just a typo.
Ok, will try then this Palemoon.

EDIT:

This feels much better.
Can I somehow transfer my bookmarks from FF to Pale Moon?
Last edited by CASPER on Sun Oct 15, 2017 4:14 pm, edited 2 times in total.

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 19319
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: Power increase on T500?

#37 Post by RealBlackStuff » Wed Jun 07, 2017 9:49 am

PaleMoon stores its data here:
C:\Users\YOURNAME\AppData\Roaming\Moonchild Productions\Pale Moon\Profiles\YOUR123.default
FF does similar.
You can probably copy the whole profile over.

More specific for bookmarks:
In Firefox click on Bookmarks -> Show all Bookmarks -> Import and backup -> Export bookmarks to html -> create file

In PaleMoon click on Bookmarks -> Organize Bookmarks -> Import and backup -> Import bookmarks from html and browse to that FF-html

It's so long ago, don't remember how FF did it all.

CASPER
Freshman Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2015 2:22 am
Location: Bobrowiec, PL

Re: Power increase on T500?

#38 Post by CASPER » Thu Jun 08, 2017 10:39 am

So I copied whole profile, set up it a bit, works quite nice. Thank you for help.

CASPER
Freshman Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2015 2:22 am
Location: Bobrowiec, PL

Re: Power increase on T500?

#39 Post by CASPER » Sun Jun 11, 2017 9:43 am

I noticed something today. After changing browser I still wasn`t capable of playing 1080p 60 fps videos, even though 4500MHD can handle them. Even at 720p processor usage went to 100% on both cores, so there was something wrong. It turned out that youtube (and many other websites) currently run webm, which is much more CPU demanding in comparison to flash which abuses more GPU. Switchback to flash in youtube isn`t possible (at least I didn`t find any option for that), but there is possibility to change it in config so flash will be default. After that 1080p 60 fps plays fine and cpu usage is a bit lower, typically 50-80 %, so we can use computing power better.

jaspen-meyer
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 828
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 11:21 pm
Location: Pardubice, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Power increase on T500?

#40 Post by jaspen-meyer » Wed Jun 14, 2017 11:03 pm

Try smtube.org for watching youtube videos. That's what I use on my x60s and x24.
T420 i7 3612QM seabios; T420 i7 3630QM; T400 Q9100 seabios; T61 P9600; T60 libreboot; x62; x60s libreboot, led; x24 xiphmont led

axur-delmeria
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1931
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: Power increase on T500?

#41 Post by axur-delmeria » Thu Jun 15, 2017 12:24 am

The built-in graphics on the T500 doesn't have decode support for webm. Webm uses VP9 video codec, while the GMA X4500 only has decode support for H.264 and MPEG-2.
Daily driver: X220 4291-C91 i7-2620M

Backup: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M
Toy: X60F Core Solo U1300
In pieces: two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E; X61 7676-A24; and a BOE-Hydis HV121P01-100 in failed SXGA+ mod
:cry:

Thinkpad4by3
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1679
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: Power increase on T500?

#42 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Thu Jun 15, 2017 8:42 am

jaspen-meyer wrote:Try smtube.org for watching youtube videos. That's what I use on my x60s and x24.
Good to know I wont have to make aome overly complocated program to stream youtube videos. What is the minimum hardware that smtube works with well.

Sent from my SM-G550T using Tapatalk

Thinkpad4by3's Law of the Universe.

The efficiency of two screens equally sized with equal numbers if pixels. The time spent by a 4:3 user complaining about 16:9 is proportional to the inefficiency working with a 16:9 display, therefore the amount of useful work extracted is equal.

CASPER
Freshman Member
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2015 2:22 am
Location: Bobrowiec, PL

Re: Power increase on T500?

#43 Post by CASPER » Thu Jun 15, 2017 2:52 pm

axur-delmeria wrote:
Thu Jun 15, 2017 12:24 am
The built-in graphics on the T500 doesn't have decode support for webm. Webm uses VP9 video codec, while the GMA X4500 only has decode support for H.264 and MPEG-2.
So that is the reason of very high CPU usage with webm.
jaspen-meyer wrote:
Wed Jun 14, 2017 11:03 pm
Try smtube.org for watching youtube videos. That's what I use on my x60s and x24.
Will try, thanks.

TonyJZX
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 516
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 12:33 am

Re: Power increase on T500?

#44 Post by TonyJZX » Sat Jun 24, 2017 6:17 am

Thanks to the person to notify us about the German Q9100 hack.

Ironically I have an Elitebook with this process... HP 8530, 8Gb, some ssd and its a decent performer w/ a decent 1,920 x 1,200 screen on a 15.6" frame.

I suppose the Q9000 is in the W500 series?

jaspen-meyer
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 828
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 11:21 pm
Location: Pardubice, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Power increase on T500?

#45 Post by jaspen-meyer » Sat Jun 24, 2017 12:19 pm

TonyJZX wrote:
Sat Jun 24, 2017 6:17 am
I suppose the Q9000 is in the W500 series?
No. W500 stops at T9900 (3.06 GHz).
T420 i7 3612QM seabios; T420 i7 3630QM; T400 Q9100 seabios; T61 P9600; T60 libreboot; x62; x60s libreboot, led; x24 xiphmont led

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests