High CPU Usage

T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
p10_sri
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2017 2:26 am
Location: Delhi, India

High CPU Usage

#1 Post by p10_sri » Tue Jul 18, 2017 1:23 am

Hi,

I have a windows 7 machine, I have noticed that the CPU usage is generally very high, in the range of 70% to 90% even when no programs are running. On opening Task Manager and after keeping it open for 10-15 secs the CPU usage drops down considerably to 15-20%. I have run antivirus and spybot but no malware was found.

How can I fix that ?

Thanks
p10_sri

axur-delmeria
ThinkPadder
ThinkPadder
Posts: 1426
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 5:49 am
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines

Re: High CPU Usage

#2 Post by axur-delmeria » Tue Jul 18, 2017 2:15 am

It may be Windows Update running in the background. Try disabling it.
Daily driver: X220 4291-P79 i5-2520M

In reserve: X61 T7500, X60 T2300
In pieces: X60s CS U1300 [board only], two retired but working X61Ts
RIP: 760XD 9546-U9E

p10_sri
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2017 2:26 am
Location: Delhi, India

Re: High CPU Usage

#3 Post by p10_sri » Tue Jul 18, 2017 12:05 pm

Nope, I checked there are no updates running, no JRE, windows, flash nothing :( . I have kept all updates to only notify no auto updates

w0qj
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 679
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 9:53 pm
Location: Hong Kong

Re: High CPU Usage

#4 Post by w0qj » Tue Jul 18, 2017 12:28 pm

Noted that you are using Windows 7.
~What Thinkpad model are you using?
~Are you using your spinning Hard Drive (HDD)?

1. Press [CTRL]+[SHIFT]+[Esc] at the same time to activate Windows Task Manager.
Goto [Processes_Tab] and see which process/program is using up almost 100% of your CPU.

2. Goto [Control_Panel]>>[Programs_and_Features] and uninstall the misbehaving program (if you do not need it).
Daily Driver: X1 Carbon 4th Gen (X1C4): i7-6600U 2.6GHz; 16GB DDR3 1866 MHz; 1TB PCIe-NVMe SSD; 14" WQHD 2560x1440; LTE EM7455 Mobile Broadband; Win7 Pro 64bit
Current Thinkpads: X1C4 | X1C3 | X250 | X230 | T410
Retired Thinkpads: T42 | 560 (circa 1996)
~~IBM Thinkpad era computer bag !

kfzhu1229
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 931
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: High CPU Usage

#5 Post by kfzhu1229 » Tue Jul 18, 2017 12:42 pm

Also the other solution is to upgrade the CPU and ram
also don't run too many antivirus programs, one is enough. For pre core 2 machines, do not run any with autocheck so that it doesn't eat your whole cpu the whole time.
Patience, boys. All good things to those who wait. – Mother Gothel (Tangled)
_________________________________
T23 PIII 1.13ghz 1gb W7
2xT43 14.1" 2.26 SXGA+ 2gb 1*fp W10
T530i 15.6" i7 16gb fp W10
Flexview UXGA:
A30p PIII 1.2 1gb W7 (IDTech)
T43p 2.26 2gb fp W10

p10_sri
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2017 2:26 am
Location: Delhi, India

Re: High CPU Usage

#6 Post by p10_sri » Wed Jul 19, 2017 1:40 am

w0qj wrote:
Tue Jul 18, 2017 12:28 pm
Noted that you are using Windows 7.
~What Thinkpad model are you using?
~Are you using your spinning Hard Drive (HDD)?
I am using T410, I think it's HDD only.

p10_sri
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2017 2:26 am
Location: Delhi, India

Re: High CPU Usage

#7 Post by p10_sri » Wed Jul 19, 2017 1:53 am

kfzhu1229 wrote:
Tue Jul 18, 2017 12:42 pm
For pre core 2 machines, do not run any with autocheck so that it doesn't eat your whole cpu the whole time.
Hey,

I am a bit novice, how to know what all programs are running in autocheck mode :eek: ? could you elaborate a bit ?

thinkpadcollection
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 564
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2014 8:13 pm
Location: kingston, ontario, Canada

Re: High CPU Usage

#8 Post by thinkpadcollection » Wed Jul 19, 2017 1:28 pm

Keep in mind all 1st gen i core processors (desktop and notebook processors, regardless of # of cores) are low performance compared to sandy bridge and later. In fact E8600 and Xeon X5470 both are 3.33GHz (based on Core 2), single core is equivalent to 1st gen i core processors in performances even high end types. For this reason I skipped 1st gen desktop and went for ivy bridge desktop. I do have old E8600 desktop and T410, T420 so I know the performance are like using passmark scores based on overall performance of all cores and single core performance.

Just upgrade to 8GB, need a pair, (DDR3 1333 or 1600 will do at 1.5V, 2Rx8 aka 16 chips per module, it will work at DDR3-1066) And pick up i5-580m or i7-640m.

Cheers, thinkpadcollection

p10_sri
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2017 2:26 am
Location: Delhi, India

Re: High CPU Usage

#9 Post by p10_sri » Fri Jul 21, 2017 4:32 am

Right now, I don't want to spend any money on this old box. I would get a new one instead of upgrading, but till then can anything be done for this issue ?

ZaZ
moderator
moderator
Posts: 4496
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 1:33 pm
Location: Minnesota

Re: High CPU Usage

#10 Post by ZaZ » Fri Jul 21, 2017 5:13 am

p10_sri wrote:
Tue Jul 18, 2017 1:23 am
On opening Task Manager and after keeping it open for 10-15 secs the CPU usage drops down considerably to 15-20%.
That first 10-15 seconds, what's using the CPU?
ProBook 470 G3

shawross
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 329
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2013 5:48 am
Location: Perth Aus / Thailand

Re: High CPU Usage

#11 Post by shawross » Fri Jul 21, 2017 6:34 am

p10_sri wrote:Nope, I checked there are no updates running, no JRE, windows, flash nothing :( . I have kept all updates to only notify no auto updates
Even when you have the Windows Update setting to only notify it can still be running in the background. To make sure it is not Windows Update you have to actually disable updates.
Active --- Love the X series
X301 SU9400 IDA Mod - W 7 / X201 540M - W 7 / X220 2520 - W7

Nostalgia
X61 T7500 / T43's / T42

Rogue daily driver - Samsung RV511 15.6 " Screen - W 7

TankPad
Sophomore Member
Posts: 179
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2017 1:40 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland

Re: High CPU Usage

#12 Post by TankPad » Fri Jul 21, 2017 9:23 am

Can you post a screenshot of the task manager?
How much ram do you have and what type of drive? If you go to the performance monitor, does the memory and disk usage seem high too?
| 701c | X220 | T420 | X230 | T430s |

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: csioucs, mkopec and 4 guests