Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

T430 LCD in T420 causes wierd issues?

T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
Thinkpad4by3
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1668
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

T430 LCD in T420 causes wierd issues?

#1 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Fri Jun 16, 2017 5:08 pm

I pluggef my T430s lcd into my T420 since it was fried. I got a strange thing where everything was green, every other vertical line would appear and past that it was ok. it displayed the splashscreen as normal(with the effects stated above) but when I tried it on the T410, it was totally normal.
"Its not what screen ratio you have, it is what you do with it." -me

Now stop complaining and get back to work with your "wrongly configured" box of pixels.

-Thinkpad4by3, or 3:2, or 16:10, or 16:9, or 21:9.....or whatever.

TPFanatic
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1027
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2015 11:29 pm
Location: Boston, Massachusetts

Re: T430 LCD in T420 causes wierd issues?

#2 Post by TPFanatic » Fri Jun 16, 2017 5:39 pm

The T420's connector might be dirty.
lenovo T61 T7500, SXGA+, 8GB
lenovo T410s i5 520m, WXGA+, 4GB
lenovo T430 i5 3320m, FHD, 8GB
lenovo T500 P9700, WUXGA, 8GB
lenovo T520 i7 2760QM, FHD, 8GB



Enable 2 finger scroll on any Synaptics touchpads with registry: http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=122612

Thinkpad4by3
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1668
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: T430 LCD in T420 causes wierd issues?

#3 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Fri Jun 16, 2017 6:07 pm

TPFanatic wrote:The T420's connector might be dirty.
I would say that but its original LCD works a dream minus the awful TN.

Maybe differences in the LVDS wiring?

Sent from my SM-G550T using Tapatalk


"Its not what screen ratio you have, it is what you do with it." -me

Now stop complaining and get back to work with your "wrongly configured" box of pixels.

-Thinkpad4by3, or 3:2, or 16:10, or 16:9, or 21:9.....or whatever.

ji2o0k
Freshman Member
Posts: 98
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2015 6:25 pm
Location: Toronto, ON Canada

Re: T430 LCD in T420 causes wierd issues?

#4 Post by ji2o0k » Sat Jun 17, 2017 6:10 pm

What cable are you using?

If you are using the T430 screen in the T420 - try using the T420 original cable with the T430 screen.....

I personally thought the T430 and T420 used the same LVDS cable but I gave my buddy my original T430 screen to use in his T420 (since I did the FHD mod) and he couldn't use it with my T430 cable...he had to swap the cable and use the T420 cable (**shrugs shoulder**)

hhhd1
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 499
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2014 7:23 pm
Location: Cairo, Egypt

Re: T430 LCD in T420 causes wierd issues?

#5 Post by hhhd1 » Sat Jun 17, 2017 8:11 pm

you may be using 1600x900 LCD in place of a 1366x768 LCD, and they come with different cables
===

Thinkpad4by3
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1668
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: T430 LCD in T420 causes wierd issues?

#6 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Sat Jun 17, 2017 9:53 pm

hhhd1 wrote:you may be using 1600x900 LCD in place of a 1366x768 LCD, and they come with different cables
Thats the answer, sux its not plug and play like on the t6x series. Put a sxga from xga, no problems.

Sent from my SM-G550T using Tapatalk


"Its not what screen ratio you have, it is what you do with it." -me

Now stop complaining and get back to work with your "wrongly configured" box of pixels.

-Thinkpad4by3, or 3:2, or 16:10, or 16:9, or 21:9.....or whatever.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests