Take a look at our
ThinkPads.com HOME PAGE
For those who might want to contribute to the blog, start here: Editors Alley Topic
Then contact Bill with a Private Message

T420s/T430s WQHD kits pre-order

T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 series specific matters only
Message
Author
RMSMajestic
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 689
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2013 5:31 pm
Location: Washington, D.C. , USA

Re: T420s/T430s WQHD kits pre-order

#61 Post by RMSMajestic » Mon Nov 27, 2017 1:12 pm

RichardActonis wrote:
Sun Nov 26, 2017 10:38 pm
Hi, just want to verify about the FHD kits (for a t430s upgrade from stock):

1) the FHD kits are still available?

2) recommended screens are like:
https://www.amazon.com/AU-B140HAN01-1-B ... B00GIRSHEA
https://www.amazon.com/AU-B140HAN01-1-S ... B00FFFC93Q

3) recommended cables are...?

the FHD page, didnt really see model numbers
http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/Replacing ... _IPS_Panel

Thanks
FHD kits are no longer available
Chobits: W701ds i7-940|32G|FX3800m|Digitizer|Calibrator
Big ones: W701 top config T63p QX9300|8G|UXGA T61p dead, please go die as well nVIDIA
Small ones: X61sp P8800X61t SXGA X201 NIB
86 airplane models/ 27 ships/ 21 computers/ 300GB databases/ 0 girlfriend
It's always happier to live in lies and delusions.

Orbitronics
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2017 12:36 pm
Location: Hackney, England

Re: T420s/T430s WQHD kits pre-order

#62 Post by Orbitronics » Mon Nov 27, 2017 1:19 pm

just get the wqhd screen.

RichardActonis
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2017 10:29 pm
Location: Columbus, IN

Re: T420s/T430s WQHD kits pre-order

#63 Post by RichardActonis » Mon Nov 27, 2017 4:31 pm

OK, so get the WQHD kit, a 14" WQHD screen compatible with t430s (such as ...)
and what is the cable spec (40 pin to ___)? Sorry for the questions, but everyone
on here seems to already know what screens and cables to buy ( and I do not lol ),
unless there's a thread somewhere ya'll can point me to...right now my t430s screen's
already busted anyhow, so I just carry around a big ol 24" monitor LOL...not real
portable hahaha

thank ye kindly guys, and thank ye for offering this kit, Mr Majestic

Orbitronics
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2017 12:36 pm
Location: Hackney, England

Re: T420s/T430s WQHD kits pre-order

#64 Post by Orbitronics » Mon Nov 27, 2017 4:40 pm

RichardActonis wrote:
Mon Nov 27, 2017 4:31 pm
OK, so get the WQHD kit, a 14" WQHD screen compatible with t430s (such as ...)
and what is the cable spec (40 pin to ___)? Sorry for the questions, but everyone
on here seems to already know what screens and cables to buy ( and I do not lol ),
unless there's a thread somewhere ya'll can point me to...right now my t430s screen's
already busted anyhow, so I just carry around a big ol 24" monitor LOL...not real
portable hahaha

thank ye kindly guys, and thank ye for offering this kit, Mr Majestic
I'm in the same boat dude, but a good start is placing an order here :)

viewtopic.php?f=45&t=124841

mr.rhtuner
Freshman Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 11:31 pm
Location: London, Ontario, Canada

Re: T420s/T430s WQHD kits pre-order

#65 Post by mr.rhtuner » Thu Nov 30, 2017 9:49 am

RichardActonis wrote:
Mon Nov 27, 2017 4:31 pm
OK, so get the WQHD kit, a 14" WQHD screen compatible with t430s (such as ...)
and what is the cable spec (40 pin to ___)? Sorry for the questions, but everyone
on here seems to already know what screens and cables to buy ( and I do not lol ),
unless there's a thread somewhere ya'll can point me to...right now my t430s screen's
already busted anyhow, so I just carry around a big ol 24" monitor LOL...not real
portable hahaha

thank ye kindly guys, and thank ye for offering this kit, Mr Majestic

I don't know what cable to buy nor what screen. This is a good opportunity for a fantastic upgrade considering it doesn't require soldering. I'll worry about souring the screen/whatever afterwards. Worst case, this is a very easy kit to resell if you don't want to mess with it later on.

RichardActonis
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Nov 26, 2017 10:29 pm
Location: Columbus, IN

Re: T420s/T430s WQHD kits pre-order

#66 Post by RichardActonis » Fri Dec 01, 2017 7:38 pm

Good points, thanks guys

motoyarko
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2017 12:48 pm
Location: Kharkiv, Ukraine

Re: T420s/T430s WQHD kits pre-order

#67 Post by motoyarko » Fri Dec 01, 2017 7:51 pm

dear topic starter, if it possible, please, update main post with info about supported models of lcd screens. it'll be very helpful for all of us. I think that time to bought them is so close for us.

Best regards!
Yaroslav.

p.s. please correct me if I'm misunderstood tmh.

Sent from my MX5 using Tapatalk


ji2o0k
Freshman Member
Posts: 98
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2015 6:25 pm
Location: Toronto, ON Canada

Re: T420s/T430s WQHD kits pre-order

#68 Post by ji2o0k » Sat Dec 02, 2017 9:46 am

motoyarko wrote:
Fri Dec 01, 2017 7:51 pm
dear topic starter, if it possible, please, update main post with info about supported models of lcd screens. it'll be very helpful for all of us. I think that time to bought them is so close for us.

Best regards!
Yaroslav.

p.s. please correct me if I'm misunderstood tmh.

Sent from my MX5 using Tapatalk
hey all, you folks asking about the screen may have missed it but RMSMajestic has already answered this question in post #36 here:
viewtopic.php?p=809231#p809231

Answer provided - hope this helps but like RMS mentions - wait until you get the kit first and then order the screen....
RMSMajestic wrote:
Mon Oct 30, 2017 9:50 am
al1k wrote:
Mon Oct 30, 2017 5:18 am
Any info about compatible panels?
According to Javi-Jie, All the WQHD 14" panels will "most likely" work. (check panelook)

He tested LP140QH1-SPB3.

Again, I strongly recommend against ordering panels prior to receiving the kit
Last edited by ji2o0k on Sat Dec 09, 2017 10:11 am, edited 1 time in total.

mr.rhtuner
Freshman Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 11:31 pm
Location: London, Ontario, Canada

Re: T420s/T430s WQHD kits pre-order

#69 Post by mr.rhtuner » Mon Dec 04, 2017 12:12 pm

ji2o0k wrote:
Sat Dec 02, 2017 9:46 am
motoyarko wrote:
Fri Dec 01, 2017 7:51 pm
dear topic starter, if it possible, please, update main post with info about supported models of lcd screens. it'll be very helpful for all of us. I think that time to bought them is so close for us.

Best regards!
Yaroslav.

p.s. please correct me if I'm misunderstood tmh.

Sent from my MX5 using Tapatalk
hey all, you folks asking about the screen may have missed it but RMSMajestic has already answered this question in post #36 here:
viewtopic.php?p=809231#p809231

Answer provided - hope this helps but like RMS mentions - wait until you get the kit first and then order the screen....
RMSMajestic wrote:
Mon Oct 30, 2017 9:50 am


According to Javi-Jie, All the WQHD 14" panels will "most likely" work. (check panelook)

He tested LP14QH1-SPB3.

Again, I strongly recommend against ordering panels prior to receiving the kit


I just took a look...so I searched the good ol' google for "LP14QH1-SPB3" and there are no results outside of this thread.
Could the part number be incorrect?

Aliexpress doesn't seem to find it.

fubu
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2017 5:37 am
Location: The Hague, Netherlands

Re: T420s/T430s WQHD kits pre-order

#70 Post by fubu » Mon Dec 04, 2017 12:21 pm

I think it's supposed to be LP140QH1-SPB3, though I can't seem to find -SPB3 specifically on panelook: http://www.panelook.com/modelsearch.php ... d=LP140QH1.

motoyarko
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2017 12:48 pm
Location: Kharkiv, Ukraine

Re: T420s/T430s WQHD kits pre-order

#71 Post by motoyarko » Mon Dec 04, 2017 12:24 pm

mr.rhtuner wrote:
ji2o0k wrote:
Sat Dec 02, 2017 9:46 am
hey all, you folks asking about the screen may have missed it but RMSMajestic has already answered this question in post #36 here:
viewtopic.php?p=809231#p809231

Answer provided - hope this helps but like RMS mentions - wait until you get the kit first and then order the screen....


I just took a look...so I searched the good ol' google for "LP14QH1-SPB3" and there are no results outside of this thread.
Could the part number be incorrect?

Aliexpress doesn't seem to find it.
looks like here is a small typo. more correct is LP140QH1-SPB3. but I can be wrong:)

Sent from my MX5 using Tapatalk


RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 19432
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: T420s/T430s WQHD kits pre-order

#72 Post by RealBlackStuff » Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:12 pm


RMSMajestic
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 689
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2013 5:31 pm
Location: Washington, D.C. , USA

Re: T420s/T430s WQHD kits pre-order

#73 Post by RMSMajestic » Tue Dec 05, 2017 2:30 pm

Feebay listing is up, in case if you don't trust paypal
https://www.ebay.com/itm/232586061119
Chobits: W701ds i7-940|32G|FX3800m|Digitizer|Calibrator
Big ones: W701 top config T63p QX9300|8G|UXGA T61p dead, please go die as well nVIDIA
Small ones: X61sp P8800X61t SXGA X201 NIB
86 airplane models/ 27 ships/ 21 computers/ 300GB databases/ 0 girlfriend
It's always happier to live in lies and delusions.

mr.rhtuner
Freshman Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 11:31 pm
Location: London, Ontario, Canada

Re: T420s/T430s WQHD kits pre-order

#74 Post by mr.rhtuner » Tue Dec 05, 2017 3:54 pm

RMSMajestic wrote:
Tue Dec 05, 2017 2:30 pm
Feebay listing is up, in case if you don't trust paypal
https://www.ebay.com/itm/232586061119

Hello,

Could you get clarity on the screen that was used/tested? I see you listing on ebay "LP14QH1-SPB3" but that doesn't seem correct.

RealBlackStuff
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
Posts: 19432
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Mt. Cobb, PA
Contact:

Re: T420s/T430s WQHD kits pre-order

#75 Post by RealBlackStuff » Tue Dec 05, 2017 4:38 pm

Correct one is LP140QH1-SPB3

RMSMajestic
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 689
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2013 5:31 pm
Location: Washington, D.C. , USA

Re: T420s/T430s WQHD kits pre-order

#76 Post by RMSMajestic » Wed Dec 06, 2017 1:02 pm

mr.rhtuner wrote:
Tue Dec 05, 2017 3:54 pm
RMSMajestic wrote:
Tue Dec 05, 2017 2:30 pm
Feebay listing is up, in case if you don't trust paypal
https://www.ebay.com/itm/232586061119

Hello,

Could you get clarity on the screen that was used/tested? I see you listing on ebay "LP14QH1-SPB3" but that doesn't seem correct.
LP140QH1-SPB3, CORRECTED ON FEEBAY
Chobits: W701ds i7-940|32G|FX3800m|Digitizer|Calibrator
Big ones: W701 top config T63p QX9300|8G|UXGA T61p dead, please go die as well nVIDIA
Small ones: X61sp P8800X61t SXGA X201 NIB
86 airplane models/ 27 ships/ 21 computers/ 300GB databases/ 0 girlfriend
It's always happier to live in lies and delusions.

mr.rhtuner
Freshman Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 11:31 pm
Location: London, Ontario, Canada

Re: T420s/T430s WQHD kits pre-order

#77 Post by mr.rhtuner » Thu Dec 07, 2017 1:44 pm

RMSMajestic wrote:
Wed Dec 06, 2017 1:02 pm
mr.rhtuner wrote:
Tue Dec 05, 2017 3:54 pm



Hello,

Could you get clarity on the screen that was used/tested? I see you listing on ebay "LP14QH1-SPB3" but that doesn't seem correct.
LP140QH1-SPB3, CORRECTED ON FEEBAY

Great, thanks!

ji2o0k
Freshman Member
Posts: 98
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2015 6:25 pm
Location: Toronto, ON Canada

Re: T420s/T430s WQHD kits pre-order

#78 Post by ji2o0k » Sat Dec 09, 2017 10:12 am

apologies folks, I've also corrected my original post about the screen model - can't wait to get the kits....darn, looking on fleabay the screens are pricey!

r3solv3
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 6:52 pm
Location: Pensacola, Florida

Re: T420s/T430s WQHD kits pre-order

#79 Post by r3solv3 » Sun Dec 10, 2017 9:47 pm

Are you sure it isn't LP140QH1-SPB1 ?

I looked on panelook and I only see:

LP140QH1-SPB1
LP140QH1-SPA2
LP140QH1-SPE1


The one ending ins SPB1 is the model that is from the x1 carbon, So I think that might be the actual part. I can't find an ebay or other listing anywhere for a model ending in b3.

NavyBOFH
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 12:52 pm
Location: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

Re: T420s/T430s WQHD kits pre-order

#80 Post by NavyBOFH » Wed Dec 20, 2017 11:21 pm

r3solv3 wrote:
Sun Dec 10, 2017 9:47 pm
The one ending ins SPB1 is the model that is from the x1 carbon, So I think that might be the actual part. I can't find an ebay or other listing anywhere for a model ending in b3.
I was thinking the same thing - but still want some sort of confirmation before ordering a $120+ panel for the kit.

BokiM
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2017 3:27 am
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

Re: T420s/T430s WQHD kits pre-order

#81 Post by BokiM » Fri Dec 22, 2017 5:22 pm

Any updates on when the first kits will be shipped? :)
ThinkPad T430s :heart:

RMSMajestic
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 689
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2013 5:31 pm
Location: Washington, D.C. , USA

Re: T420s/T430s WQHD kits pre-order

#82 Post by RMSMajestic » Tue Dec 26, 2017 11:18 am

BokiM wrote:
Fri Dec 22, 2017 5:22 pm
Any updates on when the first kits will be shipped? :)
Javi just posted the kits to me. I'm expecting it to arrive in one week and finish testing and shipping around or after Jan.5th
Chobits: W701ds i7-940|32G|FX3800m|Digitizer|Calibrator
Big ones: W701 top config T63p QX9300|8G|UXGA T61p dead, please go die as well nVIDIA
Small ones: X61sp P8800X61t SXGA X201 NIB
86 airplane models/ 27 ships/ 21 computers/ 300GB databases/ 0 girlfriend
It's always happier to live in lies and delusions.

NonesensE
Sophomore Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Mon May 29, 2017 6:28 am
Location: GF/BS/OHA, Germany

Re: T420s/T430s WQHD kits pre-order

#83 Post by NonesensE » Tue Dec 26, 2017 12:56 pm

I'm impressed by your work :bow: Just ordered a kit for my girlfriend's T420s. :)
Sometimes coming over from the German forum...
X62s 3rd batch, [s]T61[/s] T70 14" 4:3 1st batch

jsorocil
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2017 5:52 am
Location: Rijeka, Croatia

Re: T420s/T430s WQHD kits pre-order

#84 Post by jsorocil » Thu Dec 28, 2017 5:55 am

Hi all

Just to be sure, this:
- will use internal LVDS, so external DPs on the dock will work?
- will work with nVidia and Intel GPUs?
- will not work with FullHD displays, only with 2560x1440 panels
- will not flicker

Are cables and and other things that are needed included, so I need just to buy LCD panel and this?

Also, are there any estimations when the FHD kits will be available? That kit seems more appropriate to my use case, but WQHD will be nice also :)

BokiM
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2017 3:27 am
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

Re: T420s/T430s WQHD kits pre-order

#85 Post by BokiM » Fri Dec 29, 2017 5:36 pm

RMSMajestic wrote:
Tue Dec 26, 2017 11:18 am
Javi just posted the kits to me. I'm expecting it to arrive in one week and finish testing and shipping around or after Jan.5th
Thank you for the update, really can't wait to receive one of the kits. :thumbs-UP:
ThinkPad T430s :heart:

RMSMajestic
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 689
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2013 5:31 pm
Location: Washington, D.C. , USA

Re: T420s/T430s WQHD kits pre-order

#86 Post by RMSMajestic » Tue Jan 02, 2018 11:48 am

jsorocil wrote:
Thu Dec 28, 2017 5:55 am
Hi all

Just to be sure, this:
- will use internal LVDS, so external DPs on the dock will work?
- will work with nVidia and Intel GPUs?
- will not work with FullHD displays, only with 2560x1440 panels
- will not flicker

Are cables and and other things that are needed included, so I need just to buy LCD panel and this?

Also, are there any estimations when the FHD kits will be available? That kit seems more appropriate to my use case, but WQHD will be nice also :)
1. Yes
2. Yes
3. No, it will not work with FHD panels.
4. Flicker problem is with the non-s kits. If this WQHD kit encounter problem, I will send replacements for free or give refund.
Chobits: W701ds i7-940|32G|FX3800m|Digitizer|Calibrator
Big ones: W701 top config T63p QX9300|8G|UXGA T61p dead, please go die as well nVIDIA
Small ones: X61sp P8800X61t SXGA X201 NIB
86 airplane models/ 27 ships/ 21 computers/ 300GB databases/ 0 girlfriend
It's always happier to live in lies and delusions.

fboldog
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2017 5:42 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Re: T420s/T430s WQHD kits pre-order

#87 Post by fboldog » Thu Jan 04, 2018 8:19 am

Order placed.
Thanks for this awesome project.

(upgrading from fhd adapter... :D)

RMSMajestic
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 689
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2013 5:31 pm
Location: Washington, D.C. , USA

Re: T420s/T430s WQHD kits pre-order

#88 Post by RMSMajestic » Sun Jan 07, 2018 11:58 pm

My apologies guys. Javi has attempted to post the kits b4 christmas, however the package was returned to him due to custom controls in china. He has posted it again and I hope it will be with me soon.
Chobits: W701ds i7-940|32G|FX3800m|Digitizer|Calibrator
Big ones: W701 top config T63p QX9300|8G|UXGA T61p dead, please go die as well nVIDIA
Small ones: X61sp P8800X61t SXGA X201 NIB
86 airplane models/ 27 ships/ 21 computers/ 300GB databases/ 0 girlfriend
It's always happier to live in lies and delusions.

t430ftw
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 7:28 am
Location: Reykjavik, Iceland

Re: T420s/T430s WQHD kits pre-order

#89 Post by t430ftw » Wed Jan 10, 2018 7:34 am

Thanks RMSMajestic & Javi-jie, for all you're doing.
RMSMajestic wrote:
Mon Oct 23, 2017 2:25 pm
dr_st wrote:
Mon Oct 23, 2017 8:48 am
That's awesome, then. :thumbs-UP: I was under the impression that dual-channel LVDS does not have sufficient bandwidth to drive QHD. Apparently I was mistaken?
It does, but I think 6 bit 2K is the upper limit for dual channel LVDS
Is it confirmed that these boards are 6 bpc? I'm considering whether I should wait for the 430 (non-S) WQHD version or try to nab up a FHD mod and hope it'll work right on one of my T430 machines. Is color banding noticeable with the WQHD boards/screens?

NonesensE
Sophomore Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Mon May 29, 2017 6:28 am
Location: GF/BS/OHA, Germany

Re: T420s/T430s WQHD kits pre-order

#90 Post by NonesensE » Wed Jan 10, 2018 4:16 pm

In LVDS (in fact, FPD-Link or OpenLDI), the bpc shouldn't matter for max. resolution, as 6bpc is three lane (data pairs, per channel), 8bpc adds a fourth lane (which only submits the additional 2 bits of all three colours) and 10bpc a fifth lane (dito). The signalling frequency stays the same and you can e.g. connect a 6bpc display to an 8bpc FPD-Link-stream by connecting only the first three lanes.

So the question is: How many lanes do the T420s/T430s have? This determines the colour depth available for the adapter to work with. I don't know, I haven't counted yet.

By the way, the max. resolution possible depends on the video frequency. WQHD resolution with 60Hz is pretty much the edge of what is possible with dual channel LVDS (remember, on the X6xt with single channel LVDS, the 1400x1050 display ran at 50Hz, some people modded it to 60Hz and somewhere around 70Hz it became unstable and the display has slightly less than half the pixel count). But if you're okay with 30Hz or slightly below, 4K will work, too.
Sometimes coming over from the German forum...
X62s 3rd batch, [s]T61[/s] T70 14" 4:3 1st batch

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “ThinkPad T400/410/420 and T500/510/520 Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests