Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

T420 Ultrabay

T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
karotlopj
Sophomore Member
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed May 18, 2016 7:14 am
Location: Yorkshire, England

T420 Ultrabay

#1 Post by karotlopj » Sat Jul 15, 2017 6:12 pm

Apologies if this is in the wrong section, but I couldn't figure out where to ask questions about a T420...

One thing I really like about my T4*s and T6*s is the option of using the Ultrabay for using a second disk - I only started using these last year... I was just about to replace the CDROM with a Ultrabay disc caddy in my T420 when I discovered the lack of an eject mechanism... Or am I missing something?

Thinkpad4by3
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1655
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 9:25 am
Location: N. Bellmore, ny

Re: T420 Ultrabay

#2 Post by Thinkpad4by3 » Sat Jul 15, 2017 6:49 pm

1: In the Classic Section there is a T400/10/20 and T500/10/20 section.

2: If you look on the bottom of your T420, you will see 2 sliders on the middle left with battery facing away from you. Push the first slider up and then the big slider left while holding the first slider. Consult the picture for help. https://imgur.com/gallery/OrX9w
"Its not what screen ratio you have, it is what you do with it." -me

Now stop complaining and get back to work with your "wrongly configured" box of pixels.

-Thinkpad4by3, or 3:2, or 16:10, or 16:9, or 21:9.....or whatever.

karotlopj
Sophomore Member
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed May 18, 2016 7:14 am
Location: Yorkshire, England

Re: T420 Ultrabay

#3 Post by karotlopj » Tue Jul 18, 2017 12:43 am

Thanks for the explanation... I managed to eject the CD drive, only to find there is a new interface so my existing caddies don't fit.. but have ordered a new one since it seems like an indispensible item when messing around with different setups.

w0qj
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 734
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 9:53 pm
Location: Hong Kong

Re: T420 Ultrabay

#4 Post by w0qj » Tue Jul 18, 2017 1:12 am

For our T410 we have a SATA HDD Ultrabay.

1. You need to physically turn your Thinkpad notebook computer upside down, and then physically eject the HDD Ultrabay to swap for another HDD/SSD.
ie: There is no convenient eject button like those on DVD/CD tray.

2. Strongly suggest your SATA HDD Ultrabay to be a blank HDD/SSD.
For example, we bought a new (bigger) HDD for our T410 and format it with ThinkPad Win7 Product Recovery,
and then we insert the *old* HDD (still with the old T410 Windows 7 OS on it), and then tried to reboot computer.
We had bootup issues, as both the HDD and the Ultrabay HDD had the same Windows 7 Licence on it.

Good luck!
Daily Driver: X1 Carbon 4th Gen (X1C4): i7-6600U 2.6GHz; 16GB DDR3 1866 MHz; 1TB PCIe-NVMe SSD; 14" WQHD 2560x1440; LTE EM7455 Mobile Broadband; Win7 Pro 64bit
Current Thinkpads: X1C4 | X1C3 | X250 | X230 | T410
Retired Thinkpads: T42 | 560 (circa 1996)
~~IBM Thinkpad era computer bag !

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests