Switchable graphics can't be switched on T500

T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 series specific matters only
Post Reply
Message
Author
wujstefan
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 445
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 8:38 am
Location: Tarnow, Poland

Switchable graphics can't be switched on T500

#1 Post by wujstefan » Tue Jul 25, 2017 3:40 pm

Kind of weirdo.

I have a T500 (couple of them), all with switchable graphics. They all came with factory HDDs, systems installed albeit a bit outdated. I can switch graphics by right-clicking the power manager icon.

I removed the HDD and did a clean W7 64bit install on a new SSD. The switchable driver does install, but I have no option to switch it (right click on power manager icon simply does not give me such option)! It just works on ATI 3650. Tried working with different drivers, tried to reinstall system (couple of times), nothing helped...

Is the "switchable graphics" option available with the newest power manager or is it permanently disabled?
Dailies:
T601f, X61sfL - work
HP Elitebook 8740w - multimedia
R61f - wife
R61f - kids
Collectibles:
T43, Z60t, G41, R30, R50e
Under construction:
A31, 600X, R52p, T22, A22m, R40, T30

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 18274
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Contact:

Re: Switchable graphics can't be switched on T500

#2 Post by RealBlackStuff » Tue Jul 25, 2017 3:42 pm

Check BIOS/Config/Display/Graphics
Lovely day for a Guinness! (The Real Black Stuff)

Check out The Boardroom for Parts, Mods and Other Services.

wujstefan
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 445
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 8:38 am
Location: Tarnow, Poland

Re: Switchable graphics can't be switched on T500

#3 Post by wujstefan » Wed Jul 26, 2017 1:22 am

Nope, everything is OK in there. If disabled, shouldn't work on the preinstalled HDD as well afaik.
Dailies:
T601f, X61sfL - work
HP Elitebook 8740w - multimedia
R61f - wife
R61f - kids
Collectibles:
T43, Z60t, G41, R30, R50e
Under construction:
A31, 600X, R52p, T22, A22m, R40, T30

RealBlackStuff
Admin
Admin
Posts: 18274
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA USA
Contact:

Re: Switchable graphics can't be switched on T500

#4 Post by RealBlackStuff » Wed Jul 26, 2017 6:02 am

Your W7-source for installing the SSD did not include that switchable driver "natively", and does not like it.
Try older/newer versions if you can.
Other than that: no idea.

wujstefan
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 445
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 8:38 am
Location: Tarnow, Poland

Re: Switchable graphics can't be switched on T500

#5 Post by wujstefan » Wed Jul 26, 2017 4:44 pm

Worth giving a shot.
Dailies:
T601f, X61sfL - work
HP Elitebook 8740w - multimedia
R61f - wife
R61f - kids
Collectibles:
T43, Z60t, G41, R30, R50e
Under construction:
A31, 600X, R52p, T22, A22m, R40, T30

wujstefan
Junior Member
Junior Member
Posts: 445
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 8:38 am
Location: Tarnow, Poland

Re: Switchable graphics can't be switched on T500

#6 Post by wujstefan » Wed Aug 02, 2017 3:46 am

RealBlackStuff wrote:
Wed Jul 26, 2017 6:02 am
Your W7-source for installing the SSD did not include that switchable driver "natively", and does not like it.
Try older/newer versions if you can.
Seems that newest power manager does NOT support switchable graphics. Tried numerous of them, and all old versions do work just fine.
Dailies:
T601f, X61sfL - work
HP Elitebook 8740w - multimedia
R61f - wife
R61f - kids
Collectibles:
T43, Z60t, G41, R30, R50e
Under construction:
A31, 600X, R52p, T22, A22m, R40, T30

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BigT0ny and 11 guests